Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Happy fathers day to all the daddies

3 of us on duty today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Grand uncle was attacked by a fr bull. Lived to tell the tale. Know of a man who insisted on wearing a tie to work and was dragged into a combine. He didn't live to tell the tale

I was attacked by a fr bull when I was 16. yes I was young, fearless & FOOLISH .

Luckily I had a dung fork & the bull was ringed with a chain, he had me on the ground but I held the fork for dear life & lashed at him, by some fate off good luck 1 of the prongs went through the nose ring and kept him back from me, grabbed the chain and lead him to nearbly ash tree on the ditch.

Knotted the chain around the tree and ran for dear life, went for help and when we returned some time later he had the tree battered, not even a sq. inch of bark remained as far as he could reach,

fast forward about 5 decades and the big storm of 2013 ( ? ) the same tree fell in the storm and about 10/12 ewes and lambs were killed while sheltering under it.

when we were clearing it away the trunk was only a shell with the roots decayed, thinking back it may be a result of the bull attack

Sorry for the long post but I'm told it's Father's day & I'm off duty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

_Brian wrote: »
    How about the sunburn folks??

Brother was fair burnt looking heading off earlier, he'd have skin like a newborn baby.

Back of my neck is really bad this morning :(

Wasn't too far from burnt yesterday myself. Yesterday was just a bit on the extreme side of heat in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I bought a smallish sun hat on holidays in Spain a few years ago and it's the best yoke ever if I have to work out in heat , seems to keep you cool as well as keeping the sun off the neck and face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Bullocks wrote: »
    I bought a smallish sun hat on holidays in Spain a few years ago and it's the best yoke ever if I have to work out in heat , seems to keep you cool as well as keeping the sun off the neck and face

Yep, have a hiking cap, has a neck flap rolled up inside a wee pocket, roll it down and it keeps the sun away from the neck, great orotection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Happens easily.
    Away for the day today so I was lashing on the sun protection at 7am !!, better safe than sorry and easier before your dressed.

_Brian wrote: »
    Yep, have a hiking cap, has a neck flap rolled up inside a wee pocket, roll it down and it keeps the sun away from the neck, great orotection.

A rolled up neck flap sounds a bit too gay for me haha but anything to keep the sunburn at bay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

My daughters team just won their semi final in the Feile na nGael this morning and the final on at 1:)

And I'm here cutting silage:(

My daughters team just won their semi final in the Feile na nGael this morning and the final on at 1:)

And I'm here cutting silage:(

I'll be honest and admit I'd probably be happier at silage than at all these kids events having to make small talk with the parents . Some of the competitive crap I've heard some parents could me out with is brutal

It's way worse in Hurling than Camogie, tbh. Some of the boys parents think their lad is going to be the next DJ Carey whereas the girls are just encouraged from the sideline.

Maybe it changes when the competition hots up but I would have much more time for the girls parents than the boys parents.

It's way worse in Hurling than Camogie, tbh. Some of the boys parents think their lad is going to be the next DJ Carey whereas the girls are just encouraged from the sideline.

Maybe it changes when the competition hots up but I would have much more time for the girls parents than the boys parents.

I've got no girls so don't know about them but I see some of them(parents) giving out if we lose a match that they aren't training enough or getting the right training and me with a pain in the hole dropping off and collecting at the pitch. Just have a bit of craic is my opinion to all sports and keep the fat off the kids

One of the mothers at the game I was at yesterday was unreal. Giving out to her son the whole time. I felt so sorry for him. They are supposed to be enjoying themselves, only 5kids turned up yesterday for our team out of 20

Any wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Wife working again today and nobody visiting my mother for the weekend so, I'm on for full duty today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

She might think she's encouraging but I'd think that child will be lacking self confidence

Wife working again today and nobody visiting my mother for the weekend so, I'm on for full duty today.

Lovely day, could you take all for a drive?

She might think she's encouraging but I'd think that child will be lacking self confidence

I asked her does he play outside much as she was saying he was overweight, she said I work fulltime there's no time to play outside! My kids have to be dragged in at half 9 each night

Think you hit the nail there

I had words a few weeks ago with a dad that was doing awful bollicking on the son at a handball match .
    If he was my ould lad I would be thinking smoking dope must be better than a pastime that has my father roaring at me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Ya can bring a horse to water

Lovely day, could you take all for a drive?

Either bunratty, cliffs of moher or back to the beach.

Bunratty has a carnival day. There is a great shop in liscannor called the rock shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

The Buzzard.
    A farmers best friend when you have wrapped bales of silage in the field.

Came back into the field for another jog of bales and a Buzzard is just after killing a crow.

Just going to hang the crow now on a stick as a warning to the rest of the flock.:D

Go on the Buzzards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    The Buzzard.
    A farmers best friend when you have wrapped bales of silage in the field.

Came back into the field for another jog of bales and a Buzzard is just after killing a crow.

Just going to hang the crow now on a stick as a warning to the rest of the flock.:D

Go on the Buzzards.

No buzzards to be found here when you need them, but was considering inviting Theresa May to run back and forth through the paddocks to her wild hearts content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Kowtow, I think it's Rihanna your looking for to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Water John wrote: »
    Kowtow, I think it's Rihanna your looking for to do that.

She'd be my first choice alright.

But I've a feeling Theresa May is going to have more free dates in her diary.

Daughters team won their section in Feile. Delighted. There will be cows milked very early this evening:pac:

Niece was playing yesterday in schools final. There was about 6subs and none of them were used. They won but normally at any of these games all kids get a game

Was just in Ennis and got the call to go cutting. Delighted, I didn't think I'd get in this run. Meadow knocked and we're off on the road again. Wagon east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It will be some crack playing in Thurles in this heat.