Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Theresa May is finished.
    Lucky she hasn't been lynched.

You could include the mayor of London in the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

mayota wrote: »
    And then the load wouldn't slide out of the trailer but lift the back wheels of tractor up in the air :)

Or (as happened once to me) you are drawing in with a Nuffield or a Leyland, and you try chucking the tractor to get the load moving and the trailer comes off the hitch, then the drawbar rises up and joins you in the cab. Fecking load starts to come out and you are slipping the clutch to move forward at the same speed as the trail is creeping on.
    Scary with a drawbar under your arm and you don't know what its going to do next.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

You're just having nostalgia for the 'old days'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Or (as happened once to me) you are drawing in with a Nuffield or a Leyland, and you try chucking the tractor to get the load moving and the trailer comes off the hitch, then the drawbar rises up and joins you in the cab. Fecking load starts to come out and you are slipping the clutch to move forward at the same speed as the trail is creeping on.
    Scary with a drawbar under your arm and you don't know what its going to do next.....
    Got pinned to the steering wheel from the hitch coming off ,into the back of the seat and pulled it out of the floor . Different times with no talk of safety , I got a bollicking for dogging the clutch when I was tipping :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭visatorro

Happened me before. Only I'd no mirrors on the tractor I wouldn't be here. I was turned around looking over my left shoulder with my elbow up on the side of the cab iykwim. Seen the window shatter and didn't know what was happening until the trailer slapped back on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Happened me once with a DB 995 and only for the day being very hot and taking the doors off hours earlier I would've been killed. The drawbar broke the windscreen and the trailer body sat on the roof.

How did we all escape. Mad stuff, we did.
    Rolled trailer and tractor, side loading. First load of the morning, clung to the side. Nobody mentioned, to the relief driver (me), that the outside tyre was punctured. It just layed over on the side of the hill. My life was saved by the hitch pin stopping the tractor from rolling further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Remember buckraking for a neighbour when I was about 11, was using his db995 and the thing was so light in the front end. About two loads in I reversed her into a big pile of grass and she wheelied and the steering wheel spun round breaking two of my fingers. That was the end of my silage season that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Trailer unhooked on me one day in a 7600 and rolled back from the tractor. Tipping pipe broke and with the stretch that was on it, it flew back at the cab and broke the back window and wound it self around the cab pillar twice. Don't know how it didn't hit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Remember buckraking for a neighbour when I was about 11, was using his db995 and the thing was so light in the front end. About two loads in I reversed her into a big pile of grass and she wheelied and the steering wheel spun round breaking two of my fingers. That was the end of my silage season that year.

When I was learning to drive a tractor my father taught me to hold the steering wheel with my thumbs outside the wheel, I still do it that way most of the time.

That's a safety tip that the young fellas never heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What was the farm accident fatality rate like years ago. Alot of near misses in the posts above

whelan2 wrote: »
    What was the farm accident fatality rate like years ago. Alot of near misses in the posts above

Good question , I'm not old enough to remember rightly but statistics would be interesting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Mad for cutting silage today- contractor up the walls and I'm way down the list. He has only 40 bales done in June so far. Off to the bog for me, work on my tan.

I think fatalaties were actually low, young and feckless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Water John wrote: »

When I was very small, there was a neighbour killed off a tractor... he was only about 16, it was at silage time... he was an only child, completely broke his parents... :(

So there was fatalities, don't know about the stats... maybe just not as widely reported I suspect... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Water John wrote: »

Was there any stats compiled on historical farm deaths?

Would animals have been as dangerous years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

ganmo wrote: »
    Was there any stats compiled on historical farm deaths?

There must have been, as the introduction of safety cabs and roll bars was legislated for in the early 70's.
    Unfortunately a year late for my grandfather.
    He was killed while buckraking silage with a Dexta in 1971.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

There must have been, as the introduction of safety cabs and roll bars was legislated for in the early 70's.
    Unfortunately a year late for my grandfather.
    He was killed while buckraking silage with a Dexta in 1971.

Can remember quite a few fatalities from the 70's/80's
    Considering how much less mechanisation there was I'd say the rates were high, know of two local farms where the men were killed with bulls.

There were also quite a few lads around with arms missing from thrasher accidents.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Would animals have been as dangerous years ago?

I'd say cattle were way quieter , our certainly used to be . I'd hardly walk through ours twice a week and you would know about it when dosing or testing . One time someone would look at them at least once a day if not twice and that would be taking your time and giving them a scratch if they stood . I think the time spent with them is better than a docile breed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

How about the sunburn folks??

Brother was fair burnt looking heading off earlier, he'd have skin like a newborn baby.

_Brian wrote: »
    Can remember quite a few fatalities from the 70's/80's
    Considering how much less mechanisation there was I'd say the rates were high, know of two local farms where the men were killed with bulls.

There were also quite a few lads around with arms missing from thrasher accidents.
    Grand uncle was attacked by a fr bull. Lived to tell the tale. Know of a man who insisted on wearing a tie to work and was dragged into a combine. He didn't live to tell the tale

Brother was fair burnt looking heading off earlier, he'd have skin like a newborn baby.

Factor 50

Another write up on Johnny's buffalo. Best wishes to him and it was a hard slog.
    Pity his original business partner Toby is airbrushed from the story. I know they fell out but they did journey together.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/cork-buffalo-farmer-says-cheese-for-tv-ad/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

A 4" strip about my waist on my back is scalded.

420137.JPG

Ah, thinning the turnips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A 4" strip about my waist on my back is scalded.
    I learned years ago to rob the old football jerseys belonging to my sons when footing turf. I was regularly seen wearing Eircom (Ireland), Arnotts (Dublin) and Emirates etc jerseys in the bog. They were long enough to cover my lower back and had short sleeves to cover my shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Base price wrote: »
    I learned years ago to rob the old football jerseys belonging to my sons when footing turf. I was regularly seen wearing Eircom (Ireland), Arnotts (Dublin) and Emirates etc jerseys in the bog. They were long enough to cover my lower back and had short sleeves to cover my shoulders.
    Had you no clothes of your own that could do that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Had you no clothes of your own that could do that??
    No. If I did then I wouldn't need to wear my sons old jerseys.

Happy fathers day to all the daddies