Worst adult tantrum you've witnessed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭pawdee

The corpulent, Cork footballer Colin Corkery kicking the ball at referee Brian White in the 2002 All-Ireland semi-final takes some beating. He really spat the dummy but to be fair to the man Seamus Moynihan was hanging off of him all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭arctictree

Was on a divisional football team a few years ago. One of the players has a nickname but throws an absolute strop if anyone uses it! Anyway, we were lining up for the team photo and one of the lads shouts out 'Hey XXXXX, get into the line!'. Well he threw a fit. 'Who said that?'. 'I'll feckin kill whoever said that'. 'Was it you?', at each player! Went on for about 5 minutes....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

These two things may be linked :p
    It's the only way to deal with him. He's a control freak and thinks he's king of the world. Always bossing people, always has to be the centre of attention and have people doing exactly what he wants when he wants.

Another story was when he threw a hissy fit because he had to ask twice - TWICE - for water at a restaurant when it was particularly busy. When they bought the water to the table, he said he didn't want it because it had taken so long.

If you ignore him, he just works himself up further and sulks for ages. It's actually quite funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭wally1990

When I was 9 months pregnant with my first little boy I had very high blood pressure. I was kept in hospital overnight on a couple of occasions. One morning after being discharged from hospital my mam and I decided to go to the shop on the way home. We parked in the underground car park and walked to the lift. There was a lift with the door just opening and a man a woman and a boy of about 8 were entering. The lift was big enough for 9 people so we went into the lift too.
    The man started shouting at me saying that his wife was afraid of enclosed spaces and we should not have got in the lift with them. He was really worked up and red in the face and kept shouting. I told him I'd just gotten out of hospital with very high blood pressure and would he please stop shouting. His response was to shout at me that he didn't give a **** about me or my child. When the lift stopped he stormed out followed by his wife who had remained silent the whole time. Then the little boy called me a few names and ran off after them
    I was so shocked that a man would shout at someone just for sharing a lift with them but more so that he did it in front of his young child. Then even more shocked that the child did the same as the man did. Never seen behaviour like that before in my life. Poor child being brought up like that.

I actually can't believe this ( well I can) but shocked

What a f'ing tool!!!!!
    Some people have no respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Says it all about the reality of anarchism :D

Meh - you get sensible realistic ones and you get the illusionist idiots. Same as any walk of life...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Not exactly a tantrum, but there was a guy in Limerick a few years back who used to stand in the city centre protesting some business (a solicitor's office I think, but not sure). He had a placard about corruption or the business being a bunch of gangsters or something. He had even gone to the trouble of getting a town crier uniform for himself.

He was handing out leaflets, so I went to get one to see what he was protesting, but the leaflet just had information about the history of the town crier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Reading this thread trying to see if anyone knows me in real life

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Do you know who I am?
    Who?
    Ronnie Pickering.
    Who?
    RONNIE FCUKING PICKERING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Christian Bale absolutely losing his **** on the set of Terminator Salvation.
    Chewing out the director of photography because he had the temerity to walk into his eyeline during an 'emotionally' charged scene.

It's a Terminator movie you fcking bell end.

When I was 9 months pregnant with my first little boy I had very high blood pressure. I was kept in hospital overnight on a couple of occasions. One morning after being discharged from hospital my mam and I decided to go to the shop on the way home. We parked in the underground car park and walked to the lift. There was a lift with the door just opening and a man a woman and a boy of about 8 were entering. The lift was big enough for 9 people so we went into the lift too.
    The man started shouting at me saying that his wife was afraid of enclosed spaces and we should not have got in the lift with them. He was really worked up and red in the face and kept shouting. I told him I'd just gotten out of hospital with very high blood pressure and would he please stop shouting. His response was to shout at me that he didn't give a **** about me or my child. When the lift stopped he stormed out followed by his wife who had remained silent the whole time. Then the little boy called me a few names and ran off after them
    I was so shocked that a man would shout at someone just for sharing a lift with them but more so that he did it in front of his young child. Then even more shocked that the child did the same as the man did. Never seen behaviour like that before in my life. Poor child being brought up like that.

As the old cock crows, so crows the young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Meh - you get sensible realistic ones and you get the illusionist idiots. Same as any walk of life...

That's a fair but but also I was thinking that the more sensible ones in the group had to 'police' the insensible one..do you see where I'm going? This is how it always pans out with groups of people, it's why we always end up with decision makers and police

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 118 ✭✭Resist ZOG

Second hand story, but a girl I used know told me one night her friend had a huge row with her boyfriend. She proceeded to lock herself in the toilet and cry all night. Refused to come out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

I worked as a receptionist in a local broadband company for 3 years, not long after I first started the support engineer had to leave for an hour for a callout, a man rang to say he had an issue with his connection. At this time he was due back in about 20 mins. Explained to the customer that support was currently tied up and would call him back in 20 minutes, he called another 3/4 times in 5 mins to check if the tech was ready. On his last phone call he got extremely irate and said I had to come to his house to fix his broadband, he said he was leaving now to come take me there. Rang my boss, no answer 5 minutes later a blacked out Volvo arrived outside and a massive man got out screaming abuse at me and saying he was going to take me. Locked the door and of course he was hammering down the door..go through to my boss and after sitting in the office for another 10 mins my boss and a couple of others came in your man had lost the plot with them as well I got sent home. Was only 20 at the time. He was kept on as a customer but wasn't allowed any contact with me after that.

A few months later a mast went down and got a woman who lost the plot with me all together and told me she was going to come down and wrap a pole around my neck.

Then on my last day of working day of working there, literally at five o'clock when I was leaving we had to call the guards over a man who wouldn't leave the office and threatened to hit the tech numerous times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stan27

When I was younger, I was working in a shop. A guy came in and came up to me when I was at the till and bought an ice cream from the freezer. When he gave it to me, I scanned it and left it on the middle of the kiosk so I could do the rest of the transaction etc. . He then went on a total rant on how he had to put out his arm and reach 6 inches further then he would have liked. "Shove it up your f**king arse" he shouted and went out the door. Didn't know what to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

^^^The lycra gang are invariably angry angry people.

Ah they have the moral high ground they're building a better tomorrow

I worked as a receptionist in a local broadband company for 3 years, not long after I first started the support engineer had to leave for an hour for a callout, a man rang to say he had an issue with his connection. At this time he was due back in about 20 mins. Explained to the customer that support was currently tied up and would call him back in 20 minutes, he called another 3/4 times in 5 mins to check if the tech was ready. On his last phone call he got extremely irate and said I had to come to his house to fix his broadband, he said he was leaving now to come take me there. Rang my boss, no answer 5 minutes later a blacked out Volvo arrived outside and a massive man got out screaming abuse at me and saying he was going to take me. Locked the door and of course he was hammering down the door..go through to my boss and after sitting in the office for another 10 mins my boss and a couple of others came in your man had lost the plot with them as well I got sent home. Was only 20 at the time. He was kept on as a customer but wasn't allowed any contact with me after that.

A few months later a mast went down and got a woman who lost the plot with me all together and told me she was going to come down and wrap a pole around my neck.

Then on my last day of working day of working there, literally at five o'clock when I was leaving we had to call the guards over a man who wouldn't leave the office and threatened to hit the tech numerous times.

What the hell is wrong with some people
    :O

Stan27 wrote: »
    When I was younger, I was working in a shop. A guy came in and came up to me when I was at the till and bought an ice cream from the freezer. When he gave it to me, I scanned it and left it on the middle of the kiosk so I could do the rest of the transaction etc. . He then went on a total rant on how he had to put out his arm and reach 6 inches further then he would have liked. "Shove it up your f**king arse" he shouted and went out the door. Didn't know what to say

He was def having a bad day at this point ! Haha crazy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

When I was on a Southwest Trains line from London to Brighton on a Friday afternoon. There was a guy in a suit, mid-fifties, who was working on a laptop and a mother and her Downs Syndrome daughter sitting beside him. The mother and daughter had been up in London and the daughter was obviously excited so she was, as kids do, bouncing up and down on the seat and elbowed the guy by accident.

So he goes off in a rage at the mother about the kid and that she should control the child and that "children like her" should not even be out in public. Shocked the entire carriage.

I saw red at that point. I exchanged words with the guy and it almost escalated. Only the couple of English ladies sitting beside me stopped me from hauling off and punching him.

hytrogen wrote: »
    Just overtook a lad of the lycra brigade, shaved legs and all, earphones in naturally. Me in me jeans and T on a bike. Spastic doesn't even describe his reaction, I'm writing this as he's still trying to chase me lol
    I'll show him up at the next lights if he catches up.
    Thinly veiled I cycled faster than a guy who was just commuting and didn't give a ****.

Thinly veiled 'I study the bare legs of other cyclists closely enough to know how recently they have shaved'.

I think the minute you start screaming c*nt at people, you lose the argument!

And the same applies in the comment sections, right? The minute you start screaming c*nt at people and wishing them harm, you lose the argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭hytrogen

OMG I've watched a few of the videos and found myself getting angrier and angrier - not at the drivers, but at him!! He's going out of his way to find trouble. And his tone of voice is just so pompous and rich with entitlement. There's one video where he holds up a whole line of traffic just to make a point! One of these days he's going to get the sh*t kicked out of him.

I think I've encountered that pr!ck up in Nutgrove, started hurtling abuse at me as I'm coming out of a parking space, just because he was on a bike. He was lucky he didn't get a clash of my ash I keep in the boot. But it felt like he was loitering around to verbally abuse some granny's.
    Funny thing is he's now left breadcrumbs for his daily commute so anyone with a bit of piano wire handy I'll buy you that well deserved pint!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Probably myself. Very highly strung person, Vicious temper. Could blow up over a pen falling from a desk.

Numerous public meltdowns over the years, thankfully none in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

Used to work renewing taxi licences. Taxi driver came in one day with all his docs (so he thought) to do it. I inspected everything and his NCT sheet was literally a blank sheet of yellow NCT paper. I told him I obviously couldn't accept it and he went absolutely bat**** mental. He screamed the place down. He couldn't believe that we would not accept a blank piece of paper.

The more I look back the more I think it was supposed to be a fake NCT cert and someone shafted him or gave him the wrong piece of paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My most notable was Heuston Station circa 2011. Fcking lost it when I missed my train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

And the other day I was in a friend's car and witnessed extreme road rage. Steering wheel thumping, shouting and swearing at every silly driver and slow pedestrian and awkward parking spot.

Urrrggh, hate sharing a car with road-ragey drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Aglomerado wrote: »
    check out a YouTube channel called Cycledub, classic lycra man.

Jesus what a sad little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

hytrogen wrote: »
    I think I've encountered that pr!ck up in Nutgrove, started hurtling abuse at me as I'm coming out of a parking space, just because he was on a bike. He was lucky he didn't get a clash of my ash I keep in the boot. But it felt like he was loitering around to verbally abuse some granny's.
    Funny thing is he's now left breadcrumbs for his daily commute so anyone with a bit of piano wire handy I'll buy you that well deserved pint!

Yeah, don't do that last bit, that's a dick move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Cristiano Ronaldo. Today. I mean who can blame him. He's only on E365,000 a week after tax. Any now the Spanish government want him to pay bloody tax!!!

Cristiano Ronaldo is "sad" and "upset" at Real Madrid, and is looking to leave the club this summer, according to widespread reports.