Apparition due at Knock shrine - 3pm today (Sunday 11th June)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,849 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Hosanna in the Hiace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I was just reading this out to my Mam and she misheard me when I said a teenaged boy predicted...and thought I said "a ten inch boy". We laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Winterlong wrote: »
    Our worst school tour ever was a trip to knock in 1979. Still fuming over it.
    The other class went to the zoo.

Thinking yours might have been a day trip, ours was a trip to Knock for an all-night vigil, getting up off our feet, fighting sleep and marching around outside the basilica rosary beads in hand saying a decade of the rosary each time...our older friends who had the foresight to pull sickies had told us we could sneak out and go down to the Arcades...they're open all night they said, and we believed them.

Before we went we had visions of Knock as the Salthill of Co.Mayo, alas it was not to be. Starving with the jaysus hunger all night as we had our supplies of tomato sandwiches and Railway cake and Tayto's eaten on the bus before we hit Castlerea in anticipation of the all night 'Burgerland' we had been told was on the Main Street in Knock.
    I remember the bus driver - who usually ferried young lads to matches every week - beacause only for him we'd have died of thirst, he had brought about 25 bottles of tap water as he usually did for the footballers. The teachers ??? Did they give a **** about our hunger and thirst, did they ****. They all hoovered over the weak girl in the class who was clever enough to feign a 'faint' so she garnered all their attention and hot tea from the teacher's flask. If I remember rightly she also managed a few nibbles at a beef sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

At least the local amenities did great business out of this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,344 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

They should take the names of every single person who went to Knock to see the Virgin Mary appear, and then take the vote off them.

Nutters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Too many mushrooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Hosanna in the Hiace

Good one. I laughed out loud.

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Anyone who turns up for this ought to be photographed, fingerprinted and have their right to Vote removed. It's a handy way of gathering the mildly touched into one place so they can be identified and their opinions ignored in the future.

I agree but weren't you in the star sign thread having fallen hook, line and sinker for all that astrology nonsense?
    Those in glass houses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

anna080 wrote: »
    I was just reading this out to my Mam and she misheard me when I said a teenaged boy predicted...and thought I said "a ten inch boy". We laughed.

That'd be the Child of Praque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭EmoCourt

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Anyone who turns up for this ought to be photographed, fingerprinted and have their right to Vote removed. It's a handy way of gathering the mildly touched into one place so they can be identified and their opinions ignored in the future.

I'd say many of those lads and lassies have already been photographed and fingerprinted by the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,901 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The airport runway must be in need of new tarmac. The timing of this is just impeccable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

bazz26 wrote: »
    The airport runway must be in need of new tarmac. The timing of this is just impeccable.

I think you deserve a prize sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

There is a video and photos doing the rounds on Facebook of an apparition that apparently happened yesterday. There is lots of wailing and crying cause they think it's Mary. Looks just like the sun to me but people are going to see what they want to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Thinking yours might have been a day trip, ours was a trip to Knock for an all-night vigil, getting up off our feet, fighting sleep and marching around outside the basilica rosary beads in hand saying a decade of the rosary each time...our older friends who had the foresight to pull sickies had told us we could sneak out and go down to the Arcades...they're open all night they said, and we believed them.

Before we went we had visions of Knock as the Salthill of Co.Mayo, alas it was not to be. Starving with the jaysus hunger all night as we had our supplies of tomato sandwiches and Railway cake and Tayto's eaten on the bus before we hit Castlerea in anticipation of the all night 'Burgerland' we had been told was on the Main Street in Knock.
    I remember the bus driver - who usually ferried young lads to matches every week - beacause only for him we'd have died of thirst, he had brought about 25 bottles of tap water as he usually did for the footballers. The teachers ??? Did they give a **** about our hunger and thirst, did they ****. They all hoovered over the weak girl in the class who was clever enough to feign a 'faint' so she garnered all their attention and hot tea from the teacher's flask. If I remember rightly she also managed a few nibbles at a beef sandwich.

You win the worst school trip award. That sounds totally brutal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    That'd be the Child of Praque.

Many the blazing row with that bollix I've had over the years, perched up there on the mantelpiece looking down his nose at everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

bazz26 wrote: »

It will need another when the rain comes then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭gordongekko

The fecking young fella said mayo would win an all Ireland now that would be some miracle

Many the blazing row with that bollix I've had over the years, perched up there on the mantelpiece looking down his nose at everyone.

He just wanted a sup of your pint...poor bastard took the pledge 800 years ago and he's hanging for a pint of Beamish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Apparition postponed until next Sunday now and will be held in Dolphins Barn instead.

Apparently the boy was misheard and had actually said Fatima Mansions.

Apparition postponed until next Sunday now and will be held in Dolphins Barn instead.

Apparently the boy was misheard and had actually said Fatima Mansions.

We're all going...but don't forget.... 'Only losers take the bus'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Im expecting Adam West to appear in the Batmobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

You're doing it wrong then. You're supposed to break its head off! It's traditional. Also, I think they're supposed to be placed outside, under a bush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

There's a better chance of Adam West appearing in the Batmobile.

R.I.P. Batman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Yakult wrote: »
    So, what? A 14 year old traveler who visited Fatima last month and had visions there, claims it will happen again today at this place? And its news? And people believed him?

Ok.. Lets all fly off to cuckoo land in our magical blimps made out of marshmallow.

Why do you find it funny to insult the faith of the majority of the people in this country. I find it crude arrogant and insulting .But you go on believing in nothing that must be very satisfying

Well?

Why do you find it funny to insult the faith of the majority of the people in this country. I find it crude arrogant and insulting .But you go on believing in nothing that must be very satisfying

I doubt the majority believe in any mythical being....it's just easier to market on a census that you're catholic ... do an auld straw poll here and you'll realise that you're incorrect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Yakult wrote: »
    So, what? A 14 year old traveler who visited Fatima last month and had visions there, claims it will happen again today at this place? And its news? And people believed him?.

She spoke to him in Portuguese apparently according to the newspapers, and this was understood.

Now if the lady takes the trouble to materalise then surely some sort of message or visual instruction should be delivered, and importantly this message should be repeated to the population. But instead just a new meeting was arranged.

Also, on a separate issue, starring at the center of our solar system with the naked is never a good idea. In fact there is probably no worse place within about 1,000,000,000,000 kms miles (other than active volcanoes or infernos).

To purposefully subject your eyes to intense UV corneal flash burns is an act of self-harm. The last time that happened en masse was back in the 70's when hippies were high on hallucinogenics.

Bom dia para voce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Did you turn up at knock yesterday?

Any apparition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Did you turn up at knock yesterday?

No self-respecting deity would appear in Knock today. Its an absolute hoor of a day in the West.:D:D:D