David Icke...is he f*cking insane?

• 10-06-2017 09:03PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

I'm not anti-conspiracy or pro-conspiracy. I accept that although a large number of the theories in the community are out there, a sizeable number have circumstantial evidence to support them.

However, David Icke seems to be in a whole other realm figuratively and literally. Ever since his 'journey' during the early 90s and appearance on the Terry Wogan show, he's become the poster child for the 'Reptilian' theories of the Queen, Royal Family, Blair, Bush etc...

Now no one in their right mind here believes this...but my question is simple; is this all a clever hoax by a man looking to make money and/or perhaps a bit of 'spiritual awakening' (motivated mainly by money) or a guy who genuinely had a mental breakdown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

Absolute nutter who believes reptiles are pulling the shots. Bonkers........

.....because its actually 9ft tall chinchilla's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,753 ✭✭✭bassy

old news..........................................................................................................zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Old news for a start!

Nothing clever about it. The guy has serious problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

For me it's like watching sword swallowers... they're probably great for what they do but they just go on and on.

I wonder will there ever be a point where there is 100% proof of ANYTHING he is saying. He wouldn't know what to do if that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

He has amassed a vast fortune from it. That MIGHT be the real reason, just saying.

Saw their headquarters once, thought it was a cia weapon testing facility. Serious firepower all over the shop, suits armed to the teeth with heavy machine guns, some religion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

A friend of mine actually believes this. Seriously.

When he starts I have to leave.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

The thing about David icke, is that he tells the truth on some stuff to drag the audience in and then.....BAAM.... They're all reptiles. He's a fcukin headcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

When he says lizards he means Jews.

He's just a secret anti-Semite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

He's insane......like a fox!

He's making a mint with this conspiracy theory stuff.

An article from the Telegraph back in 2011

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/religion/8933565/David-Icke-would-you-believe-it.html
    And the interest is, indeed, phenomenal. This autumn, Icke has spoken in 10 cities, across three continents. In New York, he was given a standing ovation by a sell-out, 2,100-strong crowd. Next week, in Amsterdam, he will talk to 1,750 people, while in Melbourne alone ticket sales racked up £83,000.

Through his website, you can download his £1.99 iPhone app, or buy DVDs of his performances for £29.99. T-shirts showing the cover of his latest book, Human Race Get Off Your Knees, sell for £15.

But T-shirts and ticket sales are small fry compared to the revenues generated by books. Since 1998, publishing industry analyst Nielsen calculates that Icke has sold 140,000 copies, worth over £2 million. They have been translated into 11 languages, and he sells ?tens of thousands? in Germany, Romania and Sweden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Estimated net worth of 10 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Is it 1995 again? Twice !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Glenster wrote: »

Absolutely this. No one will sell your books if you're a raging anti-Semite. Just say lizards instead and wink conspicuously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,502 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Your Face wrote: »
    Estimated net worth of 10 million.

Fair play to him. He is harmless to be fair as compared to (for example) scientology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Fair play to him. He is harmless to be fair as compared to (for example) scientology.

He's doing something right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I presume this thread has come about because somebody has just discovered David Icke for the 1st time...

I actually remember in the 90s when he made the switch from footie commentator to the new Messiah in a purple tracksuit, on Wogan I think?

Absolutely compelling when you discover him for the 1st time. His moon theory is something else .....

Suggest you check it out on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Vaguely remember watching a documentary on him, a certain demographic were giving him a really hard time and effectively giving him buckets of ammunition for his conspiracy stuff.

And to be fair they were a right gathering of little pricks. Just deciding who should say what. Just taking away peoples free speech.

Let people talk ffs, censoring sht only makes it 10 times more attractive.

If they're bonkers, disgusting, hate filled or whatever ... go ahead and give them their rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Cool!

I'm what way? The muttterings of the mentally ill are Cool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

i went to see Icke in DCU in Jan this year.

He spoke a lot of sense to be fair to him not saying he didn't go off into some mad tangents but a lot of what he said isn't too far down the rabbit hole of conspiracy stuff....american/Israeli world domination etc...

It was a long day and he was a really engaging speaker , kept my attention for all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Gebgbegb wrote: »

I wonder will there ever be a point where there is 100% proof of ANYTHING he is saying. He wouldn't know what to do if that happened.
    The dog who caught the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

arayess wrote:
    He spoke a lot of sense to be fair to him not saying he didn't go off into some mad tangents but a lot of what he said it's too far down the rabbit hole of conspiracy stuff....american/Israeli world domination etc...

There's a degree of truth to the world domination thing, it's fairly evident when you look into financial and economic matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    There's a degree of truth to the world domination thing, it's fairly evident when you look into financial and economic matters.

well he was preaching to the choir on that regard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Just say lizards instead and wink conspicuously

Or Goblins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Aye. He's a fecking insane snake oil salesman.... and a very successful one at that... lizardpeople for ****s sake....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Glenster wrote: »

It's amazing how many conspiracy theories boil down to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It's all true lads. I saw a 9 foot reptile footing turf in the bog yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

David Icke was the first person for me who came forward with the whole New World Order consipriacy that the entire system - governments, money, media -
    was under control from one small group of people. Seemed crazy at the time (I was a teenager) but in retrospect he seems to haave been spot on.

Now, if he hadn't gone one stoep too far and gone on about Lizards, he might just have sounded sensible.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

David Icke was the first person for me who came forward with the whole New World Order consipriacy that the entire system - governments, money, media -
    was under control from one small group of people. Seemed crazy at the time (I was a teenager) but in retrospect he seems to haave been spot on.

Now, if he hadn't gone one stoep too far and gone on about Lizards, he might just have sounded sensible.

What makes you say he seems to have been spot on with the first bit?

To me the more nonsense he spouts the less credibility all his claims get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,767 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

If becoming a millionaire on the back of spouting nonsense is insane. Then yes he is absolutely insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    What makes you say he seems to have been spot on with the first bit?

To me the more nonsense he spouts the less credibility all his claims get.

Recently? Look at the recent tabloid campaign against Corbyn for a start and Murdoch's reacrions when he heard there was going to be a hung parliament. Pretty much every Fox News anti-left (insofar as the US has a political left) broadcast (Hannity, Bill O'Reilly - you gonna tell me they were "fair and balanced"...?). Russian interferance against Clinton (and before that everything agaist Saunders) - going back to Blair getting involved in the Iraq war - and the Rothschilds owning most of the world banks...

... is this all new to you or are you playing dumb?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.