Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I think its time they re-merged the AR form with the Tri/Adventure race/Cycling forums :D

That's extremely impressive swim distance, I'd just about manage half that :rolleyes:

How's the back feeling this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I think its time they re-merged the AR form with the Tri/Adventure race/Cycling forums :D

That's extremely impressive swim distance, I'd just about manage half that :rolleyes:

How's the back feeling this week?

Back feeling much better thanks! I'm still getting the odd twinge which serves as a reminder to take it easy and stick to the plan, but in general it's much improved.

Yeah it was nice to be back in the pool, but no time these days for a leisurely jacuzzi and steam after :rolleyes:

Saturday 13th

I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
    Till I reach the end
    And then I’ll start again

More lyrics from the playlist. While I’ve never been a fan of headphones on the run, I need music for my walks. Even 2 miles takes AGES when you’re walking so I’ve embraced Spotify and started creating playlists to motivate me. No running today (I’m only doing my walk/run schedule every second day) but I did go for a swim (1,100m), did 3 sets in the gym and then went for a walk in Albo.

Swim was more or less the same as Tuesday, did 8 x 25m to warm up, 2 x 25m backstroke, 5 x 50m, 2 x 100m, 1 x 150m, 4 x 25m sprints and 6 x 25m to cool down. Good to see lane etiquette still being followed to the letter of the law :rolleyes:. My lane buddy insisted on swimming, and I use that term loosely, down the middle of the lane and refused to let me pass :(.

Gym included squats, press ups, planks, side planks, bridges, multi-directional lunges and a few single leg deadlifts to finish. All just bodyweight only so nothing intense.

Back is holding up ok, so the plan is working, although the weight is piling on as I keep forgetting to deduct approx. 4,000 Kcal a week to account for the missing miles :rolleyes:.

Sunday 14th

A morning of cheerleading at the Terenure 5. Conditions proved tough for the runners (the supporters, not so much :cool:) with no shelter from the glaring sun and the wind. Glad not to be racing and happy to see FerrisB, Murph, Anna and Mrs Mc all aquit themselves well along with a good contingent of clubmates, many making the podium in various team and individual categories.

Did a tuck and roll (© aquinn) from FerrisB’s car at the local park for my walk/run which included 4 x 2 mins segments.

Monday 15th

Beginners Pilates and a 1.3 mile power walk. How times have changed :rolleyes:.

Tuesday 16th

1200m swim although it was probably longer I had to do that much weaving around kids messing in the pool (the lanes were being used for kids lessons so everyone else – more kids and me – had to swim in what was left of the pool). I suppose you get what you pay for but I won’t be joining here after my free month is up. Swim set included 8 x 25m to warm up, 2 x 25m backstroke, 5 x 50m, 3 x 100m, 1 x 200m, 4 x 25m sprints and 4 x 25m to cool down.

4 x 2.5 mins run segments (on grass) included in my walk. Fab evening. Summer is here!

Wednesday 17th

A 4 mile walk done as laps of the local park.

Thursday 18th

Rest. Combination of tiredness and lack of time. Back a bit stiff after sitting and/or driving all day.

Friday 19th

Another busy day but escaped finally while BG Jr at a late afternoon party. Did 4 x 3 mins run along the seafront. Feeling very unfit but at the same time very lucky to be running so it evens out.

TOTAL WEEKLY (RUNNING) MILES: 3.7 (including walking miles 17.7)

More than double last week’s running mileage!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Careful now, doubling your mileage in a week isn't sensible :pac:

And that's some swimming... Jumping into a pool after 6 years and casually clocking up 100's of laps! :eek:

Fair play, you'll be back running in no time.

annapr wrote: »
    Careful now, doubling your mileage in a week isn't sensible :pac:

And that's some swimming... Jumping into a pool after 6 years and casually clocking up 100's of laps! :eek:

Fair play, you'll be back running in no time.

Ha ha, that is true, but I think if I applied the 10% rule here I'd be in my 80s by the time I got back up to 40 mile weeks ;).

The swimming is handy as I'm getting a decent workout without any impact. It's a far cry from the days when I'd get 2k done before breakfast though :rolleyes:. I actually thought about signing up to an aquathon this summer but remembered I sold my wetsuit and I can't bear jellyfish so that was the end of that idea.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    It's a far cry from the days when I'd get 2k done before breakfast though :rolleyes:. I actually thought about signing up to an aquathon this summer but remembered I sold my wetsuit and I can't bear jellyfish so that was the end of that idea.

God, I feel so incapable, and slow!! How do you feel about giving lessons :p I have a wetsuit you can borrow :D probably need two of you to fit into it though....

Delighted to see you're progressing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Ha ha, that is true, but I think if I applied the 10% rule here I'd be in my 80s by the time I got back up to 40 mile weeks ;).

The swimming is handy as I'm getting a decent workout without any impact. It's a far cry from the days when I'd get 2k done before breakfast though :rolleyes:. I actually thought about signing up to an aquathon this summer but remembered I sold my wetsuit and I can't bear jellyfish so that was the end of that idea.

I've wetsuits if interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

God, I feel so incapable, and slow!! How do you feel about giving lessons :p I have a wetsuit you can borrow :D probably need two of you to fit into it though....

aquinn wrote: »

No excuses, there's 2 wet-suits for you!!:D Sorry I cant offer you one but I'm allergic to water!! But if you are doing the swimming lessons with AgyR, i'll join you. Gave up my lessons while expecting no 3 and forgot to go back!!!

Good to see you getting stronger again, hope the back continues to improve.

aquinn wrote: »
    Younganne wrote: »
    No excuses, there's 2 wet-suits for you!!:D Sorry I cant offer you one but I'm allergic to water!! But if you are doing the swimming lessons with AgyR, i'll join you. Gave up my lessons while expecting no 3 and forgot to go back!!!

Good to see you getting stronger again, hope the back continues to improve.

Thanks for the offers, but see above regarding jelly fish :eek:. I may make the swimming part of my routine when I'm back running properly. Although it makes me so hungry, I have to eat ALL THE THINGS after a swim which I'm sure is counterproductive :rolleyes:

Saturday 20th

Session in the gym and a walk later on.

Sunday 21st

5 miles in total including 4 x 3.5 mins run. Think this was along the seafront, can’t really remember.

Monday 22nd

Beginners Pilates which felt much better than last week – less embarrassing anyway :rolleyes:. Went for a walk beforehand and threw in a few sneaky 30 second runs.

Tuesday 23rd

Session in the gym while BG Jr was otherwise occupied then a walk/run in the evening along the seafront 4 x 4 mins. Shout out from Red Runner here who was on his bike commute I think.

Wednesday 24th

Just a short walk today.

Thursday 25th

Nothing. Spent most of the day tied to the desk or behind the steering wheel. Then stuck in traffic at for an hour while it was 25 degrees out. Too tired to do anything after that.

Friday 26th

Last of the walk/runs today. Next time there will be no walk breaks! 4 x 4.5 minutes on grass with 30 second walk breaks. All good. Back feels fine when running. It gets a bit stiff and sore sometimes but that’s after sitting for ages or driving. Garmin tells me I’ve been running these intervals waaaay too fast so I will be slowing right down again now and keep an eye on the heart rate.
    Didn’t swim at all this week; must try to include it in my routine going forward.

TOTAL WEEKLY (RUNNING) MILES: 6.1 (including 23.8 walking miles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Saturday 20th

Tuesday 23rd

Session in the gym while BG Jr was otherwise occupied then a walk/run in the evening along the seafront 4 x 4 mins. Shout out from Red Runner here who was on his bike commute I think.

[/SIZE]

I was indeed:)

Continued good luck with the rehab & recovery

Saturday 27th

Full 3 sets in the gym and a long-ish walk later with a few 1 min jogs thrown in.

Sunday 28th

20 whole consecutive minutes running on the plan! I was super excited. Decided to run this by HR with the aim to keep an average of 130bpm or so. Knew this would be slow but hopefully will get faster for the same HR as I regain fitness. About a mile walk either side to warm up and cool down.
    • 2.0 miles @ 9:53 (grass) HR 129

Monday 29th

Beginner Pilates. Very tough class, I think I’m going backwards :rolleyes:. Short jog afterwards, struggling to keep the HR in check, possibly due to the heat but more likely due to lack of fitness.
    • 1.5 miles @ 10:13 (grass) HR 130

Tuesday 30th

Full 3 sets in the gym. Felt pretty good during this but later on had a disaster of a run. Body feeling sore and sluggish and just not right. All sorts of random muscles hurting and my form is disintegrating :mad:.
    • 2.4 miles @ 10:29 (grass) HR 130

Wednesday 31st

A couple of miles on grass. A bit cooler out so easier to keep the HR low.
    • 2.0 miles @ 10:02 (grass) HR 129

End of the month and very little to show for it. Back still nagging and niggling at me and nothing I do seems to make it better (or worse) so it’s time for another opinion.

Month 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013
    January 154 141 101 86 0
    February 127 134 109 75 0
    March 151 114 124 109 0
    April 121 127 129 101 24
    May 20 127 133 95 81
    June 110 110 86 72
    July 139 181 2 101
    August 91 208 31 37
    September 136 133 83 43
    October 144 155 93 64
    November 147 170 107 69
    December 105 113 119 94
    573 1515 1666 987 585

Thursday 1st

Rest. The usual busy Thursday with no time to do anything. Dinner was a bag of chipper chips eaten in the drizzling rain on the way to a pub quiz :rolleyes:.

Friday 2nd

Dumped my Couch 2 5K runners (I’m leading a group of parents in BG Jr’s school through the programme once a week) to avail of a cancellation with my #1 osteopath. It’s like getting an audience with the pope so had to grab the appointment otherwise it’d be a few weeks before I could get in to see him. Trekked to the other side of the city but totally worth it as he was able to identify the source of my back pain and – fingers crossed – appears to have fixed it with a few clicks and manoeuvres of the spine. So so happy because I've been having a lot of pain and stiffness especially sitting and driving and this was making me not want to exercise (most unlike me!), and now it looks like I'm good to go.

TOTAL WEEKLY (RUNNING) MILES: 8.5 (including 18.4 walking miles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Good news G, hopefully it all settles now.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Good to hear the positive news . Good luck with the comeback.

That's great news G, onwards & upwards now.

Saturday 3rd

Had an epic lie-on, probably the longest sleep since I was a teenager. Body felt good, a few random muscular pains which the osteopath had said to expect, but felt fine otherwise. Enjoyed the run in the local park. Easy enough to keep the HR low as it was cool enough by the time I got out. A bit disappointed in the pace but I’ll stick with the HR training as I know it’ll pay off in the long run.
    • 3.0 miles @ 10:07, HR 129

Sunday 4th

Possibly overdid it today and paid the price. Junior parkrun first thing was grand, not a peep out of the back. Made the mistake of pushing BG Jr on the zip line in the park later and felt a bit of a tweak. This was literally minutes after remarking to myself (silently :o) that I was feeling great: loose and mobile for the first time in weeks. D’oh. Felt a bit silly as she’s well able to launch herself so I shouldn’t have given in and pushed her. The run later was a slog but no pain. Unfortunately my back seized up a while after (a spasm of some sort I’m guessing) and I’ve been sore and stiff since.
    • 3.5 miles @ 10:17, HR 131

Monday 5th

REST, feeling sorry for myself.

Tuesday 6th

REST, over myself now. No choice but to take the day off work as BG Jr’s school was having an extra long Bank Holiday :rolleyes:. Went to Aquazone and ended up having* to hurtle down the water slides. My back felt no worse after it and if anything, is a little better today, so thumbs up to water park therapy.

*Any adult accompanying a small child has to be at the bottom to collect them after their slide. But you also have to accompany them to the top and wait with them. So unless you can clone yourself the only way down is Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !

Wednesday 7th

Or weigh-in Wednesday as it shall henceforth be known until I get back to my ‘normal’ weight of approx. 8lbs lighter than I am now :eek:. The weight has been creeping up since before Xmas and while I’ve made a few futile attempts to lose it, the last 6 weeks in particular have been a disaster. Stood on the scales this morning and gulped :eek::eek:. Enough is enough. So I’ll document it here (the loss not the starting weight :o). Took my resting HR out of curiosity and it’s still low enough (app says 41, traditional finger on pulse gives 43) so that’s something at least. Although Garmin has already downgraded my VO2 Max figure to 49 from 51 :rolleyes: .

Date Loss Total
    07/06/2017 -0lb -0lb
    14/06/2017
    21/06/2017
    28/06/2017
    05/07/2017
    12/07/2017
    19/07/2017
    26/07/2017
    02/08/2017

Physio visit this evening. She didn’t like the look of my back at all and said it’s a slipped disc waiting to happen. Given that she also predicted this 4 years ago I’m going to have to accept this diagnosis and do what I’m told (for once :o) in an effort to prevent it from happening again. So I’ve to do as much Pilates as possible, specific back exercises (McKenzies) swim and walk. That’s it until further notice.

Thursday 8th

Rest. Except for my prescribed back exercises. Supposed to be every 2 hours. Didn’t quite manage this as can’t exactly do them during work but managed about 3 sets.

Friday 9th

Back felt a little better this morning. Did Pilates, then went for a swim (1300m). Feeling like I have a little more mobility but everything still feels very tight so there’s no way I could run comfortably even if I had a pass.

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 6.5

As a matter of interest are the Osteo and Physio saying the same thing or different things or are they working on different issues?

Saying different things. History repeating itself. Dumbo here just didn't want to believe it :o.

No name calling of my friends allowed! I doubt there's a single person here who want to see when it comes to injury/illness, I'd be top of that list. I just wasn't sure which was which etc so looks like the physio's instructions are the ones to follow? So hopefully now you have a better idea you can get back on the road quickly.

That's it, although the physio referred to in my recent post is a physical therapist and has been my go-to therapist for years. For this injury I have also seen a GP who is also an osteopath, a physiotherapist, and another osteopath. You'd swear I had money to burn. All sounds a bit silly now that I see it written down, but we runners can get desperate :rolleyes:. Also, all of these individuals have performed 'miracles' for me in the past. The trick is knowing which one is going to be the miracle worker for a particular injury.

With any luck, now that I'm listening, I can hopefully avoid a full blown slipped disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

That's it, although the physio referred to in my recent post is a physical therapist and has been my go-to therapist for years. For this injury I have also seen a GP who is also an osteopath, a physiotherapist, and another osteopath. You'd swear I had money to burn. All sounds a bit silly now that I see it written down, but we runners can get desperate :rolleyes:. Also, all of these individuals have performed 'miracles' for me in the past. The trick is knowing which one is going to be the miracle worker for a particular injury.

With any luck, now that I'm listening, I can hopefully avoid a full blown slipped disc.

I believe from experts I have seen also that there is no such thing as a "slipped disc" They bulge and that's it. It must be frustrating getting conflicting advice though. I still have back issues but so far I'm managing to stay on top of it. The pilates definitely helps me so hopefully you can avoid that disaster that was lurking in the long grass too.

....now if only I could fix everything else that's broken with me too.

Keep the faith!

RedRunner wrote: »
    I believe from experts I have seen also that there is no such thing as a "slipped disc" They bulge and that's it. It must be frustrating getting conflicting advice though. I still have back issues but so far I'm managing to stay on top of it. The pilates definitely helps me so hopefully you can avoid that disaster that was lurking in the long grass too.

....now if only I could fix everything else that's broken with me too.

Keep the faith!

Thanks, R! Trying hard to keep the faith, but honestly it's hard to know who and what to believe. I just know that it hurts! And I can't run!

I did hear that before, that 'slipped disc' is a misnomer. What's strange though is that some people will have a bulging disc and no pain or symptoms whereas others will have one and be in a heap which is why backs are difficult to diagnose, even with MRIs etc.

I'm all over the Pilates now, but I never really let it slide (as in I always did at least 1 class a week) so I think my biggest mistake was letting the gym work slide after Christmas.

Must try to remember that I'm not 21 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Slipped, prolapsed, bulging: same thing.

From my experience it's amazing how the body repairs such problems, at least temporarily, without a lot of intervention (my back problems predate my running by many years).

Are you using "The Back Book" - those simple exercises can give amazing relief! (From the pain at least, if not the problem!)

Keep the faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Even at 41 you might have had a fighting chance :pac: hope it all settles soon.

Kennyg71 wrote: »

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

(pops in for a nose, then swiftly leaves to avoid the possibility of getting caught in the crossfire) :pac:

Murph_D wrote: »

Are you using "The Back Book" - those simple exercises can give amazing relief! (From the pain at least, if not the problem!)

Keep the faith.

I'm using 'Treat Your Own Back' which has the McKenzie exercises.

Careful now ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Careful now ...

Might be time to change your name to BAG:

"Bungy Auld Girl" :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

God you're a brave one !!!