Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Base price wrote: »
    Jaysus, paying ?250/h for sub 3 week old whitehead heifer calves.
    I've bought 42 whitehead heifer calves (14 to 47 days old) since mid April until the end of May at an average of ?167.37/h.

Not as many here but same price, ?160 inc mart fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

_Brian wrote: »

How are they doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I said wrote: »
    Lick arse

Well I do. Got southern cattle before. Not great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well I do. Got southern cattle before. Not great

Light boned down there

whelan2 wrote: »
    How are they doing?

Doing good overall, didn't use vecoxan as prevention so of course coccidiosis in two, whole lot done now but lesson learned (again)
    Girls bought one each and so did my brothers daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Haha, that'll teach Teresa May to be presumptuous and call an election. Maybe the result will put some manners on them and they'll rethink their hard Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Pte x lsp. We sold him in march ,he wasn't used on our cows
    Fine animal, shame not to even cross him on a commercial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Haha, that'll teach Teresa May to be presumptuous and call an election. Maybe the result will put some manners on them and they'll rethink their hard Brexit.

Could never understand why she called the election. Political naivety at it's worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Could never understand why she called the election. Political naivety at it's worst.

If she goes with the dup the north is fu1cked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

A bit of a wipeout for the SNP too.
    Loosing 19 seats!

SNP loose 19, Con loose 12 and Labour gain 29.

This election was fought as much by the leaders personalities and debating skills.
    When Theresa May and Nicola Sturgeon wouldn't or couldn't turn up for the televised live pre election leaders debate they were finished and public confidence was lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/farming-couple-looking-for-money-for-parking-meter-find-euromillions-ticket-worth-500000-in-car-792913.html

Base Price is awful quiet today isnt she?

I pose she'll come on and say now,that they were celebrating their winnings were at the mart... ;)

:p

There was mushrooms in the field I was topping this morning, nice ones . First I saw this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/farming-couple-looking-for-money-for-parking-meter-find-euromillions-ticket-worth-500000-in-car-792913.html

Base Price is awful quiet today isnt she?

I pose she'll come on and say now,that they were celebrating their winnings were at the mart... ;)

:p
    Oh how I wish it was me. Nice win for the couple.

Same downfall for Tatcher, surrounded herself with yes men and lickarses so the truth snook up and bit her on the arse.

Plus the British press were distorting the real picture on the ground through nothing only a dislike for Corbin, they were painting him much more as a useless leader than he actually was.

God knows what is in store if tue DUP go into government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Yes but bought 12 directly from farmers.

How are they doing?
    They were the easiest batch of calves to rear. Not a sniffle or ailment with any of them. Have most of them sold to 4 farmers who want them to make sucklers. One guy told me that they high stars coming off dairy cows. Don't know if it's true or not as I know little or nothing about that scheme other than reading a bit about it in F&F.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Have any of ye have tips for preventing blisters?

ganmo wrote: »

Where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Where ?

Hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Gloves

Bought a petrol powerwasher yesterday. It was put together for me, there was a part missing when we went to use it this morning. Got the part. It wouldnt start, spent the afternoon at it. Brought it back to where I bought it and they couldnt start it either.... so wasted afternoon and we will either get a new one or they will send that one back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Friend well into sucklers says, the stars are daft. Any bit of a friesian, for milk, will send your animal up to 4/5 stars.

Bought a petrol powerwasher yesterday. It was put together for me, there was a part missing when we went to use it this morning. Got the part. It wouldnt start, spent the afternoon at it. Brought it back to where I bought it and they couldnt start it either.... so wasted afternoon and we will either get a new one or they will send that one back

We have a few washers at work, big thing is always shut off the petrol from the tank when transporting it. Otherwise petrol will vibrate in, flood the carb and cylinder, I've seen them refuse to start for a full day afterwards - leave overnight and it starts next morning.
    Should be anshut off valve on way down from tank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Sheep shorn... great to have the job done for another year...

Off for a few days next week too, so great to have it done before I head away...

Happy out :)

There was no petrol or oil in it when we got it. As it's new. It never gave a kick at all for the million times we tried to start it

Jesus they should never have sent it out like that.
    Surely they should fill the oil and make sure it's running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

ganmo wrote: »

Get a good labourer haha ! Good gloves are the only job . I don't know the make but I get nice comfortable blue ones from safety direct that aren't hard to work in .

Jesus they should never have sent it out like that.
    Surely they should fill the oil and make sure it's running.

Plenty of fooks at it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Say she wanted to avoid the next election being In the Middle of brexit & hoped to strengthen her hand.
    Bad timing to with the attacks

Say she wanted to avoid the next election being In the Middle of brexit & hoped to strengthen her hand.
    Bad timing to with the attacks

The last attack in London swung things big time against her considering she presided over the loss of something like 13k police officers.

To fight against the likes of that grass roots terrorism you need bobbies involved in communities, spending their time doing nothing else but working with communities, building relationships and identifying trouble way before it becomes trouble.

Taking away police and leaving these marginalised communities to fester is a huge mistake, same thing in France, stack em high in high density slums, no policing, no social supports, rampant crime, it breeds resentment and it's just a short hop to a home grown terrorist.