Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London terror attack confirmed by Met Police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Gamebred wrote: »
    Would love to know when islam became a race.

Yep seemingly Islam is a race & anyone who questions anything to do with it is racist because Muslims are brown:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Help!!!! wrote: »
    Plenty on here calling everyone they dont agree with racist/bigots

I'm sure there are. I'm struggling to find where the liberals are though. On boards and in Ireland. There is a huge difference between labels in America and here. Your using an American term to label anyone who disagrees with you.

So whats your definition of liberal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

So whats your definition of liberal?

I'm not interested in a tit for tat with you. I don't understand your insistence with labels and buzzwords. It cheapens what's being talked about.

I'll leave it at that.

I'm not interested in a tit for tat with you. I don't understand your insistence with labels and buzzwords. It cheapens what's being talked about.

I'll leave it at that.

What insistence with labels & buzzwords?
    Well when you become a moderator I'll take on board what you say, untill then.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

There is footage here of the moment the Police shoot the 3 terrorists as they were hacking and stabbing a civilian. I'm amazed at just how 'up close and personal' the incident was. I would have assumed that the shootings would have taken place from about 15 feet for some reason. 2 were practically point blank as the terrorists charged the Police trying to stab them too. You should watch this to see how fast the decision making process is here, and why trying to shoot them in the arm/leg is utterly ridiculous and not practical in reality.

Also, in the heat of the battle the Police neglected to put on the handbrake, and nearly got knocked down by their own vehicle, which also narrowly avoided the civilian that was stabbed. This is not a criticism btw, just an observation. I would have been running around like a headless chicken in their position.

Serious respect to those firearms officers. Balls of steel.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4582194/Video-shows-moment-London-Bridge-terrorists-shot-police.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Saudi players no.7 and no.10 respected the minutes silence.

Well done, the only men on the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I find it amazing people still make excuses for Islam, "Maybe they didn't know what was going on" being the best one I've heard yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

There is footage here of the moment the Police shoot the 3 terrorists as they were hacking and stabbing a civilian. I'm amazed at just how 'up close and personal' the incident was. I would have assumed that the shootings would have taken place from about 15 feet for some reason. 2 were practically point blank as the terrorists charged the Police trying to stab them too. You should watch this to see how fast the decision making process is here, and why trying to shoot them in the arm/leg is utterly ridiculous and not practical in reality.

Also, in the heat of the battle the Police neglected to put on the handbrake, and nearly got knocked down by their own vehicle, which also narrowly avoided the civilian that was stabbed. This is not a criticism btw, just an observation. I would have been running around like a headless chicken in their position.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4582194/Video-shows-moment-London-Bridge-terrorists-shot-police.html

It is also worth reflecting upon the reality that these Police Officers,whether members of Tactical Units or not,are ordinary people,doing a job,just like us,who are without any warning thrust into a situation which NO training can prepare you fully for.

These Police Officers,at the end of the day,have to remove the uniform and go home to Families,and home situations of the most mundane ordinaryness.

Think,for a moment,of what it must take for those Police Officers to re-enter the normal World,which most of us take for granted and rarely appreciate as we should.

It is so easy for us all to defer to the "Radicalized" terrorist,and to view them as some form of all powerful demonic force to be reckoned with.

In reality,the term used by Donald Trump to describe the Manchester Murderer...."Evil Losers" is just about correct.

Our Society owes these individuals nothing...not even the most basic recognition of their supposed devotion to their religion...they were,and will remain "Evil Losers".

Ireland,can only hope that none of it's young Gardai,will ever find themselves faced with having to make the split-second decisions those Metropolitan Police Officers had to make last Saturday Night.

:(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I find it amazing people still make excuses for Islam, "Maybe they didn't know what was going on" being the best one I've heard yet

I think you are mixing up Islam with fundamentalist Wahhabism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Police must have had no way of knowing if explosive vests were to be detonated right beside them.

I'm sure there wasn't time to determine that

I think we can expect incidents in future where the initial attack is a decoy or diversion from the main attack later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

So it turns out the not standing for a minutes silence "not being part of Saudi culture" excuse is complete boll*x.

Here's the Saudi handball team doing so after the death of their king in 2015.

players-of-team-saudi-arabia-and-germany-observe-a-minute-of-silence-ef0xh4.jpg

Here's another one of it not being part of their culture.
    B8DFj_7CAAAwAEb.jpg

Further examples here and here.

This is interesting but not surprising:

Islamic sheikh Shaikh Mohammad Tawhidi has claimed the real reason the team refused the silence is because under Sharia Law, it is not a sin for a Muslim to kill a non-believer.

He argued that the reason for the team's lack of participation was an example of them showing that they stand alongside the jihadists.

"Their response suggests that within Muslim culture they don't remember the dead with a moment of silence. This is a lie."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Help!!!! wrote:
    Islamic sheikh Shaikh Mohammad Tawhidi has claimed the real reason the team refused the silence is because under Sharia Law, it is not a sin for a Muslim to kill a non-believer.

Did you see this on a video or read it? Any chance of a link.

Not only is it not a sin to kill a non-believer, it's exactly what the Koran tells them to do.

Did you see this on a video or read it? Any chance of a link.

Not only is it not a sin to kill a non-believer, it's exactly what the Koran tells them to do.

Here ya go

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/officials-claim-saudi-football-team-10587168

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

This is interesting but not surprising:

He argued that the reason for the team's lack of participation was an example of them showing that they stand alongside the jihadists.

"Their response suggests that within Muslim culture they don't remember the dead with a moment of silence. This is a lie."

Ah that's grand then!

Is this like a crazy strategy where you tell the opponent "yes, I AM trying to kill you" in order that it surprises them into submission?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Omackeral wrote: »
    That pretty much nails it. When you are a guest anywhere, you should do as the locals do. Same for us if we visit Saudi Arabia.

What's your views on McClean not wearing a poppy. You must have been outraged

pangbang wrote: »
    Ah that's grand then!

Is this like a crazy strategy where you tell the opponent "yes, I AM trying to kill you" in order that it surprises them into submission?!

No Imam Tawhidi has been telling people in Australia that there is a problem within Islam for awhile now. He's been attacked by other Muslims because he says Islam is a religion of war & needs its own reformation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

No Imam Tawhidi has been telling people in Australia that there is a problem within Islam for awhile now. He's been attacked by other Muslims because he says Islam is a religion of war & needs its own reformation

Well if they even get to have a reformation, that'll still leave them 300 odd years behind.

What's your views on McClean not wearing a poppy. You must have been outraged

Outraged, not at all. Nice assumption though. In fact I think it's rich of McClean to live and work in England (making thousands of pounds) and not just get on with the whole bloody poppy thing. It's a bit of stitching on a jersey and it happens every year. Get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Outraged, not at all. Nice assumption though. In fact I think it's rich of McClean to live and work in England (making thousands of pounds) and not just get on with the whole bloody poppy thing. It's a bit of stitching on a jersey and it happens every year. Get on with it.

Come on. Really?

He's hired as a professional, not to pin his colours to the British army!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Stupid comparison, the poppy is a memorial prop to people who have fought on his own home streets in Derry, Saudi Arabia has not been bombed or innocent people slaughtered by western forces lately as far as I know.

Bravery indeed! Hope they are able to recover from the incident, it's got to be hard to deal with even tho it's a proper use of deadly force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Vcu3656 wrote: »
    Bravery indeed! Hope they are able to recover from the incident, it's got to be hard to deal with even tho it's a proper use of deadly force

Guns aren't always bad. Often, they're just a tool to do good with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

So if you happened to be up North on the 12th, you would join in with the Orange Marches amd bonfires as it's what they do in that country?

What difference does it make if he lives in Derry or England, it's all th United Kingdom.

P.S Poppys on shirts only happens the last few years!

He also isn't the first or last Irish player not to wear one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,848 ✭✭✭take everything

Filthy medieval savages.
    Fair play to the police.

Those armed police probably didnt know what they were walking into

Could have been a trap or suicide bomb anything ,and it was up close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,848 ✭✭✭take everything

osarusan wrote: »
    http://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/socceroos-vs-saudi-arabia-minute-of-silence-before-world-cup-qualifier-not-in-keeping-with-saudi-culture-20170608-gwnphs.html

EDIT: I'd like to see the full footage of the incident. The stuff in the Daily Mail (for example) is actually what was going on before the minute's silence actually started.

This is the best footage I've seen so far - the Saudis in view seem to be standing still in their own half, but you can't see them all, and still, it ends before the minute's silence starts.

This one shows the minute's silence (or some of it), but doesn't show the Saudi players at all..and the sound is messed up.

2nd edit: Guardian seems to have the full footage here. They report that apart from 1, the Saudi players kept warming up, but you can't see them doing that or anything else on the footage - just shots of the crowd and Australian players. Guardian also gives examples of how Saudis (or Saudi club teams) have lined up for minute's silence in the past.

That is a shocking statement to the world from Saudi Arabia.
    People need to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Mod: I know it seems reasonably connected, but there is a separate thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057750563 for the Saudi Arabia football team incident, so can anyone who wants to discuss that head over there please, and we'll leave this thread to the London attack specifically.