Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I don't have any kids but if I had twins I would treat them as individuals, rather than a pair. It really bugs me when I twins who are dressed the same and have the same haircuts. Maybe they're the twins who don't get on as adults because they were forced to be the same? My sister is four and a have years younger than me and my mother used to make us wear the same dresses. It drove me mental.

I'm assuming you're female with the dress wearing ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

My mother is an identical twin, they are fairly close. It skips a generation and as all of my sister's pregnancies have been single, makes me think I've a good chance of having them. My partner is a fraternal twin..they are not close but get on alright..but I heard that his side wouldn't have an influence, it's maternal only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Village Crazy Lady

I have a twin brother and I have 6yr old twin daughters. I get on really well with him, better than my other siblings, and my twin daughters are inseparable, they do everything together and get upset if separated, like a doctors appointment etc. They finish each others sentences, help each other all the time and I could count on one finger how many times they have fought with each other, I was the same with my twin until we hit puberty, then all hell broke loose. Then once all that settled down, we are the best of friends. My twins couldn't be more different in personality. One is gentle and soft and the other is feisty and stubborn. But they do get on great. Cant say that about my other two who are older than the twins. They keep wishing they had a twin too haha. 5 generations of the last on my mothers side have had twins, so this whole skipping a generation is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

My dad had a twin sister and they couldn't have been more different personality wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

This bonding between twins is a load of nonsense thought up by people that are not twins.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I'm a twin. We get on really well. The family always get annoyed because we always stick up for each other. We know each others friends etc and grew up around the same people. It's nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My brother house shared with twins one time. I stayed with him for two days and didn't notice it was two different people, mind you, I couldn't really remember which was which out of any of the lads there, young lads all look the same really. At one point the one with the beard went up the stairs and the one without the beard came down and I did kind of absentmindedly think "jeez, he's a quick shaver". Three years later and I know which one is which about 70% of the time but I swear they're fcuking with me sometimes.

My cousins are quads but hate being referred to like that, some of them don't even like people knowing because they're just sick of talking about it. They're all very very different people. When they were teenagers they deliberately went to different schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I have a friend who is a twin, they aren't identical but they do look quite alike, it took me a while to tell them apart. They are different personality and style wise but share some of the same beliefs, which their family doesn't share so it seems to be something they both reinforce with each other. I have noticed that they seem to have difficulty maintaining friendships and I think it is partially due to feeling like they don't need anyone else. When my friend was in a relationship in the past she told her boyfriend that he would never be the most important person in her life, that would always be her twin and both of the girls struggled with jealousy when the other was in a relationship. My friend once told me when she was single that she didn't feel the need for a relationship with a man because she has such a strong bond with her twin, I thought that was a bit odd. Family relationships and sexual relationships are very different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I'm assuming you're female with the dress wearing ****.
    Of course. If I was male, I'd be Paddy Bull :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

My mother is a twin (fraternal) - they were in the same class all the way through & even did the same college course. They now live in different countries but are very close. Not sure if they are any closer to each other than their other siblings but they do often wear the same thing, buy the same ornaments etc & have even claimed to know when the other was in labour due to abdominal pains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

My mother is an identical twin, they are fairly close. It skips a generation and as all of my sister's pregnancies have been single, makes me think I've a good chance of having them. My partner is a fraternal twin..they are not close but get on alright..but I heard that his side wouldn't have an influence, it's maternal only.

Identical twins is not genetic. Also, twins do not skip a generation - that's a myth but a widely known & oft believed one.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I have an identical twin. Ugly bastard.

Seriously though, I do recall one time where I knew something was wrong. We lived in the states at the time, and I went round the block looking for him. Found his bike under the front of a car, and he was being brought away in an ambulance. He now has a nice scar on the back of his head to differentiate.

We sound the same I'm told, and have similar interests. Have often bought the same stuff separately. I've two kids, he has three. No twins yet. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,587 ✭✭✭DunnoKidz

Never spent much time with my twin. We are diametrically opposite. Only similarity: sending our mother the same card once, she took it as a sign. I took it as a coincidence and small selection of Mothers Day cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,064 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Do you reckon identical twins ever wake up one morning and forget which one they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I always wanted a twin. :) No though I am not. And no i have never known any. I would love to hear stories though :) I keeping of the sweet valley twins :)

Used to think of them quite a bit myself too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

There are two girls that are identical twins that drank in the same bars as me in Limerick city from about 10 to 15 years ago. I'm not sure did I get off with the same girl twice or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm a twin, non identical as she's female and I'm male. We got on well together and always have although we would never have been described as close. We don't have any similar traits or personality and we have different likes and dislikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

My Dad and his sister are twins. They look nothing alike and they are not close. I thought they would have some kind of connection but no.

Same as above, except my Dad died 20 years ago. They got on well but weren't super close in my lifetime anyway, maybe when they were kids.

My older sister and I finished each other's sentences, had a secret language as kids, same mannerism, and rarely ever argued. I think it's just siblings' luck of the draw.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Sirsok wrote: »
    My mate is a twin, yet he has never met him, as one twin was put up for adoption. He knows he lives in England thats about it. Always found that strange, knowing you have a twin libing out there and you've never met them

Jesus, putting one twin up for adoption... how would the kid ever get over that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,587 ✭✭✭DunnoKidz

Jesus, putting one twin up for adoption... how would the kid ever get over that?
    living separately is just how life goes for some of us... kids just deal, as in so many other circumstances kids are resilient (adults don't seem as).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

I'm an identical twin. Wouldn't like to be any other way.

Always have somebody you know with you. First day of school, till your last day of school your never alone.

After school we grew apart. He hangs around with the wrong crowed and dies in his Twenties from a herion overdose.

Now I feel for ever alone even in a crowded room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I'm an identical twin. Wouldn't like to be any other way.

Always have somebody you know with you. First day of school, till your last day of school your never alone.

After school we grew apart. He hangs around with the wrong crowed and dies in his Twenties from a herion overdose.

Now I feel for ever alone even in a crowded room.

Oh, that's awful. I'm really sorry for your loss :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

As the older twin, do any of ye ever go, "When I was your age", and then proceed to tell your sibling about what you did five minutes ago?

Because I would do that daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I used to go out with someone who was a fraternal twin to a male. They were nothing alike at all in any sense. I wouldn't consider fraternal twins as actual twins, they're just siblings born in an incredibly short timespan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,425 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I work with twins. They are not identical but very similar. The thing is...some people can't tell them apart but others can. I've often seen one of them 100 metres away, out of the work environment, and I'd know which of them it was.

The weird this is...when I spoke to one of them about it, he said that he'd often confuse himself with his twin brother in photos if wasn't for the clothes they were wearing. (They're heading towards 50 at this stage.)

DunnoKidz wrote: »
    living separately is just how life goes for some of us... kids just deal, as in so many other circumstances kids are resilient (adults don't seem as).

Not very resilient adults were once the kids who experienced crappy things :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

My son has mates that are identical triplets! They are gas but you can tell them apart by their temperament.
    When we play football in a father/son game, they all instinctively gather around their dad at give him a bollicking, it's hilarious.
    I reckon all 3 of them will go on to play for Ireland some day, deadly little footballers so they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I have a friend in Ireland, with a twin brother who lives in a different country. She often says she basically pines for him and nobody else ''gets it''.

I've just copied this as it explains it well. Mirror-Image Twins:

The term mirror twins, refers to the fact that they have the same physical features but opposite asymmetric features. If one twin is right handed the other twin is left handed, a twin with a birthmark on his left check will have a mirror twin with a birthmark on his right check. They can even have hair that whorls in opposite directions and opposite teeth. In more extreme cases, twins even have mirrored internal organs, such as one with heart on the right and the co-twin with his heart on the left - even the skeletal features may be reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I don't have any kids but if I had twins I would treat them as individuals, rather than a pair. It really bugs me when I twins who are dressed the same and have the same haircuts. Maybe they're the twins who don't get on as adults because they were forced to be the same? My sister is four and a have years younger than me and my mother used to make us wear the same dresses. It drove me mental.

I have twin brothers my parents never took them apart ,shared clothes ,bath ,bedroom almost everything
    Took my parents a lot of time and a lot of difficulties to get them at the same school and in the same class
    The guys just didn't want to be separated
    They still live together in a big house and are married on the same day and year with TWIN girls
    They have both yes Twin children who also both not wanted to be separated sharing everything and doing everything together
    If one is not in sight of the other then they are in panic

Know other twin also and are total the opposite of each other ,shared in the beginning everything but at a later stadium wanted their own bedroom own stuff and doings and different schools
    My meaning leave it to the twins itself if they want to live together or seperated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I have a twin brother. We are not identical at all. Completely different personalities!
    We used to get the standard questions by people intrigued by the whole thing. One thing that came up especially in primary school was "do you feel pain etc if the other gets hurt etc" which led to many attempts to try and prove this and ending up with a dead arm at times.
    There was also the story we were told (I'm not sure by who at the time) - whoever was born second is classed as the older twin. Not sure how common this was for other twins or what the there opinion is of this?