Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London terror attack confirmed by Met Police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Being discussed on RTÉ radio at moment. One of the attackers lived in the Dublin area as recently as about 14 months ago

Also apparently he never came to Garda attention here.

I wouldn't call this fake news,

The people participating, holding signs are possibly 100% sincere, and arranged/agreed to show their support in front of the cameras.
    Fake or otherwise, the fact that there is such a tiny number should speak for itself!
    If the muslin community was appalled by the attacks, there should be a representative number there, not a token number of "actors", there are probably at least 100,000 Muslims living within 2-3 mines of that spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Agreed, staged news does not equal fake news.
    It's like photography, you can be sincere but still you may technically stage shots because one background suits better than the unimpressive street corner with bags of rubbish or the Harvey Normans sign a protester had camped themselves on, so you just move them a bit over there. And while you're at it, you fix the poor light issue. And for safety, you might want to block the street if you can. And when you're after taking so much care making sure the aesthetics are right, you're going to give people a chance to do a retake if they stumbled on their words first time around.
    And somebody will see you at it and think you're doing fake news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Fake or otherwise, the fact that there is such a tiny number should speak for itself!
    If the muslin community was appalled by the attacks, there should be a representative number there, not a token number of "actors", there are probably at least 100,000 Muslims living within 2-3 mines of that spot.
    Why are you calling them 'actors'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Disgusting to think these lads walk among us here in ireland. Need hard line politics and i just hope varadkar has the balls to deal with this threat. We should start doing raids on suspected terroists as soon as can be and start the deportations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

The people participating, holding signs are possibly 100% sincere

Sincere or not they're still covering themselves up within a civilised society with the aim of defending an oppressive ideology.

But let's not call the group that did show up as fake, because if we call this fake news, then we are calling them fake. I don't believe they are fake, They are using the media to send out their message

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

The bodies of islamic terrorists should be fed to pigs.

Sincere or not they're still covering themselves up within a civilised society with the aim of defending an oppressive ideology.

Really?
    You want to criticise them for what they are wearing?

Will anything be good enough

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

There is a lot of racism and Islamophobia in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I have not read much of this thread so forgive me if what I am about to write has been already suggested , if it has then perhaps it bears repeating.

There is no simple solution to this disgusting state of affairs we find ourselves in and there are many factors that have brought us to this point which don't need repeating because as the saying goes "it is what it is" and we are where we are right now. Anyway all we can do is deal with what we've got right now and to that end I and many many others no doubt want to see some glaringly obvious measures enacted NOW.

1) Anyone who has returned from fighting with ISIS in the middle east needs to be removed from society RIGHT NOW, send in as many as it takes and put them in a Guantanamo type holding area with immediate effect.

2) Shut down every mosque that is funded by Saudi Arabia, incarcerate any Iman that has espoused hate filled speech, indefinitely.

3) Try although I know it may prove impossible to fully implement , but try to take as many Jihadi type websites offline.

4) Apparently there are 23000 Jihadis in the UK, well instead of Britian and the USA doing deals to sell arms to Saudi Arabia (who then go on to fund these terrorists and educate them through their teachings in their Mosques, instead divert the resources to the police and SAS to take these ****ers out, 23000 is a large number but it is doable , .

5) Ordinary Muslims who harbour knowingly anyone who has expressed a wish to wage Jihad should also be charged with conspiracy to murder.

6) The entire families of any of these terrorists should be deported back to their country of origin with immediate effect.

7) Police should be armed ( I can't believe they are not in this day and age!)

8) Burka Banned.

If the will was there all these things could be achieved, there would be a serious backlash in the short term but long term it is the only way Britain and indeed the whole of Western Society can be saved.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Because they are acting as instructed by the camera crew, that is "acting", if it was a genuine demonstration, the camera crew would just be recording their actions, rather than directing them!

Simples!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I wouldn't call this fake news,

The people participating, holding signs are possibly 100% sincere, and arranged/agreed to show their support in front of the cameras.

I imagine the way its being shot will make it look like a gathering crowd of muslim supporters showing their respect. You really think they will show that its only 5/6 people on their airtime? Thats why its fake news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

ah here. The muslims going to show support for victims of this terror attack are not the ones you need be having a go at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Because they are acting as instructed by the camera crew, that is "acting", if it was a genuine demonstration, the camera crew would just be recording their actions, rather than directing them!

Simples!

Oh ffs. By that definition everyone who takes an action is an 'actor'.
    Do you not see the irony of coming up with this nonsense while describing that demonstration as fake news?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Liberals always make these stupid accusations. I see a lot of realists who are trying to discuss ways of actually dealing with a problem rather than singing songs and lighting candles. The world aint full of sunshine and lollipops like the liberal media like to make out it is. We are facing one of the biggest european crisis of the 21st century, wake up and see clearly what needs to be done.

wakka12 wrote: »
    ah here. The muslims going to show support for victims of this terror attack are not the ones you need be having a go at

Yes over the top in this specific instance and unwarranted. I feel bad for them being oppressed rather than their intentions to show support, came out wrong.

Oh ffs. By that definition everyone who takes an action is an 'actor'.
    Do you not see the irony of coming up with this nonsense while describing that demonstration as fake news?
    I'm describing the fact that in an area of London that has probably something like 100,000 Muslims within 2-3 mile radius, only that tiny token number turned up to show support for the victims! Where are the other 99,990 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

The thing is most of the extremists are known to British police ,journalists and so on
    The Manchester bomber was , the woolwich murders were, the Westminster bridge guy was and it looks like the London Bridge leader was

This is not about attacking a whole religion or looking up whole swathes of the community (btw did the guy who suggested this in Ireland work for the British on interment in NI in 70s ???)

This is about infiltrating ( not hard to do really) and subverting all extremists before they do ****....

Gosh it is not as difficult as it appear....The Manchester bomber was reported by his mosque, lots of Muslim neighbours, etc to police as a threat

This is not about banning Muslims...this is about working with Muslim communities to identify the threats , (or recruiting Muslims to secret service) and locking them up before they attack and then working on de radicalizing them ( this has been done also)

Just watch all Channel 4 documentaries to get an idea of who they are
    London & Manchester are failures by the government and security services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Muslims aren't a "race". Calling out the hateful ideology that is behind these attacks is not "Islamophobia".

A phobia is an irrational fear of something.

MPFGLB wrote: »
    The thing is most of the extremists are known to British police ,journalists and so on
    The Manchester bomber was , the woolwich murders were, the Westminster bridge guy was and it looks like the London Bridge leader was

This is not about attacking a whole religion or looking u whole swathes of the community (btw did the guy who suggested this in Ireland work for the British on interment on NI in 70s ???)

This is about infiltrating ( not hard to do really) and subverting all extremists before they do ****....

Gosh it is not as difficult as it appear....The Manchester bomber was reported by his mosque, lots of Muslim neighbours, etc to police as a threat

This is not about banning Muslims...this is about working with Muslim communities to identify the threats , (or recruiting Muslims to secret service) and locking them up before they attack and then working on de radicalizing them ( this has been done also)

Just watch all Channel 4 documentaries to get an idea of who they are
    London & Manchester are failures by the government and security services
    Yes, the kid gloves really need to come off when it comes to dealing with extremists who "are known to the authorities", they have to be removed from their communities to stop them spreading their poison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Also apparently he never came to Garda attention here.

that could be more of a problem than you appear to be implying.

i.e - our "intelligence" is so weak, he went undetected. hopefully this wakes a few people up in this country to the direction this world is going in and the consequences of political correctness, inept laws and policing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Lack of an education should not dissuade one from doing a definition search
    actor/ˈaktə/noun
    a person whose profession is acting on the stage, in films, or on television.
    a participant in an action or process.

youtube! wrote: »
    I have not read much of this thread so forgive me if what I am about to write has been already suggested , if it has then perhaps it bears repeating.

There is no simple solution to this disgusting state of affairs we find ourselves in and there are many factors that have brought us to this point which don't need repeating because as the saying goes "it is what it is" and we are where we are right now. Anyway all we can do is deal with what we've got right now and to that end I and many many others no doubt want to see some glaringly obvious measures enacted NOW.

1) Anyone who has returned from fighting with ISIS in the middle east needs to be removed from society RIGHT NOW, send in as many as it takes and put them in a Guantanamo type holding area with immediate effect.

2) Shut down every mosque that is funded by Saudi Arabia, incarcerate any Iman that has espoused hate filled speech, indefinitely.

3) Try although I know it may prove impossible to fully implement , but try to take as many Jihadi type websites offline.

4) Apparently there are 23000 Jihadis in the UK, well instead of Britian and the USA doing deals to sell arms to Saudi Arabia (who then go on to fund these terrorists and educate them through their teachings in their Mosques, instead divert the resources to the police and SAS to take these ****ers out, 23000 is a large number but it is doable , .

5) Ordinary Muslims who harbour knowingly anyone who has expressed a wish to wage Jihad should also be charged with conspiracy to murder.

6) The entire families of any of these terrorists should be deported back to their country of origin with immediate effect.

7) Police should be armed ( I can't believe they are not in this day and age!)

8) Burka Banned.

If the will was there all these things could be achieved, there would be a serious backlash in the short term but long term it is the only way Britain and indeed the whole of Western Society can be saved.

Ban Halal slaughter and food, mixed religious schooling, ban further immigration from muslim countries for damage limitation down the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

i.e - our "intelligence" is so weak, he went undetected. hopefully this wakes a few people up in this country to the direction this world is going in and the consequences of political correctness, inept laws and policing.

Guaranteed we'll get an "ah shur it's grand" response to this from Government/Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    I watched that documentary on Saturday morning before the attack. It was a real eye opener on how many of them there are just freely going around the London streets openly supporting/recruiting for isis.

Its on Netflix called "Jihadis Next Door"

I watched that documentary last year and it was a real eye opener to the mindset of some of those freely roaming around barely keeping within the law with what they openly say and preach, but saying enough so that you are left with no doubt as to exactly what they want, "..the black flag of Islam flying over British government buildings".
    In one section they talk about where they would set up an area to kill Gay people and anyone else they didn't like.
    People with any interest in the subject matter, left or right or whatever, should watch this documentary to get a flavour of this vile element within the Muslim community.
    And if for a minute, you do not believe that they are here, in Ireland, with the same mindset, then you are deluded.
    I know and have met a lot of Muslims, been in their homes, spent some time with them, most of them lovely people just wanting to get on with their lives, embracing Ireland and the people and glad to be here.
    But some of the others...
    Watch the documentary.

MPFGLB wrote: »

Why not? Why shouldnt we reduce our risk and the risk to our society?
    Sure lets work with the muslim communities already here but lets stop increasing them at our own expense. If they get big enough they`ll be able to pass laws etc.

This may go some way to explaining who so many ISIS fighters went from Ireland to Syria/Iraq to fight.

Someone had to have recruited them.