The most snobish / full of their own importance things you have seen or heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

Was at an award winning restaurant and overheard a guy at the neighbouring table braying at the waiter to go and find out from the chef how long the pheasant had been hung before he'd consider ordering it...

I think the whole restaurant collectively shuddered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Was at an award winning restaurant and overheard a guy at the neighbouring table braying at the waiter to go and find out from the chef how long the pheasant had been hung before he'd consider ordering it...

Pity he didn't ask if the bird was wild - "I should expect it was absolutely livid Sir, it was shot after all!" :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I had a visitor last week who was served really nice quiche and salad (because quiche is her favourite food!) but unfortunately it was not presented on the correct sized plate for her tastes.

So she received it with "oh, on a dinner plate??"

Me : "...yes"

Her "Oh I see. I would use a breakfast plate for this sort of meal, that's the correct sort of plate and I much prefer a breakfast plate too, it's just the perfect size for me. Would you have a breakfast plate?"

Me:"no sorry"
    What I wanted to say : "I wouldn't know a breakfast plate if it got up and bit me and this isn't a hotel you rude wagon!"

Then for the entirity of the meal everyone was lectured on the vagueries of serving food on the incorrect plate, the evils of buying a full delph set as that often does not include the universally preferred breakfast plate. Then a run through of shops in which I might find cheap breakfast plates that I could afford.

If I never see her again, it will be too soon.

A true lady would eat off a paper plate and say it was gorgeous.

Where the fcuk do these people get off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I worked as a waiter during my college days. A posh bird asked me was the bird well hung. I told her it was as well hung as myself. Nearly got fired for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I worked as a waiter during my college days. A posh bird asked me was the bird well hung. I told her it was as well hung as myself. Nearly got fired for thst one.

Not surprised. You should never slag off the dishes like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

People who taste wine in a restaurant and then nod at the waiter, allowing him or her to pour. Unless you are paying big bucks, it is the equivalent of tasting a can of coke before deciding to buy the 6-pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I know someone who said she was too good for this thread because you called it

*he* most snobish / full of their own importance things you have seen or heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Work in a school.

This solicitor twatt rings up the reception demawwwnding to speak to a teacher about their child.

"She's actually teaching in class at the moment, I can get her to ring you back when she's finished! "

"For goodness sake... how could she ring me back..... I'm in work! I'll ring again tomorrow". Slams down the phone.

A lot of irony was lost to that man that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    People who taste wine in a restaurant and then nod at the waiter, allowing him or her to pour. Unless you are paying big bucks, it is the equivalent of tasting a can of coke before deciding to buy the 6-pack.

What does one do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,006 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

In all my jobs I've yet to encounter any so awful as the wives of the builders (or "developers") that flooded Galway during Race Week back in the Celtic Tiger. The husband's tended to be the typical "self-made" man from ordinary backgrounds: self assured but good craic, well dressed (in whatever she'd picked for him), good tippers leaving you a fiver in the change with a wink and a "I used pull pints myself back in the day". The wives whose sole accomplishment in life had been getting the chap up the alter and popping out a few sprogs acted as if they were royalty. The lawyers/doctors wives with similar qualifications weren't quite as bad though maybe it was just the other ladies husbands being so "normal" that made them appear worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Standing at a bus stop in D6 that didn't have great visibility, but had working real time info, the well dressed older man beside me said after several buses pulled in and ppl got on, "Do I have to signal in some way, or do they just know im here"?

He so wasn't kidding either.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Bredabe wrote:
    Standing at a bus stop in D6 that didn't have great visibility, but had working real time info, the well dressed older man beside me said after several buses pulled in and ppl got on, "Do I have to signal in some way, or do they just know im here"?

To be fair, he probably expected they were going to pull in anyway but noticed other users holding their hand out as the bus approached and so asked for clarity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Sleepy wrote: »
    In all my jobs I've yet to encounter any so awful as the wives of the builders (or "developers") that flooded Galway during Race Week back in the Celtic Tiger. The husband's tended to be the typical "self-made" man from ordinary backgrounds: self assured but good craic, well dressed (in whatever she'd picked for him), good tippers leaving you a fiver in the change with a wink and a "I used pull pints myself back in the day". The wives whose sole accomplishment in life had been getting the chap up the alter and popping out a few sprogs acted as if they were royalty. The lawyers/doctors wives with similar qualifications weren't quite as bad though maybe it was just the other ladies husbands being so "normal" that made them appear worse...

Yep, ironically the ones that brought zero to the table seemed to think driving a new Audi the husband paid for made them royalty and while I know the profession might have snobs I often found women who worked hard themselves to become a solicitor or Doctor are actually more down to earth

Could be all down to the family too. You'd often have seen the wives of some farming families thinking they were cock of the walk despite only having maybe 20 acres more than the neighbours they looked down on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

I had a visitor last week who was served really nice quiche and salad (because quiche is her favourite food!) but unfortunately it was not presented on the correct sized plate for her tastes.

So she received it with "oh, on a dinner plate??"

Me : "...yes"

Her "Oh I see. I would use a breakfast plate for this sort of meal, that's the correct sort of plate and I much prefer a breakfast plate too, it's just the perfect size for me. Would you have a breakfast plate?"

Me:"no sorry"
    What I wanted to say : "I wouldn't know a breakfast plate if it got up and bit me and this isn't a hotel you rude wagon!"

Then for the entirity of the meal everyone was lectured on the vagueries of serving food on the incorrect plate, the evils of buying a full delph set as that often does not include the universally preferred breakfast plate. Then a run through of shops in which I might find cheap breakfast plates that I could afford.

If I never see her again, it will be too soon.

Please tell me you didn't let her away with that in your own home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bredabe

To be fair, he probably expected they were going to pull in anyway but noticed other users holding their hand out as the bus approached and so asked for clarity.
    Exactly, but bus's dont pull in unless they are signaled, how special do you have to be to not know that dublin bus dont know what stop YOU are at?

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Birneybau wrote: »
    What does one do so?

when they pour out the drop to taste

"bit stingy with the wine here aren't ye"

the whole restaurant erupts into laughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

OldNotWIse wrote:

Even if it's cheap you're supposed to do that to make sure the wine isn't corked i.e. to show the whole place you can tell the difference.

Honestly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Used to travel to Dublin from Cork by train for work meetings. We were usually booked onto the first class service, Gold I think it's called.
    I usually hung around after the meeting to meet friends and would change out of my suit into jeans and comfy clothes.
    Every single time on the return journey I was stopped going into the Gold carriage.and told 'this is for first class passengers only'
    Eh, I have a first class ticket!!!

Even if it's cheap you're supposed to do that to make sure the wine isn't corked i.e. to show the whole place you can tell the difference.

Honestly...

Ye if coke was likely to be corked, we'd be doing the same :D
    Nothing to do with taste - only gone off or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Used to travel to Dublin from Cork by train for work meetings. We were usually booked onto the first class service, Gold I think it's called.
    I usually hung around after the meeting to meet friends and would change out of my suit into jeans and comfy clothes.
    Every single time on the return journey I was stopped going into the Gold carriage.and told 'this is for first class passengers only'
    Eh, I have a first class ticket!!!

That sounds like it says more about your dress sense than anything else - just saying. They have to keep the hoi polloi from mixing with the captains of industry you know. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭wally1990

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Work in a school.

This solicitor twatt rings up the reception demawwwnding to speak to a teacher about their child.

"She's actually teaching in class at the moment, I can get her to ring you back when she's finished! "

"For goodness sake... how could she ring me back..... I'm in work! I'll ring again tomorrow". Slams down the phone.

A lot of irony was lost to that man that day.

Demawwwnding hahahhahahahahha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Bredabe wrote: »

He so wasn't kidding either.

Did he get on the bus and then wait to be seated too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

OldNotWIse wrote: »

no it isn't, you're testing to see if the cork has reacted with the wine. This will ruin a ?10 bottle as much as it would ruin a ?1000 bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭wally1990

Not so much snobbery but rather self importance

I work in an accountants and have to deal with a range of issues but quite commonly expenses

A few doctors (bearing in mind loads are sound) will ring up and ask how to claim tax relief on their mileage expense

So I begin to explain that they need to complete a basic mileage form

And Bang!!!!! There goes me Asking someone with huge self importance!!

Client ''Excuse me !! I have to do what?
    Me: eh, to claim the mileage allowance we ask you to complete the....
    Client (cuts me off) : I know what you said but you hardly expect me to spend my time filling In all my mileage details
    Me: we'll go claim mileage it is required
    client: I don't care, can you not do it
    Me: ehh... I've no idea of your trip details and distance etc so the details have to be filled In
    Client: this is an absolute joke, I'm much too busy for this stuff
    Me: (trying to ease the situation ) well it a basic form and shouldn't take long
    Client : ya whatever .... (quickly leads into) and you actually expect me to do this every week?!
    Me: well , if you wish to claim mileage it is always required
    Client: and what about other expenses
    Me: (hear we go......) ... 'yes' - form is required with a receipt
    Client: I'm too busy for all this ( calls at this point over 8/10 mins ) (form done in half that like or so)

Client : sighs and hangs up on me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭SeamusG97

goose2005 wrote: »
    no it isn't, you're testing to see if the cork has reacted with the wine. This will ruin a ?10 bottle as much as it would ruin a ?1000 bottle

Yes but a lot of bottles are screwcap now and it shouldn't be an issue - It seems to more of a ritual.
    http://hoaxes.org/weblog/comments/why_do_you_taste_wine_in_restaurants_before_its_served

I was at a nice restaurant in France a few years ago and tried to tell the server there wasn't any need as it wasn't a 'Cork' cork.
    She was horrified and I thought I was going get the whole lot poured over my head.
    Never again... So it is a ritual and it needs to be done apparently.

What is annoying though is the pretentious folk who swirl, slosh and exhale is if they were a professional wine taster before pronouncing on the quality of the wine. (often the second cheapest on the list - like me. I'm a cheapskate :D). That isn't the point - it is a simple test of whether the wine is drinkable or not. Edit: Bluewolf you made this point already

So what I do now is a quick sip and a 'it's grand, pour away" on the odd occasion when I'm left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

My grandfather ran a wine importing business in Dublin in the first half of the 20th century and amongst his archives was this handy card. Same size as those laminated pocket calendars you used to get and discreet enough that nobody would notice you consulting it in a restaurant. I've never had a chance to impress anyone with my knowledge by using it and probably never will now - being more of a pint drinker myself. I doubt you can even get many of the years on the list these days outside of Christie's or Sotheby's wine sales. :D

Wine%2Bcard.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Del.Monte wrote: »
    That sounds like it says more about your dress sense than anything else - just saying. They have to keep the hoi polloi from mixing with the captains of industry you know. :D

Cheek of ya!! My jeans, hoodie and runners are top class I'll have ya know ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Feckoffcup

I've come across some of these types before: Travel snobs who belittle anyone who chooses to go on a "typical sun holiday" rather than travel to Mongolia.
    I think thats unfair, not everyone likes a sun holiday. There are some great places like iceland, czech republic, germany, norway etc. Its the people who brag about the costs that rile me up.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

goose2005 wrote: »

Do you need to taste it? Smelling should be enough. I never understood why the sommelier couldn't do that him/herself.

Ole Agent Orange wins the Oscar for being full of his own importance.

?u=http%3A%2F%2Fmedia.riffsy.com%2Fimages%2F700f7e69a6ed41500242d0c8fa049193%2Ftenor.gif&f=1