The most snobish / full of their own importance things you have seen or heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Oh yes I got that in the Camino in Spain

"You paid 7 euro for a hostel??? Wow, too much , I never pay more than five euro"

My hostel was probably nicer and who cares about 2 euro anyway. But some want to brag how thrifty they can be. Badge of honour to them to haggle down some shopkeeper trying to sell to passers-by

Oh that sort of thing gets right up my left nostril. You had a lot of that during the worst of the downturn there, "Oh I can live like the Son of Heaven himself on €50 a week! I run the electricity off the Visa and the Visa off the Mastercard and shower using my own piss like the RAF lads in the old days and I can rustle up enough vegan beef stroganoff for the week using nothing more than wallpaper paste and out-of-date Skittles!" :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

jimgoose wrote: »
    Oh that sort of thing gets right up my left nostril. You had a lot of that during the worst of the downturn there, "Oh I can live like the Son of Heaven himself on €50 a week! I run the electricity off the Visa and the Visa off the Mastercard and shower using my own piss like the RAF lads in the old days and I can rustle up enough vegan beef stroganoff for the week using nothing more than wallpaper paste and out-of-date Skittles!" :pac:
    You tipping the balance of complaining of self importance to being self important there.

Trendy Poverty Porn masturbation like that offends me. Anyone who tries to persuade you that living at or below the breadline is somehow desirable, fulfilling or "cool" is a five-star, ocean-going knobjockey with the full complement of lifeboats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I used to be a Building Services manager a few years back.

A very good maintenance man left to go to college. A big loss to our company.
    While waiting on a replacement, I pitched in with maintenance work.

It was very telling when new people would start.
    They'd see me in my work clothes and barely give a 'hello' back.

It was always a pleasure to see me their reaction when they walked into a meeting and saw me sitting amongst the top managers.

Trendy Poverty Porn masturbation like that offends me. Anyone who tries to persuade you that living at or below the breadline is somehow desirable, fulfilling or "cool" is a five-star, ocean-going knobjockey with the full complement of lifeboats.
    What is an ocean-going knob jockey?

Something like a Hipster, only sans the whimsy.

oh ok :)

Hey Jim I bet that's the ONLY porn that offends you !!:pac::pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Some of Aongus Von Bismarck posts!

Some of them are funny, is he an Irishman acting the goat or a non Irishman showing his contempt for us?

red ears wrote: »
    Some of them are funny, is he an Irishman acting the goat or a non Irishman showing his contempt for us?
    I think he is a man showing contempt for snobs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Used to work in a BMW garage. Rang a customer to get her to pay a service bill; she'd been let walk out a month earlier without paying.

First thing she said is "Who are you to demand that I pay my bill?" Quickly followed by "I hardly see why I should; you've got mechanics fixing cars from countries that don't even have BMWs. It's a disgrace"

oh ok :)

Hey Jim I bet that's the ONLY porn that offends you !!:pac::pac::D

Let me just say that I'm not easily offended. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

grahambo wrote: »
    This: https://www.buzz.ie/news/pic-oscars-cafe-have-completely-destroyed-lovin-dublin-212727

Lovin Dublin looking for a load of booze off a Pub they called "Sh*te / Boring" a few months back.
    Also as payment for the booze they are offering "Social Media Coverage".... AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAHHAAAAHHAAAA!!!!

I hate that crowd but how is it snobby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I think he is a man showing contempt for snobs.

I'd say he is a genuine, high flying, jet setting, investment banking, good time having gazillionaire.......like the rest of us:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Deer

A woman I know told me she wasn't sending her kids to the local community school because they had a class for deaf children and also taught the rest of the school sign language. Can't stand the woman.

An arsehole who hung out with an ex of mine declared on a boat on a gorgeous sunny day " I wonder what the poor do on a day like today" whilst pointing at a beach and sniggering that no doubt they were drinking cans of Dutch gold and getting sun burnt.

I've come across a few self important clowns in my time unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,223 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Deer wrote: »
    A woman I know told me she wasn't sending her kids to the local community school because they had a class for dead children and also taught the rest of the school sign language. Can't stand the woman.

An arsehole who hung out with an ex of mine declared on a boat on a gorgeous sunny day " I wonder what the poor do on a day like today" whilst pointing at a beach and sniggering that no doubt they were drinking cans of Dutch gold and getting sun burnt.

I've come across a few self important clowns in my time unfortunately.

I wouldn't send my kids to that school either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I know a girl who is long term unemployed and receiving job seekers allowance. She regularly gets sent letters from SW informing her of job vacancies in the town. The latest one was Subway and she snapchatted me a picture of the letter with her two fingers up to it and the text "as if I want to be filling sandwiches for a living"- along side loads of laughing crying emojis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Nyssa

A local shopkeeper opened a new grocery in a tough council estate. I wished her well and asked her how it was going.
    She replied " Sugar. Anything with sugar. They love it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Birneybau wrote: »
    Not snobby, but very much full of their own importance to think that a bar would take such an opportunity to receive coverage and publicity from their august publication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Nyssa wrote: »
    A local shopkeeper opened a new grocery in a tough council estate. I wished her well and asked her how it was going.
    She replied " Sugar. Anything with sugar. They love it."

Are you sure you didn't ask what items were her best sellers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭LLewellen Farquarson

I remember listening to the radio in January one year, and the presenter was phoning around the car showrooms to see if they were selling many cars.

The Mercedes salesman replied "not many, most of our customers aren't back from their skiing holidays yet".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The Mercedes salesman replied "not many, most of our customers aren't back from their skiing holidays yet".

That's not snobbish, that's sharp witted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Birneybau wrote: »

I thought it very "full of our own importance"
    Booze for Social Media Posts?
    Maybe if it was the cast of the latest Marvel Film etc but lovin dublin....

Who do they think they are!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

mikemac2 wrote: »
    "did you need a college degree to get your job?" sneered the stuck up bitch to the young lad behind the hotel reception desk.

Thing is that young lad was in college while working part time and the wagon hadn't worked for 20 years, just spends her husband's money each day.

That young lad was me and it happened lot of posters too I'm sure

This attitude seems frightfully common in some women from relatively normal backgrounds/with no particularly amazing educational qualifications but are now rich due to marrying a rich man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,008 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I had a visitor last week who was served really nice quiche and salad (because quiche is her favourite food!) but unfortunately it was not presented on the correct sized plate for her tastes.

So she received it with "oh, on a dinner plate??"

Me : "...yes"

Her "Oh I see. I would use a breakfast plate for this sort of meal, that's the correct sort of plate and I much prefer a breakfast plate too, it's just the perfect size for me. Would you have a breakfast plate?"

Me:"no sorry"
    What I wanted to say : "I wouldn't know a breakfast plate if it got up and bit me and this isn't a hotel you rude wagon!"

Then for the entirity of the meal everyone was lectured on the vagueries of serving food on the incorrect plate, the evils of buying a full delph set as that often does not include the universally preferred breakfast plate. Then a run through of shops in which I might find cheap breakfast plates that I could afford.

If I never see her again, it will be too soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Nyssa

I had a visitor last week who was served really nice quiche and salad (because quiche is her favourite food!) but unfortunately it was not presented on the correct sized plate for her tastes.

So she received it with "oh, on a dinner plate??"

Me : "...yes"

Her "Oh I see. I would use a breakfast plate for this sort of meal, that's the correct sort of plate and I much prefer a breakfast plate too, it's just the perfect size for me. Would you have a breakfast plate?"

Me:"no sorry"
    What I wanted to say : "I wouldn't know a breakfast plate if it got up and bit me and this isn't a hotel you rude wagon!"

Then for the entirity of the meal everyone was lectured on the vagueries of serving food on the incorrect plate, the evils of buying a full delph set as that often does not include the universally preferred breakfast plate. Then a run through of shops in which I might find cheap breakfast plates that I could afford.

If I never see her again, it will be too soon.
    You should have emptied the food on her head then broken the plate over her head.

I had a visitor last week...

Typical nouveau riche cábóg. If you had an actual aristocrat round, and he/she saw you eating your quiche off of a fire-shovel, they'd ask for a fire-shovel as well so they could eat properly. The only thing to do with your wan is shove her head-first into a trough of baked beans and then boot her out the back-door for the night. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I remember my first job when I was out of college was in an IT department for large national bank for the car finance division.

Got a random phone call one Friday afternoon from some random Galway branch(we never got calls from branches). Some mad bint on the other end, I said hello support or whatever and she just announces, "My name is Anne (whatever it was) and I AM UNDER PRESSURE!".

She went on some rant about the issue she was having before I politely let her know after that the problem was nothing to do with the department she was through to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Heroditas wrote: »
    I'd be more inclined to call that a stunning lack of self-awareness as opposed to snobbery.

Self awareness was almost non existent with these lads, and ironically most of them are on heroin now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

At the start of college for me in limerick institute of technology, after about 2 weeks of the first term in walked a guy from my secondary school class, to my course.

First words he said to me when he saw me while there was a group of people waiting to go into a lecture hall: "OH yeah no, I'm actually not on this course at all, I'm just waiting to transfer to DCU, there was just a mix up and I didn't get it the first time around and this was way down on my list"

smooth intro, hope you kept repeating that to yourself for the 8 months you stayed on the course before dropping out.

At the start of college for me in limerick institute of technology...

Heh. I was there back in the late 1980s when it was called CoACT. The NIHE/"University of Limerick ACTUALLY!!" crowd tended to look down their noses at it, but we were a full IBM shop - RS/6000 AIX servers, AS/400 mini, PS/2 workstations, the whole shootin'-match - whereas across town the situation was utterly dire, all they had was a couple of dozen bockety 386s connected by Thickwire. :pac::pac::pac: