Skinny f*cking jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

People talking, even jokingly, about seeing their balls or losing sperm count in skinny jeans- just how skinny are the jeans you're looking at on a regular basis?

A skinnier fit is very much in style now, of course, but it's not a straight choice between painted on and flares!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Your best bet is Dunnes or the 70s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Have given up on jeans of any kind.

They don't last pissing time before tearing, they take an absolute age to dry and I boil in them esp. in hot weather.

The skinny jeans look is ridiculous, only suits guys of a certain build and even then it's laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

They look stupid.

After all these years we can agree on something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Have given up on jeans of any kind.

They don't last pissing time before tearing, they take an absolute age to dry and I boil in them esp. in hot weather.

The skinny jeans look is ridiculous, only suits guys of a certain build and even then it's laughable.

How much do you buy your's for?

Bought some from H&M for €35 in 2013 and they've lasted me (keep in mind I was 14-15 at the time).

Who exactly who you point to that looks ridiculous in them?

Conan-O-Brien-in-jeggings.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭lolokeogh

i love the oul skinny jeans,and me been a 44 year young person i went through the flares and all that lark..and i look sexy in them,i know this because the missus told me...anyway enough about me,i wore a pair of boot cut jeans a few weeks ago and have to say there dreadful,so maybe of skinny aint your thing stay clear of the boot cut that are close to flares

****TIGHT/SKINNY JEANS WITHOUT SOCKS AND ROLLED UP LIKE PEDAL PUSHERS ARE A SERIOUS NO GO***********

i done this with my son a few weeks ago,we were off out,so i rolled the jeans up,toOk the socks off,he walked in and said "da you must be fu*cking joking,im going no where with you ;like that"..now he dresses "like that"..but hes a teeneager,anyway before i leave this subject i seen a neighbour a few weeks ago in flares,now not massive flares like they worse inn the 70s,but the ones that were out a few years back..he looked stupid,but he could be saying te same about me,also stay clear of boot cut levis and wrangler jeans,dreadful..ah i could go on and on,wear what ever makes ya happy,does anyone here still wear old spice or brut??:P:P:P:P

PS I LIKE SKINNY JEANS BUT NOT SKINNY AS IN THE PICTURE/POST ABOVE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

What age are you, OP? If you are over 35 then you should really question if jeans of any description are suitable for you. Especially if you have the Irishman syndrome of fat arse, matchstick legs and protruding beer belly.

Bootcut jeans are horrific and you can't actually buy them in most European countries where men actually care about their appearance.

If you do feel you have the body to wear jeans then go for a straight cut or low rise pair in a dark colour. Hugo Boss have some lovely sensible styles.

Oh, and he's back to the beer bellies of Irish men again. You missed the bit about their bloated red faces though.

I'd say you dress like Dermot Bannon or Ryan Tubridy. That's the kind of image I get. Mid-to-upper range expense, but terribly obvious and bland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭armabelle

Why is it near impossible to get non skinny bootleg jeans?? I've tried four shops today to get the same as I already own. But noooooo. None.

I look like a robot trying to wear them. Awful yokes.

All I want is jeans with wider more comfortable leg and bootcut.

I dont care what the fashion is, just want them to feel comfortable.

Screw you jean making fascists. Wonder who I can blame for this?

Tesco have great fitting jeans and cheap too

not sure if you are female or male but the skinny jeans thing is totally sick, I feel your anger. I think having "skinny" in the title is like mental manipulation marketing in some way maybe making women feel "skinnier" wearing them and normal jeans would be considered "fat" jeans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Slim fit jeans are ideal for men who are of a slim build. There seems to be a certain amount of the population who openly abhor any kind of slim fit/skinny jeans, even though they can look good on men.

If you really can't adapt to skinny jeans, or even slim fit ones, just buy a pair of dark straight cut jeans. As much as I try to be open towards boot cut jeans, they are simply horrific.

The most sensible post in the thread here.

armabelle wrote: »
    I think having "skinny" in the title is like mental manipulation marketing in some way maybe making women feel "skinnier" wearing them and normal jeans would be considered "fat" jeans?

I feel it would be a major marketing mis-step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,737 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Ditched jeans many years ago, awful yokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Thankfully, my gainz prohibited me from ever having to worry about this horrible trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭bur

How long before we're all wearing dresses in the Summer?

Hopefully in my lifetime anyway.

• Administrators Posts: 56,576 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Men's fertility rates and sperm counts are already on a major downward trajectory without skinny jeans making it much worse.

There's a reason why your balls hang out of your body!

Skinny jeans on an attractive slim young lady - fine. On a 20something hipster lad - silly. On a bulging guy of 48 - abomination!

You know skinny jeans aren't actually that much tighter in the crotch area, right?

This argument is so daft. If a man wears cotton underwear they are going to be far more fitted in the crotch than his jeans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Wearing skinny jeans that stop at the ankle with no socks and slip on shoes SHOULD be a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

awec wrote: »
    You know skinny jeans aren't actually that much tighter in the crotch area, right?

This argument is so daft. If a man wears cotton underwear they are going to be far more fitted in the crotch than his jeans.

Anything I wear is tight in the crotch area. Only saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I was going out last weekend and was wearing skinny jeans. They look decent because they're not super skinny and are the stretch type, dark also. I was gonna wear boots but then my wife wanted me to wear my Timberland boat style shoes with no socks, it was a summer evening. When I did that I honestly looked like a woman! She tried rolling up the jeans at the bottom and it was even worse so I put boots back on. Fine line.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Why is it near impossible to get non skinny bootleg jeans?? I've tried four shops today to get the same as I already own. But noooooo. None.

I look like a robot trying to wear them. Awful yokes.

All I want is jeans with wider more comfortable leg and bootcut.

I dont care what the fashion is, just want them to feel comfortable.

Screw you jean making fascists. Wonder who I can blame for this?

It's ok dude, I have bought all bootcut jeans since they seemed to be feck all of them anywhere I tried so you can blame me this time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭lolokeogh

wearing no socks is not just with skinny jeans,go back to miami vice,those dreadful suits were wore on the tv show at least with no socks..and how many here were guilthy of wearing the miami vice type suit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭MrMorooka

Am I the only one who can't even tell the difference between bootcut or skinny or whatever? Jeans is jeans.

I'm wearing jeans right now and I have no idea what style they are, other than 'blue'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

MrMorooka wrote: »
    Am I the only one who can't even tell the difference between bootcut or skinny or whatever? Jeans is jeans.

I'm wearing jeans right now and I have no idea what style they are, other than 'blue.

thats what happens when you let your mammy buy your clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

For years I bought straight cut jeans and thought they were ok, then I discovered slim jeans. Nice halfway house between the awful skintight look and the baggy straight cut. They can snuggly accomodate the larger gentleman's waist and arse without popping buttons when you sit, while still giving a well fitted, streamlined look down the leg. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Ush1 wrote: »
    I was going out last weekend and was wearing skinny jeans. They look decent because they're not super skinny and are the stretch type, dark also. I was gonna wear boots but then my wife wanted me to wear my Timberland boat style shoes with no socks, it was a summer evening. When I did that I honestly looked like a woman! She tried rolling up the jeans at the bottom and it was even worse so I put boots back on. Fine line.

Show an example (image) please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

MrMorooka wrote: »

I'm wearing jeans right now and I have no idea what style they are, other than 'blue'.

That's what I imagine Jeremy Clarkson says when he puts on jeans.

And he looks a state.

jeanjolie wrote: »
    Show an example (image) please?

I think he is referring to pinrolling? It's usually done by people who are into their runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

elefant wrote: »
    People talking, even jokingly, about seeing their balls or losing sperm count in skinny jeans- just how skinny are the jeans you're looking at on a regular basis?

A skinnier fit is very much in style now, of course, but it's not a straight choice between painted on and flares!

I wouldn't put too much credence in what's "in style now"... there are people walking down catwalks in Milan with potted plants on their heads, because some clown decided it was "in style now"... :p

Nor would I wear something, just because lots of other people are wearing it... as history shows numerous examples of many millions of people all getting it wrong at the same time when it comes to clothing trends!

Skinny jeans (all skinny jeans) look ridiculous on men!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I despise skinny jeans, they are an abomination. I have been impatiently waiting for the comeback of flares for years, in the meantime I content myself with bootcut jeans. Recently though I put on some weight and have been finding it difficult to find size sixteen bootcut jeans. Skinny, highwaist skinny, jegging, the horror of shopping.

Nor would I wear something, just because lots of other people are wearing it... as history shows numerous examples of many millions of people all getting it wrong at the same time when it comes to clothing trends!

Well, that's complete gibberish.

You yourself don't have to wear the same clothes as other people, but millions of people wearing a similar style is a trend. How can following a trend be 'getting it wrong'?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I think mine are bootcut. And I'm wearing boots. Win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

People getting angry over jeans. Jaysus.