Turf

• 01-06-2017 12:13AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

It has come to my notice that not everyone here is familiar with this most fundamental of Irish traditions. 'What's footing?' the say. 'What's windrowing?' What's 'bogging to the hoozles?'

How well are you up on your turf?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Are you asking me?

Who are your people? Do you know where you come from?

It has come to my notice that not everyone here is familiar with this most fundamental of Irish traditions. 'What's footing?' the say. 'What's windrowing?' What's 'bogging to the hoozles?'

Bogging to the hoozles is obviously some kind of dance craze involving country music, home-made liquor and flanelette shirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Candie wrote: »
    Bogging to the hoozles is obviously some kind of dance craze involving country music, home-made liquor and flanelette shirts.

Candie, if you were ever bogged to the hoozles, fancy music, fancy drink and fancy shirts would be the last thing on your mind.

I know my home. I know my people.

I'm afraid to ask now, TBM. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I know that it's pronounced "torph"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭howdoyouknow

Candie, if you were ever bogged to the hoozles, fancy music, fancy drink and fancy shirts would be the last thing on your mind.

In to the axles up here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah...I'm not a bogger.

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah...I'm not a bogger.
    My family is Five generations Dublin on one side and three generations on the other. :)

Dublin pride!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

This is pure mulchie

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah...I'm not a bogger.
    I love your sig. I am so proud of my grandparents !

This is pure mulchie
    I don't look down on culchies. Or mulchies. GO RURAL IRELAND!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

What is it with you and turf Backwards man ? Do you make love to it every night or wha ?

Anyway I am a small town girl in a place like london.

What is it with you and turf Backwards man ? Do you make love to it every night or wha ?
    It's an issue worthy of intense political debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,284 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Turf is a giver not a taker

Protect our right to turf on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Turf is a giver not a taker

Yeah but yer man is coming across as a proper turfophile

I know my turf. I don't know your turf.

My Godfather is a gaelgoir from Donegal....he is an engineer .I texted him what windrowing was ..he said 'Dry Up' Is that irish for something?

I googled it Uncle Johnny just told me to shut up :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

a windrow is when you have turned the turf but couldnt be bothered footing it, you throw it into a continues heap the length of the rows, you could put 3-4 ten sod rows into the heap.
    great job. we did it a few times. much easier then all that footing. it allows it to dry out but slows down the drying if its a scorcher of weather ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

If convicted criminals were made to foot turf for a couple of days, crime rates in Ireland would halve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

I love the sound of the word 'turf'.

Well you learn something new every day :)

I found this on the forestry and farming forum. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057122626

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Bogfairy

When I lived in the UK a good mix of us used to be out having the craic when a few of us Irish lads and lassies would be going on about stories from the bog. Buck from hong-kong was fascinated with it. Londoner says to us "the bog? Isn't that something you sh1t in?"

Well yeah, kind of but not really......

When we were going on about the midges same Londoner thought we were being racist and that small people couldnt be cannibals.

Anyways, dragged him out to the bog one time he came over and worked the hole off him. He gets it now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I am quite au fait with the noble art of turf. In Elder Days Goose the Elder would buy the use of a bank or two of Grageen Bog, near Murroe in East Limerick. This was unusual as bogs go, but not atypical of much of the geography around there, inasmuch as it was in an extinct volcanic crater at an altitude of a few hundred feet. This made drawing the stuff away by tractor and trailer interesting to put it mildly, with ten or twelve tons of the stuff pushing you down a one-in-six gradient in places. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Spent a week or two my summers until the age of 18 or so turning, footing, bringing home turf. Bent-over, back-aching stuff, as the end of those six parallel lines inched closer.

It has a nice nostalgia to it now, but if I ever did it again that would disappear pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

osarusan wrote: »
    ...those six parallel lines...

Tractor-mounted chain peat-cutter with six-way extruder, yes? At least we didn't need small armies of fellas belting away with sleans. :D