Innocent Person Accosted by Kildare Mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

No smoke without fire...

Isn't that how it works?

No absolutely not and anyone who thinks that way needs to take a good hard look at themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

harr wrote: »
    Never defended anyone...I was just explaining how things got out of hand on the day, don't know how you can take it I was defending anyone.

The only reason things got out of hand is because the people involved clearly have no remorse or empathy and are incapable of thinking logically about dealing with their concerns.

That and there is a probably an element of wanting to act the big man or woman and be seen as some sort of vigilante hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

1. Idiotic mob from Kildare attacks innocent man based on sloppy journalism.
    2. Innocent man sues the journalists/newspapers for slander and settles for a life changing amount of wonga.
    3. Idiotic mob from Kildare has to think twice/go to the bother of verifying before attacking any more 'pedofiles' in case they get sued.
    4. Idiotic mob thus makes Kildare a safe place for actual pedofiles to roam about freely.

*slow hand clap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

valoren wrote: »
    3. Idiotic mob from Kildare has to think twice/go to the bother of verifying before attacking any more 'pedofiles' in case they get sued.
    Mobs aren't known for thinking once never mind twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Never defended anyone...I was just explaining how things got out of hand on the day, don't know how you can take it I was defending anyone.
    Not from the town but do have friends near by.... terrible thing to happen to that man and it must have been a very frightening experience..but yet again it has been 1. blown out of context by various media outlets....

...of course parents are going to get jumpy..the mob in question was a group of 2. concerned parents who believed that a known Paedophile was roaming the town.... 3. The guards were called a number of times throughout the day to verify the identity of the man....
    4. A strange man walking alone in tight nit residential area where kids are playing raised suspicion and then to add fuel to the fire kildare now reported the innocent man to be the known Paedophile, between 5. that and the guards not acting earlier caused the situation to escalate like it did...

1. Blame the reaction.
    2. Humanize the parents
    3. Blame the Guards
    4. Blame the victim for the cheek to 'walk alone' in a free country
    5. Blame a website and the Guards again for good measure.

You're about one degree of separation from saying "he had it coming for wearing those stupid glasses".

But yeah where are people getting this idea that you're rationalising and defending the mob..... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

1. Blame the reaction.
    2. Humanize the parents
    3. Blame the Guards
    4. Blame the victim for the cheek to 'walk alone' in a free country
    5. Blame a website and the Guards again for good measure.

You're about one degree of separation from saying "he had it coming for wearing those stupid glasses".

But yeah where are people getting this idea that you're rationalising and defending the mob..... :rolleyes:
    I honestly didn't mean for my post to come across as if I was defending anyone...as I said I am not from the town and was only trying to put across the series of events that led up to what happened it definitely wasn't my intention to come across that way and maybe I could have worded it better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

valoren wrote: »
    1. Idiotic mob from Kildare attacks innocent man based on sloppy journalism.
    2. Innocent man sues the journalists/newspapers for slander and settles for a life changing amount of wonga.
    4. Idiotic mob thus makes Kildare a safe place for actual pedofiles to roam about freely.

*slow hand clap*

Hopefully number 2 will be that he sues the person who posted his photo, rather than the journalist (afaik there was no defamation in the article) or the paper (who may have been slow in removing the comment, but weren't involved in actually posting it).

There's precedent for this - a guy was awarded 25k lately for defamation in a comment posted on thejournal.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

My brother was recently working somewhere down the country with 2 of his employees. He is a carpenter, en route to build a roof of a house and they were trying to find it. A few days later a post with several hundred shares and likes popped up on my Facebook with his car reg saying that a group of young lads, looking suspicious were seen in the area.

WTF?! He contacted the person who posted and told them to remove it before he contacts the guards... Whatever about telling people a suspicious car, but his bloody reg posted online..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Reminds of when a tabloid-led campaign against pedos helped incite a mob attack on the house of a pediatrician. "Paedo" was written on her house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Reminds me of this, kinda sums up the stupidity of people that would form a mob like this:
    Self-styled vigilantes attacked the home of a hospital paediatrician after apparently confusing her professional title with the word "paedophile", it emerged yesterday.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society

I always remember the story for how stupid and ridiculous that story was, kinda like in the Simpsons where the mob attacks the planetarium to prevent asteroids for hitting the earth but it was real life. Yes, there are professional paedophiles with offices advertising their services :rolleyes:

EDIT: missed the post directly above me lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Arghus wrote: »
    A bad situation and seemingly - judging by today's Irish Times - not a shred of remorse or regret shown by some of those responsible for whipping up the lynch mob. The lack of care or concern about the safety of an innocent man is shocking.

That's because they're not interested in their so called 'justice', they just want a scapegoat to make them feel better about themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Glenster wrote: »
    Terrible.

But he looks SO MUCH like a paedophile.

But shave off the beard, get some contacts, wear a shirt and jeans and you'll never be called a paedo again.

You are joking? I'm fairly sure there's no 'look' and you can't tell by looking at someone.

I saw the story about the actual convicted man and his converted minivan which he planned to use as a ''sex den''. I was wondering how people knew all about it.

Not from the town but do have friends near by.... terrible thing to happen to that man and it must have been a very frightening experience..but yet again it has been blown out of context by various media outlets.
    An online publication posted a photo of the innocent man and on the day he had a resemblance of the known Paedophile...of course parents are going to get jumpy..the mob in question was a group of concerned parents who believed that a known Paedophile was roaming the town. The guards were called a number of times throughout the day to verify the identity of the man.
    A strange man walking alone in tight nit residential area where kids are playing raised suspicion and then to add fuel to the fire kildare now reported the innocent man to be the known Paedophile, between that and the guards not acting earlier caused the situation to escalate like it did...
    Some people really need to stay away from the likes of Facebook because even up to yesterday people were still claiming the convicted Paedophile was in the town..

It's ''tight nit'' communities of interbreds that spawn these thickos who attack innocent people because their face doesn't fit. They would benefit from being a bit less tight knit and getting out into the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I'm all for a bit of neighbourhood awareness but a little bit of fact checking wouldn't go amiss. This vigilante mob could have done anything to this man because of the mistaken identity. All it takes is one fcuktard to ruin someone's life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭JayRoc

A friend of mine got a fair hiding from a gang of lads in his estate a few years ago. Turns out word had been spread that day among some friends of his kids that he had "photos of naked children" in his house.

The fact that they were pictures of his own kids (as babies in the bath) in a photo album, that the children's friends had seen.... appears to have been lost in translation, and for a while it caused absolute havoc for the poor man and his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Yer man's "mobile sex wagon" is just a landrover discovery that has been converted to a commercial, presumably for the chape commercial rate tax. Now he may be a filthy paedo but it is an extremely common modification..

The sun et al are having a field day with all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,861 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Reminds of when a tabloid-led campaign against pedos helped incite a mob attack on the house of a pediatrician. "Paedo" was written on her house.

Stewart Lee:
    "Who can forget the News of the World's high-profile campaign against child sex offenders which led, didn't it, to News of the World readers burning down the home of a paediatrician... throwing rocks at a pedalo... and stamping on a centipede."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Sources. When did so many people stop using sources?

I read the Irish Times, and acknowledge it as the paper of record in this country, but I still don't take anything I read in it as 100% truth. As in, I would not claim it as certain before consulting another source.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Get that renowned Kildare denizen Clifford T. on the case

?width=630&version=2555218

(And yes, that was a real election poster folks. Fake news CNN obviously stopped him getting elected)
    Too easy for someone to paint over the last "S" in PAEDOPHILES. :)
    Election poster altering 101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]He is not the 1st person to have false rumours spread about him on social media & people believing it without hearing the other side of the story or any evidence produced.[/font]
    [font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Regards to the two photos I have the names & faces blacked out for obvious potential legal reasons.[/font]
    [font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif] I recall these two particular posts being posted & shared around facebook in the last year.[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif] Screenshot 1 a post of an allegation made against a man of doing something in a public toilet area.[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]418779.jpg[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif] screenshot 2 a po[/font][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]st of a teenage girl posted that got shared around a lot where she alleged a man on the bus took photos of her legs.[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]418780.jpg[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif] no evidence by either people of their allegations yet the photos they took of the people they accused got shared around on facebook with plenty of people believing it straight away, facebook & other social media sites should have some sort of policy measures regarding [/font][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]some people putting up photos of someone with unproved allegations .[/font]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The people who I see sharing similar things on facebook are always dozy yokes who'd always have a whinge and moan about something and they generally make a mountain out of a molehill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Not from the town but do have friends near by.... terrible thing to happen to that man and it must have been a very frightening experience..but yet again it has been blown out of context by various media outlets.
    An online publication posted a photo of the innocent man and on the day he had a resemblance of the known Paedophile...of course parents are going to get jumpy..the mob in question was a group of concerned parents who believed that a known Paedophile was roaming the town. The guards were called a number of times throughout the day to verify the identity of the man.
    A strange man walking alone in tight nit residential area where kids are playing raised suspicion and then to add fuel to the fire kildare now reported the innocent man to be the known Paedophile, between that and the guards not acting earlier caused the situation to escalate like it did...
    Some people really need to stay away from the likes of Facebook because even up to yesterday people were still claiming the convicted Paedophile was in the town..

This happened about 25 years ago....a single man was considering buying a house in a certain area small close-nit, and full of family's and they pulled out because they knew they would be come the focus of attention because they were (1) middle aged and unmarried (2) a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

Persons name & face blacked out for potential legal reasons.

Screenshot of the post a girl posted on her facebook last week saying " This man is standing outside supervalu right now I have contacted the guards " .

418812.jpg

Persons name & face blacked out for potential legal reasons.

Screenshot of the post a girl posted on her facebook last week saying " This man is standing outside supervalu right now I have contacted the guards " .

418812.jpg

Let me guess..just standing there is classed as looking suspicious.

He could've been waiting for a lift, or his wife..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

pilly wrote: »
    I think it a lot of this is down to the media in general to be honest. This Anthony Lockwell story has been all over the papers for weeks with "he's now in Dublin", "he's now in Cork", blah blah blah.

It's scaremongering of the highest order and riling up members of the public into this sort of action.

It's only luck in this case that someone wasn't badly hurt.

I think this is perfectly true. I don't read tabloid newspapers but I do recall coming across a front page story on one of those rags not to long ago about a sex offender leaving prison and moved into an area where there was a school nearby. It's hard not to move into any urban area and hot have a school nearby. They printed a large sized picture of him , very ordinary looking where you would think there would be 100's of ppl in the area that would look very similar to him in general appearance. Pure scaremongering on behalf of the rag. And of course those types of publications are exactly what morons read so I wouldn't be surprised if we see something like this happen again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Could he possibly sue her over this ? If so, he should, take her to the cleaners. She might think twice in future about accusing an innocent man. The scary thing is this could happen to anyone, all they need is a photo of you, very disturbing when you really think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Penn wrote: »
    Stewart Lee:
    "Who can forget the News of the World's high-profile campaign against child sex offenders which led, didn't it, to News of the World readers burning down the home of a paediatrician... throwing rocks at a pedalo... and stamping on a centipede."

My mate Dave went into the local sports shop looking to get a pedometer and got an awful kicking from the lads browsing the "Supplements" section. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

These lads posting on social media are so thick they can't even spell "paedophile".

To me anyone who either can't spell it or is from Ireland and uses the simplified Americanized spelling has 0 credibility and shouldn't be given any attention on the matter.

When you see pedo, pedofile or even paedo you can bet your 'bottom dollah' they're part of the raging, Daily Fail-reading mob. Probably incapable of exercising any independent thought