Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

This lad reminds me of John Lonergan (Former Governor of Mountjoy), he is deluded. I'm so tired of all this do gooder crap, I'm off.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

If the previous history and actions of the witness is deemed to be relevant to a court case, then the previous history and actions (i.e. convictions) of the defendant should also be deemed relevant. It's a completely biased system.

This case is a perfect example. He was only jailed for 18 months and his previous convictions weren't factored in.
    'Donegal Driver with almost 500 convictions jailed for causing death'

"Judge Nolan said the maximum he could sentence him to was two years in prison and he was reducing it because of the plea by Lynch and because he was sincere in his remorse".

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/home/232556/donegal-driver-with-almost-500-convictions-jailed-for-causing-death.html

"Judge Nolan said the maximum he could sentence him to was two years in prison and he was reducing it because of the plea by Lynch and because he was sincere in his remorse".

Previous convictions can be taken in to account when sentencing, just not during a trial (i.e. during the determination of whether the person is innocent or guilty). And I know that it's not meant to prejudice the trial, but usually the best indicator of current behaviour in any system..... whether it be computing, children, or horse racing.. is previous behaviour/form.

I'm aware of that but the judge reduced the sentence by six months, he seemed to ignore the previous 489 convictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

That particular judge seems to make very strange decisions. Just sayin' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Lads, I'm waiting for Seanie Fitzpatrick to write his book, mark my words he'll be on the State Broadcaster before too long trying to flog it.

Has already been interviewed by the SBP. :mad:

Marion really should have read back over her files before this interview.

I'm sorry, but I just dont believe that the banks "didnt know that they were insolvent". They knew the quality of the loans that they were making. On that interview posted yesterday, Sean Fitzpatrick bragged about how they could fast track loans for 500k-2 Million euro very quickly and that is why builders like dealing with them. Massive loans with no due diligence, and nothing to stop the borrower from walking away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Marion really should have read back over her files before this interview.

I'm sorry, but I just dont believe that the banks "didnt know that they were insolvent". They knew the quality of the loans that they were making. On that interview posted yesterday, Sean Fitzpatrick bragged about how they could fast track loans for 500k-2 Million euro very quickly and that is why builders like dealing with them. Massive loans with no due diligence, and nothing to stop the borrower from walking away.

Funny the way Moral Hazard only applies where personal borrowers are concerned ... never arises in the case of the banks or the insurance companies and how many times is it we've bailed both institutions out now??? .... and be assured we'll be doing it again :rolleyes:

I'd say you couldn't tell this lad anything, he knows it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

The way Marion is going on about the gay taoiseach!!! , for god sake focus on the twat's policies rather than with he does with his willy , we're all over the gay thing for crying out loud.

Funny listening to the contributors. Gordon said that when he met Barbara Bush the meeting was "very unpretentious". Such a strange description to lead with, as opposed to saying something like "Barbara was very enthusiastic about Maeve's books" or similar. Then they spoke to Peter Sheridan, and when asked about his first meeting with Maeve and Gordon, responded by saying "there were no egos with them and that's what I liked about them".

Funny to think that the most required attribute that most Irish people desire in another human being is humility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Oops69 wrote: »
    The way Marion is going on about the gay taoiseach!!! , for god sake focus on the twat's policies rather than with he does with his willy , we're all over the gay thing for crying out loud.

Exactly, and it turns out Leo has a nasty little right-wing tendency along with crowd-pleasing BS. Being a political creature, he was happy enough (and engineered) the gay thing as a major/minor distraction so that he could smuggle in his budgie.

Funny listening to the contributors. Gordon said that when he met Barbara Bush the meeting was "very unpretentious". Such a strange description to lead with, as opposed to saying something like "Barbara was very enthusiastic about Maeve's books" or similar. Then they spoke to Peter Sheridan, and when asked about his first meeting with Maeve and Gordon, responded by saying "there were no egos with them and that's what I liked about them".

Funny to think that the most required attribute that most Irish people desire in another human being is humility.
    Not really , two contributors don't make up "most Irish people " , and one of the contributors was English as well ?

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Exactly, and it turns out Leo has a nasty little right-wing tendency along with crowd-pleasing BS.

I think this has hit upon one of the blind spots of the media though. Because he is gay most of the liberal media are reluctant to criticise him over anything he says or does. If he can implement some right wing policies, while appeasing the liberals simply by being gay, then it might be a win win situation.

I think everybody has seen a much more Machiavellian side to Leo with this campaign though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I think this has hit upon one of the blind spots of the media though. Because he is gay most of the liberal media are reluctant to criticise him over anything he says or does. If he can implement some right wing policies, while appeasing the liberals simply by being gay, then it might be a win win situation.

Him being gay didn't stop him being criticised for a being a particularly poor Minister for Health. He got it in neck from all sides with his "people who get up early in the morning" comments. It didn't get him any votes with the FG grassroots either. And he has no chance of slipping through "some right wing policies" in this hung Dail, or any foreseeable ones.

This new security expert hasn't been very impressive so far.

How long before justine mc carthy mentions Blair and iraq ?

about 20 seconds ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Very low standard of debate on RTÉ. Marian hasn't a notion and also couldn't care less. She does no preparation and talks in the blandest platitudes. Business as usual

"I've heard the words 'disaster' and 'shambolic' mentioned "

Surely Marion should keep the details of her meetings with RTE management confidential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Very low standard of debate on RTÉ. Marian hasn't a notion and also couldn't care less. She does no preparation and talks in the blandest platitudes. Business as usual

Goes through the motions more often than not, reaches for her cliches all too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭GB FAN GALWAY 30

I normally like Marian and the way she goes on. "Howevvvvvvvvvvvverrrrrrrr" as she might say herself I just think in the last while, maybe 12 months or so she appears to be really going through the motions! She just doesn't seem to be into it whatsoever! It comes across as if all the topics they talk about have just landed on her desk and she is not well tuned in! Also she's coughing and spluttering much more and today when she was interviewing a radio presenter from Manchester she sounded like Colombo. Every time she was about to let him go she appeared to think of one more thing to ask him. It stunk of a filler piece. I'm all for her and anyone else commanding and achieving the best salary they can for themselves. "Howwwevvvverrrrr" if she's not at the same standard now as she was when she first achieved it well then she needs to be told that by management.

"Howwwevvvverrrrr" if she's not at the same standard now as she was when she first achieved it well then she needs to be told that by management.

"RTE salaries may go down as well as up."

I can see how that would sit well with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,222 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

The big guy is back :cool:

Joe Duffy is working on a Saturday?

There's a death theme creeping in here, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,222 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Speaking of which, what was with that promo ad for Liveline before?

''You'd be better sucking on the teabag, than actually putting it in a cup.''

:confused::confused::confused:

''You'd be better sucking on the teabag, than actually putting it in a cup.''
    :confused::confused::confused:

Probably Joe pretending to be working class again. Jeeves usually brings a pot of freshly made tea down to the Death Cert Study Room on the hour.

This programme hit bottom a while ago, and it's been bumping along there since.
    I only flicked on today in the hope of something, anything from the usual drivel, but no, a couple of gloomies talking about their partners' deaths.
    <click off>