The stupid kid in the class!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

me and my best mate were talking about this the other day.

Class of 32 in Primary School.
    8 did our leaving cert.
    12 Dead (mostly drugs)
    4 in jail
    3 we dont know
    5 Layabouts around the town (dealing, petty crime etc..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

What age are yez?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

8 did our leaving cert.
    12 Dead (mostly drugs)
    4 in jail
    3 we dont know

How many times did you sum up those numbers to make sure they came to 32 in a thread about stupid people? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,402 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The stupidest kid I knew growing up is dead now because of something stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

8 did our leaving cert.
    12 Dead (mostly drugs)
    4 in jail
    3 we dont know

was this a christian brothers school?

I don't really know about my former classmates, it's been over twenty years since I've seen any of them really but I suspect most are dong fine. (at least I haven't heard of any of them killing people or being murdered)

I returned to education as an adult a couple of years ago though and there was one girl in my class in particular who wasn't particularly academic, she failed her first exam(a really pretty easy one) and started crying and then went on a pilgrimage to have the lecture sacked for not letting her away with the point she needed to pass. The class tutor, who was a friend of her fathers managed to get her a nice job at the end of it though so she probably was a bit smarter than anyone would have guessed. (fúckin dope) She works for the HSE as a secretary now which is excellent for people on long waiting lists and who need things typed badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭DubDani

The thickest kid in my class has gone to become the most successful, by a big margin.

While he might not have been the most academic, he always had his fingers on the pulse, knew what was going to be in demand and was fairly creative. He was also fairly popular with his peers, and while he now owns his own Business with more then 450 employees, he has actually hired quite a few of the supposedly smarter classmates to work for him. Al round popular guy up to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Googled him out of curiousity and it appears he had a kid within two years of leaving school, and now works as an assistant manager for an Aldi. He seems happy, he has photos of his most recent toddler feeding him a tinny of cheap beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

_Brian wrote: »
    Guy in my class at national school had behaviour issues, came from a tough family.
    Teacher had no idea how to handle him so he was out way over the other side of the room to keep him isolated.

It was years later when I realised he couldn't see the blackboard from where he was sitting and so had no chance of redeeming himself from that point onwards it was downhill.

He dropped out of school and the last I heard he was doing a stretch for man slaughter.

That says it all.

Very dismal stories here.

I don't know what many of my classmates are up to now as I moved away, but I can remember that the girls who, eh, ''got themselves'' pregnant at 15 have trained in social care and various other things in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

8 did our leaving cert.
    12 Dead (mostly drugs)
    4 in jail
    3 we dont know

That's a blatantly misleading statistic for Dundalk. Surely less than 8 did the Leaving Certificate?

That says it all.

Very dismal stories here.

I don't know what many of my classmates are up to now as I moved away, but I can remember that the girls who, eh, ''got themselves'' pregnant at 15 have trained in social care and various other things in the meantime.
    I got pregnant at 19 and I'm studying law. (true I studied social care and health promotion and medical administration among a realm of other bullshít over the years but it's probably because its just taken me a bit longer to get where I needed to go, what with raising a child alone and working at the same time)
    My daughter s in her fifth year of study so I guess I didn't do too bad for a gay knacker single parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

8 did our leaving cert.
    12 Dead (mostly drugs)
    4 in jail
    3 we dont know

That's some going for primary school kids.

There were six of these in my class.
    One left to sell clothes. One works down by the coast. One had two kids but lives alone. One's brother overdosed. One's already on his second wife, and one's just barely getting by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

One left to sell clothes. One works down by the coast. One had two kids but lives alone. One's brother overdosed. One's already on his second wife, and one's just barely getting by.

Not sure if these are meant to be signs of failure???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Not sure if these are meant to be signs of failure???

Or any of them really, even the second wife... Could be the best thing he ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭daheff

Went to school with a guy that went to prison for murder. It was downgraded to Manslaughter as you do in Ireland after stabbing somebody 17 times.

Eh -user name....murderer......:eek:
    Caliden wrote: »
    He's got 3 kids under the age of 7,

I'd love to know his secret but I've a feeling it's illegal.
    Not illegal to have 3 kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Elemonator

I can't imagine there's as many stupid people out there as you would think. The upbringing some of these kids have, especially ones from a rougher family who doesn't value education, has a knock on effect. I know of many I went to school with who could have done so much better but were glad that they passed everything with minimal grades because that is all they thought they were capable of. It's a sad waste really.

My own father grew up in that school environment (home environment was fine) but got the head down and developed a work ethic and as a result became very successful.

Elemonator wrote: »
    I can't imagine there's as many stupid people out there as you would think. The upbringing some of these kids have, especially ones from a rougher family who doesn't value education, has a knock on effect. I know of many I went to school with who could have done so much better but were glad that they passed everything with minimal grades because that is all they thought they were capable of. It's a sad waste really.

My own father grew up in that school environment (home environment was fine) but got the head down and developed a work ethic and as a result became very successful.

I think things were different a generation or so ago, very few people went on to third level education in my parents generation and most people ended up as laborers of some kind whether that was in manufacturing or construction.
    My own father came from a relatively small but well educated family and he himself was offered a scholarship at 15 to study at third level, and that was more in keeping with how life worked back then. Few families would have been able to fund further education. He was very successful but because he had more opportunity than most, that's not to say he didn't work hard but he definitely had more going for him than most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Elemonator wrote: »

I totally agree. If a child comes from a home where education is valued, and their parents make sure homework is done, always make the effort to attend parent teacher meetings and generally take an interest in how their child is doing at school they are highly likely to perform better than a child whose parents barely know where the school is, never help with homework, never encourage their child to read for pleasure and basically only send them to school because it's the law.

The second child could be far more intelligent than the first child, but the first child will probably do far better at school exams and be far more likely to go on to third level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭davo2001

Just did a quick search online for the stupid fella in my class in primary school, sure enough, turns out he stabbed a fella when he was 17 and got a 12 month suspended sentance, by the looks of it he has had numerious other offences since.

Not surprised, he was thick as **** in school and bullied other people due to his short comings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

When I was in Secondary school,(Christian Brothers) we had a bizarre system in classes like Mathamatics, Science and Irish whereby we were given tests every few weeks and the teacher created a conveyer belt with the desks whereby the ones that got the highest marks in the tests were put in the top row and the people who got the lowest were put in the $hit row depending on your marks. I was always somewhere in the middle.
    Those feckers were a cruel lot.
    One guy that always ended up in the last few $hit desks is now running his own technology company in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

_Brian wrote: »
    Guy in my class at national school had behaviour issues, came from a tough family.
    Teacher had no idea how to handle him so he was out way over the other side of the room to keep him isolated.

It was years later when I realised he couldn't see the blackboard from where he was sitting and so had no chance of redeeming himself from that point onwards it was downhill.

He dropped out of school and the last I heard he was doing a stretch for man slaughter.

Does this happen often now?

It's very easy to spot a child that can't see the board, it takes a pretty sh!tty teacher to just ignore this. Unless the kid is extremely disruptive with poor eyesight then the teacher probably has no choice but to isolate the kid for the sake of the other students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

By coincidence, the stupidest (i.e. least academic) guys in my class in both primary school and secondary school both ended up setting up for themselves in construction-related businesses, and both are doing really well. I know that at least one of them earns more than I do, and I'd guess the other fella possibly does too. Makes you wonder about how our school system copes with those who may be smart but not academic - though I'd imagine it's a lot better now than it was over 25 years ago when I did the leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

One in my class never got a chance in school came from a very poor family and his parents didn't give a **** if he was in school or not,dragged up he was..
    He was the one of the few in our class to always have a summer job..mad for money even from an early age he was doing cleaning or mowing lawns, no job was dirty enough for him...
    Bumped into him recently and sure enough he has his own large cleaning company employing 30 people and by the looks of doing very well for himself, lovely wife and kids and living in a good area...delighted to see he did well for himself as he could have easily gone of the rails like the rest of his brothers...
    I wonder what he could have achieved if he had of got a chance in school,he seems to have a good head for business..

Or any of them really, even the second wife... Could be the best thing he ever did.

The second wife is a Galway Girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Some of the posts remind me of the Frank McCourt museum in Limerick, In the classroom scene there is a teachers table at the top and in front of that there's a child's desk with a card on it with the word ''Dunce.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭Beric Dondarrion

How many live in a castle on the hill? :pac:

Hey, people in glass houses :P

I feared when writing that, that I should put IRONY in big letters so people would know. Seems I should have :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

harr wrote: »
    One in my class never got a chance in school came from a very poor family and his parents didn't give a **** if he was in school or not,dragged up he was..
    He was the one of the few in our class to always have a summer job..mad for money even from an early age he was doing cleaning or mowing lawns, no job was dirty enough for him...
    Bumped into him recently and sure enough he has his own large cleaning company employing 30 people and by the looks of doing very well for himself, lovely wife and kids and living in a good area...delighted to see he did well for himself as he could have easily gone of the rails like the rest of his brothers...
    I wonder what he could have achieved if he had of got a chance in school,he seems to have a good head for business..

Think in situations like this he has achieved.

In situations like this, where there is no parental influence or forcement to go to school, yet the child makes it their business to attend, dont be surprised when they make something of themselves.

They have ambition, desire and hunger to outstrip where they came from, and do better for themselves and their potential children and family.

Think that person is mighty proud of themselves and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I wouldn't say he was stupid but a lad in our Accounting class in Secondary School constantly struggled with the subject. It didn't come easy at all. He would be constantly asking how to do things and couldn't balance on one foot.

We were all very surprised when he chose the accountancy route after school. He skipped college, got a job in a small firm and did his accountancy exams. He struggled through them too.

Within about 5 years of qualifying he was sitting in board meetings with AH's favourite businessman and jet setting around the world. A bit of cop on and charisma goes a long way in the accountancy field.

PARlance wrote: »
    I wouldn't say he was stupid but a lad in our Accounting class in Secondary School constantly struggled with the subject. It didn't come easy at all. He would be constantly asking how to do things and couldn't balance on one foot.

We were all very surprised when he chose the accountancy route after school. He skipped college, got a job in a small firm and did his accountancy exams. He struggled through them too.

Within about 5 years of qualifying he was sitting in board meetings with AH's favourite businessman and jet setting around the world. A bit of cop on and charisma goes a long way in the accountancy field.

There's some awful incompetents in accountancy, who got to where they are through family connections. Accountancy seems to attract an awful lot of people who's only skill is manipulating connections.