Wikileaks merge (Assange loses extradition appeal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

gramar wrote: »
    I know I shouldn't be judgemental but I think he looks like a complete prick!

Whether he is a 'complete prick' or not is completely irrelevant to the bigger issue as to whether it is right that a person who is not a citizen of the USA and did not commit a crime on US soil can be charged with espionage when he lives outside the jurisdiction of US Law. This has implications for all European citizens not just JA. He is right to make an issue out of this even if he is only doing it to save his own skin, for which the rest of us should be grateful should anyone find themselves in a similar predicament.

In any case JA disputes that he committed espionage at all but that a 3rd party committed the espionage and that that person passed the info on to WikiLeaks who then merely posted the classified information on their website.

Would you not think that it would be right that the US government should at the very least prove in their request to the UK for extraditon that it was JA who committed the crime of espionage and that's completely aside from the further issues of concern in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

AllForIt wrote: »
    Whether he is a 'complete prick' or not is completely irrelevant to the bigger issue as to whether it is right that a person who is not a citizen of the USA and did not commit a crime on US soil can be charged with espionage when he lives outside the jurisdiction of US Law. This has implications for all European citizens not just JA. He is right to make an issue out of this even if he is only doing it to save his own skin, for which the rest of us should be grateful should anyone find themselves in a similar predicament.

In any case JA disputes that he committed espionage at all but that a 3rd party committed the espionage and that that person passed the info on to WikiLeaks who then merely posted the classified information on their website.

Would you not think that it would be right that the US government should at the very least prove in their request to the UK for extraditon that it was JA who committed the crime of espionage and that's completely aside from the further issues of concern in this case.
    He's been charged with espionage?

humanji wrote: »
    He's been charged with espionage?

Yes because the Americans believe that he interacted with Miss Bernard Manning and possibly others to carry out activities on his behalf in the US to acquire top secret information which is effectively the same as JA himself being a spy albeit from afar through a 3rd party. That would be at least part of the US case against him anyway and is certainly part of the rhetoric I have heard spouted against him by the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

He's not been cleared , coward ,perv , doubt he's ever going to leave the equator Embassy thought ,

Gatling wrote: »
    He's not been cleared , coward ,perv , doubt he's ever going to leave the equator Embassy thought ,

To say JA is a coward after all he has done re WL blows my mind. Do you think Snowden was a coward when he revealed what he did. Quite the opposite. He knew in advance what the implication would be for his life before he followed his conscience but did what he did nonetheless.

If you were actually paying attention to the news today you will find that the rape allegations were dropped. Why would any rape allegation be dropped if the relevant authorities believed there wasn't a case. So in my estimation he has been cleared.

In any case, as many other posters on here are doing, you are completely ignoring the wider implications of this case that apply to all of us all , instead turning it into a personal attack on JA.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

To say JA is a coward after all he has done re WL blows my mind. Do you think Snowden was a coward when he revealed what he did. Quite the opposite. He knew in advance what the implication would be for his life before he followed his conscience but did what he did nonetheless.

If you were actually paying attention to the news today you will find that the rape allegations were dropped. Why would any rape allegation be dropped if the relevant authorities believed there wasn't a case. So in my estimation he has been cleared.

In any case, as many other posters on here are doing, you are completely ignoring the wider implications of this case that apply to all of us all , instead turning it into a personal attack on JA.
    Very well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Bit distasteful to invoke his kids.

He could have seen his kids if he walked out of the embassy and faced his accusers.

He wasn't thinking if his kids the night he was engaging in sex that led to an accusation of rape.

He hid under a desk until procedural issues arose? What a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

He could have seen his kids if he walked out of the embassy and faced his accusers.

He wasn't thinking if his kids the night he was engaging in sex that led to an accusation of rape.

I should hope not :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

He repeatedly and consistently maintained all along that if the UK and/or Sweden had sought and supplied a guarantee that his subsequent extradition to the US would be refused on press freedom grounds, he would have surrendered himself for extradition. This was always about the spectre of a sealed grand jury in the US - and looking at the treatment of people such as Chelsea Manning and Barrett Brown among others, he was absolutely right to be concerned.

To say JA is a coward after all he has done

Yes he's a coward ,

Luckily​ your estimation is only opinion ,he wasn't cleared and till a court or Jury clears him.he's nothing more then a sex offender who's hiding in a foreign Embassy ,
    And then come out with its a victory for human rights complete and utter bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Yes he's a coward ,

Luckily​ your estimation is only opinion ,he wasn't cleared and till a court or Jury clears him.he's nothing more then a sex offender who's hiding in a foreign Embassy ,

When was he found guilty of sex offense?

He's​ not been found innocent of a sex offences has he

Neither have you.

That's not the way the justice system works. Innocence is assumed.

He repeatedly and consistently maintained all along that if the UK and/or Sweden had sought and supplied a guarantee that his subsequent extradition to the US would be refused on press freedom grounds, he would have surrendered himself for extradition. This was always about the spectre of a sealed grand jury in the US - and looking at the treatment of people such as Chelsea Manning and Barrett Brown among others, he was absolutely right to be concerned.

No one accused of rape gets the benefit of "but I want some guarantee that I'll be immune from extradition" in return for coming out of hiding.

Neither have you.

It is. No one accused of an offence is automatically guilty. But there will usually be a degree of scepticism about anyone who evades the law by fleeing.

Neither have you.

Haven't been accussed either ,
    Evading justice​ and your accusers in a court of law would suggest innocent isn't the word

It is. No one accused of an offence is automatically guilty. But there will usually be a degree of scepticism about anyone who evades the law by fleeing.

Seems to have been dropped though. Therefore he's innocent. Unless you believe that all claims ever made should sully someone's name indefinitely.

Assange believes the Swedish case was fabricated to get an extradition to Sweden where he would be then extradited to the US. As you know.

Given the nature of the modern US establishment that's a valid fear.

Seems to have been dropped though. Therefore hes innocent. Unless you believe that all claims ever made should sully someone's name indefinitely.

Assange believes the Swedish case was fabricated to get an extradition to Sweden where he would be then extradited to the US. As you know.

Given the nature of the modern US establishment that's a valid fear.

Has he produced any evidence of his allegation of collusion?

Presumably, as he is innocent of the rape accusation because he evaded justice, so are the authorities in Sweden and the USA innocent of collusion?

Has he produced any evidence of his allegation of collusion?

Presumably, as he is innocent of the rape accusation because he evaded justice, so are the authorities in Sweden and the USA innocent of collusion?

He's innocent of the rape accusation because he "evaded justice"? Can you explain that? The charges have been dropped.

This is appalling. You are supposedly legally trained. What do you mean by evaded justice?

As for the suggestion that the US isn't out to get him there's this.

https://www.ft.com/content/000ce526-2629-11e7-8691-d5f7e0cd0a16

He's innocent of the rape accusation because he "evaded justice"? Can you explain that? The charges have been dropped.

Do you actually understand why the chargers were dropped at all ,

If you don't here is the simplest version Julian is hiding in a foreign Embassy in London preventing the case from going forward ,

He wasn't cleared because he's been found innocent Fact

This is appalling. You are supposedly legally trained. What do you mean by evaded justice?

Evading justice is not submitting to due process by fleeing.

It's not appalling at all. I have said he was not guilty. I have merely provided more context. Are you saying he submitted to due process?

As for your continued "he is not susceptible to the law because like, 'Murica is bad", do you not think that's "appalling"?

In terms of politics..

Best part of 2016: Trump losing the popular vote.
    Best part of 2017: Assange's case getting brought up again.

Embrace that hate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 157 ✭✭biscuithead

It may be a crime to leak classified information but it is not a crime to publish it. Assange hasn't broken any laws. The extent to peoples' ignorance knows no bounds. There were even US politicians screaming that he should be executed for treason. Treason! These winners don"t even know the definition of treason and they are congressmen.

How is he a coward and a pervert?

He's a coward because he refused to allow himself to be incarcerated on fabricated charges in a show trial?

He's a pervert because he is accused of rape that both alleged victims have denied?

His character is not on trial here. What do his kids have to do with whether or not he has sex?

What crime did he commit?

Yes he's a coward ,

What sex offence has he committed? If you are referring to rape in Sweden, are you aware that the two alleged victims have repeatedly denied it?

Does that not matter to you?

Neither have you.

The problem people have with Assange is that he is intelligent. He is sophisticated. He is highly educated. He has (legally) exposed criminality and sidestepped an attempt to have him silenced.

People dont like to be outfoxed even when they know they are 100% wrong.