Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gardai Handcuff Procedure

• 11-05-2017 6:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

What handcuffs do the Gardai use these days? Are people handcuffed on way to court and in van to prisons?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Planning an escape?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

acfe2013 wrote:
    What handcuffs do the Gardai use these days? Are people handcuffed on way to court and in van to prisons?

Nice try 'Houdini '.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 acfe2013

Lol, sometimes i see people with no handcuffs on and others r handcuffed, some with rigid cuffs, others with chain cuffs, just wondered if there is any rhyme or reason 2 it and if they to stay in cuffs all day, like from prision to court n back?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,867 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

acfe2013 wrote:

Gardai don't handcuff everyone. Only people who they consider a flight risk.
    Most of the vans you see going to and from the court are prison vans. All of these would be handcuffed using rigit handcuffs.

acfe2013 wrote:
    Lol, sometimes i see people with no handcuffs on and others r handcuffed, some with rigid cuffs, others with chain cuffs, just wondered if there is any rhyme or reason 2 it and if they to stay in cuffs all day, like from prision to court n back?

Joking, my son is a guard and uses the rigid cuffs. I think if a person is handcuffed it's down to the individual believing them to be a risk as opposed to policy. That's my understanding anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 acfe2013

Are the handcuffs the guards have to use their own choice because they seem to have different types?

acfe2013 wrote:
    Are the handcuffs the guards have to use their own choice because they seem to have different types?

Can't give you an answer other than to say the rigid offer control over the handcuffed person.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,234 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Gardai don't handcuff everyone. Only people who they consider a flight risk.
    Also if they have been / are being violent. It can be legally iffy if they are used in anything but these two cases.

I imagine Prison Service handcuff most prisoners.

acfe2013 wrote: »

They started issuing ASP Semi Rigid cuffs to new entrants around 2008. Before that it was the chain link ones. Cuffing is up to the individual Garda. Depends on the person arrested and the offence.

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Mark25

acfe2013 wrote: »

Been arrested a few times and they use mainly semi rigid cuffs I think. Have had the chain link cuffs as well but that was a while ago. I think they have to justify using them but the times I was arrested I've always been cuffed (happened when I was drunk) and mostly behind my back.

The prison ones are rigid (black plastic case in the middle) and used anytime out of the prison - for court, being transferred, going to hospital. Sometimes they use another cuff on a chain that the prison officer has on so one hand has two cuffs on. Going to court in those vans you are in a tiny cubicle with hardly any room to move and the cuffs on. they take them off when you go into a holding cell at the court.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭irishrgr

Over here it's policy, all prisoners WILL be handcuffed. We're issued the basic S&W chain cuffs (two pair/officer), some lads upgrade to the rigid type. The ASP or Hiatt rigid ones are not that common but I've seen a few here and there. Interesting to note it can "be legally iffy" if a Garda handcuffs the "wrong" prisoner. Be the other way around for us, not handcuffing a prisoner would lead to a very one sided conversation with your SGT of not the LT. It's considered a fundamental officer safety issue for us. And, yes, unless there are exceptional circumstances (obesity, pregnancy, etc.), everyone is handcuffed hands behind back.
    Anyone going to court is usually handcuffed and shackled right up to the court where, based on a risk assessment, they can be uncuffed for trial.
    Seeing as most Garda cars don't have prisoner cages that I saw, do Gardaí have to wait for a "Paddy Wagon" to transport a prisoner?
    A

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭irishrgr

I have the well worn phrase "suspect was then placed in double locked handcuffs behind his back for officer safety. Suspect verbally acknowledged he could feel officers finger between handcuffs and his skin and stated he had no report of pain from the handcuffs and had sensation in his fingers. Suspect was then frisked and placed in the right rear seat of my patrol car and secured with lap and shoulder seat belt." typed into every report. If possible, we'll cuff 'em in front of the camera so it's all recorded, or if not at least frisk 'em on the camera. Good times that report writing....

irishrgr wrote:
    Over here it's policy, all prisoners WILL be handcuffed. We're issued the basic S&W chain cuffs (two pair/officer), some lads upgrade to the rigid type. The ASP or Hiatt rigid ones are not that common but I've seen a few here and there. Interesting to note it can "be legally iffy" if a Garda handcuffs the "wrong" prisoner. Be the other way around for us, not handcuffing a prisoner would lead to a very one sided conversation with your SGT of not the LT. It's considered a fundamental officer safety issue for us. And, yes, unless there are exceptional circumstances (obesity, pregnancy, etc.), everyone is handcuffed hands behind back. Anyone going to court is usually handcuffed and shackled right up to the court where, based on a risk assessment, they can be uncuffed for trial. Seeing as most Garda cars don't have prisoner cages that I saw, do Gardaí have to wait for a "Paddy Wagon" to transport a prisoner? A

I've never heard of someone shackled (chained at the ankles) in Ireland before. I've seen some of the biggest thugs in Ireland being escorted to and from the court and I've only ever seen rigid handcuffs

irishrgr wrote: »
    Over here it's policy, all prisoners WILL be handcuffed. We're issued the basic S&W chain cuffs (two pair/officer), some lads upgrade to the rigid type. The ASP or Hiatt rigid ones are not that common but I've seen a few here and there. Interesting to note it can "be legally iffy" if a Garda handcuffs the "wrong" prisoner. Be the other way around for us, not handcuffing a prisoner would lead to a very one sided conversation with your SGT of not the LT. It's considered a fundamental officer safety issue for us. And, yes, unless there are exceptional circumstances (obesity, pregnancy, etc.), everyone is handcuffed hands behind back.
    Anyone going to court is usually handcuffed and shackled right up to the court where, based on a risk assessment, they can be uncuffed for trial.
    Seeing as most Garda cars don't have prisoner cages that I saw, do Gardaí have to wait for a "Paddy Wagon" to transport a prisoner?
    A

They have vans with cages in the back that are seperate from the van. But they also use the back seat in their cars to transport you if you get arrested.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I've never heard of someone shackled (chained at the ankles) in Ireland before. I've seen some of the biggest thugs in Ireland being escorted to and from the court and I've only ever seen rigid handcuffs

Think irishgr is from America - things are different over there.

I never saw leg shackles here either. Going from prison they sometimes have a lead chain where as well as the regular handcuffs they put on a second handcuff that is on a chain attached to the prison officer

Mark25 wrote:
    Think irishgr is from America - things are different over there.

That makes sense. I never thought of that

• Registered Users Posts: 13,798 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Handcuffing in this country is a joke. It should be made mandatory, so that the Garda who's just doing his job can't subsequently be reprimanded because they handcuffed without good reason. A prime example being the drink driving case that was struck out because the Garda handcuffed the drink driving suspect. It's crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 smurfyirl

Perform a dynamic risk assessment. If I feel that there's any risk of attack or flight I'm going to cuff you. I'd rather a case struck out of court that being assaulted any day of the week.

I'd always cuff drunks as you just can't predict what an intoxicated person does.

I've the old s&w chain link cuffs rather than the rigid asp ones. Haven't a training course done in those ones and unlikely to get one either. The chain links are easier to throw on aswell as more flexible.