Serial litigant gets 40k for chip slip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Ugh, really poor outcome. I despair for Ireland. Expect similar cases.

This nonsense affects us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Disgusting, how many days work did she miss over this "injury"? These payouts are insulting to the taxpayers who pay the wages of the clowns in the judiciary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Disgusting, how many days work did she miss over this "injury"? These payouts are insulting to the taxpayers who pay the wages of the clowns in the judiciary.

She was never mentioned as to having any kind of job only being unable to hoover and carry shopping bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

This type of litigation clearly illustrates, that we are on a Perilous Slippery Slope to mediocracy and ambiguity of the Legal profession :mad:

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

dmc17 wrote: »
    Unfortunately she's not the silly bint. She made herself an easy 40k. It's the silly bints who award these payouts are causing our insurance to skyrocket.

Simple case of the judge looking after his own
    The solicitors take these cases on a no win no fee basis

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

She was never mentioned as to having any kind of job only being unable to hoover and carry shopping bags.
    How much does a Roomba cost these days ?

And Argos will sell you a shopping trolley for €20
    http://www.argos.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Search?pp=20&s=Price%3A+Low+-+High&storeId=10152&catalogId=14551&langId=111&q=SHOPPING+TROLLEY&authToken=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Staggering. If this had been her first offense.....maybe. But it was demonstrated she had already got a payout off the back of a fall and was congratulated for not trying to cover it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I agree with you. The whole thing is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I'm hopin' to get banjaxed on chips later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The judge should be taken out into the streets and beaten to a pulp. Idiotic arse holes judges are the reason insurance and compo claims are on the rise. Every useless waster will read this story and see how easy it is to get a ball of cash for simply falling on your fat arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How is it even plausible to slip on a single chip?

No CCTV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

The judge should be taken out into the streets and beaten to a pulp. Idiotic arse holes judges are the reason insurance and compo claims are on the rise. Every useless waster will read this story and see how easy it is to get a ball of cash for simply falling on your fat arse.

There is no compensation culture in Ireland.

It's greedy insurance companies solely to blame for the spiralling premiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Rod Munch wrote: »

It's greedy insurance companies solely to blame for the spiralling premiums.

When you read about the number of frivolous claims being successful and being awarded tens of thousands of euros you have to wonder...

There is a steady stream of newspaper stories reporting these crazy payouts, this either wasn't happening 15 years ago or it wasn't being reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Court system is a lottery. I was in an employment appeals with a bitch of a former staff member who helped herself to goods.

Luckily her barrister did not know the vagaries of the different judges, but we got the worst one and settled for a small amount before case was heard.

If we had a different judge, - any of the other three sitting that day - my barrister would have run the case and would have been certain for a win.

Same with main compo courts - Lihane would have thrown this case out. Unfortunately the other judges simply refuse to see what's in front of their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

She's spectacularly ugly. She also looks to have a low intelligence quotient.

Money can't change these fundamental flaws and I almost have a degree of sympathy for the sow.

She's clever enough to get two payouts for slipping on things to be fair to her so she's not that stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Money can't change these fundamental flaws and I almost have a degree of sympathy for the sow.

Shes is most certaintly not a-peel-ing.

Jaysis, a Maris Piper wouldnt take her out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

CeilingFly wrote: »

Same with main compo courts - Lihane would have thrown this case out. Unfortunately the other judges simply refuse to see what's in front of their eyes.

well the out of touch judges need to be held accountable , like any other well paid professional - given that it is the people of Ireland who pay there wages - can a judge be struck of for poor performance ? doubt it , and if so that seams not right , given the taxpayers pay wages.

Likewise good and well performing judges should get bonuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Sickening, but she'll have it all spent on chips in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I have often wondered if countries like the UK or anywhere in Europe have similar compensation cases.

Does anyone know?

I have no problem with someone being compensated for loss of earnings (if there is no sick pay),and medical bills, it should not go beyond that really.

I blame the judges quite frankly.

And as someone else said, the majority of such cases never get to a courtroom at all, settled on the steps so to speak. Those that do get to court, must mean a good case for the defendant. Not here though it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I have often wondered if countries like the UK or anywhere in Europe have similar compensation cases.

Does anyone know?

Ireland would be much easier to fleece than in U.K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

That woman has never hoovered a floor in her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭C Montgomery Gurns II

I haven't seen any mention of what this EU national mother of four works at for a living. How she pays the rent. While I wouldn't say she exactly looks Roma, she does vaguely, they do have a very small minority of them in Lithuania (I don't know if they look very mixed/ nearly local like the English Romanichal have become). She certainly doesn't look very typically Lithuanian.

Irish people who laugh at Brexit are an embarrassment. Every day I walk past the same gang of Roma men hanging off an electric box beside Henry St. The same scaldy looking boyos, hanging there all day every day. What in the **** is their purpose, what exactly are they doing here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

I was in court recently - someone daft was suing me, they lost - there was a plump kid up, before our nonsense got heard and rapidly thrown out, who was claiming he'd tripped on a footpath and broken his arm and was suing the council. The kid looked mortified when cross-examined. He all but said he was running and fell because he lost his balance, no footpath input..his parents were looking on, eyes like daggers. Judge awards him 20k. I was expecting the Judge to laugh and go "Here, lad, watch how fast you're moving in future-now feck off, you're spoofing and everyone can see that from 3 miles"..but no - 20k. Jesus wept.

Our case was next - I was thinking "Jasus, this fool of a Judge will believe the lying cow suing us ffs...he's obviously a bit touched.."

Judge Touched then left (no idea why)and someone else took his place -someone with a brain. Plump boy got lucky. It's a pure lottery. 20k for falling over your own feet and breaking your arm?? 6 weeks of healing for a teen who obviously does fcuk all apart from eat and play PS. That's 20K?? Mine eyes were opened to the daftness out there. If I was a gimp, I could fall over stuff all day every day and sue. The law is an ass. That Judge was one anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Are restaurants supposed to have someone watching the floor at all times to instantly pick up any morsel of food that's dropped by a customer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭C Montgomery Gurns II

Beyondgone wrote: »
    I was in court recently - someone daft was suing me, they lost - there was a plump kid up, before our nonsense got heard and rapidly thrown out, who was claiming he'd tripped on a footpath and broken his arm and was suing the council. The kid looked mortified when cross-examined. He all but said he was running and fell because he lost his balance, no footpath input..his parents were looking on, eyes like daggers. Judge awards him 20k. I was expecting the Judge to laugh and go "Here, lad, watch how fast you're moving in future-now feck off, you're spoofing and everyone can see that from 3 miles"..but no - 20k. Jesus wept.

Our case was next - I was thinking "Jasus, this fool of a Judge will believe the lying cow suing us ffs...he's obviously a bit touched.."

Judge Touched then left (no idea why)and someone else took his place -someone with a brain. Plump boy got lucky. It's a pure lottery. 20k for falling over your own feet and breaking your arm?? 6 weeks of healing for a teen who obviously does fcuk all apart from eat and play PS. That's 20K?? Mine eyes were opened to the daftness out there. If I was a gimp, I could fall over stuff all day every day and sue. The law is an ass. That Judge was one anyway.

Unemployed minority man sues government for injuries sustained jogging on government land gifted to said minority down the road from 350K houses.

What a country.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/jogger-who-injured-his-hand-after-tripping-over-a-hole-awarded-60k-35604012.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

When you read about the number of frivolous claims being successful and being awarded tens of thousands of euros you have to wonder...

I was being facetious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

I was being facetious.

You posted..I heard the whoosh of you being taken seriously from a mile away. This is why we have bad judges. People never hear the whoosh.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I haven't seen any mention of what this EU national mother of four works at for a living. How she pays the rent. While I wouldn't say she exactly looks Roma, she does vaguely, they do have a very small minority of them in Lithuania (I don't know if they look very mixed/ nearly local like the English Romanichal have become). She certainly doesn't look very typically Lithuanian.

Irish people who laugh at Brexit are an embarrassment. Every day I walk past the same gang of Roma men hanging off an electric box beside Henry St. The same scaldy looking boyos, hanging there all day every day. What in the **** is their purpose, what exactly are they doing here?

They are collectors...
    They are also the watchers.

They keep the women begging and collect the cash that's pretty much what they do there.