Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭ticklebelly7

Graces7 wrote: »
    WOW! A huge ruined house.. I love these things so made for it, gazing ahead at the detailled ruins...

As I neared it, .. it vanished.  Just not there any more. Gone.. all gone..

I went on with my day then sought online any expert local historians. Asked was there ever a house there as there was nothing online or on maps or in the publicity stuff...
    This is very similar to something that happened to me.  Fifteen years ago I was up a hill visiting a remote and beautiful graveyard in Wicklow.  Its history goes back a thousand years or more, there's everything up there: neolithic stones, the grave of a hero of 1798, the faint remains of an old chapel, St Brigid's Well.  The path in goes straight through and out via another gate at the far side, and just beyond this other gate is the forest and a sign saying:: No Entry, private.  

Well, red rag to a bull or what!!  Out through this gate and soon we're wombling about on the forest paths - there were four of us.  And we got lost.  After a fair old walk we saw the gable end of a house in the trees so we headed for that.  When we got there it turned out to be the ruin of a sizeable place, much bigger than the little fallen cabins we find in the woods round here but totally different to the big country houses.  We trekked on for a further while, until eventually we met two chaps on quad bikes - Coillte workers - and they lead us down off the hill to the back of the local Big House, where we managed to get out and onto the road.  The ruins we saw were near the top of the hill, well away from this country house.

I've been back to that graveyard many a time since, and have gone through the back gates into the forest and all round the place with OS Maps without getting lost.  I have never found that big gable again.  Four of us saw it, I'm not going mad. 

I've searched the old maps, the aerial views, tithe books, land valuation books, archaeological surveys - there's no sign of a recent sizeable building up there.  I found one fleeting reference to a mediaeval nunnery on the hill, called St Mary de Poer.  That's what the gable looked like, a substantial mediaeval wall with one window high up ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,136 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

listened to a bit of 'I wanna be adored' by the stone roses before i went shopping and then when i walked into the supermarket what was playing over the PA ???

'I wanna be adored' by the Stone Roses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Talking to a stranger online today about a local event and as the conversation went on it got more and more obvious that he has the exact writing style and sense of humour of a friend of mine who passed away in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭garyskeepers

Myself and the missus were on one of our many many holidays , this time in Kracow. I'm a big scenery buff and love churches, not religious in the slightest but just love the structures.

After walking into about 15, the missus decided to give the next one a miss and waited outside. We were down in the Jewish quarter so off I strolled up to the huge doors and opened the creaky and popped inside.

About two feet in front of me were a huge set of iron gates, and then the blood drained from me and I nearly **** myself. Behind the gates holding on to the bars, staring straight at me, was a woman at the age of what looked like 110, staring at me, with glassy grey eyes. She was dressed in black and had her black scarf thing over her head just showing her face, and hands.

Needless to say I backed out immediately. The missus got a shock when she saw my face, but couldn't get the courage to go inside to check.

After growing up in a haunted house with strange creepy things being a daily occurrence, THIS was one of the most frightening things that ever happened to me. Not THE most frightening. But one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

Myself and the missus were on one of our many many holidays , this time in Kracow. I'm a big scenery buff and love churches, not religious in the slightest but just love the structures.

After walking into about 15, the missus decided to give the next one a miss and waited outside. We were down in the Jewish quarter so off I strolled up to the huge doors and opened the creaky and popped inside.

About two feet in front of me were a huge set of iron gates, and then the blood drained from me and I nearly **** myself. Behind the gates holding on to the bars, staring straight at me, was a woman at the age of what looked like 110, staring at me, with glassy grey eyes. She was dressed in black and had her black scarf thing over her head just showing her face, and hands.

Needless to say I backed out immediately. The missus got a shock when she saw my face, but couldn't get the courage to go inside to check.

After growing up in a haunted house with strange creepy things being a daily occurrence, THIS was one of the most frightening things that ever happened to me. Not THE most frightening. But one of them.

What was THE most frightening thing? Give us a good chill, this thread has been very quiet of late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

In Africa years ago three of us went in a small aircraft (about 7 seats) on a Monday to a place a few hundred miles to work for a week.
    On the Friday the aircraft didn't arrive so we got a train.
    We learned that the pilot who flew us on the Monday was killed on the Friday when the aircraft crashed on take-off in heavy rain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Some of these stories are pretty scary. Read at your own risk!

You Bastard! :pac:

Btw guys, brilliant thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

Mine isnt so much creepy, as comforting to be honest! 
    My Grandad died when I was 6 (I'm now 27), and I was quite close to him, I was actually in the house the day he died. I think of him quite often, and miss him and my Granny a lot.
    About 6 months ago I had a dream, I was at some kind of garden party, and my Grandad appears in front of me in a purple suit and said 'I never left'. I took it to mean he has never left me and stays with me after his death. The dream was so lifelike, and comforting, and I'm so happy I had it and it genuinely makes me feel he is always with me.

I have a very healthy, lush little graden full of flowers like a cottage garden with trees outside the windows. They're well established now after four years of growing and don't need an special care and just grow away fine when I'm not at home. My housemate pointed out that the tress and roses started dying when I got sick. Went out for a closer look and they're covered in aphids and withering.

Also, before I got sick I was having a lot of 'flashbacks', memories from when I was a very young child to random memories as an adult. They'd just come from nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Ray37 wrote: »
    Mine isnt so much creepy, as comforting to be honest! 
    My Grandad died when I was 6 (I'm now 27), and I was quite close to him, I was actually in the house the day he died. I think of him quite often, and miss him and my Granny a lot.
    About 6 months ago I had a dream, I was at some kind of garden party, and my Grandad appears in front of me in a purple suit and said 'I never left'. I took it to mean he has never left me and stays with me after his death. The dream was so lifelike, and comforting, and I'm so happy I had it and it genuinely makes me feel he is always with me.

That is lovely :)
    I had a dream about my Dad on the Christmas Eve about 6 weeks after he died. We were standing on the footpath outside my parent's house and he came and stood beside me and put his arm around my shoulders as he used to do. I swear I felt the weight of his arm around me. He was all smiles and looked as he did before he got sick. I woke up with a smile on my face for the first time in a long time and felt like I could cope with Christmas. I will carry the memory of that dream to the grave with me.

My mother hasn't been well in months now. Her dog had been driving her nuts climbing up on her lap and nuzzling into her, refusing to leave her side. He wouldn't usually behave like that at all. Unfortunately she has been since diagnosed with cancer. Sceptical as I am about such things I can't help but think that he sensed what was wrong with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭mel123

not sure if really creepy as such but...
    long story short, i was going through a really hard time after break up blah blah, i was a bit of an emotional mess, my world was turned upside down. anyway one morning i woke up and i felt someone hugging in to me holding me tight from behind, and it was my great grandmother who i was always told she idolised me so much (i was young when she died), and my gran always used to say she was my guardian angel. anyway she said 'when one door closes another door opens' and i turned around and there was no one there - obviously. i got great comfort from it, it wasnt scary or anything.

i went in to work that day and went up to one of the managers offices, and as i walked in he was hanging a big huge picture that said 'when one door closes another door opens'.

i still get goosebumps when i think of it and i'll never forget that feeling when i woke up that morning feeling her there.

mel123 wrote: »
    not sure if really creepy as such but...
    long story short, i was going through a really hard time after break up blah blah, i was a bit of an emotional mess, my world was turned upside down. anyway one morning i woke up and i felt someone hugging in to me holding me tight from behind, and it was my great grandmother who i was always told she idolised me so much (i was young when she died), and my gran always used to say she was my guardian angel. anyway she said 'when one door closes another door opens' and i turned around and there was no one there - obviously. i got great comfort from it, it wasnt scary or anything.

i went in to work that day and went up to one of the managers offices, and as i walked in he was hanging a big huge picture that said 'when one door closes another door opens'.

i still get goosebumps when i think of it and i'll never forget that feeling when i woke up that morning feeling her there.

That phrase popped into my mind last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭garyskeepers

368100 wrote: »
    What was THE most frightening thing? Give us a good chill, this thread has been very quiet of late

well once i was coming out of my bedroom,,, and i was shutting the door behind me and i spun around to head towards the stairs, and when i had full spun, i realised that i had spun right past a green floating mist thing. The energy just drained right out of me and i almost fell down the stairs.

Another time i was lying in my bed, it was night time, but i was texting a friend and was 100% not asleep, and all of a sudden i could "feel" something eh,, how do i explain this,,, GROWING??? in the corner of the room.. Although there was no sound, it got louder and louder and i could feel it more and more. My head started to go all funny and at that moment, i felt it climb on top of me and hold the sheets down around my shoulders. I couldnt even scream, and i forced and forced but couldnt move it, then all of a sudden, it was gone, and i sprung up and ran downstairs as fast as i could/... sounds like night terrors. but i was 100% aware of the 30 or so seconds it was growing in the corner.

but i have tens and tens of stories about growing up in that house in Ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

Reading these sat in my office at work. A siren just came on directly outside my office window (I work in the hospital) and for a split second I thought someone was in the room with me wailing at the top of their lungs. It genuinely sounded like it was in the room :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Not creepy by any means but most definitely un-nerving I was in Hospital years ago after being broken up in a car accident which meant I was helplessly confined to bed. I was in a male surgical ward which was so crowded there were two lines of beds down the middle of the ward, which were head to head with a screen in between.

One night, while I was fast asleep, there was a guy admitted who had been in a traffic accident. Apparently he got up during the night for a piss. He was completely bollock naked apart from an extremely blood stained bandage wrapped around his head which obviously restricted his view (as well as being drunk and having had a severe bang on the head). In order to see out his bandage he had to tilt back his head which, along with his drunken state gave him an ominous, slow, shambling gait. My first sight of this Return of the Mummy apparition was waking up and seeing him shuffling slowly towards my bed. In his confused state, he obviously thought the end of my bed was the top of his so he kept shuffling towards my bed then grabbed the sheets and started tearing at them to get back into what he thought was his bed.

Needless to say having just woken up from a deep sleep I actually did think it was the Return of the Mummy and I may even have screamed for my own. A couple of nurses came running and I can still remember them breaking their holes laughing.

Epilogue: Your man had something like 80 stitches put in his face. He was acting the big man constantly asking about his girlfriend who had been transferred to another hospital also with serious facial injuries. One of the nurses, and I genuinely think it was one of those spur of the moment things you say without thinking rather than being malicious, said back to him: “She’s grand, ye’ll be a right pair, Frankenstein and his Bride.” I shyte you not, that actually happened. I got out of there on crutches on the Monday and Oscar Pistorious wouldn’t have kept up with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭tmabr

Hopefully this is a dream i had.

About 25 years ago i was in a pub in donnycarney buying a few cans for me and my friends, went into the bar were all the aul lads drink cause it was easier to get served underage. As i was standing there 2 aul lads deep in conversation at the bar almost crying talking about the young boys that were murdered in the artane schools by the christian brothers. This was before most of the stories broke. They were saying that hundreds of murdered kids are buried under the new housing estates surrounding the school. And of course thats where i lived,i can see the school from my bedroom.

later that night while i was in bed, i got awakened by 2 young lads walking around my bedroom, they were whimpering. They had on the old fashioned school uniform with shorts on,the works. I hid under the cover and tried to fully wake myself or go back asleep, not sure how it ended. but i was scared and remember it clearly to this day. Yes i had a few beers and the aul lads probably played a part but i was scared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

73Cat wrote: »
    That is lovely :)
    I had a dream about my Dad on the Christmas Eve about 6 weeks after he died. We were standing on the footpath outside my parent's house and he came and stood beside me and put his arm around my shoulders as he used to do. I swear I felt the weight of his arm around me. He was all smiles and looked as he did before he got sick. I woke up with a smile on my face for the first time in a long time and felt like I could cope with Christmas. I will carry the memory of that dream to the grave with me.

My mother hasn't been well in months now. Her dog had been driving her nuts climbing up on her lap and nuzzling into her, refusing to leave her side. He wouldn't usually behave like that at all. Unfortunately she has been since diagnosed with cancer. Sceptical as I am about such things I can't help but think that he sensed what was wrong with her.

I was only reading an article yesterday about how some dogs have an ability to 'sniff' out illness. This could be what was happening with the dog? Sorry to hear about it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Kamili

I was only reading an article yesterday about how some dogs have an ability to 'sniff' out illness. This could be what was happening with the dog? Sorry to hear about it also.

Dogs can indeed smell cancer and are now being used to detect it.

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2016/03/160319-dogs-diabetes-health-cancer-animals-science/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

Daledge wrote: »
    Reading these sat in my office at work. A siren just came on directly outside my office window (I work in the hospital) and for a split second I thought someone was in the room with me wailing at the top of their lungs. It genuinely sounded like it was in the room :P

Told a coworker about this incident yesterday and about how I was reading this thread, and the bast*rd hid under my desk while I went to make some coffee. Waited about 60 seconds after I sat down and grabbed my leg.

Almost sh*t myself. As if I wasn't paranoid enough already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

I have the "floating darkness" come from the corner of the bedroom and sit on my chest a few times.

Its a scary one, that and a reoccurring dream/nightmare where there is a large hanging basket, suspended in darkness.

There is a large black dog who's baring he's teeth.

I'm compelled to always put my hand into he's cage and pet him, but he bites my hand.
    (but his only started happening after my Mother died).

Sometimes I meet my Mother in my dreams, but she never talks.
    Wish she'd talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

73Cat wrote: »

You are indeed right, I absolutely believe dogs can sense illness in people and in each other. My own dog spent a lot of time in my parents' house and always sat quite content at my father's feet. Shortly before my father died, when he wasn't very well, she would sit bolt upright at his feet staring at him. If his head drifted to one side or the other, her eyes would follow. If anyone came into the room, she would look at them anxiously - as if trying to tell them something.

Every now and then, when we're walking, I bring her into the graveyard to my dad's grave and she always - from the first time I brought her - carefully lies down right at the feet of the grave itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    You are indeed right, I absolutely believe dogs can sense illness in people and in each other.
    I think it's been established that dogs can smell illness in peoples, even cancer. Illnesses cause chemical imbalances in animals and dogs pick up on that. Wolfs would always have a preference for sick animals because they're easier to take down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Lots of studies have proved dogs can smell or be trained to smell certain types of cancer. Here's just one.

http://erj.ersjournals.com/content/39/3/669.short

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

Lots of studies have proved dogs can smell or be trained to smell certain types of cancer. Here's just one.

http://erj.ersjournals.com/content/39/3/669.short

My sister has a golden lab who used to be all over me since she was a pup, licking, wanting attention, etc . One day out of the blue she stopped all this, wouldn't come near me like she was scared. This went on for weeks. It was wrecking my head as I love dogs and couldn't understand what happened. Then I was diagnosed with cancer.

I'm all good now thankfully, I had the surgery and didn't see the dog for a few weeks but as soon as I did she was back to her normal self, that was 3 years ago and she's never acted like that since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

I realise this probably isn't as creepy or unnerving as some of the experiences on here. But, at the time, I was scared out of my wits.

Until quite recently, I lived in a flat that used to be multi-occupancy (four bedrooms) in Belfast city centre. However, the landlord that owned it when I moved in had phased out flat sharing altogether so it was just me in this big, four bed flat.

The flat was a rough "T" shape. You walked in the front door and there was a narrow passage way of about six feet. If you turned right you reached two bedrooms and a large bathroom. Turn left, there were another two bedrooms facing a small bathroom, hot press and with large living room and kitchen area beside it. My bedroom was on the right, next to the large bathroom.

Some more relevant information is that the building was about to be sold, so when flats emptied as folk moved out, no one else was being moved in (I was only housed there temporarily). So the whole building was virtually empty and I had only very few neighbours.

In the early hours of the morning back in January, I was woken up by someone tapping on the door. I just thought they'd fvck off, but the tapping got louder into full on knocking. Then the knocking stopped for ten minutes before starting again. Bearing in mind it's about four in the morning, there's no way I am answering that door. The knocking goes on and on. I know for a fact it's not someone looking for me, because my friends aren't arseholes and my family still live in England.

I got out of bed and decided to tiptoe out of my bedroom and sneak down the corridor, past the front door, to get my mobile (to call the peelers). But my phone is in the kitchen so I have to pass the front door. Outside in the corridor, I can hear the guy pacing, pausing, knocking and then pacing again. I'm scared witless, not even daring to breathe, when the letter box opens (it's one of those metal ones) and simultaneously a beam of light shines right into the flat. Presumably, he was holding some sort of torch through the letterbox. Because of the layout of the flat, he cannot shine the light on me, but he's moving the beam around as best he can.

Now there's no chance that I am brave enough to walk past that door to reach the kitchen and get my phone. None at all.

Eventually, after what felt like forever, whoever it was kicked the door really hard and I heard him running down the corridor (and the fire door at the end of the corridor being kicked shut). I ran to the living room to see if I could see the person leaving the building, but couldn't see the entrance from where I was.

Scared the living bejesus out of me, I swear. Mercifully, I was permanently rehoused in a one-bed, self-contained flat at the end of January and haven't been back round that way since. Bloody Donegal Street Shac apartments!

I think that was one of the most frightening posts so far, actually! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

I think that was one of the most frightening posts so far, actually! :(

Thanks! I actually had a nightmare about it since it happened, but I thought I was just being silly. But that whole building had a terrible reputation and some of the horror stories I've heard since put mine to shame, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭lolokeogh

Told this story before,moved to a house 3 years ago,the house itself is only 6 years old,so nothing strange there.after i moved in i noticed small things,like id be cleaning up stairs id see the clothes rocking on the drying rack,but id put it off and make an excuse,seen a bottle on its side rocking in my sons room,but yes could have been a breeze,but odd little things..anyway was the night of the mcgregor fight,i was up in bed maybe 530 in the morning looking at laptop,i heard what i can only describe as a kid playing on the landing,the sound was like a kid excited playing say hide and go seek,now i have 3 kids,one is 15,the other 23 and the wee one is 9,so i thought it was the 9 year old,i got up and as i was going to bed room door i could here maybe 3/4 foot steps,i opened door and nothing there...on another occasion my eldest daughter heard someone playing with toys in her room,again she thought it was the youngest girl,turned her phone on and it was 6 in the morning,looked down and nothing..loads of little bits happened after that,and then out of the corner off my eye one night i thought i seen a young girl slightly behind me to the left,,Speaking of dogs above i have a dog that would never go in to the sitting room,but if any off the kids were sick she would go in and sit at the sofs if they were laying on it..i was telling my sister on the phone one night about all that i have mentioned above.while i was talking to her the dog went to the bottom of the stairs and was barking like mad..and that was that..mybe for about 6 mths,then 4 weeks ago i went in to my daughters room to say good night,the youngest was asleeep so i said "goodnight" to my oldest daughter,im convinced 2 voices said good night back to me,so much so i checked the youngest girl to see if she was pretending to be asleep.as i walked from the room i could feel every hair on my body stand,i have never experianced a feeling like it,you know when some one says "thats someone walking over your grave",was like that times 500,and when i went to my own room i could feel a drop in tempature..maybe it can be all explained?but it has happened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

That would have been terrifying!

Although I wonder how much terror you'd have caused him in return if you'd started bating the hell out of the door from your side with a pan or something? He'd probably have been convinced that the place was haunted and coming to get him for disturbing it!

Not that I'd have done that either, I'd have done exactly what you did :P

Someone banged on my door one Winter's night and when I looked out through the side window I couldn't see anyone there. I decided it must be the stray dog come to snuffle through the door at my own dogs, who were going crazy and barking at the door. I flung the door open, looking down and expecting to see the dog, and it took my brain a second to process the sight of a pair of men's shoes. My eyes slowly travelled along the length of the black trousers, black jacket, and when I saw the man's face my brain finally worked out that there was a person standing in the deep shadow (as if to avoid being seen from the window beside the door, and avoid the porch light), back to the porch wall, looking out at me from under a black hat. I lurched back in shock, swore loudly, spilled my hot tea all over myself, slammed the door shut, it didn't engage the lock and swung open again so I flapped and squeaked and scrambled to close it.Then I felt like an idiot and muttered ''er, sorry. Um, who are you?'' through the door. No response!
    Maybe I didn't over react, as he left and I never saw him again. Maybe I out-psycho'd him.