Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are we hating all the men?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

eyerer wrote: »
    This has occurred to me too.

I've already had to "pull" 2 of my nieces (20s) over a stinking bad attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭twinytwo

cloudatlas wrote: »

Sports women have had a fight on their hands recently to get equal pay

Why though, lets be realistic here...sport is all about money being generated - most womens sport generates little to no money.

Do you think male players would get anything if they didnt generate the revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

An interesting point probably made already is that men take far higher risk jobs for higher pay. For example, a chap came up with Equal Occupational Fatality Day.
    Using the National Committee on Pay Equity's methodology, Perry came up with what he calls the Equal Occupational Fatality Day. Based on the different fatality rates, this day doesn't occur until January 21, 2029.

"That date," Perry says, mimicking the language of the NCPE, "symbolizes how far into the future American women will be able to continue working before they experience the same loss of life that men experienced in 2015 from work-related deaths."

And it is easily accepted:
    This huge gap has nothing to do with discrimination, of course. It has everything to do with the type of jobs men and women voluntarily choose to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Arevaci

Men see women around them doing better academically, getting more financial and emotional support, getting laid easier, getting more sick holidays and generally getting away with things men could not (e.g., openly mocking a guy based on his height). In this context, feminism is like a red rag to a bull for the average guy.

It's interesting, it seems these days that the more feminists push, the greater the reaction from men's rights movements. If you think feminists are bad, wait till they awaken a mass men's right campaign on inequalities like alimony, child custody, academic under-performance, life expectancy etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

twinytwo wrote: »
    Why though, lets be realistic here...sport is all about money being generated - most womens sport generates little to no money.

Do you think male players would get anything if they didnt generate the revenue?

I watched the women's FA Cup final today. A 25 year old me would have run rings around them.
    The level is so far off the men's game it's not in the same ball park, figuratively, it was in Wembley :)

Close the huge gap in talent and the gap in wages would start to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

This is a very interesting piece in psychology today.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/talking-about-men/201705/gender-and-mental-health-do-men-matter-too

From the article: Firstly, the phrase "gender equality" is implicitly equated with women’s health throughout the report. Only two paragraphs out of 163 are devoted to men’s mental health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭dadad231

anna080 wrote: »
    I'm aware of what it is- we still don't live in one. Our society doesn't trivialise rape.

Exactly, and countries where it is trivialized tend to get away with it because God forbid people are terrified of being "racist" or "Islamaphobic" ..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hagar7 wrote: »
    I've just gone and watched that. What the actual fuck? That got applauded? Those clappers need a major intervention of cop the fuck on. Though more likely they were buzzin on the inclusive, all opinions are valid(they're not) high, aren't we great an all and wouldn't want to go so far off script to boo a "Black Woman". That's cowardice and a severe lack of moral spine, no matter which way you cut it.

"This fucking country" eh? Well if this liberal western democratic nation, well stocked up on equality and social safety nets, that took her in warts and all isn't to this woman's liking, then maybe she would be better served by buggering off back to the utopian culture of acceptance and tolerance she was seemingly so eager to escape by rocking up on our fair shores. You don't like this fucking country, well then there's the door and don't let it hit your arse on the way out as you leave it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Would you like to be held down , pumped into, while someone bigger and stronger than you orgasms, and then rolls over and goes to sleep?

Such a spin you put on it! It's almost as if you make consensual sex sound like rape. Up to your old tricks again MM!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,687 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Omackeral wrote: »
    Such a spin you put on it! It's almost as if you make consensual sex sound like rape. Up to your old tricks again MM!

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Found the longer version eventually...
    Absolute fruitcake being cheered on by sheep.

It's actually amazing how people get so wrapped up in stuff. Pretty sure a lot of those cheering wouldn't have those sentiments before she started her spiel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Misandry exists for sure and with the indoctrination in our universities it will get worse. But part of the problem is men who are unwilling to stand up for themselves.

If you won't confront accusations if prvilage, the wage gap and rape culture you are part of the problem.

Male journalists in particular are chicken s**ts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Pure tashte

I watched the women's FA Cup final today. A 25 year old me would have run rings around them.

It's​ attitudes like this that lead to such militant feminist backlash IMO. Such a condescending mindset, making light of elite female athletes, and, of course, with almost no chance of actually being true and no way to back it up.

Male arrogance is the main fuel for the feminist fire and should be completely disregarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

b@stards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

anna080 wrote: »
    It's not just exclusive to online. Every newspaper has a columnist spouting this crap every other week.

It was Anita Sarkeesian that claimed that "everything is sexist; everything is racist every; everything is homophobic and you have to point it all out". Another thing that she said on her extensive work on gamergate is that "it's not sex that sells; it's sexism that sells". She's 100% right but not in the way that she meant.

Our liberal society is in so many ways lopsided by the deeply ingrained ideologies of the right-on feminist establishment, particularly in academia and education that a massive disservice is being done to boys. Boys are being jabbed, prodded, poked and criticised routinely. Anti-male/ maleness/ masculinity garbage sells like hotcakes and it heartens me that not everyone is happy to acquiesce.

It's​ attitudes like this that lead to such militant feminist backlash IMO. Such a condescending mindset, making light of elite female athletes, and, of course, with almost no chance of actually being true and no way to back it up.

You can decide if this is relevant or not but boys of 14 and younger, as in children, beat one of the best Women's teams on the entire planet.

http://www.cbssports.com/soccer/news/a-dallas-fc-under-15-boys-squad-beat-the-u-s-womens-national-team-in-a-scrimmage/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭dadad231

Male arrogance is the main fuel for the feminist fire and should be completely disregarded.

But he has a point, the gulf in class between male professional athletes and female counterparts is astounding.

Serena Williams would not get ONE game off Roger Federer for example.

dadad231 wrote: »
    But he has a point, the gulf in class between male professional athletes and female counterparts is astounding.

Forget Federer. Check this out.

The Williams Sisters claimed that they could beat any male player ranked outside the world's top 200, so Karsten Braasch, then ranked 203rd, challenged them both. Braasch was described by one journalist as "a man whose training regime centered around a pack of cigarettes and more than a couple bottles of ice cold lager". The matches took place on court number 12 in Melbourne Park, after Braasch had finished a round of golf and two beers. He first took on Serena and after leading 5?0, beat her 6?1. Venus then walked on court and again Braasch was victorious, this time winning 6?2. Braasch said afterwards, "500 and above, no chance". He added that he had played like someone ranked 600th in order to keep the game "fun". Braasch said the big difference was that men can chase down shots much easier, and that men put spin on the ball that the women can't handle. The Williams sisters adjusted their claim to beating men outside the top 350.

There have been a few down the years. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_the_Sexes_(tennis)#1998:_Karsten_Braasch_vs._the_Williams_sisters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭.........

Wibbs wrote: »
    I've just gone and watched that. What the actual fuck? That got applauded? Those clappers need a major intervention of cop the fuck on. Though more likely they were buzzin on the inclusive, all opinions are valid(they're not) high, aren't we great an all and wouldn't want to go so far off script to boo a "Black Woman". That's cowardice and a severe lack of moral spine, no matter which way you cut it.

"This fucking country" eh? Well if this liberal western democratic nation, well stocked up on equality and social safety nets, that took her in warts and all isn't to this woman's liking, then maybe she would be better served by buggering off back to the utopian culture of acceptance and tolerance she was seemingly so eager to escape by rocking up on our fair shores. You don't like this fucking country, well then there's the door and don't let it hit your arse on the way out as you leave it.

And the speaker isn't the most notable thing about that video, it's all the Irish women in the background cheering, applauding and supporting this hate speech. That is the real eye opener. This country has got serious problems coming, but who's awake to it and reporting it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Pure tashte

dadad231 wrote: »

He said he would have run rings around them as a 25 year old, which, unless I am massively underestimating his skill level, is probably nonsense. Patronising nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭.........

For anyone switched on, here's whats coming down the tracks. Must say these guys handled it well, extreme restraint, despite extreme provocation and goading from the 'feminists' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

cantdecide wrote: »
    It was Anita Sarkeesian that claimed that "everything is sexist; everything is racist every; everything is homophobic and you have to point it all out". Another thing that she said on her extensive work on gamergate is that "it's not sex that sells; it's sexism that sells". She's 100% right but not in the way that she meant.

Our liberal society is in so many ways lopsided by the deeply ingrained ideologies of the right-on feminist establishment, particularly in academia and education that a massive disservice is being done to boys. Boys are being jabbed, prodded, poked and criticised routinely. Anti-male/ maleness/ masculinity garbage sells like hotcakes and it heartens me that not everyone is happy to acquiesce.

The thing is people can't see this horse**** now.
    It'll take a few years before people will just be embarrassed at the bull**** they believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

......... wrote: »
    And the speaker isn't the most notable thing about that video, it's all the Irish women in the background cheering, applauding and supporting this hate speech. That is the real eye opener. This country has got serious problems coming, but who's awake to it and reporting it ?

Absolutely and even just being around the attitudes that those kind of women harbour, particularly young kids growing up around it, there's an inevitability that some of it will be picked up by them. I think that's why we see so many young men today being so disparaging about their own gender, which I also think has quite a bit to do with the prevailing attitude that any guys that speak out against women like these or their feminist views, really just don't believe in equality, and are in fact threatened by women and generally have issues with them. Feminists appear to have socially engineered something of a check mate situation in that regard, as men are damned if they bite their tongue and don't respond to this kind of nonsense (as that will result it in getting worse) and they're damned if they do (as they will be socially ostracized and labelled a misogynist). Again my comments are really more about quite young men, lads in college where this kind of bollox is rampant.

With regard to the cheering and whooping, Lorena Bobbitt (who chopped pff her husband's penis for cheating) got a similar reaction recently enough when she was interviewed on American TV (jump to 40 seconds in for the reaction):

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Demforeigners

Equality only when it suits it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 slits

When I was younger I wanted to call myself a feminist but holy crows ..
    They're pretty nuts. Why can't people just chill out and not be bat**** crazy like yes I have met some men that see me as an object and jeer me and all that bull but that's not their gender making them do that. That's them, being stupid and most likely they will always be that stupid, there are more than plenty of women like that too.
    It just makes it easier for the rest of us to not breed with the crazy/stupid. So it's good the crazy feminists, the stupid "sexist" males and females spout this nonsense as a warning to stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Absolutely and even just being around the attitudes that those kind of women harbour, particularly young kids growing up around it, there's an inevitability that some of it will be picked up by them. I think that's why we see so many young men today being so disparaging about their own gender, which I also think has quite a bit to do with the prevailing attitude that any guys that speak out against women like these or their feminist views, really just don't believe in equality, and are in fact threatened by women and generally have issues with them. Feminists appear to have socially engineered something of a check mate situation in that regard, as men are damned if they bite their tongue and don't respond to this kind of nonsense (as that will result it in getting worse) and they're damned if they do (as they will be socially ostracized and labelled a misogynist). Again my comments are really more about quite young men, lads in college where this kind of bollox is rampant.

With regard to the cheering and whooping, Lorena Bobbitt (who chopped pff her husband's penis for cheating) got a similar reaction recently enough when she was interviewed on American TV (jump to 40 seconds in for the reaction):

God that video is disgusting.
    Could you imagine people cheering if the genders were reversed.

There is something incredibly instructive about that asymmetry. I feel sick watching that. Pathetic host. Pathetic audience. Pathetic woman Ms Bobbitt herself.
    Ugh.

God that video is disgusting.
    Could you imagine people cheering if the genders were reversed.

There is something incredibly instructive about that asymmetry. I feel sick watching that. Pathetic host. Pathetic audience. Pathetic woman Ms Bobbitt herself.
    Ugh.

I'd say in a fair few countries around the world you'd get people whooping and hollering as a young female rape victim would be stoned or flogged for being, well, a young female rape victim.

So yeah, I can imagine people cheering if the genders were reversed. And the Bobbitt interview doesn't really make me sick, albeit I find it distasteful.

He said he would have run rings around them as a 25 year old, which, unless I am massively underestimating his skill level, is probably nonsense. Patronising nonsense.

I was fairly handy at the old football. What I seen yesterday in that final was nothing more than the standard you would see in an AUL game in St Anne's Park on a Sunday morning.

There's nothing wrong with that. It's competitive and I enjoyed it for what it's worth but it's genuinely no higher a standard than your average Irish male grew up playing.

There may not be a way to test it out unless you get me a time machine but the example given to you where a team of 15 year old boys trashed the best team in women's football and another group of 15 year old Australian boys beat their national team 7-0...

Ah yeah, sure Steve Harvey represents feminists and that show stands for Western World. That makes a lot of sense alright...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

mzungu wrote: »
    The NCWI (National Women's Council of Ireland) did the study a couple of years back.

In 2014 the Eurostat findings showed that men in Ireland earned 14.4% more than women. However, "Eurostat said there were various reasons for the existence and size of a gender pay gap and that they may differ strongly between member states. They include the kind of jobs held by women, the consequences of breaks in career or part-time work due to childbearing and decisions in favour of family life."

The studies do not compare what men and women earn for the same job. The differences are down to lifestyle and career choices.

As above, they do not compare like for like. So, there will always be a pay gap. For the same reason that somebody working the spreadsheets in an admin job won't get paid as much as a computer programmer.

Irish women working in the UK have overtaken male peers in terms of salaries, according to a study of the gender pay gap by ethnicity today. (...) "But this is largely due to generational factors as they are more likely to be older, working full-time or in senior or managerial roles," Sam Smethers, chief executive of the Fawcett Society, said in a statement.

Here is the thing, when women are earning more than men it is down being older, or working in senior and managerial roles. Excellent, they worked hard and reaped the financial benefits. But, when it's men earning more there is no mention that they are the ones in senior roles, instead it is a "gender bias"? Sorry, I can't buy that.

It is keeping a lot of people in business. As always, follow the money. Lobby groups love it!

Yep, they are titans of sport. No question. Although, as the women's grand slams are best of three sets and men's is best of five, one could say there is a bit of a wage gap too there, eh? :pac::D

That is not measured in the statistics given. Truth is, we don't know about the work life balance.

As above, I am not privy to the private lives of those adults at the school gate, but I accept that each and every one of them has agency and are not there because they beholden to outdated societal expectations.

I'm sorry that you don't buy it but you aren't reflecting the position of that organisation, just plucked a choice study from googley woogley. Went on their website they seem to support action on the pay gap from the links I found your choice quotes from this report doesn't support their position at all. Stronger sources for research have been linked to already i.e. EU commission who draw information from several sources for their reports and Morgan McKinley, but sorry it' all about lobbying those reports are all fake etc., no pay gap no marked difference in salary.

These are all RECENT reports and press releases detailing their position:

http://www.nwci.ie/index.php/learn/article/lack_of_action_will_cause_the_pay_gap_to_increase_further

Lack of action will cause the pay gap to increase further

http://www.nwci.ie/index.php/learn/article/nwci_at_the_national_economic_dialogue

NWCI at the National Economic Dialogue

http://www.nwci.ie/index.php/learn/article/nwci_calls_for_the_government_to_tackle_the_scale_of_the_challenge_for_wome

NWCI calls for the government to tackle the scale of the challenge for women’s economic equality

You are misrepresenting their position.

With regard to women's sport, I can't agree with that, they work hard don't get the coverage and they will never form a fanbase because they don't get the coverage and they haven't had it historically. I want to watch quality tennis, don't care if it goes to 5 sets or not. A lot of male tennis players supported gender pay equality in tennis I suppose they are the white knights you guys have been bleating on about.

Also not privy to private lives of folks at the school gates but majority are women and the house of commons stats also point to an easier route to fatherhood. All of that poses a question.