BREAKING, Well done Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

infogiver wrote: »
    Guy on RTÉ radio the other morning said Interpol is basically MI5

It isn't. Neither is Europol. He probably watched too many Bond movies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

If they tried any of that Solidarity/AAA/PPP whatever they're called would be marching on the streets against the RACIST FASCIST GOVERNMENT and Colm O'Gorman would be weeping on Claire Byrne so quick your head would spin.

It is lacking things like due process and a fair hearing etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

Nice diversion there. Never saw that coming.
    I'm sorry, I realise it might not be the right place to ask I was just genuinely curious, I forgot about it until I opened this thread, there are a few garda threads in AH tonight and it just got me thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Gatling wrote: »
    If they happen to hold citizenships ,revoke and expel from the country with no right to appeal or leagal aid ,show evidence in the special criminal court and straight on to a flight,

I'm sure a few other countries would be happy to interrogate them at proper facilities

can't be done as it's against due process. the special criminal court deprives them of a proper jury trial, and it's our job to interrogate them in a fair and just manner to insure any information is accurate.
    Water board the living sh1t out of them. We can't afford to go easy on any of these savages.

can't be done, it's against their human rights and it's asalt and breaks international law.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

can't be done, it's against their human rights and it's asalt and breaks international law.

The Gards have pepper spray. Use that instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

can't be done as it's against due process. the special criminal court deprives them of a proper jury trial, and it's our job to interrogate them in a fair and just manner to insure any information is accurate.

Fair and just manner? Human rights? What about everyone else's human rights not to be killed by terrorists, or the reasonable expectation of safety? Those ****ets should be shot on sight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Details are scant on this at the moment but surely they got a tip-off from one of the European intelligence agencies and the Guards simply located and arrested them.

As for the points about europol and MI5 they all effectively do the same thing now which is largely computer/internet/phone surveillance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

We all critisize the Gardai, sometimes justified and I'm probably one of the first to do it, but they deserve credit where it's due. Fair play to them for it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Terrorists charges can be anything from planning some attacks to promoting terrorism online to fund raising.

Judging on comments alot on here assumes some form of local attack.

No evidence of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Why, did people think they'd just randomly raided a gaff and happened to get lucky?.

Ah, ya git!!! I read that, burst out laughing and woke herself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭AnMuinteoirOg

snowflaker wrote: »
    How can we trust the figures???

You can verify them yourself. You could google the case and check was somebody convicted in court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Nourin O' Sullivan keeping her job!:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭CPTM

Hmmm... which one are you? A. A Garda? B. Married to a Garda? C. A criminal looking for props? D. All of the above? E. Drunk

F. Sarcastic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Fair and just manner? Human rights? What about everyone else's human rights not to be killed by terrorists, or the reasonable expectation of safety?

those human rights have been upheld by people being arrested, and due process will now take place which will mean said rights will continue to be upheld. rights can only be upheld via due process.
    Those ****ets should be shot on sight

can't be done as murder is illegal. unless they are armed with weapons when confronted then the normal process of arrest has to take place.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

snowflaker wrote: »
    prob Jacob Rhys Mogg or somesuch... I'm are the French/Germans etc have pretty good intelligence ops

JRM wouldn't be anyone RTE would be interested in interviewing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Surprised we don't have a terrorist lives matter group here.

Will you show a little patience...give it a few more hours to form;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If they tried any of that Solidarity/AAA/PPP whatever they're called would be marching on the streets against the RACIST FASCIST GOVERNMENT and Colm O'Gorman would be weeping on Claire Byrne so quick your head would spin.

I don't know where the allegation that the hard left supports ISIS comes from, but it's baseless and moronic in the extreme to say the least. Can you cite a single source for your allegation? Bonus points if you can specifically relate it to the parties you referenced above.

If these people are proven in a fair trial to be the scumbags they are alleged to be, I for one will not just support but demand either their imprisonment for a long, long time if they're Irish citizens, or their deportment if they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

I don't know where the allegation that the hard left supports ISIS comes from, but it's baseless and moronic in the extreme to say the least. Can you cite a single source for your allegation? Bonus points if you can specifically relate it to the parties you referenced above.

If these people are proven in a fair trial to be the scumbags they are alleged to be, I for one will not just support but demand either their imprisonment for a long, long time if they're Irish citizens, or their deportment if they are not.
    One's a Moroccan, the other's Algerian.
    Send them home.

One's a Moroccan, the other's Algerian.
    Send them home.

Well then if they are found guilty, by all means revoke their citizenship and get them the f*ck out of our country.

Now that's coming from a far left poster, again I'd like to ask where exactly the evidence is for the far left's supposed support of Isis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Brilliant news; Well done to the Gardaí & for anyone tasked with providing their intelligence.

Hope they will get deported soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

They've been realised without charge and a file is being sent to the DPP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Source???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Good job by the Guards. Efficiency at it's finest.

IMO one of the most moronic aspects of the Irish justice system - for particular crimes, the Gardaí should be able to remand people in custody until the DPP makes a recommendation, and should be able to therefore mark that case as requiring the DPP's urgent consideration. This would apply to essentially all serious violent crime, particularly organised violent crime. It's absurd that somebody suspected of a dangerous, violent crime and with the potential for re-offending cannot be instantly remanded in custody at the discretion of their arresting Gardaí, and that their cases to the DPP cannot be fast tracked in this manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The Gardai have plenty of experience catching terrorists only to have them walk after a short sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭eurasian

Completely against revoking anyone's citizenship unless they lied in the application (and this is the only legitimate reason for revoking a citizenship of a Citizen.)
    This whole hysteria of revoking citizenship for this for that is very dangerous and could potentially devalue citizenship and turn it into something that ultimately belongs to authorities/government and not to the people.

Any criminal,no matter what crime is, must stand before law as a citizen and face consequences as a citizen.

I read the article. They're foreigners. But even if they weren't, the subject of citizenship is very sensitive and have to be dealt with carefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

eurasian wrote: »
    I read the article. They're foreigners. But even if they weren't, the subject of citizenship is very sensitive and have to be dealt with carefully.

Under UN law, it's illegal to make someone stateless. Citizenship, for me, is very straight forward. You commit a serious offence, you're gone, even if you have kids and your wife was born here. Stop them from further contaminating the gene pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Well then if they are found guilty, by all means revoke their citizenship and get them the f*ck out of our country.
    Now that's coming from a far left poster, again I'd like to ask where exactly the evidence is for the far left's supposed support of Isis?

You want to let them go if they're not originally Irish, with what basically amounts to a slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Am I missing something? Cos there isn't a single word on what those guys supposedly did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Fair and just manner? Human rights? What about everyone else's human rights not to be killed by terrorists, or the reasonable expectation of safety? Those ****ets should be shot on sight

Sounds exactly like the impromptu tabloid/bar stool verdicts that were deemed suitable for the Birmingham Six/Guildford Four/McGuire Seven etc. It wasn't long ago statements like that would be levelled at Irish people. I'd prefer a world with fair legal process.