Drinking on your own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

There is absolutely nothing wrong with it whatsoever as long as you don't start drinking to excess or doing it too often. But that could be said for anyone who drinks solely in the pub so what's the difference.

I do like to have a glass or two or three or four of vino at home whilst watching a movie I like. I personally don't have as active a social life as I once had so having a chill out session at home is nice for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Pribabaly should have specified. I don't mean drinking at home.

I mean drinking alone in a pub.

I would not be going out on the piss on my own, but having a couple of pints with my own thoughts for company - definitely, one of lifes great gifts!

And I would have no problem going to the pub on my own to watch a big match and have a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Works out wayyyyyyy easier if you get a high stool.

If not there's a lot of shuffly standing around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

When the child(ren) is asleep you can't really go out,  and leave them on their own.
    So a few beers at home for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Halfway down the second pint, feeling content, in a quiet(ish) pub, early evening, reading the papers, finishing the simplex crossword.
    That's the attraction of drinking alcohol alone for me.

valoren wrote: »
    Halfway down the second pint, feeling content, in a quiet(ish) pub, early evening, reading the papers, finishing the simplex crossword.
    That's the attraction of drinking alcohol alone for me.

Me too. I like to sit in a quiet pub early evening time with a drink and maybe a packet of crisps. Some pubs I don't feel very comfortable doing that in. I'm not going to head in to a busy bar at 9pm on a Friday by myself. It's just a completely different vibe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Love having a few at home watching a good TV show or a movie. Wouldn't be into going out alone generally speaking, but a pint or two reading the paper in a quiet pub or something is grand, rarely do it but it can be nice and relaxing.

Depends on what you're looking for I suppose. I know people who do go out alone but only because they literally always end up meeting people regardless of where they take themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

The odd time if I go for a bit of dinner after work I'll have a few drinks but I wouldn't be one for going drinking on my own.

I very much enjoy a fee drinks at home though. Sometimes there's nothing nicer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fando

OP you feel better now? Irish are such a spineless tvvats of a nation with their need to conform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,148 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

quite like it, only do it in smaller/quite pubs where theres a tv and music playing, usually just having a few playing around on my phone, reading the paper. Nice too do after a stressful day or before a match

some people dont get the 'whole drinking on your own' thing and some people cant go anywhere on there own in fear of being called a loner.

Prob at 27 im a young person to drink on my own but im not causing any trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

fando wrote: »
    OP you feel better now? Irish are such a spineless tvvats of a nation with their need to conform.

Okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

fando wrote: »

Op here.

I do feel better now I've been called a spineless tv vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 MadFeen

I'm not much of a drinker tbh. Might have a few at my mates house at the weekends but that's about it, Have drank at home by myself a couple of times tho, noting wrong with it but i'd rather have the craic with the lads tbf its more of a social thing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I've always loved going for a pint or two on my own and playing about on my phone or reading a book. Especially fond of doing it in Kilkenny, the right pub there during the day (I'd only be there when I'm on holidays). Living abroad now I still like to go in for a pint after work the very odd time but two things about it: 1) have a babby at home so there's usually stuff that needs to be done when you're in the door so you still need to be "on", 2) it's just not the same in Texas. Technically there's no difference, you're sitting with a pint, only you're probably outside in a nice beer garden, but it actually just makes me a bit homesick. for those two reasons I don't do it often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I actually prefer drinking on my own, though don't get to do it much these days with two young kids. Seat at the bar, preferably a pub where people don't know you so no interruptions, Times Jumbo Cryptic Crossword, few nice pints of Guinness. That or a tray of Bulmers at home, playstation- COD on line or Lego games...God I'm thirsty....might skip work and hit the early house. Would I be ok to drive on 10 pints and N plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I love bringing a book to the pub and relaxing with a couple of pints. I mostly do it when I'm away though, never go to my local that way.
    I live within walking distance of two nice village pubs but people would look askance at a woman on her own in the corner with a book and a pint.

I like a couple of bottles of craft beer at home on a weekend night.