The Garda Press Office and their Smoke Machine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,996 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yeah and the Heavy Gang, thrown in for good measure.

Total reform a la PSNI. no less is acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Water John wrote: »

Acceptable to who? :confused: Since when ever did people being sniffy get anything reformed in Ireland? How long are you here??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Water John wrote: »

And The Gang of Twelve...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭jetsonx

The Garda Press Office are playing a blinder with the Stephen Fry story.

Celebrity X 2
    +
    Father Ted-esque Blasphemy narrative x 1 = 1 Fake News Story

which is keeping the real news of bizarre financial irregularities and the subject of money "resting" in accounts out of the news.

Jaysus, people talk about the Russians and fake news - not a patch on the what PR women Noirin O'Sullivan gets up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,620 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

jetsonx wrote: »

Celebrity X 2
    +

which is keeping the real news of bizarre financial irregularities and the subject of money "resting" in accounts out of the news.

Jaysus, people talk about the Russians and fake news - not a patch on the what PR women Noirin O'Sullivan gets up to.

I've heard reports about the financial irregularities and the dodgy accounts and the investigations in almost every news bulletin I've heard over the last few days?

Also been dealt with on various chat/talk shows. Noirin O'Sullivan also held a press conference about the whole thing a few days ago.

Conversely, I think I heard the Stephen Fry item mentioned once, or at most twice, and no more.

Maybe you're not listening to / watching the right channels, OP, if you're missing it all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Celebrity X 2
    +

Were they the source of the story? Or was it someone who made the complaint who then went running to the press to tell them?

Some screwball probably did file a complaint.

In a normal and proper functioning police force, which has a raison d'etre of preventing and fighting crime, this would be quietly filed away.

But seeing as AGS are desperate for any news stories to block out Gardai corruption stories...any story will do a in a storm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,620 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

In a normal and proper functioning police force, which has a raison d'etre of preventing and fighting crime, this would be quietly filed away.

But seeing as AGS are desperate for any news stories to block out Gardai corruption stories...any story will do a in a storm!
    But they're not blocking anything out.

That Templemore story has been ALL OVER the news on various media for almost the last week!

And are you suggesting that they should ignore a valid (as far as we know) complaint made to them by a member of the public, whatever their motivation??? There'd be an even bigger scandal if you got wind of that! (and rightly so)

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    But they're not blocking anything out.

That Templemore story has been ALL OVER the news on various media for almost the last week!

And are you suggesting that they should ignore a valid (as far as we know) complaint made to them by a member of the public, whatever their motivation??? There'd be an even bigger scandal if you got wind of that! (and rightly so)

They are indirectly blocking real news stories about Gardai corruption by putting out frivolous new stories about blaspheming celebrities.

They can put out what stories they like, but they can't make the media report them.

And from what I've seen/heard, the media have run with the Templemore/dodgy accounts scandal a whole pile more than Stephen Fry.

Maybe you're only seeing/hearing what you want to?

So you reckon a complaint suggesting there's been a breach of a fundamental Constitutional provision should be quietly filed away?

Btw, I think the blasphemy law is completely nuts, but we still have a constitutional requirement for it on the books.......and I'm guessing when you take an oath to, among other things, "uphold the Constitution" you are kind of bound to uphold the Constitution, not just the bits you agree with?

First, editors decide what goes into/onto news media.

Second, any evidence they put out the story, rather than just commented when asked?

Jawgap wrote: »
    First, editors decide what goes into/onto news media.

Second, any evidence they put out the story, rather than just commented when asked?

Well, as I've said in earlier posts, ever since these scandals broke, there has been a steady and unusual flow of unrelated media Gardai-related stories in the media. This a bit strange to me and seems very co-incidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Why would the Gardai tell anyone that they are investigating a complaint?

Well, as I've said in earlier posts, ever since these scandals broke, there has been a steady and unusual flow of unrelated media Gardai-related stories in the media. This a bit strange to me and seems very co-incidental.

Strange that 10,000+ member organisation charged with upholding law and order and the security of the state has stories to publish and responds to media queries?

I think the real wonder is why there aren't truckloads more stories than there actually are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

So you reckon a complaint suggesting there's been a breach of a fundamental Constitutional provision should be quietly filed away?

Btw, I think the blasphemy law is completely nuts, but we still have a constitutional requirement for it on the books.......and I'm guessing when you take an oath to, among other things, "uphold the Constitution" you are kind of bound to uphold the Constitution, not just the bits you agree with?
    But the Executive, including the Garda, gets to prioritise things.

Victor wrote: »
    But the Executive, including the Garda, gets to prioritise things.

They do and I'm sure when we vote on it we'll take it out of the Constitution.

Plus, I'd bet a decent chunk of change the DPP will decide it is not in the public interest to prosecute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

All the Guards must be in County Galway. 12 checkpoints in the County in the last hour :eek: Obviously the peak time for drink driving as people bring their families back from a nice day out in the sunshine.

Expect a press release tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

Strange that 10,000+ member organisation charged with upholding law and order and the security of the state has stories to publish and responds to media queries?

I think the real wonder is why there aren't truckloads more stories than there actually are!

things are really bad with ags, how many investigations have been started into ags since 2011 when the party of law and order got into goverment

Discodog wrote: »
    All the Guards must be in County Galway. 12 checkpoints in the County in the last hour :eek: Obviously the peak time for drink driving as people bring their families back from a nice day out in the sunshine.

Expect a press release tomorrow

Seems, as usual, the Guards can't win......they criticised for being predictable in how/where/when they run checkpoints, then when they do something unexpected and break their pattern, they still get criticised :D

I'm guessing the only people who need to be worried about those checkpoints are people who have a few in the afternoon, or have no tax, insurance and NCT (and probably thought the chance of being caught was minimal on a Sunday afternoon.

Don't drink and drive, keep your car roadworthy and keep tax, insurance and NCT up to date and you never need to have to worry about checkpoints.

Seems, as usual, the Guards can't win......they criticised for being predictable in how/where/when they run checkpoints, then when they do something unexpected and break their patter, they still get criticised :D

I'm guessing the only people who need to be worried about those checkpoints are people who have a few in the afternoon, or have no tax, insurance and NCT (and probably thought the chance of being caught was minimal on a Sunday afternoon.

Don't drink and drive, keep your car roadworthy and keep tax, insurance and NCT up to date and you never need to have to worry about checkpoints.

Shame about the houses that were being broken into etc whist the Guards were stopping the, fish in a barrel, motorist. They are probably doing it to boost the false figures. Plus lovely weather for getting out of a warm patrol car & so much easier than investigating crime like corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Shame about the houses that were being broken into
    Would you go burgling with a high level of checkpoints?

Victor wrote: »
    Would you go burgling with a high level of checkpoints?

I wouldn't but thieves will because they can see on facebook & twitter where the Guards are. If there are so many checkpoints in a given area & we know they are short of cars, you can burgle away.

I seem to remember that, when a guy was being beaten almost to death in Galway, there were two checkpoints nearby. But getting road tax paid is far more important than making the streets safe.

Shame about the houses that were being broken into etc whist the Guards were stopping the, fish in a barrel, motorist. They are probably doing it to boost the false figures. Plus lovely weather for getting out of a warm patrol car & so much easier than investigating crime like corruption.

If you understand stats you'll realise the chances of a Garda coming across a burglary are vanishing small - it would be a huge waste of effort to patrol with the purpose of preventing burglaries......

Plus burglary is a property crime - it's not nice to have your home violated and it does cause a lot of deep distress, especially to older vulnerable people......but at the end of the day as nasty and all as it is as a crime, it's still only stuff that has been taken.....and apart from items of irreplaceable sentimental value, stuff can be replaced.

......Thus far on our roads, 54 people have been killed.....so where do you think the Guards should put their efforts? Preventing road deaths or dealing with stolen property?

Quick story - I live near a beach and there are 2 pubs close by......yesterday they were jammed to overflowing all afternoon......I wonder how many pubs were like that around the country, and how many people jammed into them for a few pints? Sounds to me like the Guards were on the ball in Galway ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

I wouldn't but thieves will because they can see on facebook & twitter where the Guards are. If there are so many checkpoints in a given area & we know they are short of cars, you can burgle away.

I seem to remember that, when a guy was being beaten almost to death in Galway, there were two checkpoints nearby. But getting road tax paid is far more important than making the streets safe.
    Revenue Big money to made in the Garda Checkpoints. Most of the very serious crimes are done by Garda/Police Informers/Informants RATS who have Immunity from Prosecution so the checkpoints are cash cows for the state .

Seems, as usual, the Guards can't win......they criticised for being predictable in how/where/when they run checkpoints, then when they do something unexpected and break their pattern, they still get criticised :D

thats true commissioner

a 90 year old was beaten during a robbery last night in north tipp, ags are looking for the publics help, thats ssomething which will be less and less forthcoming with each new revelation of currouption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,996 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Most can differentiate between the need to radically overhaul the management of AGS and helping local AGS police crime in their area.

They are not mutually exclusive.

flutered wrote: »
    a 90 year old was beaten during a robbery last night in north tipp, ags are looking for the publics help, thats ssomething which will be less and less forthcoming with each new revelation of currouption

It's fine. According to Jawgap robbery is just the loss of property