Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

danganabu wrote: »
    I said wrote: »

:D:D Who's whinging only you, and I'm sure I speak for Paidi when I say bring it on, just make sure the VHI contributions are up to date first :D

Ah the stonethrower comes out in ya,ya couldn't hide it the mask slips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Ah the stonethrower comes out in ya,ya couldn't hide it the mask slips

I really hope you are familiar with the concept of irony or I fear this whole conversation will be lost on you!

Also it might be an idea to look up the origin of the moniker 'stonethrowers' you seem to be under some misguided delusion that it is some how a derogatory name.

P.S. enjoy the game on Sunday, I'll warn Paidi that yer coming to get him, you never know Mick Church might even rest him :D

I really hope you are familiar with the concept of irony or I fear this whole conversation will be lost on you!

Also it might be an idea to look up the origin of the moniker 'stonethrowers' you seem to be under some misguided delusion that it is some how a derogatory name.

P.S. enjoy the game on Sunday, I'll warn Paidi that yer coming to get him, you never know Mick Church might even rest him :D

Irony from a tipp man about as subtle as a bottle in the face😎

Anyone's game I reckon the half backs and the tipp half foward line will be some tussle tomorrow.
    Not a game either will want to lose tipp want to lord all before as AI champs and set the tone for the championship.
    Galway to be considered genuine AI contenders will have to go for it right from the start and not let up.Either foward line can destroy a team in minutes(tipp have clicked in that area,Galway have yet to show it this year,3-3 or 1-6 could be scored in 5 minutes tomorrow by either team)
    It has all the hallmarks of a classic tomorrow let's hope it doesn't disappoint,2 or 3 points either way,who knows what difference canning and touhy going off injured at half time made to the score line in the semi last year.

Cooney injured poor young fella having no luck with injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭PlayByTheRules

Great win for Galway. Aidan Harte is playing great this year and always was a clear starter for Galway. Does anyone know why Cunningham subbed him in the 2015 final? He was playing good that day too. Strange decision and the most likely reason he lost the trust of the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Robson99

That third goal was as good a goal as you will ever see. The ball from Burke unreal. And a super run by c mannion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Some win for Galway. Didn't see that coming and certainly didn't see Galway winning by such a margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

16 point win and it probably should have been more. Good confidence boost anyway ahead of the Summer although I think Tipp pretty much gave up after the first Flynn goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I'm delighted with that but as ever I never saw it coming .
    Everyone expected a tight match and I thought tip would win by 4 or 5 after we put the heads down with 15 minutes to go after losing the lead or something.
    Did Tippeary not show up or were they bossed out of it ?

Congrats to the lads. They get plenty of stick when things go badly but today was a privilege to be there to witness. Tipp were hyped up hugely during the week which I'm sure suited us down to the ground but Tipp never really arrived to the pace of the game at all. We won all the 50/50 battles and all the skirmishes in the middle of the field. Our half back line really got on top and inside the full back line held up very well. Both sides shot bad wides in the first half but really we should have been 10+ clear at the break.

The goal after half time was a huge score. I was worried that like on so many occasions over the years the opposition (Tipp) would come roaring back after half time and we'd end up regretting not making the most of our dominance.

To have the game dead and buried long before the end and not open the door at any stage was the most pleasing thing.

I thought we'd a lot of strong performances today. Gearoid McInerney is winning me around more and more with each passing game. Daithi Burke had his best game of the year, Padraic Mannion early in the game especially was very good. Paul Killeen is a player I'd worry about but he more than held his own. Midfield got through a lot of work and up front the likes of Whelan was superb. Flynn has reacted fairly well to being dropped and played a big role. Canning knocked over some excellent scores too.

The competition on the panel looks quite strong and that should keep lads on their toes ahead of the Dublin game.

Looking forward, our odds for the All-Ireland will now be slashed I'm sure but Tipp are still favourites in my eyes. Today could send them one of two directions but I'd expect them to be able to pick it up again for the summer.

In general, this is an experienced Galway side at this stage. A national title is a good boost and should prove to themselves that if they hit the form they're capable of they can be strong contenders. Micheal Donoghue is a good man to keep expectations in check and given our past experiences we should be hopefully able to park this result here, get a couple rounds of club games played and then re-focus for Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Congrats to the lads and the management. Great response to the Wexford match.

Tipp were woeful and never got going but a lot of that was down to how solid the backs were. Everybody held their own but Harte, Mannion and Burke sucked the life out of Tipp's lethargic ball into their forwards. Harte is a player I didn't think would be starting come Dublin game after Wexford but he's been very good since.

Flynn and Whelan are crucial players for us in the full forwards and it was great to see Flynn scoring for fun again. He looked rusty all League but battered Tipp in that second half. Whelan was fighting for and winning so much dirty ball since he was dropped, great attitude from himself and Daithí Burke tbf. Joe Cooney worked his socks off in that second half too and set up a goal through a lovely little flick.

We've seen so many teams peak in the League final so I wouldn't be writing off Tipp just yet. That said physically Galway already look impressive and they're getting sharper with every game. Having Glynn back is big too and what a catch he made in his first minute back in maroon. I could Monaghan being a great impact sub this year too.

Great few weeks for Galway GAA and hopefully the U-21's can keep the form going on Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

Nice to savour this win, hopefully we won't go overboard with the hype or anything. Hope too it doesn't mean Tipp will beat us by 16 when next we meet. :-)

MOTM? Hard to call; Daithi absolutely imperious at FB. Tuohy and Killeen didn't give an inch. Such was their dominance, you could make a case for any of the HB line; Flynn, JC in terrific form. For me it came down to either Whelan, who tortured the Tipp FB line all day and scored 5 from play, when needed. (His point from tight to the sideline in the second half was the score of the match, glorious). Ultimately I'd plump for David Burke who truly led like a captain; available all day in defence and midfield to pick up the ball and keep it moving, laid off ball time and again for scoring opportunities, produced some sublime touches and flicks. Thought he was far and away the most accomplished hurler on the field.

Great win today a timely confidence boost.Tipp got steamrolled by a sharper physical side.Some of the wides in the first half were dreadful, poor decision making imo.It was a great lift to see O'Brien subbed in the first half,the big men in the tipp half foward line never got a sniff.Good to see Flynn return to form hopefully he will maintain that form over the summer.Conor Cooneys misfortune to get injured wasn't as big a loss as a few years ago it shows the panel can cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

washman3 wrote: »
    Ant predictions for the hurling tomorrow.?
    Should be a stroll in the park for Galway, setting up a final with Tipp and a 'dress rehearsal' of the A.I. final in September.

I posted this here quite recently and was laughed at...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

League Champions. Well done! Fair play to all involved! Ye did us proud lads!

But we're still in Division 1B! And will be playing against Carlow, Laois & Offaly next season. No disrespect but this is totally unfair! This format has to change!

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

16 point win and it probably should have been more. Good confidence boost anyway ahead of the Summer although I think Tipp pretty much gave up after the first Flynn goal.

Absolutely should have been more, some of the shooting in the first half was criminal, it was like the goal at the start of the second half took the pressure off and Galway were finally able to relax and let their dominance be reflected on the scoreboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

gammygils wrote: »
    League Champions. Well done! Fair play to all involved! Ye did us proud lads!

But we're still in Division 1B! And will be playing against Carlow, Laois & Offaly next season. No disrespect but this is totally unfair! This format has to change!

:mad:

And your solution is.........???????????/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭nootroc

Ask to be the 7th team in Div 1a, get John Delaney to do the asking.

Well done yesterday boys. Hope the U21's can complete the April hat trick on Saturday.

Ultimately we deserve to be in 1B next year. It's the same for all teams. We are there because we didn't do the business against Wexford despite being in control for most of the match. We didn't kill them off and got what we deserved.

The final 25 minutes or so of the Waterford game got us going and we've been good since. It was important for us to get these games before championship. Having been at the Offaly and Laois games they weren't even good training sessions for us.

Id imagine a re-format of the league is around the corner after 2018 but whether that's a good thing for the league as a whole is questionable. I think the structure is probably as good as you can hope for given it's not like football where teams can be grouped evenly enough in 8s.

1A is very competitive with a lot of unpredictable results. 1B is basically 2 groups of 3 but all the top teams in 1B got two or more extra matches in the knockouts which were very welcome.

Congrats to Dublin by far and away the better team on the day. Huge pace in their team and defensively they shut us out until late on. 6 points isn't probably accurate of the game we were comprehensively outplayed. We needed another good start but with the wind at our backs we were lucky to go in just 1 down. 2nd half we were well out of it again but after the goal, the shot off the post would have made an interesting finish. To miss the follow up free was criminal. Dublin went up and got a goal and killed it off.

I think the one positive is we may have unearthed a full back and there will be better days for a lot of these lads.

It's hard to see Dublin's dominance waning too much with teams like this coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I think the Cooke lad at midfield has had better days. It was a good exciting game of football.

I think that handy free that was missed after the goal chance was the end of the game for Galway. It was a good competition this year with any if the semi-finalist capable of winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Hard luck. Was closer than it looked at end. We be belting heads off one another in August and September before long again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Dublin had an excellent defensive system in place. There was very little space left in their own third of the field. Galway in contrast always seemed to have a load of space left empty in front of their fall-back line. Dublin could just pop off little handpasses to runners into this area. Despite this Sean Andy was absolutely outstanding at full-back. Gave an exhibition.

Galway maybe a bit naive. kept carrying ball into areas where Dublin had plenty of bodies back. Led to so many turnovers. Dublin were never going to approach the game the same way as Kerry did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭mjp

Leitir mour man Sean Andy looks to be a serious prospect for us n a position we have struggled in. No nonsense style of a fullback who is solid under a high ball and was left exposed by those around him a lot today but took the battle to Dublin. Physically strong lad aswell and wouldn't be out of place in senior. Dubs had their homework done in nullifying our midfield and making Daly spend most of him time back defending. Felt we were tactically outdone on the line which seems to be arl regualar occurence for galway teams over past number of years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I think if Galway got that second goal when they hit the post it would've flattered them a lot. Dublin were just so much better making runs off the ball and negated Cooke and D'Arcy altogether. They put huge pressure on Kelly and Greene in that second half and honestly it could have been 4 or 5 goals they scored on us. Some of Dublin's ball in to their full-forward in the first half was top class and a lesser defender than SAO'C is getting destroyed.

On the counter some of the running from Galway was very one-dimensional and predictable so they ran into traffic too often.

No shame in losing to a side that good and they did fight back. Between SAO'C and Séan Mulkerrin coming up that's two potential monsters at fullback if things go to plan. The hype will cool down a bit on a few of those players but could easily see 3 or 4 of them on the bench come Mayo/Sligo/New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

I'd agree galway were tactically not at it today, nothing new there. Our kickouts varied, short and long, Dublin goalie didn't give a sh1t about taking too long as long as he eventually found someone.
    We boxed Dublin in on a lotta kickouts inside their own 21 yet lazy one armed tackles let Dublin break free down the pitch. Happened countless times.
    I'd agree on a previous post about hype being cooled now.
    I think now after being beaten we still have the same lads who are ready (now) for senior-Cooke, mcdaid, daly, o ceallaigh full back. Those lads are physically ready now, and then a few others might follow on through in a few years. Winning today wouldn't have changed those names above, but woulda added hype to them.
    Mickey ned o Sullivan said a few years ago, I can't remember was he managing Kerry minors or u21s, that they weren't mad to win those underage all Ireland's, they were only interested in getting a few lads, and developing them, to go on and play senior.
    I think we have a few ready made in this team.
    I'm more excited about the county seniors after this, than I was in 2011 when the u21s beat Cavan. There are serious footballers in this u21 team.

I don't know did it go over everyone's heads or what but in what was nearly a more important game this weekend the minors beat Mayo convincingly.

It was a Quarter final game so the losers were gone, you only get a second chance from the provincial final.

Considering we had a similar provincial drought at minor level to the seniors, it's important that we're going for a three in a row now.
    These successes will feed into U21 and beyond in due course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I don't know did it go over everyone's heads or what but in what was nearly a more important game this weekend the minors beat Mayo convincingly.

It was a Quarter final game so the losers were gone, you only get a second chance from the provincial final.

Considering we had a similar provincial drought at minor level to the seniors, it's important that we're going for a three in a row now.
    These successes will feed into U21 and beyond in due course.

Yes that was a good win and the third year in a row we've beaten Mayo convincingly at minor level.

Taking Saturday's game and the U-21 season as a whole there are positives. Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh at full back looks a beast of a player, a real old fashioned full back and exactly what we've been looking for.

Apart from him there's the emergence of Peter Cooke and Michael Daly, and Cillian McDaid who looks a superb player for all that he's another attacking wingback and it's defenders we need. But he looks a really good footballer in the Declan Meehan mould.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 jimbob_t1

Great win for Naomh Anna last night, Has Sean Andy much left before he heads to the states?
    As for the rest of the fixtures here's my tuppence worth:
    Saturday 13th May 2017
    5.15 PM - Tuam Stadium - Annaghdown vs Killererin.
    Annaghdown and Killererin found themselves in relegation battles last year and while it seems to have been a hiccup for Annaghdown, one would worry that it's indicitive of bigger issues for Killererin. Verdict: Annaghdown 1/5
    7.15 PM - Pearse Stadium - Mountbellew/Moylough v An Cheathrú Rua.
    While a trip to Pearse vs a West team is never an easy ask, the pedigree of Mountbellew's minor winning team of 2014, inc Michael Daly, should come to the fore Verdict : Mountbellew/Moylough 1/6

Sunday 14th May 2017
    2.00 PM - Pearse Stadium - Killannin v Tuam Stars
    A game in Pearse between probably the best equipped Connemara team in the Championship and Former Kingpins but now perennial underperformers. I see this being one of the better games of the opening weekend with Killannin carrying their strong league form through Verdict: Killannin 15/8
    2.15 PM - Corofin - Caherlistrane v Barna GAA
    Between the venue suiting the North Galway Club and the fact that this fixture is Div1 vs Div3, I cant see past Caherlistrane for this one Verdict: Caherlistrane 2/5
    3.00 PM - Kenny Park - Caltra v St. James' GAA
    The bookies have the Jimmies odds on favourites for this game but I see it being much closer, Meehan had a masterclass in the league vs Michael's recently and If Caltra can call on the Mannion bros I see Caltra winning, However I don't see that happening. Verdict: Draw 15/2
    3.45 PM - Tuam Stadium - Salthill-Knocknacarra v Milltown
    Salthill have already put Milltown to the sword this year and while I am intregued by Milltown's new management (Dessie Dolan Snr) I feel this might come a little too soon for the Scans Verdict: Salthill/Knocknacarra 1/2
    3.45 PM - Pearse Stadium - Moycullen v Mícheál Breathnach
    I believe that losing as well as winning is a habit and unfortunatly for Na Breathnaigh, having only one win out of 5 games so far I think Moycullen have the psychological edge Verdict: Moycullen 8/13
    4.45 PM - Kenny Park - Monivea-Abbey v Kilconly
    On first look newly promoted Monivea-Abbey vs relegation fodder Kilconly seems to be cut and dry however upon having a closer look I think the pressure of high level Hurling, Soccer and Rugby as well as a Kilconly team with Frank Doherty back at the helm which seems to have found a winning streak has made me change my mind Verdict: Kilconly 21/10
    5.30 PM - Tuam Stadium - Cortoon Shamrocks v Corofin
    Sorry Cortoon, but that's the luck of the draw Verdict: Corofin 1/9

Leaving the draw out a tenner on that should get you close to a €500 return :D