Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

David de Gea is Dutch according to Gary O'Toole.

Joe bit his tongue hard there I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

what guy was on about the fact the superbowl and the patriot's comeback has been largely consigned to the history books? What should we be doing about a sports event that took place 3 months ago. Human being's live in the present.

I really didn't get the point that was been made there. I don't think the rest of the panel did either but just went along with it and hope he'd shut up.

It was actually a decent show though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Thought it was good but did laugh at Garyclaiming De Gea was Dutch. Thought Gavin brought up some really interesting points regarding hurling coverage and then Joe just ignores it all and starts talking about a completely different topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

elefant wrote: »
    If you get a chance you should try and find the review he was on where he talked about his whistleblowing on child abuse in swimming. It was brilliant radio; I was absolutely captivated. Gary O Toole is a hero imo.

I'll look it up cheers.
    Just thought he wasn't that engaging with the other two throughout the show. He kind of overpowers anyone that try's to interject to the discussion and continues with his original point. Saying that, I'm very very picky...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

delaney001 wrote: »
    He kind of overpowers anyone that try's to interject to the discussion and continues with his original point. Saying that, I'm very very picky...

Yeah I know what you're saying. I enjoy him on the show, but he does tend to come across as being a bit self righteous and holier than thou.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I like Gary but I do keep in mind that he's a surgeon and not a sportsman anymore so his pinch of pompous arrogance makes me smile.

Good to hear it back on live radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Yeah I know what you're saying. I enjoy him on the show, but he does tend to come across as being a bit self righteous and holier than thou.

humberklog wrote:
    I like Gary but I do keep in mind that he's a surgeon and not a sportsman anymore so his pinch of pompous arrogance makes me smile.

I can't say I see the arrogance some see. I do think that for those who have walked the walk, there is a conviction in what they are saying which some can interpret as arrogance.

Doesn't mean I always agree but I think they know what they're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Enjoyed the paper review yesterday, Joe seems a bit in awe of Gary O'Toole. He got stuck into the other fella a few times but O'Toole went unchecked.

Andy Lee in studio tonight, to talk about the AJ vs Klitschko fight on Saturday night. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Declan Lynch to talk about gambling. I can see how that will go :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Declan Lynch to talk about gambling. I can see how that will go :rolleyes:

yeah, gambling could destroy association football according to Deco because we see some eastern european games fixed...so so vague...this is why I hate listening to him...he will literally say anything just to back up his point.

John Giles on Arsene Wenger - "My advice to him would be to quit at the end of the season or else he's gonna keep taking abuse". I'd say that Arsene would probably give John the same advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

John Giles on Arsene Wenger - "My advice to him would be to quit at the end of the season or else he's gonna keep taking abuse". I'd say that Arsene would probably give John the same advice.

Yeah, but they'd probably both say that those giving abuse are going to complain anyway and you can't keep everyone happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I know John can be a trifle (ahem) repetitive, but he is still now far more worthwhile as a pundit then Eamon, who just spouts whatever b*llocks pops into his head.

Looking back, it's ridiculous which one RTE dumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I know John can be a trifle (ahem) repetitive, but he is still now far more worthwhile as a pundit then Eamon, who just spouts whatever b*llocks pops into his head.

I think RTE were a little hasty in getting rid of Giles, i still don't think they have got someone that can fill his shoes, Duff is quite good seems to have the respect of the senior pundits. Didi is very good, not afraid to speak his mind and I like is dry scence of humour. As for Richie Sadlier I don"t think he brings anything to the table, how he got the gig is beyond me, I know second captains hang on every word he says as did off the ball when he contributed to the show. For me the best panel in the absence of Giles is Dunphy Brady and Didi. Yes dunphy is cringe worthy at times, but that"s entertainment baby and he's one of the few pundits that knows and watches european football. Whatever went down at newstalk when he was there, its clear that Gilroy hates his guts, every time he gets a chance he sticks the boot in, and the other lads indulge him, i have no problem with them slaging Dunphy but it gets a little to personal at times for my liking . Never taught i"d say it but i think TV 3 are doing a better job of champions league coverage and of course they have the jewel in the crown Brian Kerr. Really hope RTE don't seetle on there current panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I think we can all agree that Brian Kerr is the man! Brilliant pundit, you get the impression he really does his research - as you would expect from any pundit/analyst I suppose. I remember him co-commentating on the Euros last year and was a bit taken aback by his knowledge of the smaller teams, and obscure players, etc. Not just relying on the same tired cliches, and facts about "big" players, which most of us already know anyway.

Enjoyed the bit of Keith Andrews I heard tonight. Very similar style to Kenny Cunningham.
    Doesn't suffer fools gladly I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I think we can all agree that Brian Kerr is the man! Brilliant pundit, you get the impression he really does his research - as you would expect from any pundit/analyst I suppose. I remember him co-commentating on the Euros last year and was a bit taken aback by his knowledge of the smaller teams, and obscure players, etc. Not just relying on the same tired cliches, and facts about "big" players, which most of us already know anyway.

You get the impression he's very grateful to have his position, unlike most ex-pro pundits, and is determined to give it his best. Maybe he's the kind of football geek who'd know this stuffy anyway but her certainly seems to put the hours in...

Briann Kerr is brilliant. No doubt about it.

Sorry, no dour' abour' i'.

I think part of the problem is that they dont seem to have the same people on every night. Duffer would have been my choice to replace Giles full time, but I'm not sure if he would have even wanted that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,654 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Love Brian Kerr, definitely one of the foremost football minds in the country and his sheer decency shines through. He should be the numero uno pundit in the country, not some fella relegated to TV3 and the odd RTE gig, his depth and breadth of knowledge about the game is second to none. A Lot of spoofers earn a living talking about football, but Kerr isn't one of them. He's the anti Graham Hunter.

For what it's worth I think Sadlier is next to useless - polished and bland, hate listening to him on second captains.I couldn't care less about his dog and he always has a tone like he can't believe the naivity or stupidity of everyone else around him and it's up to him - the smartest man in the pressroom - to set the record straight through the means of endless anecdotes culled from a journeyman career. I'd rather watch Kenny Cunningham go up against Dunphy - someone needs to challenge him properly on his utter waffle and you could really feel the animosity between them, which made for great TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I think RTE has a formula when it comes to assembling panels for sports events. They like to throw in someone who'll say controversial things and stir things up. Be it George Hook in the rugby, Joe Brolly for the GAA or Dunphy for the football. Someone who'll polarise opinion and get people talking.

Polarise. Siunds like a Dunphy euphamism fot talking bollocks.

It would work better if it wasn't sadly transparent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

We'll, when you know that RTE's sports editor somehow thinks that he is the best rugby commentator at the station, then it comes as no surprise that his judgements in other areas are a bit suspect too.

Just listening back to my guilty pleasure, the crappy quiz.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, the buzzer noise. Can yis not just stop with the buzzer noise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I think RTE has a formula when it comes to assembling panels for sports events. They like to throw in someone who'll say controversial things and stir things up. Be it George Hook in the rugby, Joe Brolly for the GAA or Dunphy for the football. Someone who'll polarise opinion and get people talking.

That argument is always made in defence of the likes of Dunphy and Brolly and why they are worth having on board but the problem is that anybody could do what they do except most people have more respect for their own opinions and don't want to be constantly spouting complete garbage because it might start an argument on TV.

I've given up listening to the punditry and in GAA and soccer on RTE because it became incredibly tiresome having to listen to bull**** arguments over and over again.

It is actually possible to have programmes where there can be interesting enjoyable debate without all the bull****, however RTE don't seem very interested in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

The other extreme is those bland BBC panels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The other extreme is those bland BBC panels.

And the happy medium is the likes of the European football show on BT. Informative, funny, don't take the game too seriously.More of that would be welcome in coverage of sport in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Just listening back to my guilty pleasure, the crappy quiz.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, the buzzer noise. Can yis not just stop with the buzzer noise?

It'd be better if they canned the whole format as well. The "craic" always sounded too forced.
    Self indulgent crap.