Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

whelan2 wrote: »

For our wedding, I wanted to give a TY student the opportunity to make our cake. He had an interest in baking so I said I'd give him a shot. The OH wanted an agricultural theme. She got cake toppers made in the uk and got the student to match the pattern. While the littlest bit rough around the edges, we were delighted with it for a 16yo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I got a Fanzone ticket for Rammstein in Estonia in June. :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Grr!
    The face got roasted off me when I saw them a few years ago

ganmo wrote: »
    Grr!
    The face got roasted off me when I saw them a few years ago

http://www.piletilevi.ee/eng/tickets/rammstein-203151/

It was sold out but my brother managed to find one for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Savage band

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Anyone know anything about the pH meters for measuring soil?
    When it goes dark at night does the pH of the soil (presume not) go to neutral (7)?

I was out measuring paddocks this evening (for the craic) and it was working fine on paddocks measuring 6.4, 6.5.
    Then when it got dark the fecking thing was reading 7.
    Even on the paddocks I measured before it was reading 7.
    The moisture readings are working fine but the pH is reading neutral.

It's the meter with the 2 dissimilar metal probes.

I may try it again tomorrow in the daylight to make sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about the pH meters for measuring soil?
    When it goes dark at night does the pH of the soil (presume not) go to neutral (7)?

I was out measuring paddocks this evening (for the craic) and it was working fine on paddocks measuring 6.4, 6.5.
    Then when it got dark the fecking thing was reading 7.
    Even on the paddocks I measured before it was reading 7.
    The moisture readings are working fine but the pH is reading neutral.

It's the meter with the 2 dissimilar metal probes.

I may try it again tomorrow in the daylight to make sure.

ph is temperature dependant

Ah there wasn't that big of a drop in soil temperature in 10 minutes.:confused:

I'm afraid the meter is phucked.
    I'll try again tomorrow though.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Have been trying to coax a cow and new calf into the shed to tag and she has been skirting us nicely for the past few days. Fenced a small spot that she got through yesterday - she headed for it, spotted the new fence, turned around and walked into the shed - knew she was snookered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Ah there wasn't that big of a drop in soil temperature in 10 minutes.:confused:

I'm afraid the meter is phucked.
    I'll try again tomorrow though.:rolleyes:
    TBH the electric probes wouldn't be renowned for accuracy. You want a "BDH soil test kit" , which would be used as a guide for what needs more detailed lab work. Though they all struggle if you go below 5 ph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

TBH the electric probes wouldn't be renowned for accuracy. You want a "BDH soil test kit" , which would be used as a guide for what needs more detailed lab work. Though they all struggle if you go below 5 ph

BDH? Does that stand for be da hokey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Grueller wrote: »

BDH? Does that stand for be da hokey?
    Could do..
    The active chemical is called barium in it so I guess it's along those lines.

You learn something new every day (or else cop on a bit more :D)
    Took a calf in with scour a couple of days ago and treated him for it, still sucking the heifer greedily enough so only gave him the powder, had water in a bucket left for him in the lying area too, along with calf nuts & hay. But up to last night was very lethargic, cold ears, no temp, no draw in the lungs, just wrong looking. So mixed up 2l of electrolyte and drenched it into him. He's like a new calf this morning, cudding away!
    So heifer not able to provide enough to bring him back from a scour dehydration, definitely on the cull list now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Left home with no money and forgot T bags in my nose bag.
    Fluckin devistated !!

Bet through jeep under seats and floor mats and found ?1.50 :)

Off to Aldi for teabags !!

Clear herd test this morning.......thank jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Reggie. wrote: »
    Clear herd test this morning.......thank jaysus

Good stuff.

Later this week ourselves

This was one of those garden centre probes.
    More suited for pot plants and loose soil.
    I broke it last night trying to stick it in ground that was ploughed and reseeded 2 years ago ( the ground was like concrete).

BDH seems to be the name of the company who make the chemicals for lab use and how the test kit got the name.
    Very pricey though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

You learn something new every day (or else cop on a bit more :D)
    Took a calf in with scour a couple of days ago and treated him for it, still sucking the heifer greedily enough so only gave him the powder, had water in a bucket left for him in the lying area too, along with calf nuts & hay. But up to last night was very lethargic, cold ears, no temp, no draw in the lungs, just wrong looking. So mixed up 2l of electrolyte and drenched it into him. He's like a new calf this morning, cudding away!
    So heifer not able to provide enough to bring him back from a scour dehydration, definitely on the cull list now.

I often thought the same about a heifer. But.... See what sort of job she does on the calf and when a heifers still growing she won't milk and grow.
    It sounds like she'll never flood tge place with milk but maybe she just might have enough to do a good job on her calf with time.

I could be completely wrong though :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I see a nice bit of a frost in the forecast for a couple of days. Anyone that has a few earlier spuds or veg might want to think about covering them or get up before sunrise to water the frost off the spuds.
    I see some apple blossom here that's gonna take a hit!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

[QUOTE=Lady Haywire;103312843. So mixed up 2l of electrolyte and drenched it into him. He's like a new calf this morning, cudding away!
    So heifer not able to provide enough to bring him back from a scour dehydration, definitely on the cull list now.[/QUOTE]

Not sure I follow the logic. The calf is scouring because the gut can't absorb the milk due to damage. Water is staying with the undigested milk due to attraction.
    Electrolytes use ion pumps in the intestinal wall to suck water in. Some of the electrolyte solutions contain special ingredients to promote the pumping.
    I don't see how the heifer can be held responsible for the calf dehydrating.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Not sure I follow the logic. The calf is scouring because the gut can't absorb the milk due to damage. Water is staying with the undigested milk due to attraction.
    Electrolytes use ion pumps in the intestinal wall to suck water in. Some of the electrolyte solutions contain special ingredients to promote the pumping.
    I don't see how the heifer can be held responsible for the calf dehydrating.

Calfs scour had cleared up by midday yesterday, if anything was gone the other way. I don't know what gave him the scour in the first place as he was out, chill perhaps, but I'm not blaming the heifer for him getting that way in the first place. This is the same calf I switched from bottle feeding to the heifer as she wasn't showing much signs of milk when she calved and tbh hasn't progressed much in that dept despite getting dairy nuts each day.

Just was watching him going to suck yesterday, then going back again and again so she looks like she really has nothing for him to speak of and he was thirsty yet wouldn't drink the water I had left for him. Wouldn't suck the mix either so that's why I drenched it into him.
    It just looked like despite his gut having cleared up, she wasn't giving him enough to fix whatever dehydration had occurred? I'm likely to be very wrong though :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I see a nice bit of a frost in the forecast for a couple of days. Anyone that has a few earlier spuds or veg might want to think about covering them or get up before sunrise to water the frost off the spuds.
    I see some apple blossom here that's gonna take a hit!

Had new season spuds for yesterday. Jaysus they were lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Took biestings from cow today to feed calf as she not let him suck her. Fed calf and all grand. Kept rest of biestings for this evening. Heated it in the recommended way and went to feed calf and he sucking away. ��
    Now my question is, would it be OK to freeze this for future possible use as stocks are low, or will the re-heating, whenever it may be have any effect on it. Would not of been over-heated or anything like that. Part me says it should be OK, and at same time I'd rather use it after only one re-heating. ��

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Took biestings from cow today to feed calf as she not let him suck her. Fed calf and all grand. Kept rest of biestings for this evening. Heated it in the recommended way and went to feed calf and he sucking away. ��
    Now my question is, would it be OK to freeze this for future possible use as stocks are low, or will the re-heating, whenever it may be have any effect on it. Would not of been over-heated or anything like that. Part me says it should be OK, and at same time I'd rather use it after only one re-heating. ��
    It's better than having nothing, Daisy. It probably won't be as good as before heating but will be a damn sight better than having nothing and a cross cow/heifer with no milk for a calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Sticking my nose in here for a while again after an absenxe for a while ... howd calving go for everyone hope it went well !!! Was on macra ag affairs trip last week well worth going on. Great mix of farms and factory tours.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Sticking my nose in here for a while again after an absenxe for a while ... howd calving go for everyone hope it went well !!! Was on macra ag affairs trip last week well worth going on. Great mix of farms and factory tours.

We're all still talking to each other here at home after the spring. Heading out to Holland myself the end of May. Won a student bursary off the ASA so something to look forward to after the exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

davidk1394 wrote: »
    We're all still talking to each other here at home after the spring. Heading out to Holland myself the end of May. Won a student bursary off the ASA so something to look forward to after the exams.

Thats the main thing anyway!!! Best thing you can do as a young farmer is go on as many trips as you can like thst lad what are you going to see over there? Indoor system, robots or machinery

Better living everyone

Proof reading a thesis here, I'll never get this time back and it's only half of it! :O

Yours or hers

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yours or hers

Hers.!