Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

I'm sure he is reading this and crying a river thinking what do the lads on boards think of me.... he will dry the tears with a roll of money.... more luck to the guy no matter what he has done it all and in super fast time....[/QUOTE]

I am a Conor fan, like massive. In saying that Conor himself if he was being honest would probably admit he didn't clear out the division! He had more interest in making big money than doing fights with Lamas and Edgar. He wanted to make big $$ and headline MSG and now he wants to fight Floyd instead of defending the Lightweight belt. I mean I can't blame him for that one loss and he isn't going to have these big opportunities but he did not fully clear out the featherweight division, the way like GSP did a few years ago. There is definitely still people who possibly could have beat Conor that he didn't fight down there.

I highlighted the part of the post above I thought was stupid. First of all we aren't here to discuss Conor incase he is reading, do you think I care if Rooney is reading when I post about Manchester United? I dont give a sh!te how much money Conor makes, I am a fan of his fighting.... whether he has 10k or 10m in his bank makes 0 difference to me. Yes Conor did do some cool sh!t in super fast time and he is an amazing fighter but we are free to discuss him without people saying "He dont care what some lads on boards think", "he will dry his tears with his money".

Anyway war Conor, I am a big fan. I hope he stops with this crap of the Floyd fight and actually you know...... defends a belt for once :D
    its simply true though some here are just looking for any chance relevant or not to piss and moan about the guy and why would he care what any of us think? he is an amazing athlete and a great promoter of his brand... more luck to him I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

its simply true though some here are just looking for any chance relevant or not to piss and moan about the guy and why would he care what any of us think? he is an amazing athlete and a great promoter of his brand... more luck to him I say

What people who think he should at least defend one belt in his career? hardly pissing and moaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,425 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

martyos121 wrote: »
    It's a 30 minute drive from LA city centre (as are most of its suburbs/outskirts cities). I'm not saying it's happening but it can so easily be marketed as an LA event if they go down that route. McGregor is not bigger than Los Angeles.
    I also holds almost 10k less than the Vegas Arena and MSG.
    I'd also guess that Vegas and MSG lends themselves much easier to glitz glamour and high roller tickets.

The Honda centre looks like a shopping centre from the 80s
    165184-5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

What people who think he should at least defend one belt in his career? hardly pissing and moaning
    I'm not talking about people that are saying he should defend a belt of course he should 100% in fact I think the Mayweather stuff is ridiculous and insulting to rest of the ufc fighters in the divisions he has lifted belts in...

its a general pissing and moaning generally about the guy I disagree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Mellor wrote: »
    I also holds almost 10k less than the Vegas Arena and MSG.
    I'd also guess that Vegas and MSG lends themselves much easier to glitz glamour and high roller tickets.

The Honda centre looks like a shopping centre from the 80s
    165184-5.jpg

I don't know where you're pulling those numbers from but they are incredibly far off. MSG is 20,000, T-Mobile is the same and Honda Centre is 19,800, so essentially the same size and not half of it as you pointed out.

The part about the high-rollers has some truth to it of course because Vegas is full of them 24/7 and there's no shortage of money in NYC, but the problem with that argument is that it doesn't really matter in the grand scheme of things, because 1. It's practically in LA which has no shortage of high rollers and rich folk itself and 2. It's (hypothetically) a McGregor fight in a market he hasn't tapped into yet. They could charge UFC 202 prices (205 was an anomaly, I don't think it's posssibly to match those prices wherever they go next due to the landmark nature of the event).

There's no evidence at all that he's going to fight there and my guess is that he'll fight in Vegas next, all I was stating early is that it's 100% feasible and that there isn't, as wonder said "more chance of the Loch Ness Monster appearing" than there is of McGregor fighting in the Honda Centre. Also, they tend to hold the fights inside the buildings, so I don't think many will be put off by what it looks like from the outside. ;) I can definitely see the resemblance though, red brick is not a good look for a pro sports arena.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I don't know where you're pulling those numbers from but they are incredibly far off. MSG is 20,000, T-Mobile is the same and Honda Centre is 19,800, so essentially the same size and not half of it as you pointed out.

The part about the high-rollers has some truth to it of course because Vegas is full of them 24/7 and there's no shortage of money in NYC, but the problem with that argument is that it doesn't really matter in the grand scheme of things, because 1. It's practically in LA which has no shortage of high rollers and rich folk itself and 2. It's (hypothetically) a McGregor fight in a market he hasn't tapped into yet. They could charge UFC 202 prices (205 was an anomaly, I don't think it's posssibly to match those prices wherever they go next due to the landmark nature of the event).

There's no evidence at all that he's going to fight there and my guess is that he'll fight in Vegas next, all I was stating early is that it's 100% feasible and that there isn't, as wonder said "more chance of the Loch Ness Monster appearing" than there is of McGregor fighting in the Honda Centre. Also, they tend to hold the fights inside the buildings, so I don't think many will be put off by what it looks like from the outside. ;) I can definitely see the resemblance though, red brick is not a good look for a pro sports arena.

Put it this way - When the UFC brought Lesnar v Cain to the Honda Center, that was arguably the biggest fight of the year in the UFC. Despite that, they sold 14,300 tickets for a Gate of $2.2 million. That remains the Honda Center Record Gate.

To me that indicates the market simply isn't there for a Conor fight in LA.

Conor's last 4 gates:

194: $10.1 million
    196: $8.1 million
    202: $7.9 million
    205: $17.7 million.

Even if you take away MSG as an aberration, there's no way the UFC can price the next Conor fight any less than aiming for an $8 million gate.

It'd be pure madness to be virtually guaranteed $8 million minimum in Vegas at T-Mobile to then suddenly price it at $2.3 million in Anaheim. If the UFC truly believed the Anaheim market was strong, they'd have priced Lesnar v Cain far higher than a $2.3 million gate.

TL;DR: Ok I'll take it back, it's SLIGHTLY more likely than the Loch Ness Monster but it'd require an absolute miracle for them to pull that off and if they do indeed put on a Conor fight in LA i'll be seriously impressed with the UFC (and you :) )

I can't stress enough that I don't see it happening at all, I'm just saying it's quite doable, even though it'd be very much out of left field. It's hard to argue with those numbers, but Lesnar didn't have thousands travelling from Minnesota for his fights spending beyond their means to see him in action, and it's a given that there's plenty Conor fans in this country that wouldn't mind an excuse for a July holiday in LA. Factor in the J1 crowd all over Cali many of whom will have a nice little bit saved from their summer jobs and that's another batch of over-priced tickets sold. That certainly helped 189, not that it needed it.

You'd swear I have some vested interest in this happening, but again, it's just absolutely aimless conjecture and a tiny bit of saving face. :pac:

I was going off the numbers Honda centre did for Rousey. 10k was a bit dramatic, was more like 7.5k less that MSG capacity.
    I know if you google Honda centre capacity, it says 19,800. I was assuming that was the concert capacity, and they lost the difference in a UFC set up. (T-Mobile and MSG being purpose built for fights).

They've have 4 UFC's at the Honda centra. Just checked all the numbers. And Rouesy wasn't the highest. Maybe the number is closer to 20k and none of those events sold out. In which case capacity might not be the issue.

UFC 157: Rousey vs. Carmouche 13,257
    UFC on Fox: Velasquez vs. dos Santos 11,607
    UFC 121: Lesnar vs. Velasquez 14,856
    UFC 076: UFC 76: Knockout 13,770

Agreed. A McGregor event in LA is targeting buyers from Hollywood, not Inglewood.
    Also, they tend to hold the fights inside the buildings, so I don't think many will be put off by what it looks like from the outside. ;) I can definitely see the resemblance though, red brick is not a good look for a pro sports arena.
    I was more getting at the fact that the interior likely affects the run down 80s look of the exterior. Maybe not.
    T-Mobile is new and shiny. Easier to scalp people.

Although, venues, seats, the city etc is all small change compared to the PPV money.

Jesus, Wonder made me look idiotic slow there.
    In my defence, I'm at work and sometimes have to actually do some. :D:D:D

You've a better excuse than I have to be on here then, have to be up in around 2 hours and I won't be home for another 14 after that. I just really love talking about the Honda Centre. :)

Also in your defence I don't sleep very much and clearly have too much time on my hands.

In separate news, I still think I was right that the record for wives/girlfriends in the corner of UFC Fighters was set the other night with the appearance of Missus Alvey and Missus Perry.

Tecia Torres v Rose Namajunas also had girlfriend/boyfriend cornering (Rocky Pennington and Pat Barry) but purely for female partners I think 2 is the record for one card.

It'd be pure madness to be virtually guaranteed $8 million minimum in Vegas at T-Mobile to then suddenly price it at $2.3 million in Anaheim. If the UFC truly believed the Anaheim market was strong, they'd have priced Lesnar v Cain far higher than a $2.3 million gate.
    I have to make up for being caught napping Wonder, so;

You are comparing fights from 2010 with 2016. Market is now totally different. Conor has blown the roof on gate records. What was the UFC gate record in 2010? I've no idea, but it wasn't $8 million.

It makes more sense compare it with 2010 PPVs in Vegas. Like the big July PPV.

UFC 116: Lesnar vs. Carwin Jul 3, 2010
    MGM Grand Garden Arena
    Gate: $2,053,990

So Lesnar went form $2 million in Vegas in July, to $2.2 in the Honda centre two months later. :eek:

Is there any news on the fight? Whatever that fight may be :D

Unconfirmed reports at this stage, but there is a fight, probably.
    We don't know when or where it will happen, or who is fighting.

But a fight is a definite possibility.

I have to make up for being caught napping Wonder, so;

You are comparing fights from 2010 with 2016. Market is now totally different. Conor has blown the roof on gate records. What was the UFC gate record in 2010? I've no idea, but it wasn't $8 million.

It makes more sense compare it with 2010 PPVs in Vegas. Like the big July PPV.

UFC 116: Lesnar vs. Carwin Jul 3, 2010
    MGM Grand Garden Arena
    Gate: $2,053,990

So Lesnar went form $2 million in Vegas in July, to $2.2 in the Honda centre two months later. :eek:

Gate Record as of 2010 was Chuck v Tito UFC 66 ($5.4 million). Obviously UFC 129 in Toronto smashed that for GSP v Jake Shields ($12.1 million) but that had over 55,000 Canadians in there.

To be fair, the slight increase for Brock probably had something to do with getting battered for a round and coming back to beat Carwin and getting people excited :)

I have a seriously hard time believing the UFC are going to go to Anaheim with Conor, Woodley, DC and Jon Jones. Surely they would prefer to keep one of those fights back for T-Mobile or the November MSG card?

Look what happened the last time they stacked the decks....UFC 205 and arguably 207 were epic cards but it's had a 6-month knock-on-effect of some less-than-amazing cards.

I have a seriously hard time believing the UFC are going to go to Anaheim with Conor, Woodley, DC and Jon Jones. Surely they would prefer to keep one of those fights back for T-Mobile or the November MSG card?
    Maybe they're not. But that's for a myriad of reasons and not because Lesnars 116 record there.

Unconfirmed reports at this stage, but there is a fight, probably.
    We don't know when or where it will happen, or who is fighting.

But a fight is a definite possibility.

Would love to see Conor v Tony Ferguson. Defend the belt once and then go for a money fight v Mayweather. If I was him I would also consider just handing back the belt then that way his contract doesn't extend with the champion clause.

Champion or not he has 4-fights left on his current deal according to Dana and Dana never lies.....

If I could play fantasy match-maker I'd love to see Conor v Carlos Condit that would be epic.

Champion or not he has 4-fights left on his current deal according to Dana and Dana never lies.....

If I could play fantasy match-maker I'd love to see Conor v Carlos Condit that would be epic.

If we are going full on dream match maker Conor v Nick Diaz. Purely for the smack talk and the epic stand up battle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

I'm sure he is reading this and crying a river thinking what do the lads on boards think of me.... he will dry the tears with a roll of money.... more luck to the guy no matter what he has done it all and in super fast time....

Thank you for contributing nothing of worth to this conversation. Conor is not going to reward you with sex for White Knighting him.

People are/will get tired of his antics eventually. And people do want to see him defend his title. Deal with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Conor's manager on mma hour now https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AktJqZQ-HuA

They keep saying the fan interest is why its happening, I dont know a single person who is calling for it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Gamebred wrote: »
    They keep saying the fan interest is why its happening, I dont know a single person who is calling for it..

There's a difference in what you want and what you'll watch, the interest is there it's just not the type of interest to have people crying out for it until it's gets closer to actual fight time

Absolutely agree, they know with some promotion it will garner massive interest from the general public but not one fight fan I know has any desire to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Conor's manager on mma hour now https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AktJqZQ-HuA

I think only his most deluded fanboys still believe the Mayweather fight is going to happen. This is why there is suddenly talk about him fighting for the 170 belt.

Absolutely agree, they know with some promotion it will garner massive interest from the general public but not one fight fan I know has any desire to see it.

It's the one fight, MMA or Boxing, that could break the PPV record set by Mayweather/Pacquiao, and it will undoubtedly smash the UFC record, it's too much money to pass up and they'd be foolish not to do really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    I think only his most deluded fanboys still believe the Mayweather fight is going to happen. This is why there is suddenly talk about him fighting for the 170 belt.

There has been talk of him fighting for the 170 lb belt since 205, so it's not sudden.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Thank you for contributing nothing of worth to this conversation. Conor is not going to reward you with sex for White Knighting him.

People are/will get tired of his antics eventually. And people do want to see him defend his title. Deal with it.

Your own contributions are hardly that fascinating when you post stuff like this. There is no need for comments like this towards other posters and your comment over the weekend about Jon Jones is against the charter and didn't go unnoticed either so take some time off.

Part of me thinks all the Mayweather talk is because of the possible money involved

Another part of me thinks it's all to keep his name in the spotlight for the ~6 months he was going to be without a scheduled fight

https://www.instagram.com/p/BTSXhORF6sX/

100% convinced Danis is a wind up merchant now, cannot be serious.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BTSXhORF6sX/

100% convinced Danis is a wind up merchant now, cannot be serious.

If he is a wind up merchant then I actually would start to like the guy haha. If what he is doing is a wind up then that he is brilliant.