Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 Jan.C123

This is a very interesting thread.

I'm reluctant about even posting about my own experience(s). I think it's likely that many people have experienced things like this but won't talk about it for fear of being judged or not being believed.

Four years ago, my friend's wife and young daughter were killed in a car accident. It destroyed the man. Two years later my friend ended up taking his own life. They are all buried in the same graveyard, resting side by side for all eternity.

One Oct/Nov night last year, I was driving past the graveyard where they're buried. As I passed the graveyard, I turned my head to pay respect only to get the fright of my life. From the road, I clearly saw my friend standing by their graves and he was looking out towards the road at me. He was very pale and looked unspeakably sad. I couldn't even describe the fright and fear I got, the hairs on my body stood up. I drove home petrified in silence with every light in the car on. I've driven past the graveyard a few times at night since then and each time it went ice-cold inside my car, despite the air conditioning being on. I also got the smell of lavender inside the car.

The hairs on my body are standing up now just thinking about what I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Ann22 wrote: »
    Have you hear from him since then? Sounds like you still had deep feelings for him. That must've been really hard with him emigrating.
    We ended up getting back together. With him now

Ah c'mon Ann were you not tuned in to Lexie's DIY Channel?!? :pac::D:D

I really need to get a fricking life. :o:rolleyes::mad:

Not that creepy or unnerving, more mysterious and exciting.

Today I was running in mountains and I finally saw a Brocken Spectre...

http://www.atoptics.co.uk/droplets/globrock.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Just yesterday I decided to finally remove some green slime staining the footpath outside my gate.
    Looking about in the shed I found some liquid chemical cleaner (stuff that you add to water supply connected to power washer) and a half pint of moss killer, a thick liquid **** that's been lying in a plastic container for years.
    Happily, I spilt the lot onto the path and waited about an hour for them to take effect.
    Then, I threw a bucket of water onto the mess and tried to scrub it away, but as soon as I disturbed it, the whole thing turned into a thick blood red foam. The more I scrubbed, the more the place looked like a very bad crime scene.
    Panicking, I turned the garden hose on it, but only succeeded in turning 200 yards of the footpath into a scene from Nightmare on Elm Street.
    Folks came from all over to see the ****in' mess outside Murphy's gaff.
    We were the talk of the town!
    Her indoors had a conniption, and she's been silent ever since!
    (I think I'm in her bad books)
    Jeez lads, some o' those chemicals are scary.

Luckily it lashed rain last night.

The green slime is still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

DanMurphy wrote: »
    Just yesterday I decided to finally remove some green slime staining the footpath outside my gate.
    Looking about in the shed I found some liquid chemical cleaner (stuff that you add to water supply connected to power washer) and a half pint of moss killer, a thick liquid **** that's been lying in a plastic container for years.
    Happily, I spilt the lot onto the path and waited about an hour for them to take effect.
    Then, I threw a bucket of water onto the mess and tried to scrub it away, but as soon as I disturbed it, the whole thing turned into a thick blood red foam. The more I scrubbed, the more the place looked like a very bad crime scene.
    Panicking, I turned the garden hose on it, but only succeeded in turning 200 yards of the footpath into a scene from Nightmare on Elm Street.
    Folks came from all over to see the ****in' mess outside Murphy's gaff.
    We were the talk of the town!
    Her indoors had a conniption, and she's been silent ever since!
    (I think I'm in her bad books)
    Jeez lads, some o' those chemicals are scary.

Luckily it lashed rain last night.

The green slime is still there.

I hope you have a good draught excluder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭PressRun

About two years ago a couple of friends of mine got a hold of my Facebook account and started messing about on it - leaving weird comments, liking strange things, the usual. They also searched my name on the Facebook search engine and added a bunch of people with the same name as me. Not many of these people accepted the friend request (thankfully!), but a couple did. One of these people turned out to be a fairly sound individual and we shared a few chats and laughs over the Facebook messenger now and again. This person did not show up too regularly on my Facebook newsfeed, so just out of interest I decided to go onto their page about a year ago to check out what they were up to. As it turned out, they had actually passed away only a couple of days before I searched them. All very sudden and tragic from what I could gather.

Not a creey or even unnerving story honestly, but it gave me pause. It made me think about those chance encounters we all have with people all the time that we just kind of shrug off. How you might only meet someone briefly, but how important that person is to someone somewhere. The life stories behind those people you encounter fleetingly at different points while racing through your own life.

I'm sure I barely crossed the mind of this person at all since we ended up as Facebook friends after some mischief from my own real life friends, but I really do still think of them often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

Jan.C123 wrote: »
    This is a very interesting thread.

I'm reluctant about even posting about my own experience(s). I think it's likely that many people have experienced things like this but won't talk about it for fear of being judged or not being believed.

Four years ago, my friend's wife and young daughter were killed in a car accident. It destroyed the man. Two years later my friend ended up taking his own life. They are all buried in the same graveyard, resting side by side for all eternity.

One Oct/Nov night last year, I was driving past the graveyard where they're buried. As I passed the graveyard, I turned my head to pay respect only to get the fright of my life. From the road, I clearly saw my friend standing by their graves and he was looking out towards the road at me. He was very pale and looked unspeakably sad. I couldn't even describe the fright and fear I got, the hairs on my body stood up. I drove home petrified in silence with every light in the car on. I've driven past the graveyard a few times at night since then and each time it went ice-cold inside my car, despite the air conditioning being on. I also got the smell of lavender inside the car.

The hairs on my body are standing up now just thinking about what I saw.

How terribly sad that he still looked so distraught :(

Is there any chance he had a brother/close relative that looked like him from a distance and could have been visiting the grave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

PressRun wrote: »
    About two years ago a couple of friends of mine got a hold of my Facebook account and started messing about on it - leaving weird comments, liking strange things, the usual. They also searched my name on the Facebook search engine and added a bunch of people with the same name as me. Not many of these people accepted the friend request (thankfully!), but a couple did. One of these people turned out to be a fairly sound individual and we shared a few chats and laughs over the Facebook messenger now and again. This person did not show up too regularly on my Facebook newsfeed, so just out of interest I decided to go onto their page about a year ago to check out what they were up to. As it turned out, they had actually passed away only a couple of days before I searched them. All very sudden and tragic from what I could gather.

Not a creey or even unnerving story honestly, but it gave me pause. It made me think about those chance encounters we all have with people all the time that we just kind of shrug off. How you might only meet someone briefly, but how important that person is to someone somewhere. The life stories behind those people you encounter fleetingly at different points while racing through your own life.

I'm sure I barely crossed the mind of this person at all since we ended up as Facebook friends after some mischief from my own real life friends, but I really do still think of them often.

Something kind of similar happened to me once too.
    Without giving too much away, I met a guy briefly on a night out, swapped numbers, text for weeks after, like you do.

I was in a weird place at the time so I have to admit I just let it fizzle out, but before it did I remember thinking he was so pleasant and seemed really sweet. In that short time he relayed a lot of his life to me (nothing heavy, just the stuff that comes out of chit chat).
    He remained in my whatsapp thread and every so often if I went down through my contacts I'd remember him. We never connected on social media.

Sitting on fb one night and I notice a friend of mine liking a photo. Guy in the photo looks familiar ... click in and suddenly realise it's him. Not only that, but the guy has just passed away and the photo has been posted in memorium.

I remember the feeling of shock and sadness that enveloped me, couldn't get him out of my head for days. I worked out from bits and pieces that he seemed to have died from an illness of sorts though he was young and seemingly healthy when I'd met him two years beforehand.

It made me realise, just like you, how utterly fragile life is, and how strange it is to find someone who entered your life for however long, or whatever reason, was gone so young.

Weirder still, when I stopped to realise it, was that i saw this at all. We were never connected on fb, and had no mutual friends. A friend of mine was friends with his friend (who posted the pic) and happened to like it at the same time I was online, so her "like" popped into my feed. But i had to have been online at just the precise time to see the fleeting notification that she had liked it at all.

Quite the coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 paddysham2012

Stay away from them satanic people. It's not your dead relativ
    It's a satanic demon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Stay away from them satanic people. It's not your dead relativ
    It's a satanic demon

2 posts in 4 years....both about Satan....

Youre definitely creepy and unnerving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

Have you ever witnessed something that played on your mind, didn't seem right, or was just plain creepy?

I remember when I was about 18, I was out with some friends pretty late at night. I think we'd been to the cinema or maybe for drinks. I'm not fully sure, but we weren't drunk or anything and we were walking home and chatting.

The streets were empty, and a van pulled up near us at a traffic light. I looked over and saw a black bag with something in it in the passenger seat. Myself and my friends then saw the driver punch the bag repeatedly before driving off. It was absolutely terrifying. I didn't know what to do so I rang the Gards. I had no reg, only the description of the van and the area he'd been in. She told me she couldn't do much with that information but she'd ask Garda in the area to keep an eye out.

It was all I could think about all night and I still think about it to this day. :(

Any similar stories AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

There's a popular thread that disappears into the ether and always comes back again. OP you will probably like this thread too.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

One night, I pulled up at a traffic light in my van... Shiver.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I found an aborgianal child abandoned when I was in Australia. She was only 3 years old and beside a river near a tiny village in the outback. She was really terrified and in an awfull state when I found her. I had no phone signal so I had to carry her screaming to the village. I left her with a cop.

There's a popular thread that disappears into the ether and always comes back again. OP you will probably like this thread too.

I do like that thread, I just thought this could be a separate one about things people witnessed that haunts them or makes them think "Maybe I should've done more".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

Was it a refuse bag about 5 ft long that was twitching? or a groceries bag and he just forgot to buy the milk?

Guy Sajer wrote: »
    Was it a refuse bag about 5 ft long that was twitching? or a groceries bag and he just forgot to buy the milk?

The former :(

Saw a car stopped at lights on a bridge, guy got out of the back and walked around it, stood up on wall of bridge, and threw himself into the river.

Jesus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭munster87

Esel wrote: »
    One night, I pulled up at a traffic light in my van... Shiver.

One night I was wearing a black bag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Threads merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

On Sunday night I watched a Korean horror movie (as you do) called The Wailing.
    Crows feature a lot in this movie, symbol of evil.

And then on Monday morning I am driving to work and a crow flies right across my windscreen - I nearly hit it.
    Bad as that was, 15 mins later on the M50 a crow went under the wheel of the car.

Beyond coincidence.

Winterlong wrote: »
    On Sunday night I watched a Korean horror movie (as you do) called The Wailing.
    Crows feature a lot in this movie, symbol of evil.

And then on Monday morning I am driving to work and a crow flies right across my windscreen - I nearly hit it.
    Bad as that was, 15 mins later on the M50 a crow went under the wheel of the car.

Beyond coincidence.

The Wailing is a seriously creepy movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

I was about 16 or 17 and massively hunger on a Sunday morning, the sun was shining and I was dead late for work, I'd missed the bus and as the Sunday service was ****e, I'd decided to walk it rather than wait for a bus.
    suddenly a man (in his early 50's maybe?) pulled up in a car and asked me for directions to the Omni centre... exactly where I worked -happy days I thought!
    So the guy offers me a lift and the minute I get in I get this really bad vibe off him it's hard to place but everything just felt "off"
    He starts making conversation but he's really staring at me and not watching the road, he's twitchy and has this odd smile on his face
    So I'm processing the environment ...just as he locks the doors.

During the ten min drive he asks where I drink in Dublin and I'm keen to not tell him exactly where I'd be going but I mention a pub and that I go there with my girlfriend (I really put emphasis on her!!)
    he tells me he likes going to the George, asking me had I ever been?
    I'm squirming in my seat now with fists clenched- I tell him no, not my scene really.

When we arrived he stopped in the furthest corner on the car park, at that hour of a Sunday its deserted and we haven't passed a sinner on the street-no one has a clue I'm locked in this mans car in broad daylight...by that stage I was pumping sweat.
    I was waiting for him to do something when he sort of laughs and unlocks the door and I jumped out and ran towards the entrance.

I know some people will read this and think I was overreacting or homophobic or something but that's really not the case, even before he locked the doors or mentioned the George I knew I'd made a mistake...truly terrifying in the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Winterlong wrote: »
    Bad as that was, 15 mins later on the M50 a crow went under the wheel of the car. .

So you murdered a Crow :D

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

So you murdered a Crow :D

No, he was kamikaze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I think I just accidentally did my taxes, which is pretty unnerving. I was just trying to figure out how the Revenue site worked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Barlett

punchdrunk wrote: »
    I was about 16 or 17 and massively hunger on a Sunday morning, the sun was shining and I was dead late for work, I'd missed the bus and as the Sunday service was ****e, I'd decided to walk it rather than wait for a bus.
    suddenly a man (in his early 50's maybe?) pulled up in a car and asked me for directions to the Omni centre... exactly where I worked -happy days I thought!
    So the guy offers me a lift and the minute I get in I get this really bad vibe off him it's hard to place but everything just felt "off"
    He starts making conversation but he's really staring at me and not watching the road, he's twitchy and has this odd smile on his face
    So I'm processing the environment ...just as he locks the doors.

During the ten min drive he asks where I drink in Dublin and I'm keen to not tell him exactly where I'd be going but I mention a pub and that I go there with my girlfriend (I really put emphasis on her!!)
    he tells me he likes going to the George, asking me had I ever been?
    I'm squirming in my seat now with fists clenched- I tell him no, not my scene really.

When we arrived he stopped in the furthest corner on the car park, at that hour of a Sunday its deserted and we haven't passed a sinner on the street-no one has a clue I'm locked in this mans car in broad daylight...by that stage I was pumping sweat.
    I was waiting for him to do something when he sort of laughs and unlocks the door and I jumped out and ran towards the entrance.

I know some people will read this and think I was overreacting or homophobic or something but that's really not the case, even before he locked the doors or mentioned the George I knew I'd made a mistake...truly terrifying in the moment!

This happened to me...and I have no doubt it was the same guy. Was pissing rain and I missed the bus into work and next thing I get offered a lift from the guy...this was in the morning and he starts banging on about the George and asking me where I drink and internally I'm like WTF is up with this guy. Anyway I got out once we were stopped in traffic. No idea what I was thinking taking the lift in the first place - this was back in 2012 - oh and it was out at Omni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

A week or so ago i visited an old ruined abbey I knew well years ago, then walked through the adjoining forest.

It was soon after 8 am and no one around and I was tired and rather bored as I am not keen on or able for walking for its own sake..

There was a cave to see and steps up the bank behind it so of course i clambered up them and looked down the path there.

WOW! A huge ruined house.. I love these things so made for it, gazing ahead at the detailled ruins...

As I neared it, .. it vanished. Just not there any more. Gone.. all gone..

I went on with my day then sought online any expert local historians. Asked was there ever a house there as there was nothing online or on maps or in the publicity stuff...

In 1542 the monks, fleeing the British, lived in a house there where I had seen the tall ruins and apparently ruins are still there. They would not be the size or detail I saw. Until they just... vanished.... in a blink...

It was.. an echo.... Real yet not there,

In a few weeks I shall go back there, find the "real "ruins..

I was not scared, just disappointed. Lovely ruins they were...

Meanwhile the historian has broken off contact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

Can't really compare to some of the stories on here, love reading about this kind of stuff and some of these are genuinely creepy!

But anyway, my sister used to sleepwalk quite a bit when she was about 12/13 and I would have been around 17 at the time. I wake up one night with a sinister feeling that I was being watched so I look down to the end of the bed to see a black outline standing there watching me (I had a small room by myself). I absolutely sh!t myself at first but realised it was her quick enough, it wasn't the first time she was sleepwalking. The second I call out to ask if she was okay she grabs the blankets from my bed, throws them on the floor and screams at the top of her lungs.

My parents heard this and ran in straight away, to which she reacted by bursting into tears apologising profusely to everyone present. It was quite scary that she seemed to be overly apologetic. To this day she brushes off the event by saying "I don't want to talk about it" and going really pale when asked.

I also suffer from sleep paralysis quite a bit, you get used to after a few occasions but until then it is cripplingly terrifying!