Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vasectomy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Dday84

doubledown wrote: »
    I was fine. I had it done on a Friday so I got to spend the whole weekend on the couch playing PlayStation and watching movies.

By Monday I was back at my desk. There can be a little sensitivity for a couple of weeks but nothing a few painkillers can't handle. The most uncomfortable part to be honest is the bloody hair growing back!

Mine is Thursday so I should be good to be back to work Monday. I work weekend so have to inform them till be taking a few days off. And just take bit easy as is possible with 3 small kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

Dday84 wrote: »
    Mine is Thursday so I should be good to be back to work Monday. I work weekend so have to inform them till be taking a few days off. And just take bit easy as is possible with 3 small kids.

I have two young kids so I understand, believe me. My wife was great in keeping them occupied for a few days while I did nothing.

Best of luck! You'll be fine.

I have two young kids so I understand, believe me. My wife was great in keeping them occupied for a few days while I did noting.

Best of luck! You'll be fine.

Thank for the reply's you helped put my mind at rest.

No problem whatsoever. Anything else feel free to PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭argentum

I must be one of the few blokes on here that's had the snip and a circumcision as an adult. I've already given some advice on the other forum about circumcision and the only advice I could give here is to try to get it done at the end of a week so that you have at least the weekend off work to relax
    The pain a few hours afterwards is like someone gently squeezing your balls a bit too hard but not too bad and painkillers sort it out.
    The biggest shock for me with the whole procedure was the first w**k when you shoot a lot of blood in your semen which no one had warned me about .
    Funniest thing that happened was when I went to post my sample in a little jar in a jiffy bag and the woman behind the counter in the post office asked were the goods valuable and for a laugh I told her what was in it.( I did know her ) She took some reddener

argentum wrote: »
    I must be one of the few blokes on here that's had the snip and a circumcision as an adult. I've already given some advice on the other forum about circumcision and the only advice I could give here is to try to get it done at the end of a week so that you have at least the weekend off work to relax
    The pain a few hours afterwards is like someone gently squeezing your balls a bit too hard but not too bad and painkillers sort it out.
    The biggest shock for me with the whole procedure was the first w**k when you shoot a lot of blood in your semen which no one had warned me about .
    Funniest thing that happened was when I went to post my sample in a little jar in a jiffy bag and the woman behind the counter in the post office asked were the goods valuable and for a laugh I told her what was in it.( I did know her ) She took some reddener

Blood in your semen is a possible side effect afterwards but it never happened to me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭chewed

Blood in your semen is a possible side effect afterwards but it never happened to me at all.

I got blood as well and got a complete shock. Straight onto Google and a "phew" moment when I read it was totally normal. I wish I was informed of this when I left the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

2 days later.

Ache at times. Stab of pain then a deep ache for a minute if I stand up and walk after sitting at the desk for a while (John Wayne walk)

Other than that fine. Not taking any pain meds..

Thanks for the heads up on possible blood Otherwise I will think my world has ended. Reminds me of when I was 19 and snappede my banjo way too much blood. The few posts help with knowing whs to expect after cheers lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Nanoc

Lads do ya shave absolutely everything or just the base and sac?

In Friday morning ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Stigura

Shave :confused: No one said anything about shaving, to me.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,298 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Stigura wrote: »
    Shave :confused: No one said anything about shaving, to me.

As long as you don't have fuzz like Arnie faced in Predator, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Zipppy

Nanoc wrote:
    Lads do ya shave absolutely everything or just the base and sac?

Stigura wrote:
    Shave No one said anything about shaving, to me.

yep I clipped n then shaved around balls...it's easy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Nanoc

Cool, not like a wholly mammoth but no need to be going in like Kojack either if no needs to!

Granted, lads; I had mine done nearly forty years ago. I seem to recall this whole thing about shaving ones bits ~ for Any reason ~ was viewed somewhat differently in those days.

OK so I had mine done on Thursday afternoon there was no problems. Once the local wore off I had slight discomfort But no pain the following morning it felt brand new and have remains that way until about 2 hours ago when I got sudden pain in my right ball and lower right abdominal that spreads around to lower right back. It hasn't let up and painkillers don't put a dent in it. Is this normal pain. Has anyone else experienced this?

Sorry to hear that. I did have a dull ache in my right testicle on and off for a couple of weeks afterwards but nothing a severe as you're describing. I'm sure if you call the clinic first thing tomorrow they'll be able to advise you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭part time punk

Sorry to hear that. I did have a dull ache in my right testicle on and off for a couple of weeks afterwards but nothing a severe as you're describing. I'm sure if you call the clinic first thing tomorrow they'll be able to advise you.

Just back from getting it done. Fingers crossed that there's no side effects

Knew nothing about the shaving so went in all hairy balls which didn't seem to matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Joe222

I got this done over a week ago.
    2 incisions were made on either side of the scrotum. I was given a local anaesthetic (with needle) on both sides of the scrotum before the insertions.

The op itself was fine - just a small pain as the vas was cut.

One incision has healed up well.
    The other is quite opened and has yet to fully scab. The wound is about 1 inch wide.

I was covered in band aids and gauze afterwards. The side with the wound did bleed onto the gauze so I was a bit worried about that side.

I presumed that I wouldn't be stitched but I appear to have been. It is something you should ask about after the procedure is done as the op doesn't always go to plan.

I took it very easy for the first 3 days. Kids and wife were away. Thank goodness. You really do need to rest afterwards.

I was given anti-biotics. I still have a bit of a dull ache at times but pain wise I am fine.

I was given an elastic jockstrap to wear for the first 3 days. However I am continuing to wear jocks as when I wore my normal boxers I didn't have enough support and was getting pain.

8 days now after the op I am able to take the kids for cycles on the bike (your scrotum gets supported by the saddle) but definitely another few days away from running again.

Do try to have a book on the Kindle or something on the tv as you can get cabin fever stuck in the house while resting up.

12 days now after the op.
    Neither incision has fully healed. The good side opened up a bit this morning after my shower. The scab came off and the wound underneath still isn't fully healed.
    The incision that was more open is beginning to heal over. I had to buy steri strips myself and try to close the wound with these. I also put a band aid on top to seal it off.

I am finding it a bit frustrating as I am limited in how much I can walk and move about. Thank goodness I am not in a physical job.

Did anyone else get stitched and how did the healing process go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

Joe222 wrote: »
    12 days now after the op.
    Neither incision has fully healed. The good side opened up a bit this morning after my shower. The scab came off and the wound underneath still isn't fully healed.
    The incision that was more open is beginning to heal over. I had to buy steri strips myself and try to close the wound with these. I also put a band aid on top to seal it off.

I am finding it a bit frustrating as I am limited in how much I can walk and move about. Thank goodness I am not in a physical job.

Did anyone else get stitched and how did the healing process go?
    To be honest what you are experiencing is not the normal healing process...well not mine anyway and going by the posts on this thread not the normal for most guys here...did you return to your doctor ? If not I would be contacting them ASAP because you don't want it getting infected.
    And to reassure anyone else reading your posts thinking about getting it done the above posts is not typical of the healing process.

So one week on and although I'm feeling a good bit better, my balls are still quite bruised, black and blue. Also around the base of my penis is a bit bruised still. Just wondering whether this is normal enough or just a slow recovery. Thanks

Still bruised, after a week? Yeah. Ye may just be one of these people that hold a bruise better than others.

Long as the 'wound' is clean and healing, I wouldn't, personally, be beating the surgery door down.

Stigura wrote: »
    Still bruised, after a week? Yeah. Ye may just be one of these people that hold a bruise better than others.

Long as the 'wound' is clean and healing, I wouldn't, personally, be beating the surgery door down.

Thanks. Yeah 'wound' is clean and ok on that front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭opti76

had mine done last jan so approaching my 4 month test for the all clear .. got it done in carrigaline .. no scalpel method ... went golfing the morning after .. no issues.. a dull ache that was about it.

Ya the funny thing for me is that I had very little bruising.
    The stitches just didn't close up well enough or were not done well enough. No doctor will admit to the latter.
    I was in contact with mine but was told it can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

Took the plunge and got it done last Thursday in Donnybrook. Not a bother with the operation and recovery was fairly pain free (just dull aches really).

The bruising that only arrived properly on Sunday is fairly severe but hoping that'll go down soon. Not much swelling so I'm assuming it's not a haematoma.

Strangest thing was having to wear briefs for the first time since I was a young chap. Don't know how people wear them on a regular basis!?

Le Bruise wrote: »
    Took the plunge and got it done last Thursday in Donnybrook. Not a bother with the operation and recovery was fairly pain free (just dull aches really).

The bruising that only arrived properly on Sunday is fairly severe but hoping that'll go down soon. Not much swelling so I'm assuming it's not a haematoma.

Strangest thing was having to wear briefs for the first time since I was a young chap. Don't know how people wear them on a regular basis!?

The bruising always looks much worse than it is. I have worn boxers since I was a teenager (I'm 43 now) but funnily enough I got used to briefs after my vasectomy and wear them all the time now. I have officially turned into my father.

I am over 5 weeks post vasectomy. Wounds have thankfully healed at last. It took a full month.

However I still have occasional blood in my semen. Is this still normal and just a case of the tubes clearing themselves?

No other issues thankfully.