Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack outside UK Houses Of Parliament — No speculation — Read 1st post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭SILVAMAN

son of a whore

Shocked, Shocked! that this was an Islamic fundamentalist.

Literally unbelievable, Trevor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Utter rubbish. There was far more of a terrorism problem in Europe - and considerably more deaths in Ireland, Britain, Germany, Spain, France and Italy - when we were all individual nations protecting our own borders. Were you even alive back then? :mad:

Yeah people say that but the vast majority of total figures from that period come from Ireland which was a centuries-old conflict and one centred over competing national interests that had the possibility of a political solution. Likewise with the Basque Country.

In other words you were dealing with rational people who often had legitimate grievances; not Qu'uran inspired headbangers whose raisin d'etre is convert everyone to Islam and kill non-believers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

ricero wrote: »
    Its stuff like today that i agree with the donalds travel ban and strict border control. Time we get realistic and tighten our security here in ireland

The likelihood is that he was English born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

AMKC wrote: »
    Shooting the bastard that done this was too good for him but its better that than him getting to kill more people. Is this going to see the UK going like France and Belgium with the Army everywhere? I think it will.

Armed police were very visible in some UK towns leading up to Christmas. Even when they're not seen by the public, the UK is on high terror alert and has been for some time. They were expecting something to happen and they have probably foiled a number of plots already, so I think it is possible that it will soon start to resemble other cities wit a full time armed security presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Oh FFS I see the usual suspects heard the call to action and quick as a flash fired up the old keyboards and were on here to set everyone straight and tell us how things aren't so bad.
    How the world is safer now than it ever was because you don't die of typhoid or have to fight a war with a pike.

Being run over, hacked to death, blown up or shot by a religiously backward believer who thinks killing you will send him to some cloudy everlasting place where a bunch of virgins are waiting to service all his carnal needs isn't so bad now is it.

Has anyone a bingo card where we can mark off the usual terms like Irish terrorists, catholics, western interference Middle East, mental illness, anders breivik, Quebec, Donald Trump, etc, etc.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Attacker has been named as Abu Izzadeen (Trevor Brooks) from Clapton.

Real Four Lions stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

cnocbui wrote: »
    They are doing an important service to the public and history, unlike the PC bleeding hearts of this world.

pc and bleeding hearts don't exist.
    Think it's fairly obvious what this is. Don't get this " no speculation " stuff. I'm guessing this wasn't a catholic priest for instance.

it could be, for all we know.
    Stop being such an obvious gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Utter rubbish. There was far more of a terrorism problem in Europe - and considerably more deaths in Ireland, Britain, Germany, Spain, France and Italy - when we were all individual nations protecting our own borders. Were you even alive back then? :mad:

Because there was a disparity between the people committing the terrorist attacks and the average person in that said community.

The IRA committed a lot of terrorist attacks in the eighties. But the Irish weren't dis-proportionally represented in terms of crime and the wonders of multiculturalism. Despite the shìte that came from the British, your average Irish lad integrated. Compare that to crime from Luton and the population makeup there. Completely different kettle of fish. People see what's in front of them. Also the internet, but that's another topic.

If this attack was done by a East Asian Buddhist, you wouldn't hear anything/fùck all on the whole "take control of our borders" thing. Cause people can make that difference out. East Asian Buddists are not over-represented in prisons or Rotherham or Luton or Roschdale.

Most terrorist attacks in the past were often not particularly representative of a population group/sample.

https://twitter.com/News_Executive/status/844609563362017281

Scumbag, but these hate preachers have been preaching their vile across London for years. Only recently some have been jailed, Anjem Choudary etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,929 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

cisk wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/News_Executive/status/844609563362017281

Scumbag, but these hate preachers have been preaching their vile across London for years. Only recently some have been jailed, Anjem Choudary etc.

This guy had been in jail for funding terrorism for 3 years and for inciting terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,063 ✭✭✭conorhal

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The likelihood is that he was English born.

And so groups that have been naturalized for a couple of generations are still so poorly integrated that continuing to import them sounds like a good idea?

So he wasn't Asian, or a fordener, like I suggested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

jmayo wrote: »
    Oh FFS I see the usual suspects heard the call to action and quick as a flash fired up the old keyboards and were on here to set everyone straight and tell us how things aren't so bad.
    How the world is safer now than it ever was because you don't die of typhoid or have to fight a war with a pike.

Being run over, hacked to death, blown up or shot by a religiously backward believer who thinks killing you will send him to some cloudy everlasting place where a bunch of virgins are waiting to service all his carnal needs isn't so bad now is it.

Has anyone a bingo card where we can mark off the usual terms like Irish terrorists, catholics, western interference Middle East, mental illness, anders breivik, Quebec, Donald Trump, etc, etc.

Don't forget: the donald was right, throw them all out, bomb them to the stone age, lefties are all as guilty as the shooter, Merkel should be tried for treason, travel ban, Muslims hate our values etc etc

"has openly stated that he wishes to die as a suicide bomber.[10]"

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abu_Izzadeen

You would think that someone who has stated this so openly would not be allowed navigate central London so freely, disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

How bad do things need to get before people like you consider terrorism a serious threat? Daily attacks?

Going by https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_terrorist_incidents_in_Great_Britain the vast majority of terrorist incidents in the UK were caused by the Irish and by the looks of it, London bombings notwithstanding it's been pretty quiet since 2005ish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

If Europeans are really serious about stopping this, they need to go after the funding of these terror Mosques and schools.

No more Mosques to be built until vetting and auditing of finances has been completed. And if an Imam in a Mosque is preaching hate and the authorities know about it, close the Mosque down and demolish it.

If that means pissing of members of The House of Saud, so be it.

conorhal wrote: »
    And so groups that have been naturalized for a couple of generations are still so poorly integrated that continuing to import them sounds like a good idea?

But you just suggested that Trump style bans would have stopped this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Armed police were very visible in some UK towns leading up to Christmas. Even when they're not seen by the public, the UK is on high terror alert and has been for some time. They were expecting something to happen and they have probably foiled a number of plots already, so I think it is possible that it will soon start to resemble other cities wit a full time armed security presence.

No matter where you are in central London, you're no more than 1 minute away from an armed guard and that has been the case for at least a year now. Certainly since Paris and Brussels anyway.

What happened today was only a matter of time, the Met Police knew it, MI5 knew it, the politicians knew it and anyone that lives here and is a news junkie knew it, sure London is top of these bad boys' list. And they're foiling plots and making counter-terror arrests and dismantling terror cells every other day, to the point where I've always felt quite safe in London, these lads know what they're doing.

I work a ten-minute walk from Westminster and the sirens and helicopters and swarms of armed police were still out in force when I left the office half an hour ago, they've locked down Trafalgar Sq and a bunch of other tube stations and the commute home will be great craic for millions of people trying to cross the city this evening.

That said I don't know many Londoners or people living here who will willingly walk through Westminster, Trafalgar Sq, Oxford Circus or any of the standard tourist spots that tend to be black with people and an absolute no-go if you want a stress-free stroll to work/pub/where-ever. They're a pain in the hole to pass through and iconic enough to be a likely target for any wannabe jihadi who wants to make a name for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

FTA69 wrote: »
    Totally shocking stuff today, I was on the District line a few stops away from Westminster when it happened - we had an announcement that services were slightly delayed due to "an incident", something that's common so paid no heed. It was only when I was above ground I got the text off my missus.

I've read a lot of this thread and as usual some of it is reasoned comment and a lot of it is kneejerk alarmist b*llocks. I would strongly suspect this is an attack by Islamic fanatics but those spinning the "kick the refugees out" line are probably way off the mark. The vast majority of attacks that have occurred in the U.K. of this nature were committed by people born and raised in England, often third generation removed from their country of origin and others who were West Indian or African converts to Islam. Around 5% of the UK is of Islamic faith now and again, most of them are born and reared British citizens.

Radicalism is definitely an important issue to address, but it's far more complex than 'round them up and send them home.'

You see the thing is FTA69, some of us in Ireland and elsewhere in Europe have seen how massive muslim immigration has already failed.

If a second or third generation cannot integrate and drops out of mainstream society, basically declaring war on their fellow citizens and state then why should we invite in the same probable future outcome.

Even worse these children and grandchildren of immigrants have been given access to Western education, healthcare and yet turn on their own society and want to subjugate their fellow citizens.

Muslim immigration into Europe has been seen to be a failure in Britain, France, Holland, Belgium and recently Sweden.
    And this was as a result of controlled immigration.
    The last few years have been madness where it has been uncontrolled and we have seen we are often getting the dregs of the muslim world who aren't making a pretence of willing to respect our culture and laws never mind integrate.

Prevention is better than a cure.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

How bad do things need to get before people like you consider terrorism a serious threat? Daily attacks?

They'd have to register on the scale of things that are likely to kill me.

Something like terrorism isn't worth worrying about.

Terrorism is in or near enough the same order of magnitude for risk as getting struck by lightning.

How many road deaths before we stop driving?
    How many smokers are worried about terrorism?
    Maybe they should worry more about smoking, because that kills about 80,000 people in the UK every year whereas terrorism kills an average well under 100. Probably under 20.

If you're willing to consider terrorism to be a serious risk then you're probably better off not leaving your house.

That's not to say there shouldn't be intelligence gathering or that there should be absolutely no security in airports and the like, but the rhetoric is never about sensible, low impact security measures - it's about spying on the whole country, deporting people who look different and other bollocks - tranparently efforts at sneaking in policies that appeal to racists and authoritarians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Silane

cisk wrote: »
    "has openly stated that he wishes to die as a suicide bomber.[10]"

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abu_Izzadeen

You would think that someone who has stated this so openly would not be allowed navigate central London so freely, disgrace.

They should have strapped some C4 to him and sent him out onto a bomb range and let him go nuts. Don't release these guys into the public, ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Gbear wrote: »
    They'd have to register on the scale of things that are likely to kill me.

Something like terrorism isn't worth worrying about.

Terrorism is in or near enough the same order of magnitude for risk as getting struck by lightning.

How many road deaths before we stop driving?
    How many smokers are worried about terrorism?
    Maybe they should worry more about smoking, because that kills about 80,000 people in the UK every year whereas terrorism kills an average well under 100. Probably under 20.

If you're willing to consider terrorism to be a serious risk then you're probably better off not leaving your house.

That's not to say there shouldn't be intelligence gathering or that there should be absolutely no security in airports and the like, but the rhetoric is never about sensible, low impact security measures - it's about spying on the whole country, deporting people who look different and other bollocks - tranparently efforts at sneaking in policies that appeal to racists and authoritarians.

Good luck with that hyper rationality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 263 ✭✭CoolHandBandit

Shocked this guy was an Islamic fundi, literally stunned. Never in a million years would i have thought it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭SILVAMAN

Silane wrote: »
    They should have strapped some C4 to him and sent him out onto a bomb range and let him go nuts. Don't release these guys into the public, ever.

Let the start with brave boy Choudry. Save the UK taxpayer a few bob too.

Trevor Brooks from Clapton, you say?

Should we still ban foreigners like people say. I dunno, Trevor Clapton from Clapton doesn't sound like much of a foreigner to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Real Four Lions stuff.
    He is one of "choudarys" gang. Hope he rots in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

jmayo wrote: »
    You see the thing is FTA69, some of us in Ireland and elsewhere in Europe have seen how massive muslim immigration has already failed.

If a second or third generation cannot integrate and drops out of mainstream society, basically declaring war on their fellow citizens and state then why should we invite in the same probable future outcome.

Even worse these children and grandchildren of immigrants have been given access to Western education, healthcare and yet turn on their own society and want to subjugate their fellow citizens.

Muslim immigration into Europe has been seen to be a failure in Britain, France, Holland, Belgium and recently Sweden.
    And this was as a result of controlled immigration.
    The last few years have been madness where it has been uncontrolled and we have seen we are often getting the dregs of the muslim world who aren't making a pretence of willing to respect our culture and laws never mind integrate.

Prevention is better than a cure.

He wasn't a product of 'Muslim immigration', his parents were Jamaican Christians apparently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

conorhal wrote: »

What, like Jamaicans? I must pop in next door and tell my neighbours who are a bus driver and nurse with two kids that they're apparently poorly integrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Well this bad would be a serious threat:

2015-01-13_opi_6091472_I1.JPG

sq5.jpg

Recognise the city? Yeah, same place as today's incident, but carried out by real terrorists.

Tomorrow, London will be back to normal as if nothing had happened, just like Paris, Berlin, Nice and Brussels.

Which recent "terrorist" incident in Europe came anywhere close to this?