Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I wouldn't be too harsh on the forwards. The service into them has been very poor at time and the support play hasn't been great.

Very impressed with the defence though, Tipp game aside.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Best of luck to Cuala today. Will be a massive achievement if they pull this off, considering the massive logistical difficulties Cuala teams (of all grades and hues) face in finding places to train. Am so sick and tired of reading all about their massive cachement area and how posh Dalkey is (where very few of their players are actually from ) and so little about how most of them have to play and train in another feckin' county !

(Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know, Bray is about as hardcore Wickla as a steaming bowl a'coddle, but am being purely techincal here. :p)

Saw the Sam on the tellybox this morning, riding in the Lord Mayors carriage at the head of the parade....with nary a Dub player in sight. Bit weird that !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Well done Cuala. Was following on twitter from London, delighted for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Tis a great day for this little parish leafy suburb

Bono, Van Morrison, Enya, yer wan from the Corrs, the Canadian, Russian, Brazilian and Japanese ambassadors, Jim Kerr & Eddie Irvine won't be getting the hired help to milk any cows on the Vico Road tonight !

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Bono, Van Morrison, Enya, yer wan from the Corrs, the Canadian, Russian, Brazilian and Japanese ambassadors, Jim Kerr & Eddie Irvine won't be getting the hired help to milk any cows on the Vico Road tonight !

There won't be a note played nor a tennis ball struck in dalkey for a week, Every bottle of remy martin reserve in the place has been opened already

Great win, absolutely delighted for everyone involved. Hopefully this proves a big shot in the arm for Dublin hurling and persuades a few more to stick with the small ball.

Congrats again Cuala.

Be interesting to see how King Con's Dubs career progresses from here on out. Or which code he picks. If I was GC, I wouldn't be feeling all that optimistic.

Am not saying a word about the ref, his umpires, or what impeccable 20/20 vision they all clearly have, in the face of so much pure hatchet man dirt. They are all a great bunch of lads. T'wud just wouldn't be cricket to express an opinion on the refs performance when you win, lest you be accused of being an ungracious winner or a whinger. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭corny

Be interesting to see how King Con's Dubs career progresses from here on out. Or which code he picks. If I was GC, I wouldn't be feeling all that optimistic.

Am not saying a word about the ref, his umpires, or what impeccable 20/20 vision they all clearly have, in the face of so much pure hatchet man dirt. They are all a great bunch of lads. T'wud just wouldn't be cricket to express an opinion on the refs performance when you win, lest you be accused of being an ungracious winner or a whinger. :rolleyes:

He's already chosen the football hasn't he?

Yeah, he did for last year, but you never know. He might do a Podge Collins on it. Winning the All Ireland may give him and the rest of the Cuala contingent the confidence to feel that they can go on and do great things.

Well the wild pull towards the end, over by the touchline was very fortunate to only get a yellow. I've seen lads sent to the line for less, especially when contact with the head is made.

corny wrote: »
    He's already chosen the football hasn't he?

Thought I heard that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,167 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Bono, Van Morrison, Enya, yer wan from the Corrs, the Canadian, Russian, Brazilian and Japanese ambassadors, Jim Kerr & Eddie Irvine won't be milking any cows on the Vico Road tonight !

Or walking peahen's/peacock's
    http://www.herald.ie/news/feathers-flying-over-bonos-peahen-27982946.html

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Local woman Susan McKeon said she first noticed it on Monday night. "It had a tiny head and a huge body. It was actually quite ugly but I don't think it's fully grown," she said.

Ah, that's a bit harsh. Bono's not that short ! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Same starting 15 as last time out .. tempted to say it won't be the 15 to take the field, then again we said the same before the Mayo game

1 Stephen Cluxton Parnell’s
    2 Philly McMahon Ballymun Kickhams
    3 Michael Fitzsimons Cuala
    4 David Byrne Nh Olaf
    5 Darren Daly Fingal Ravens
    6 John Small Ballymun Kickhams
    7 Eric Lowndes St Peregrine's
    8 Brian Fenton Raheny
    9 Michael Darragh Macauley Ballyboden St Enda's
    10 Niall Scully Templeogue Synge St
    11 Dean Rock Ballymun Kickhams
    12 Shane B Carthy St Vincent's
    13 Ciarán Kilkenny Castleknock
    14 Eoghan O'Gara Templeogue Synge St
    15 Conor McHugh Na Fianna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Great win by Cuala. When those boys come back. Dublin will be a serious proposition.

I wonder what the "dubs don't have hurling", and the "manufactured hurlers" brigade made of it?

As with the Slaughtneil semi final some of what went on today was a fkn disgrace. Especially when some of the attempted gbhs were long after the game was over as a contest. Ballyhea should have finished with 12.

On other hand, Cuala proved that the days of terrorising Dublin hurlers is long, long gone/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Great win by Cuala. When those boys come back. Dublin will be a serious proposition.

I wonder what the "dubs don't have hurling", and the "manufactured hurlers" brigade made of it?

As with the Slaughtneil semi final some of what went on today was a fkn disgrace. Especially when some of the attempted gbhs were long after the game was over as a contest. Ballyhea should have finished with 12.

On other hand, Cuala proved that the days of terrorising Dublin hurlers is long, long gone/

yeah no complaints with this , dublin hurling is in a serious position at the moment great to see such a huge crowd from dublin coming out to support them today , with the addition of 6 or 7 to the already promising dublin panel it looks like ye are going in the right direction

ballyea should have got joe neylon sent off twice for punching an opponent , there were a few chop downs that went on noticed too , but look nothing was stopping cuala , there work rate was serious

while the club i come from has no hurling team we had 6 lads out on the field today in the ballyea colours ,it may never happen for them again but we will have huge time for the team that beat us today , great support great hurlers and great people , well done cuala and dublin hurling , great success story in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Bonniedog wrote:

Whist. Ye left out cuteness!!

All set for the road men ?

No. Have to work tomorrow. Am missing my first Dub/Kerry game in six years. Absolutley gutted !

Fond memories of the last two trips to Killarney.....MDMA bossing the place in 2013 & showing an early glimpse of form that would win him FOTY. Kerry only scoring 4 pts all day....leading to my favourite piece of heckling from the bodhran brigade on Hill 17. " Jayzus Kerry, yiz are muck. I've more points on me drivers license." :D

The biblical hailstorm in 2015. Kerry were in quare fighting form. Berno and David Moran batin' absolute LUMPS out of each other, in ways that you'd never see in the summer in Croker. That was NOT an early glimpse of of Kerrys form later in September. :p

ProudDUB wrote:
    No. Have to work tomorrow. Am missing my first Dub/Kerry game in six years. Absolutley gutted !

I'll make a show of myself on your behalf.

The Kerry trips are great. They are a great crowd that win and lose well. I'm not just saying that but you'd leave the game today talking to a Kerry supporter regardless of the result. You can't say that about everyone.

Stoner wrote: »
    Whist. Ye left out cuteness!!

We still want for "wristiness" too

I'll make a show of myself on your behalf.

The Kerry trips are great. They are a great crowd that win and lose well. I'm not just saying that but you'd leave the game today talking to a Kerry supporter regardless of the result. You can't say that about everyone.

Thanks Stoner. I'm heading out to Howth for the Dublin Bay Prawn Festival. Then in to watch the rugger in one of the local hostelries. I'll be sure to make a show of myself too. Now that Cuala are All Ireland champions, we really need to up our game in the 'roysh, ok goys" stakes !

Don't kid yourself on the Kerry crowd, especially if we win. With each successive loss to us...they are slowly but surely morphing into Mayo supporters. Don't say you haven't been warned ! :D

All set for the road men ?

Happy travels brother - my lads are tearin the arse out of it, down to Killarney yesterday afternoon not back til Sunday night - hadn't a hope of getting planning on that

Thanks Stoner. I'm heading out to Howth for the Dublin Bay Prawn Festival. Then in to watch the rugger in one of the local hostelries. I'll be sure to make a show of myself too. Now that Cuala are All Ireland champions, we really need to up our game in the 'roysch, ok goys" stakes !

Don't kid yourself on the Kerry crowd, especially if we win. With each successive loss to us...they are slowly but surely morphing into Mayo supporters. Don't say you haven't been warned ! :D

Gone are the days of the batterburger and a flagon of orchard glow ... we'll be olé olé oléing on The Hill next .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Greetings from Dingle.

Can't get a decent pint of Guinness here. The aul fish is nice though. Doing me bit for the local produce.

Back to Killarney for the match. Have a blue shirt and navy jeans. Good luck to anyone in Tralee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Slattsy wrote: »
    Greetings from Dingle.

Can't get a decent pint of Guinness here. The aul fish is nice though. Doing me bit for the local produce.

Back to Killarney for the match. Have a blue shirt and navy jeans. Good luck to anyone in Tralee.

This sounds like one of Dr. Livingstone's letters from the African jungle :)

We'll go up market and call it Slattsy's Travelogue .. in keeping with the tone today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Only worry I have now is parking..the missus is driving so pints are in order before the match...magic.
    Oh on the match...I think we are going to eat them. Hopefully get back to Killarney before it gets too ugly Hehe!

Decent enough bench named.

Reddin, Cian, Emmet, Mullally, The Kerry Killer, (for the day that is in it, sorry, couldn't resist :D) Jack Mc, Mannion, Flynner, Berno, Andrews & Comerford.