New England Patriots Thread Mod Warning Post #253

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,274 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

We've traded for Kony Ealy

Edit: We gave up 2nd round pick and received a third in exchange essentially just dropped 8 spots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Sheard has signed with the Colts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭letowski

Sheard has signed with the Colts.

Do you think he is a good signing for us for 8mil a year? Looked good for ye guys until he lost his place I think?

letowski wrote:
    Do you think he is a good signing for us for 8mil a year? Looked good for ye guys until he lost his place I think?

Depends if you're getting 2015 or 2016 Sheard. 8 million will be a lot for the 2016 Sheard, but a snip for the 2015 Sheard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭gorevs

Marty Bennett to the packers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭me89

Brandin Cooks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Recognition Scene

Just saw on Twitter that Brandin Cooks to Pats is done. Nice!

This is unreal. A deep threat for Brady to go with Gronk, Edelman, Hogan and White out of the backfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

The Pats are signing all the receivers

We didn't even have to give up Butler. I'm absolutely delighted :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Love the Cooks trade.

Give up the 32nd pick of the 1st round where you will pick up a 21/22 year old who will have about 50/50 odds of being a starter in the NFL for a 23rd year old who has 100% chance of being a starter in the NFL (if not a Pro Bowler).

Only difference is Cooks is on a 2 year deal, while the gamble in the draft will be a 4/5 year contract.

We didn't even have to give up Butler. I'm absolutely delighted :D
    He couldn't be traded because he's not under contract he's on the tender and seemingly Saints are still interested and a trade could be done after he signs a deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Ah lads. Our offense on full health is surely impossible to defend now. :) white, Mitchell, hogan, Edelman, Lewis, anendola and now Cooks :D

Ah I forgot GRONK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

bruschi wrote: »
    I'd still prefer him over Rowe
    As would I. But give Rowe another 3yrs (to match the 4yrs Ryan had) and I think he can be a better player.
    I'm glad we didn't pay Ryan that much to keep him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

All this unusual spending for the pats. Are they finally doing what Denver did? And give Tom the best offense and defense for his few remaining years.

Shore up the o-line a bit and then even the draft picks are just bonuses at this stage.

So far so good this free agency and Hightower hasn't signed with anybody else yet, the longer that goes on the better the chance he resigns.

Unfortunately one miss is that we traded for Dwayne Allen (who'll cost $5m a year) thinking Marty Bennett would be too expensive but he just signed for Green Bay for $6m a year. Although I'm sure the Pats knew they could get Marty at that price and choose Allen anyway.

EDIT: reports are saying Marty's contract is actually $7m a year

I wonder how much of that is guaranteed for Bennett.

Having seen how frequently he was injured last year, I can imagine we didn't want to guarantee as much as he wanted which is why we might have let him walk.

I never took to Bennett anyway. I've never liked him or his brother, so I'm glad I don't have to pretend to like him anymore. I thought he was overrated last year - his stats were skewed by a couple of dominant games rather than overall consistency. He never became one of Tom's trusted targets, which is pretty telling considering Gronk went down early.

DL Lawrence Guy for 20m over 4 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,976 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Is Bill on holidays or something? He'll come back and go nuts when he sees all the FA's we've signed!

Hightower's visit to the Saints has been cancelled/

Rumours are that its between us and the Titans.

Pros for the Titans: More money and Tennessee is his hometown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ftse100

I don't see us keeping Hightower, but i really hope we do.. They never seem to pay big for the players we (as fans) want to keep. Based on all the FA signings though it should be another massive year for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭BaronVon

As would I. But give Rowe another 3yrs (to match the 4yrs Ryan had) and I think he can be a better player.
    I'm glad we didn't pay Ryan that much to keep him.

Rowe really improved over the course of the season, much better value than re-signing Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I think with Gilmore, Butler (assuming we keep him on his tender) and Rowe at corner and McCourty, Harmon and Chung at Safety we will have a seriously good secondary next year.
    D-Line looks solid with the moves for Ealy and Guy, we really just need to wrap up Hightower and I think we'll have one of the top units in the league.

On offense, all the passing pieces are there. Get big back and some investment on the O-Line and I think we'll have the best overall roster...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

BizzyC wrote: »
    I think we'll have one of the top units in the league.
    I think Bill recognized that this year we face a tougher schedule than we did last year. We were the No1 scoring D last year, but played a number of poor QB's to get that position. The D needed to improve from last year to have another shot at the SB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭cosatron

eagle eye wrote: »
    Is Bill on holidays or something? He'll come back and go nuts when he sees all the FA's we've signed!

out of curiosity, who is the gm. on the patriot website is states the two Kraft and Caserio as player personal. So who makes the decisions on the players.

cosatron wrote: »
    out of curiosity, who is the gm. on the patriot website is states the two Kraft and Caserio as player personal. So who makes the decisions on the players.

Bill does.

Hightower visiting the Jets today. I'm actually encouraged by this, it shows he has no real suitors for his signature, so its most likely just a bargaining chip to get better than $10m a year from the Pats.

For the Jets to get him they'll have way over pay and if he takes it, he won't change the fortunes of the Jets by himself so it doesn't really make the AFC East anymore competitive and it just shows that the Jets will continue to shot themselves in the foot in overpaying for players.

Rich Cimini:
    Not to depress you, but the four New England additions will count only $17.1 million on this year's cap. Let's put that in some perspective, shall we? Gilmore, Allen, Cooks and Ealy combined will cost less than one Wilkerson ($18 million).

I think Hightower knows he has little to lose by stretching out his decision. He knows its highly unlikely the Pats offer of $10m a year will be taken off the table as the Pats are very high on him so why not test the waters and see what else is out there. Either he gets an offer from another team that he can't refuse or he gets the Pats to up the offer from $10m or he just accepts the $10m offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Hazys wrote: »
    Hightower visiting the Jets today. I'm actually encouraged by this, it shows he has no real suitors for his signature, so its most likely just a bargaining chip to get better than $10m a year from the Pats.

For the Jets to get him they'll have way over pay and if he takes it, he won't change the fortunes of the Jets by himself so it doesn't really make the AFC East anymore competitive and it just shows that the Jets will continue to shot themselves in the foot in overpaying for players.

Rich Cimini:

I think Hightower knows he has little to lose by stretching out his decision. He knows its highly unlikely the Pats offer of $10m a year will be taken off the table as the Pats are very high on him so why not test the waters and see what else is out there. Either he gets an offer from another team that he can't refuse or he gets the Pats to up the offer from $10m or he just accepts the $10m offer.
    Or if he's trolling the Jets, give him $11m, he'll deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

Hazys wrote: »

Rich Cimini:

He was with the jets yesterday, pretty sure he left without a deal. I f twitter is anything to go by he's looking for around $12 million a year. The Jets would have no where near the cap space to finance that unless they cut a couple more players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

Or if he's trolling the Jets, give him $11m, he'll deserve it.

I really don't get why they'd give Gilmore the sort of contract he got and then nickel and dime one of your best defensive players