Holidays from Hell?

• 11-03-2017 09:20AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭

Have you ever had a holiday from hell? You know, where the hotel was a complete dump, not at all what you had expected, there was literally nowhere to go locally and nothing to do, the air conditioning didn't work, the sheets were filthy, the staff rude and the room full of roaches?

Or perhaps a camping holiday at home where it lashed down every single day and you and all your possessions got thoroughly soaked?

Did you leave early? Did you complain? Did you have a total breakdown?

I've been lucky in that I've nearly always enjoyed where I've travelled to but I do make an effort to research it as much as possible beforehand. My ex was a nightmare to holiday with though - fussy isn't the word. At one point in the South of France 10 years ago we changed hotel 3 times because he didn't like the hotels (pool too small, view from room not perfect, no tea/coffee making facilities in room, food not to his liking)...sigh!!:rolleyes:

Regale me with your hellish holiday experiences here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,036 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Went to Club Tropicana and had to pay for my f**king drinks!

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Years ago myself and a girlfriend were inter railing around europe. We were staying in hostels and the like.

One night we were in some hostel in spain and the bed we were in was a double bunk bed thingy. So we were on the top bunk, some other couple in the lower bunk and a few others in other beds in the dorm.

So we had been out on the piss and got home. Hopped in to bed. Shortly after this the other couple got back and hopped in to the bunk below us. An american couple. They started riding.
    Jesus. It was like been on a the main mast of a ship in a bad storm. They were oblivious to anyone else been in the same room, never mind the same bed. Very funny though.
    But no more hostels after that. Hotels only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

everlast75 wrote: »

Are you sure there wasn't enough for everyone though? At least you had burning sunshine !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Been in a few gross places when I was travelling in Africa and in particular getting used to someone having potentially slept in the same bedsheets the night before but no real 'normal' holiday disasters. Tripadvisor etc generally gets things right once you take out the crazies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

And the feckers have just reduced their Orange Juice from 1 litre to 950 millilitres. Cheeky feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No you usually get what you pay for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Torremolinos.
    Ain't ever going to go back. Even if I won an apartment there I'd let it decay.

Combination of hotel, location, company and state of mind.

Disaster started before getting on plane and did not let up. Spent every minute there thinking this cannot be happening.

Putting up with people at work when I came back saying I must have had a wonderful time dragged out the misery for 2 further weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

A bigger nightmare that he didn't get the 75,000 he was looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

anewme wrote: »
    A bigger nightmare that he didn't get the 75,000 he was looking for.

As stated in the other thread that's the default max for that court and to be fare (see what I did there) I don't fault him. People let assholes off the hook all the time. Good to see someone standing up for themselves after being publicly embarrassed for no reason. Maybe that ticket inspector won't be such a d*ck to people henceforth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Torremolinos.
    Ain't ever going to go back. Even if I won an apartment there I'd let it decay.

Combination of hotel, location, company and state of mind.

Disaster started before getting on plane and did not let up. Spent every minute there thinking this cannot be happening.

Putting up with people at work when I came back saying I must have had a wonderful time dragged out the misery for 2 further weeks.

You would have to pay me to go to Horriblelinos. About a decade ago I holidayed in a place between Marbella and Fungierola and went out to eat in the latter. Full of lager louts. A taste of Torremolinos. The boil on the Costa Del Sol.

Funny though the centre of Malaga is quite nice with decent cafe, bar and restaurant offerings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Once went on a sun holiday and it rained.

I was distraught;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Sharm el Sheik, Egypt.

Absolute pox of a place.

Up to recently I had never been to the Canary Islands. Went recently, ended up having to stay over in Tenerife Golf Sur overnight. Could not believe such a place existed in this day and age. It was like that program called Benidorm.

I'm going again soon and trying to find a way around those resorts, dreading the stopover. !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Up to recently I had never been to the Canary Islands. Went recently, ended up having to stay over in Tenerife Golf Sur overnight. Could not believe such a place existed in this day and age. It was like that program called Benidorm.

I'm going again soon and trying to find a way around those resorts, dreading the stopover. !

whats the stopover?

the ferry to the smaller islands leaves from los cristianos and flight timings mean an overnight in Tenerife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My sister used to holiday in Fuertaventuera - she said it was among the nicest of the Canary Islands. I've heard that Lanzarote can be nice too. I've never been to the Canaries.

I was probably conceived in Teneriefe.:D My parents holidayed there 9 months before I was born, back in the 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Winterlong wrote: »
    Years ago myself and a girlfriend were inter railing around europe. We were staying in hostels and the like.

One night we were in some hostel in spain and the bed we were in was a double bunk bed thingy. So we were on the top bunk, some other couple in the lower bunk and a few others in other beds in the dorm.

So we had been out on the piss and got home. Hopped in to bed. Shortly after this the other couple got back and hopped in to the bunk below us. An american couple. They started riding.
    Jesus. It was like been on a the main mast of a ship in a bad storm. They were oblivious to anyone else been in the same room, never mind the same bed. Very funny though.
    But no more hostels after that. Hotels only.
    God thats so ignorant and disgusting, no excuses no matter how pissed they were :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

the ferry to the smaller islands leaves from los cristianos and flight timings mean an overnight in Tenerife

I know Golf de Sur...did you meet Ronny and Linda in The Wildgeese!? All the entertainers are did in the eyes:pac:. It's not great around there but Los Cristianos and lots of other places in Tenerife are grand for a week's mid winter break.

I went to Killala, Co. Mayo at the end of November just gone...grim. I wasn't hell but it sure felt like limbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭cml387

I've told Mrs CML about our holidays as a child in Ireland in the early 1970's.
    Horrible B an B's with shiny nylon sheets.
    "Picnics" out in the wilds with a portable gas stove always blowing out.

She said "B&B's? Luxury! We stayed in tents."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Reati

JupiterKid wrote: »
    My sister used to holiday in Fuertaventuera - she said it was among the nicest of the Canary Islands. I've heard that Lanzarote can be nice too. I've never been to the Canaries.

Lived in lanzarote for a while. Lovely place outside of Puerto del Carman. In the smaller villages where I lived there was a lot of retired English people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Summer 2000.Went on a 2 week holiday with my then girlfriend to Ibiza and her family.Had a blast until day 7.

Were all down the strip looking for a bar that suits the mother etc.Find one, settle in.

Few hours later 19yo me thinks it's a deadly idea to get a triple vodka and coke on the sly and pretend it's just coke.Fook it lets try a quad vodka and redbull.They won't know.

Well , it went fooking South about 30 mins later.I remember getting slapped by the mother but I don't remember :
    1.telling my GF older sister that it's ok If she wants to grind me against the bar and telling her boyfriend I don't mind if hes there
    2.telling the mother I'm not doing any more of her errands and where to put them
    3.Telling the dad that his fookin dog sh*ts in the shed because dogs can't say fook you
    4.buying 48 custard tarts and using them to spell sorry beside the villa pool

Christ the next day or 2 was hard.

In the end hugs all round and the dad told me the sh*t he got into when drunk etc when he was young and that he tried not to laugh when I told him about his dog because his wife would have slapped him too.

Went out with her for another year and laughed about it but even now remembering those few days after that night was hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Summer 2000.Went on a 2 week holiday with my then girlfriend to Ibiza and her family.Had a blast until day 7.

Were all down the strip looking for a bar that suits the mother etc.Find one, settle in.

Few hours later 19yo me thinks it's a deadly idea to get a triple vodka and coke on the sly and pretend it's just coke.Fook it lets try a quad vodka and redbull.They won't know.

Well , it went fooking South about 30 mins later.I remember getting slapped by the mother but I don't remember :
    1.telling my GF older sister that it's ok If she wants to grind me against the bar and telling her boyfriend I don't mind if hes there
    2.telling the mother I'm not doing any more of her errands and where to put them
    3.Telling the dad that his fookin dog sh*ts in the shed because dogs can't say fook you
    4.buying 48 custard tarts and using them to spell sorry beside the villa pool

Christ the next day or 2 was hard.

In the end hugs all round and the dad told me the sh*t he got into when drunk etc when he was young and that he tried not to laugh when I told him about his dog because his wife would have slapped him too.

Went out with her for another year and laughed about it but even now remembering those few days after that night was hell.

If ever there was a need for boards to have the crying laughing emoji

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Don't know if I've ever had a holiday from hell but have taken holidays that others might consider hell.

Lived in East Africa and had some adventures there. Went on a trip to trek for gorillas in a jungle that bordered Rwanda, Uganda and Zaire. We camped and poo'd in a hole for a toilet for a few days. We also built a dam in a river so we could wash. We stayed in a 1 star hotel before we got there in a one horse town. There was a night club that I was too terrified to go to. Good thing too because a security guard had to break up a fight by firing his shotgun.

Hotel had no electricity or running water. Each room had a bucket of water in it.

Great trip though!

Should have gone to the Copacabana.

The hottest spot north of Havana.At the Copacabana, music and passion were always the fashion.

faceman wrote: »
    Don't know if I've ever had a holiday from hell but have taken holidays that others might consider hell.

Lived in East Africa and had some adventures there. Went on a trip to trek for gorillas in a jungle that bordered Rwanda, Uganda and Zaire. We camped and poo'd in a hole for a toilet for a few days. We also built a dam in a river so we could wash. We stayed in a 1 star hotel before we got there in a one horse town. There was a night club that I was too terrified to go to. Good thing too because a security guard had to break up a fight by firing his shotgun.

Hotel had no electricity or running water. Each room had a bucket of water in it.

Great trip though!

Sounds like my trip around Europe in my student days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Went up to Belfast with the girlfriend at Xmas and had a horrible time.

So fcuking rude and aggressive. They're not like southerners at all.

No craic out of any of them. I just felt so uncomfortable there, I couldn't wait to drive back across the border to my own country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,856 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

In my early 20s, got a last minute flight to Malaga with a friend in peak season August. Got there and couldnt find a hotel so decided to just use the rental car for that night and go on the piss.Ended up spending the whole week in the car due to being on the rip and there being no rooms available anywhere. Was woken up every morning by 9am due to heat/brightness, regardless of how late we were out.
    Other highlights included my mate being propositioned by an english lad who "owned" a hurley factory in romania, going on the piss with 14 yr old english kids and their parents, waking up in a bunker on a golf course as i drunkenly refused to go back to the car, bathing in the sea/beachside showers with shower gel. Was very weird/tiring/exhausting/awful.

Gave up after 6 days and were able to get a room in torremolinos for the last night, that was the cherry on this **** encrusted cake, an absolute hole of a place.