Why is there no Roads or buildings named after Éamon de Valera

• 10-03-2017 01:02PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭

Maybe not for afterhours who knows...

De Valera was a commander in the 1916 Easter Rising, a political leader in the War of Independence and of the anti-Treaty opposition in the ensuing Irish Civil War (1922–1923). After leaving Sinn Féin in 1926 due to its policy of abstentionism, he founded Fianna Fáil, and was head of government (President of the Executive Council, later Taoiseach) from 1932 to 1948, 1951 to 1954, and 1957 to 1959, when he resigned after being elected as President of Ireland. His political creed evolved from militant republicanism to social and cultural conservatism.[4]

Assessments of de Valera's career have varied; he has often been characterised as a stern, unbending, devious, and divisive Irish politician. Biographer Tim Pat Coogan sees his time in power as being characterised by economic and cultural stagnation, while Diarmaid Ferriter argues that the stereotype of de Valera as an austere, cold and even backward figure was largely manufactured in the 1960s and is misguided.[4]
    https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiWz62u8MvSAhWLLMAKHbvnAWwQFggbMAA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2F%25C3%2589amon_de_Valera&usg=AFQjCNFjZPjWcmRikydJ19Pw7qNtXY0lVg

He won eight elections over the period of the 1930s, 40s and 50s and ended his career as president of Ireland between 1959 and 1973, when - at the age of 90 - he was the oldest head of state in the world.

So we have Roads etc named after Michael Collins & James Connelly, Michael Davitt, why not after Eamon de Valera ? He was a huge figure in Irish politics ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

In before we haven't got a long and crooked one to name after him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

He shot Michael Collins dead!!!! No road for Dev!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He shot Michael Collins dead!!!! No road for Dev!!!!

Good man the Dan! Bally bastards!!

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

Interesting, a small little cul de sac named after him, Coincidence ?

He was a huge figure in Irelands history, from the rising ,war of independence, through the civil war right up to the early seventies, Its a bit odd ? who makes these decision's ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

I drove over De Valera Bridge in Cork this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.
    valoren wrote: »
    I drove over De Valera Bridge in Cork this morning.

A bridge and road that stretches from Donegal to Cork ? Feck off the pair of yis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Seconded. Was just about to say that one.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Amiens Street

:o:o:o You may close this if you wish mods :o:o I need to get out more :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Seconded. Was just about to say that one.

Me too.

We have a Pearse rd in letterkenny too, wile patriotic bunch we are up here.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Amiens Street

:D Amiens Street, located in Dublin, Ireland was named after Viscount Amiens, Earl of Aldborough. :D:pac: I never knew that either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

:o:o:o You may close this if you wish mods :o:o I need to get out more :rolleyes:

You dont get out of this unholy mess that easily

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

These things arent enough for the stature of the man. They should rename something nationally important after him, eg the Phoneix park, or Grafton St

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Not a whole lot of things named after Lemass either.

I'd wager that at the time that he died, the fad for naming or renaming stuff after old rebels had passed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭GoodBridge

There's a Irish software development forum on Reddit called DevelEire (www.reddit.com/r/DevelEire) contraction of Development and Eire but sounds like De Valera. That's much better than having some stinkin' road or building named after you.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Not a whole lot of things named after Lemass either.

I'd wager that at the time that he died, the fad for naming or renaming stuff after old rebels had passed.

yeah but Lemass is in Le Church every day Misour

The bridge in Cork was named after Rocky de Valera. Trivia there for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,401 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I guess if you get to run the place for years you don't need the token gesture of having a few roundabouts named,after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭TooObvious

I heard De Valera described as McCartney to Collin's Lennon. As we all know Lennon was shot dead - ipso facto he was the cool one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

This has been discussed on boards before and it seems that the main reason was Dev's longevity. He died in 1975 aged 92 and by then the fashion for naming places and streets after patriots had largely ended.

Also, Dev was a very divisive figure. While he was very popular in the early State, he was also very unpopular with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

There's a statue of him in Ennis.

Also the library is named de Valera library (which is a building!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I think it's cos he sounds like a foreigner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I presume you've heard of Paddy Joe Main (1880-1916). Most biggest towns have remembered him.

I think it's cos he sounds like a foreigner.

Yeah, we don't like dem lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

De Valera Park, Limerick
    Eamon de Valera Place, Carrick-On-Suir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think he has a remembrance garden named after him in Israel of all places.

Holy God yer right there

The planting and dedication of the forest was arranged by the Dublin Jewish community, in recognition of De Valera's consistent support for Ireland's Jews.[1]

The Irish Constitution of 1937, the drafting of which was personally supervised by De Valera the writing of the Constitution specifically gave constitutional protection to Jews. This was considered to be a necessary component to the constitution by Éamon de Valera because of the treatment of Jews elsewhere in Europe at the time.[2]

In 1948 De Valera overruled the Department of Justice when it barred one hundred and fifty refugee Jewish children from travelling to Ireland as refugees.[3]

https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjai_SYmszSAhVG0hoKHehTBzQQFggyMAM&url=https%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2F%25C3%2589amon_de_Valera_Forest&usg=AFQjCNELGj4d47Mseq0UAWIA5FVH4nZ8pg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

JupiterKid wrote: »
    This has been discussed on boards before and it seems that the main reason was Dev's longevity. He died in 1975 aged 92 and by then the fashion for naming places and streets after patriots had largely ended.

Also, Dev was a very divisive figure. While he was very popular in the early State, he was also very unpopular with others.

I think history currently judges him quite harshly, for obvious reasons. But it would be interesting to see in another 100years, how he is regarded.

I I I actually was talking about Dev the mod, my mistake...