Answering email about salary expectations

• 09-03-2017 10:37AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭

I've applied for a job in the last couple of days. They replied to say they are happy with my resume and are wondering what my salary expectations are before mention of an interview. What way should I word my response?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭blindside88

This is always a difficult one as you don't want to undersell yourself. Personally I'd word it as "I would expect a salary of at least €x" or "I am expecting a salary of between €x and €y"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Personally I wouldn't want to be the one naming the number first, I'd go back with something along the lines of " My salary expectation would be in line with current market value and dependent on my experience". Could then go on to ask what they are offering for the position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭daheff

This seems like a very reasonable question for the company. They want to know what you want to do the job, and if its above what they are willing to pay, then they arent going to waste your time (or their time) doing interviews.

The question has to be asked & answered at some stage. Honestly, what do you want to be paid for the role? Tell them that. If its too high, then so be it, if its acceptable to the company you'll be asked in for an interview.

Don't play games because the company will know and won't bring you any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

If theres a salary or salary range in the ad you answered your salary expectation is between the half way mark in that range and the top of the range. If theres no salary range then be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,530 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

God be with the days when a company just stated what they were willing to pay for a job in the job ad.

The feckin game playing that goes today is bloody ridiculous. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

In that circumstance I'd be inclined to name the figure at the top of my "expected" range, but indicate that I might be willing to negotiate if the role is a good fit.

Bit ridiculous to ask you that before the interview if they didn't even mention a range in the ad!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I think it's a fair question. I've wasted time going for interviews when the salary was too low.

Just be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Ronney

Take the bottom figure you would be willing/happy to except and add 10% rounded to nearest 5K. And ask for that range.

eg
    Ask for 40-45K

If they low ball you, push for extras like pension contributions, health insurance, car allowances etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

Just tell them what you want to be paid.
    Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Meeeee79

Do you genuinely not have an idea of what you realistically would be willing to work for? Its a tricky question but if I were you I would think hard about what I would genuinely be happy to work for and tell them that, dont go too high, it may turn them off, dont go too low, you wont be happy longterm working for that salary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

pilly wrote: »
    I think it's a fair question. I've wasted time going for interviews when the salary was too low.

Just be honest.

I'd be thinking the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

It is infuriating though that companies don't at least mention a salary range when advertising a job, it wastes everyone's time. It seems to me to be a ploy to see how much they can get people for.

I once took a job at a salary that I was happy to work for but I was not happy when I found out the previous person in the position was getting 10k more with less qualifications. They effectively got me for a lot cheaper than they were prepared to pay by exercising this ploy.

Just be honest.

Is it though?

The company obviously has a figure in its head. Why not just state that figure and be done with it, instead of wasting everybody's time.

The answer, of course, is that they're hoping that someone undercut themselves and go in for a cheaper price by mistake.

I don't know whether it's just me, but getting a job in this country is getting more and more of a silly rigmarole. Not only are there a lot of stupid games being played at interview stages (never mind stupid questions asked), but it's becoming a standard now to have to attend multiple interviews with Tom, Dick and Harry just to get a pretty basic role...

...then you find out that the role has bugger all to do with the job spec in the first place. :pac:

Crazy nonsense altogether.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Is it though?

The company obviously has a figure in its head. Why not just state that figure and be done with it, instead of wasting everybody's time.

The answer, of course, is that they're hoping that someone undercut themselves and go in for a cheaper price by mistake.

I don't know whether it's just me, but getting a job in this country is getting more and more of a silly rigmarole. Not only are there a lot of stupid games being played at interview stages (never mind stupid questions asked), but it's becoming a standard now to have to attend multiple interviews with Tom, Dick and Harry just to get a pretty basic role...

...then you find out that the role has bugger all to do with the job spec in the first place. :pac:

Crazy nonsense altogether.

Yeah, I know, I agree with you but I would prefer at least to be asked before I went for the interview than waste time taking a morning off, getting prepared etc. etc. only to be told it's a ridiculous salary.

Yeh, I just saw your other post above. We're coming from pretty much the same POV.

It's swings and roundabouts I spose. You could decide to do the job for less after doing the interview. I've done this myself.

It's just better for everyone to get it out in the open at the beginning of the merry-go-round that is looking for a job these days.

I've applied for a job in the last couple of days. They replied to say they are happy with my resume and are wondering what my salary expectations are before mention of an interview. What way should I word my response?

What I generally do is say "I am currently earning $X and so would like $X plus".

As another poster said, this puts the ball in their court to decide whether they can afford you or not, and if they can't afford you they can come out and say it - Or do what lots of places do and never write to you again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,165 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Here's my tuppence.

If you take the view, I'm not answering that.....you are putting yourself at a disadvantage.

The company is trying to decide between candidates it doesn't know all that much about.

If you don't answer; and the next guy/girl does answer.....then they know more about the other person that they do about you.

There was a time when the salary was on the Job spec or the Job advert. Now its top secret and as Tony says the plan seems to be to hope that a few candidates will undercut themselves so the company "makes a saving".

Its a daft mentality to be honest. I used to work in a place with 2 work colleagues. The three of us did exactly the same job functions and had joined the company within 3 months of each other. One night over a couple of pints the subject of salary came up. Out of the three of us it turns out there was a difference of 15k a year between the top earner and the bottom earner.

Yeh, I just saw your other post above. We're coming from pretty much the same POV.

It's swings and roundabouts I spose. You could decide to do the job for less after doing the interview. I've done this myself.

It's just better for everyone to get it out in the open at the beginning of the merry-go-round that is looking for a job these days.

You might decide to do a job for less I suppose if it's an area you want to get into etc. but there is a bare minimum that most people have in mind. Like they're not going to go from 50k to 30k no matter how much they want a job, especially if they have responsibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭Harika

Its a daft mentality to be honest. I used to work in a place with 2 work colleagues. The three of us did exactly the same job functions and had joined the company within 3 months of each other. One night over a couple of pints the subject of salary came up. Out of the three of us it turns out there was a difference of 15k a year between the top earner and the bottom earner.

That's why some work contracts have a clause included to not talk about salary or bonus payments to avoid this kind of accidents.

It’s a game of chicken, whoever states a number first, loses. Like if you give them a salary range of 30 to 35, they will offer you 30. If they move first and give you a salary range of 30 to 35, a successful candidate will push back from any offer and ask for 35.

IMO, like someone already said before, tell them that you expect to be paid according to the usual market rate in line with your experience. Full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I once took a job at a salary that I was happy to work for but I was not happy when I found out the previous person in the position was getting 10k more with less qualifications. They effectively got me for a lot cheaper than they were prepared to pay by exercising this ploy.

You call it a daft mentality yet one company is saving €10000 a year and the other is saving over €15000 a year, sounds like its not the companies who are daft.

I don't get the mentality of some people in here, these are businesses not charities, of course they will want to control their labour costs and of course they would prefer to pay less money if they can. If negotiating salary at interview saves them €10000 per year in salary costs then the company would be bloody stupid to do it any other way.

You might decide to do a job for less I suppose if it's an area you want to get into etc. but there is a bare minimum that most people have in mind. Like they're not going to go from 50k to 30k no matter how much they want a job, especially if they have responsibilities.

No, but a person might drop 5k or more depending on the circumstances. The job could be closer to their home, they could be working from home, could be less global travel, could be more global travel, company car, free home internet, etc. And you might only find that out at interview stage.

There could be a scenario involved whereby someone says feck it, the job's ten minutes from the house, I'll take 40 and negotiate a raise after.

Personally, I'd drop a few grand a year if the choice was a ten minute walk or a 60 minute drive.

You call it a daft mentality yet one company is saving €10000 a year and the other is saving over €15000 a year, sounds like its not the companies who are daft.

I don't get the mentality of some people in here, these are businesses not charities, of course they will want to control their labour costs and of course they would prefer to pay less money if they can. If negotiating salary at interview saves them €10000 per year in salary costs then the company would be bloody stupid to do it any other way.

And both companies have unhappy employees who eventually leave so they've to start off the whole recruitment process again, training someone in, blah blah. It's a false economy. Companies should advertise a range that's within the market range for that job and then negotiate with the candidates in that range.

Going by your logic sure companies could just employ any aul eejit who'll work for minimum wage but would they be able to do the job? No.

There was a time when the salary was on the Job spec or the Job advert. Now its top secret and as Tony says the plan seems to be to hope that a few candidates will undercut themselves so the company "makes a saving".

And that difference is explained by the top earner being a better negotiator.

And the first rule of negotiation is never say a number first!

I know some people think this is all a game (and it is) but as soon as you say a number you are giving all the power to the employer. They have a number in their head. If they won't say what that number is, THEY are playing the game and if you say a number first YOU have lost the game!

There's only two possibilities really. The first is you say a number lower than they want to pay. You've just given up a lot of money, particularly when you consider the long-term impact of base salary expectations. The second is you say a number that is higher than they are willing to go. You would be surprised how unlikely this is to happen. In all my years interviewing I have VERY rarely had someone name a number that was totally out of the question. Anyway, at the very worst that ends the process, at best they think "hmmm, this person must be good, maybe we can sort something out down the line".

You are selling yourself, if you are selling anything you get the other person excited first and then name the price. It's absolutely fine to say something like "I'm sure we'll be able to come to a fair arrangement later in the process, my expectations are in line with the market". If they won't take that for an answer name the highest number you can with a straight face. Aside from anything else a decent employer will respect you for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

its-a-trap-7366.jpg?rect=0,0,500,500&q=98&fm=jpg&fit=max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I went for an interview for an admin role in a charity two weeks ago. There was no salary mentioned in the advert which maddens me. I asked at the end, after several other questions how much was the salary. I was told it was commensurate on experience. That tells me nothing! They did ask what my current salary was, which I told them. I reckon they don't want to pay that even that much which is little enough.

I haven't heard back about a second interview, that they were planning with the candidates who got through the first round. Not a chance I'm going for a second interview when I've no clue how much they'll pay me, and why on earth would you need a second interview for a lowly admin role??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

seems like a hard question,but you should at least have a number in mind for the role going.thus apply your skills experience and put number range that you think is suitable and fair for similar positions etc.

Its not rocket science since once you go to interview thats where you could be asked same question,thus dont see it as underselling or being smart but some companies do ask what one is expecting and then they counter your offer if they see you as a right candidate for the position.

Since its hard to know is it career job,or one youll be stuck in forever,is it smth you like doing and dont mind being flexible on wages,or its just a job you need and x amount you expect to make decent living.

I know some people think this is all a game (and it is) but as soon as you say a number you are giving all the power to the employer. They have a number in their head. If they won't say what that number is, THEY are playing the game and if you say a number first YOU have lost the game!

This is a stupid way to hire staff.

The idea that there is some sort of victory involved. :rolleyes:

It doesn't have to be this silly.

This is a stupid way to hire staff.

The idea that there is some sort of victory involved. :rolleyes:

It doesn't have to be this silly.

I agree, it doesn't have to be silly.

However, if a company won't state the salary then they are initiating the game. Blurting out the amount you will work for loses the game immediately!

As established losing the game can mean 15k a year or more. Not insignificant.