Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Heh just spotted all the lads are patrons themselves. Discount 6 or 7 of those patrons when you are counting them up lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Pter wrote: »
    A really big brain who created a flawed formula. Yesterday's pod explained a bit better how so.

Enjoying the day to day carry over of craic. It's closer to what used to happen when they were on radio in terms of picking up listeners comments and tweets and running with them. Something i thought was strained/missing from the IT pod rota.

Wasn't a flawed formula but the basis for application was flawed

Ill take your word for it. Variables were missing, which in my book is a flaw, but im not a mathematician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It was only a bit of mathematical craic lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Murph's Country Pages. Back due to popular demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

What's the Ken Burley character? Sounds like Ken pretending to know about rugby to annoy Welsh people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

What's the Ken Burley character? Sounds like Ken pretending to know about rugby to annoy Welsh people.

Your second sentence answers your first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Your second sentence answers your first

Sounds good so, I might have to listen to the next rugby pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Ken Burley was great but I'm not sure it'll be as good now that the rivalry isn't as good as it was back then. The time he went on and called the Welsh cowards for not running straight ahead with the ball "the manly route" was genius.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Loved that piece on Wilt the Stilt, it was reminiscent something they'd do in the OTB days.

Speaking of OTB, it's 4 years since they left today, where the feck does time go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Loved that piece on Wilt the Stilt, it was reminiscent something they'd do in the OTB days.

Speaking of OTB, it's 4 years since they left today, where the feck does time go?

That's exactly what I was hoping for with the World Service. That's what I'm paying for.

Murph's Country Pages better not have been a one off. Give the people what they want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭bren2001

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Murph's Country Pages better not have been a one off. Give the people what they want!

Never got the appeal. One of the their worst segments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,660 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I like Country Pages. Was a little surprised they got to use the original jingle from OTB days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Guys on the newstalk golf podcast mentioning how would anyone think of charging a fiver for a podcast - in fairness twas in jest

Step 1: Don't fill your podcast with golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Step 1: Don't fill your podcast with golf.

Wouldn't be much of a Golf podcast then

threein99 wrote: »
    Wouldn't be much of a Golf podcast then

Indeed.

Subs at 6360

I kinda feel a bit smug getting in on the ground floor of this new paid service. Like anyone who subscribes after me is a sad newbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

More Murphs Country Pages. Less Miguel Delaney please.

Less More Johnaton Wilson, less Murphs Country Pages :P

bren2001 wrote: »

Less Johnaton Wilson, less Murphs Country Pages :P

I think Jonathan Wilson is one of the best contributors they have.

lawred2 wrote: »
    I think Jonathan Wilson is one of the best contributors they have.

I meant to type more Wilson!

that does make more sense :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

articlesSubThumb33_castaway_6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Brego888

So it appears this model is working out very well for them.
    I suppose the fact that there is no torrent or illegal download culture in podcasting like there is for music, tv and film!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I'm loving the fact that they seem to be able to rehash some of the old Newstalk classics now that they're a podcast; Murph's Country Pages, "Thierry Henry has controlled the ball basketball style!", Ken Burley, all little bits I loved about the OTB show

were they OTB bits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Make Second Captains great again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Murph and his country pages need to clear off.