Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Just decided to have a whisky instead,
    A dram of Cardhu 12yo and may have a redbreast after if I'm feeling devilish

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

mfceiling wrote: »
    Just finished a bottle of Brewdog Punk and a bottle of 8 degrees Hurricane IPA. Both were a lovely drop.

4 pack of punk ipa cans for a tenner round the corner. Had those tonight. Feel dirty for loving McGargles Big Bangin IPA, but it's bloody awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

dregin wrote: »
    4 pack of punk ipa cans for a tenner round the corner. Had those tonight. Feel dirty for loving McGargles Big Bangin IPA, but it's bloody awesome.

McGargles has a funny rep... but it is made by River Rye, a proper microbrewery ran by a great bunch of lads. Doesn't deserve the rep, but does deserve the awards they regularly pick up. It's a quality range once you get past the naff marketing.

Nicest non-Guiness stout/porter I've had in a while is the Trouble Brewing's Dark Arts Porter... They had it in Square Ball a while ago as a nitro version on tap and it was divine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

.ak wrote: »
    Nicest non-Guiness stout/porter I've had in a while is the Trouble Brewing's Dark Arts Porter... They had it in Square Ball a while ago as a nitro version on tap and it was divine.

Second that. Always wary of stouts and porters from bottles too tbh. They're rarely the same at all. Wicklow Brewery do a cracking stout too but it's impossible to find anywhere. Had it at the craft beer festival in the RDS last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,494 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Election up-north tonight lads.

McGargles has a funny rep... but it is made by River Rye, a proper microbrewery ran by a great bunch of lads. Doesn't deserve the rep, but does deserve the awards they regularly pick up. It's a quality range once you get past the naff marketing.

I know. I'm still not 100% on their "craft creds", but they were far more concerned about their image than their beer when they first launched and produced some utter muck. Their west coast IPA was amazing at the craft beer fest either last year or the one before and they've not looked back since.

Best Stout/Porter I've had is O'Hara's 20th anniversary one. It was so, so smooth.

dregin wrote: »
    I know. I'm still not 100% on their "craft creds", but they were far more concerned about their image than their beer when they first launched and produced some utter muck. Their west coast IPA was amazing at the craft beer fest either last year or the one before and they've not looked back since.

Yeah I can defo vouch for their "craft creds", I know the lads that are the brewers for them, the head brewer is a very good mate of mine. They're a small outfit, that defo do it for the love of the product, they often spend time over night there and the lads have spent public holidays there working on new products etc. Now he didn't always work there so there's a good chance him coming in coincided with that turn around in terms of the product but it's always been a small operation and the idea they're not a craft beer is just some myth that the beer community somehow produced through Chinese whispers.

He actually runs the Rye River social media and it's worth watching his live streams in the brewery, they're a gas bunch of lads and you get a pretty open view of what they get up to. They also do open days afaik.

He's doing his own thing under his own steam as well, called Whiplash Brewing, very limited run but if you can get your hands on any of them... oh my.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

If you like chocolate stouts I highly recommend Youngs Double chocolate stout. It's not "the best" craft stout you can get but it absolutely delivers on it's promise of double chocolate.

Founders Breakfast Stout is another favourite of mine

Her parents must have known?!?

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Her parents must have known?!?

Trust you to spot that.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

In case she needs someone to confirm
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fanny_Chmelar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Feckin craft beer hipsters ruining the OT thread :mad: bring back back the NFL talk!!

Though it is better than when the nerds talk IT stuff :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Feckin craft beer hipsters ruining the OT thread :mad: bring back back the NFL talk!!

Though it is better than when the nerds talk IT stuff :D

I was delighted with myself last night as I managed to sort out an issue with multiple accounts on my outlook

Fecking guy who configured it got the permissions all wrong

Trust you to spot that.

What can i say...It's a gift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Scythica

Down in Devon/Cornwall Tribute is really common. Really nice. Quite a few others too to be fair.

Gin is where its at though. Ever tried fever tree tonic? It'll change your life

Scythica wrote: »
    Down in Devon/Cornwall Tribute is really common. Really nice. Quite a few others too to be fair.

we shall be opening a bottle of redbreast 21yo soon....Keep your Queen mother juice :D:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Erik Shin wrote: »
    we shall be opening a bottle of redbreast 21yo soon....Keep your Queen mother juice :D:D

Only just got your name..

Really? Subtlety isn't normally my strong suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Your wife must be delighted.

Buer wrote: »
    Your wife must be delighted.

Why was Pickarooney hanging around my wife ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

The boxing love in after that fight is nauseating.

Thought it was an embarrassment for Bellew myself.

Conor McGregor has changed boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Scythica wrote: »

Fever tree <3

We have a gin bar. Currently have Hendricks, tanqueray (regular, prefer it to the 10), boyles, berthas revenge, Shepards purse, old toms bath tub and dingle.

Uncle toms is spectacular. Expensive but spectacular.

Oh and for those craft beer fans/hipsters, have ye tried out the new pub in grangegorman? Called the barbers and it is a functioning barbers as well as a pub. Serious selection of beer, including dark arts porter (in bottles only) but they have a rye ale called rust bucket and it's amazing.

Good pub. Decent live music too. I'm biased cos I know the owner, but I had fun there. Decent screens for watching the rugby there too.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

sullivlo wrote: »
    Fever tree <3

We have a gin bar. Currently have Hendricks, tanqueray (regular, prefer it to the 10), boyles, berthas revenge, Shepards purse, old toms bath tub and dingle.

Uncle toms is spectacular. Expensive but spectacular.

I like fever tree, apart from the time I got charged 6 euro for it in my local.

We should have a rugby beers in the Gin Palace.

Stheno wrote: »
    I like fever tree, apart from the time I got charged 6 euro for it in my local.

We should have a rugby beers in the Gin Palace.

The Tesco own brand finest tonic (not available down south but Tesco at banbridge stock it) is nice. As is the aldi version of fever tree.

I go fever tree for the first few while I can still taste the difference and then switch to whatever generic they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

sullivlo wrote: »
    Oh and for those craft beer fans/hipsters, have ye tried out the new pub in grangegorman? Called the barbers and it is a functioning barbers as well as a pub. Serious selection of beer, including dark arts porter (in bottles only) but they have a rye ale called rust bucket and it's amazing.

Good pub. Decent live music too. I'm biased cos I know the owner, but I had fun there. Decent screens for watching the rugby there too.

Yeah I like some of the Kinnegar stuff all right. Their Yannaroddy Porter is good. I even like their red ale, Devils Backbone, which would be unusual for me to like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

sullivlo wrote:

Rust Bucket is from the Kinnegar Brewery in Donegal. Their beers are all excellent.

Was in Kelly's in Clontarf yesterday. They're stocking a few bottles of Sink The Bismarck, formerly the strongest beer in the world at 41%, made by Brewdog. A bottle costs €109! Asked the manager about it....tells me it's not pleasant. Collector's item only.

Buer wrote: »
    Rust Bucket is from the Kinnegar Brewery in Donegal. Their beers are all excellent.

Was in Kelly's in Clontarf yesterday. They're stocking a few bottles of Sink The Bismarck, formerly the strongest beer in the world at 41%, made by Brewdog. A bottle costs €109! Asked the manager about it....tells me it's not pleasant. Collector's item only.

Yeah, that's something I don't understand..A beer you can't drink...Does not compute ;)

Had the iron man barley wine yesterday, very drinkable even at 11°