Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Sex worker.

Is that what we're supposed to call prostitutes these days??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Sex worker. Is that what we're supposed to call prostitutes these days??

Hooker says I first started prostituting in New York. Sean says "Is that where you first 'started to practice' ". Gas that this woman gets addicted to drugs, go walking the streets for money, and yet it's still the man's fault.

I had to laugh when she outlined how she set out to get her friend off drugs and ended up getting addicted herself!

Still a bit unsure about that one, Paddy. I thought she went hooking to pay for her friend's habit, but she did say that she was addicted herself, so I'm not sure.

She was definitely addicted first.

Started on the heroin at 32, prostituting herself at 33.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ruhama over egging the pudding as usual to get more funding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

The MSM wouldn't have a prob with "fake news " if they didn't keep fecking lying to us all the time.

Remember koln in Germany ?

It shouldn't have taken social media to break a story about a thousand strong rape gang wandering around on new years .

But it did cause the cops , media , and politicians all colluded to cover it up for over a month .

Fact is the nutters are more credible now. And that's solely down to the media failures of the past

The MSM wouldn't have a prob with "fake news " if they didn't keep fecking lying to us all the time.

I think the word fake is not appropriate for this when talking about the main stream media. Everybody could forgive a journalist for making a mistake and you would think RTE would reflect on their own "fake" Father Reynolds story before casting aspersions (and looking down their noses) at one man band media sources.

But there is a difference between genuinely making a mistake, and falsely BIASED reporting orchestrated to present the view of the media group and push for their preferred candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I think the word fake is not appropriate for this when talking about the main stream media. Everybody could forgive a journalist for making a mistake and you would think RTE would reflect on their own "fake" Father Reynolds story before casting aspersions (and looking down their noses) at one man band media sources.

But there is a difference between genuinely making a mistake, and falsely BIASED reporting orchestrated to present the view of the media group and push for their preferred candidates.

I'm not sure what I was listening to, but they were talking about the difference between fake news and false news, and how a lot of people don't see this difference.

False news = genuinely reported, but ultimately wrong. Could be down to poor journalism, bad sources, etc.
    Fake news = knowingly incorrect news, portrayed as real.

I think this will become more important over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Has this term fake news just come about since trump ran for election? Don't remember hearing the term before last summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Jesus. I'm from Tipperary and I need subtitles to understand Mattie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Who makes up this silly rubbish about scoring exam marks for the government? Childish and cringe worthy.

This Tanya is typical of women driving a social agenda that encourages the fragmentation of families & disenfranchisement of fathers.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Jesus. I'm from Tipperary and I need subtitles to understand Mattie.

Surprisingly poor performance from Moore this morning, I was looking forward to hear him giving Dermot O'leary a much needed filleting.

He never came close to landing a blow of any note.
    Way to much hot air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

Surprisingly poor performance from Moore this morning, I was looking forward to hear him giving Dermot O'leary a much needed filleting.
    When I heard Moore and Dermot O'Leary were going to be on, I too thought - this'll be good, sparks will fly here.

They didn't.

And it's not as if O'Leary didn't provide opportunities - I'd have some sympathy for Bus Eireann, but he was trying every trick in the book. Going on about how every gate post (i.e. small hamlet) is entitled to a proper large-sized Bus Eireann bus, and to attempt to provide minibuses to said locations is treating people who live there like "second-class citizens". He also tried to drag the incomprehensible Mattie McGrath into a discussion about trains, but thankfully Sean cut him off there and said we're here to talk about buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Way to much hot air.

Moore belives that because 1/3 of the country live in the greater Dublin area the other 2/3 should whistle dixie. He is the ultimate right wing 'money makes the man' gobshyte. Mattie mightn't be the most coherent but he put moore in his box when he attempted a childish and bad tasting remark about it being a bus service and not an ambulance service.

Way to much hot air.

Moore is the typical D4 type that thinks because 1/3 of the population live in the greater dublin are then the other 2/3 should whistle dixie. Mattie might not be the most coherent but he put moore back in his box when he attempted a childish and bad tasting remark about it being a bus service and not an ambulance service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

This TDI is boiling my pissed. Heso only short of saying cars shouldn't be on the road.
    He'd be better governing the country than making stupid laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He's not at all saying that cars shouldn't be on the road, but that motorists need to give cyclists space. It's a pretty straightforward law and long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭parasite

Doesn't seem like something that will be enforced often, I do wish SO'R or PK would refrain from reading out those anti-cycling texts by simpletons, aim for a higher standard than Daily Mail comments please.

Paul Murphy really gets on my goat!!!!! Piss off and go pay your way Murphy.

It's laughable hearing Murphy going on about the 'establishment' Is this the same establishment that made himself and Joe Higgins very wealthy men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

When asked how he would penalise those wasting water, he had no answer. None!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

It's laughable hearing Murphy going on about the 'establishment' Is this the same establishment that made himself and Joe Higgins very wealthy men?

I would tend to disagree, it's people who were taken in by their insidious and outdated 'policies' and didn't look below the rhetoric and cant, and see the way they expect the hardworking taxpayer to foot the bill for everything.It was those who raised these people to position they are in now.

There are others in the same boat, a large percentage of whom have the safety net of the State job to fall back on when the paucity of their politics is finally laid bare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

When asked how he would penalise those wasting water, he had no answer. None!!!!

I missed the beginning of this discussion. He skirted around that question alright. When he speaks in relation to water leaks about first fix or a second fix is he talking about council house property or private house property ? I'm a bit old fashioned at times and call my water bill my 'water and sewerage' bill harking back to the days when I paid it to the county council.

A few of my friends who are anti water charges and still call me an ejit for paying my water bill say they would have no problem paying the seweage charge but stick to their guns regarding the water charges. Half a loaf is better than no bread as they say. It would be interesting to know how many on the anti side would consider paying sewerage charges only. I'm assuming the 'wastewater removed' on Irish water bills refers to sewerage. Even saying the word brings memories of a blocked sewer and the pong that lingers in the nose for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Considering he's against meters how is he going to find those wasting water ... a spoofer of the first order :eek:

This row over county boundaries between Waterford & Kilkenny is utter nonsense. I never heard such crap. There's far too much emphasis on counties in this country and anyone who lives near a county border knows that it bedevils all sorts of public services, even down to who can collect your bins. If I had my way, I'd reduce the number of local authorities in this country to a half dozen. That's all we need. Less borders & fewer politicians, better all round for citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

This row over county boundaries between Waterford & Kilkenny is utter nonsense. I never heard such crap.
    You and I might think so, but you would be surprised at the emotions that are attached to what are, after all, Brit-imposed boundaries.

I'm surprised that you "never heard such crap" - there was equal amounts of wailing and gnashing of teeth when it was proposed to re-draw the Clare boundary to give parts of it to Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

serfboard wrote:
    I'm surprised that you "never heard such crap" - there was equal amounts of wailing and gnashing of teeth when it was proposed to re-draw the Clare boundary to give parts of it to Limerick.

Same when they tried to put the Roscommon side of Athlone into Westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭citykat

What's with all the plugging of Callans kicks? Whats the point of having a show?

Is that Ruth Coppinger trying to throw her weight around and threaten the government!!!!!! I think she's fallen foul of that old fallibility of believing your own publicity :)