Garda assaulted by two teenagers while onlookers filmed attack - what would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

If it were just me, probably not. Let's be real here - if these two scumbags cared so little that they assaulted a Gardaí, what would they do to me?

You could go for help and call more gardai though :) If I was alone I wouldn't physically intervene unless I had a weapon and they didn't. I know how it would end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Depends how likely I was to get the crap kicked out of me if I intervened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sometimes I don't understand our court system.

The guy was convicted of violent disorder in February 2016 and placed on probation for 12 months. 4 months later he attacks a Garda. The court hears evidence that he has actual difficulty understanding right from wrong, and has a high risk of reoffending.

He gets convicted again, and walks free from the court to be sentenced in two months' time. Even though all of the evidence presented to the court indicates that he represents a large risk to the public and is likely to reoffend between now and sentencing.

Why is this guy not being placed in a secure mental health facility?

In terms of the OP, yeah bystander effect is a thing. The presence of the Garda also changes things a bit - people assume that a person in a position of authority has things under control and are even less likely to intervene. The people standing around filming likely didn't think there was anything "wrong" and thought they were filming an arrest, like so many people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

vicwatson wrote: »
    What a bad LIDL driver, he drives you to the bank to validate a credit card and then wouldn't wait for you:rolleyes: Terrible taxi service. I'd go to Aldi next time

It was of course a wonderful kindness; I am visibly disabled and old.

But of course you are deliberately missing the point and I wonder why? Interesting that you do that. Really revealing.

And yes, a minute would not have hurt anyone anyways. The need was of an old man lying bleeding. I would spare time anytime . Just to call an ambulance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Wibbs wrote: »
    I've personally noticed in situations like that the elderly are much more likely to come to someone's aid. I thought maybe because of a different generation thing going on, but I also noticed under 18's were more likely to help too. Maybe they feel they have less to lose compared to someone who is 30?

I think it says more about the decline of social responsibility in recent times, than having less to lose.

Gardai advise the public not to get involved in anything so ho hum. Pretty sure they specifically don't want people to get involved when they're carrying out their duties.
    Great stuff from the courts though it has to be said. Bravo.

mike_ie wrote: »
    I think it says more about the decline of social responsibility in recent times, than having less to lose.
    Aye, sure the whole world is ****ed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

mike_ie wrote: »
    Just catching up with the news from home, and I was a surprised and disappointed to read this story, where a Garda was assaulted in the middle of the day, while onlookers stood back and filmed with their phones.

Taken from here:

I don't have the most love for the Gardai myself at times, but I'd like to think that if I saw anybody get kicked on the ground, that I might try to do *something* about it. I can understand the mentality where someone might stay out of it because they're outnumbered, and afraid of getting punched or hit themselves, but the mentality of an entire group that would stand back and film it for youtube posterity simply baffles me.

Would you step in if you saw someone getting kicked on the ground? Or would you be one of those who stood back to film it for youtube likes? What would you do??

Those two probably saw the video below at some stage and saw it as a chance :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

What would I do?....Well given that I would have zero respect for either of them in that fight, I would just walk past and ignore it.
    Better than ending up as a wally getting beaten up, sued or arrested or all 3 over the kinds of people you have grown to despise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Sorry couldn't and wouldn't stand there and watch ,I'd be diving in and cracking heads little feral animals need to be taught a very harsh and painful lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Having a 1.5kg Titanium U-Lock is handy for just such an occasion. Probably more effective than a night stick.
    seamus wrote: »
    Why is this guy not being placed in a secure mental health facility?

Because theres only one, the CMH, and its heavily oversubscribed. We used to have loads of looney bins but phased them out for Prisons. Now we have a drought in both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Given our dysfunctional legal system and the number of scrotes going around with concealed knives, I would think twice about intervening.

Call the guards for some sort of back up, yes, but by the time anything arrives it's likely to be all over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

gctest50 wrote: »
    Those two probably saw the video below at some stage and saw it as a chance :

a chance for what ?
    to avenge the lawful (following various investigations) arrest of a violent armed criminal junkie by a lone police man who was forced to defend himself with the least aggressive tool at his disposal.

as happens so often some one puts up a out of context video that causes outrage in the small minded and forgets about it before the investigations and full facts are known.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-pepper-spray-homeless-man-dublin-investigation-2087623-May2015/

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/gsoc-finds-garda-s-use-of-pepper-spray-justified-1.2202318