Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Hope you are all tucked up and getting a good night's sleep and ready for ACTION tomorrow! Very best of luck, have a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Thursday – REST

This was supposed to be a running day but I switched with Friday as couldn’t be bothered going out in the cold. The Raynauds is at its worst when it’s a damp cold and it has been quite painful the last few days. Bring on the warm weather training !!

Friday – Easy

A FREEZING, mucky, slow plod around the trails in St.Anne’s. Only really started to warm up towards the end. Spent the whole time dreaming of the breakfast and coffee I was going to treat myself to afterwards.
    • 6.0 miles @ 9:46 (trail)

Saturday – Easy

A local loop with strides as prep for tomorrow. All grand until the last mile along Clonliffe Road when I ran unexpectedly into hoards of GAA fans heading to Croker. On a Saturday night :confused::confused: Although I can't really talk :rolleyes:
    • 3.0 miles @ 8:59 (path)

Sunday – National Masters XC (Waterford) 4K

Well, this was just fab. Loved every mucky minute. After a season of flat, dry, warm XC races this was the coldest, wettest, toughest, hilliest XC race I’ve ever done. As we approached Waterford in the team Toyota, the Sat Nav woman was insisting we had another 5 minutes to our destination but we could see the course across the road, literally on a hillside, and could make out swarms of juveniles in club vests hurtling down. :eek: no turning back now. I made some wardrobe adjustments to include a buff, extra sleeves and a t-shirt under my singlet. Just as we were doing our strides there was a sleet shower. It was Baltic. Lined up with team mates, bang and off we went. One short (1K) and 2 long (1500m) loops to make up the 4K. Each lap involved a long zig-zag climb up to the top of the course and then a steep downhill at the end. There were no flat bits! While the climb was never steep it just went on for ever and got longer with each lap. The downhill was fun, and would make for a very fast finish. 1st lap was grand, bit congested and a few loose elbows flying. Tried to make a bit of a break on the 2nd lap but figured I would probably die on the 3rd lap if I did. I was working hard, holding my place, so no point being a damn fool about it as someone wise once said. Started to feel it on the 3rd lap. Some minor ‘FlAbs’ which thankfully didn’t get any worse and eased off once the pace slowed for the final drag uphill. Lost a few places here but not loads. Was able to give the final downhill a bit of welly and made up a couple of places here to finish in a heap. Very tired but very happy. I knew I had given it my best shot and looking at the results later (when the feeling had finally returned to my fingers) I had beaten a rake of people who had been ahead of me in the Dublin Masters in January. The turnout was massive (200 or thereabouts) and the standard was very high (the winner is an Olympian – Sydney 2000). Dubgal had a super race, finishing well up the ranks and her team were rewarded with some national bling-ba-bling.
    • 4.7 miles total (grass, muck)

And the metrics are complete! I’ll dig this out again in October and aim to improve those stats.

Race Distance (Garmin) Time Place (F) Place (AG) % F Winner % of Field Standard
    Dublin Novice 4K 2.45 m 17:48 53 n/a 120% 71% County / Novice
    Teachers 2m 2.18 m 15:43 21 2 124% 47% BHAA
    Leinster Novice 4K 2.20 m 16:25 83 n/a 127% 84% Province / Novice
    Irish Life 6K 3.69 m 27:33 17 5 127% 44% BHAA
    Race 1 Dunboyne 2m 2.00 m 14:25 18 n/a 111% 16% Meet & Train
    Race 2 Tymon Park 2m 1.90 m 13:46 34 n/a 112% 25% Meet & Train
    Dublin Masters 3K 1.91 m 14:53 79 17 128% 53% County / Masters
    Race 3 Lucan 2m 2.00 m 14:24 38 n/a 113% 26% Meet & Train
    Race 4 Swords 2m 2.00 m 13:46 22 n/a 111% 22% Meet & Train
    National Masters 4k 2.45 m 18:31 105 21 125% 55% National / Masters

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES (Taper): 23.5

So what’s next ? National Masters Indoors on 5/3, Road Relays on 23/4 (I hope! Lots of new, speedy masters in the club, fingers crossed I make it on to the team), Leinster Masters Track on 4/6 and ‘the Nats’ on 2/7. Will include some of the Graded Meets, the Meet & Train summer (road) league and no doubt some other races along the way before going cold turkey on races and putting in some much needed base building. Bring on the next phase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Bungy Girl wrote: »

Sunday – National Masters XC (Waterford) 4K

Well, this was just fab. Loved every mucky minute. After a season of flat, dry, warm XC races this was the coldest, wettest, toughest, hilliest XC race I’ve ever done. As we approached Waterford in the team Toyota, the Sat Nav woman was insisting we had another 5 minutes to our destination but we could see the course across the road, literally on a hillside, and could make out swarms of juveniles in club vests hurtling down. :eek: no turning back now. I made some wardrobe adjustments to include a buff, extra sleeves and a t-shirt under my singlet. Just as we were doing our strides there was a sleet shower. It was Baltic. Lined up with team mates, bang and off we went. One short (1K) and 2 long (1500m) loops to make up the 4K. Each lap involved a long zig-zag climb up to the top of the course and then a steep downhill at the end. There were no flat bits! While the climb was never steep it just went on for ever and got longer with each lap. The downhill was fun, and would make for a very fast finish. 1st lap was grand, bit congested and a few loose elbows flying. Tried to make a bit of a break on the 2nd lap but figured I would probably die on the 3rd lap if I did. I was working hard, holding my place, so no point being a damn fool about it as someone wise once said. Started to feel it on the 3rd lap. Some minor ‘FlAbs’ which thankfully didn’t get any worse and eased off once the pace slowed for the final drag uphill. Lost a few places here but not loads. Was able to give the final downhill a bit of welly and made up a couple of places here to finish in a heap. Very tired but very happy. I knew I had given it my best shot and looking at the results later (when the feeling had finally returned to my fingers) I had beaten a rake of people who had been ahead of me in the Dublin Masters in January. The turnout was massive (200 or thereabouts) and the standard was very high (the winner is an Olympian – Sydney 2000). Dubgal had a super race, finishing well up the ranks and her team were rewarded with some national bling-ba-bling.
    • 4.7 miles total (grass, muck)
    Bring on the next phase!

Well done G ! Bits in bold are always sweet when you get it right :D Nice to see plenty more races in store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

To quote my clubmate #1 after the race: "I DETEST XC and I don't intend on doing another one anytime"

Clubmate #2: "After today I felt like giving up running. Was absolutely fecked after the race."

To quote Bungygirl: "This was just fab. Loved every mucky minute."

Hilarious! You are unique!

Well done BG, delighted it all came together for you in the end and brilliantly well done on passing those girls who'd beaten you in Dublin. Fantastic. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Well, this was just fab. Loved every mucky minute. After a season of flat, dry, warm XC races this was the coldest, wettest, toughest, hilliest XC race I’ve ever done.

That says it all :) Unreal BG, well done and a fantastic way to close out the XC season. Well done on putting in the hard work, it's more than paid off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Well done at the weekend! That's a super result and great to be making gains like that in such a field of runners. Delighted to hear Dubgal did so well also!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Excellent stuff, G, you timed your season well to peak at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Nice to finish off with a good performance and claiming back some spots from previous competitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Well done G. The race and season came right for you in the end. Very nice work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

You totally rock! It was a hardcore day alright. Well done on the end of season high and see you fri :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Just catching up now. Well done at the weekend. Glad you enjoyed it !

Well done G ! Bits in bold are always sweet when you get it right :D Nice to see plenty more races in store.

Thanks, J. Yup, plenty more races but they will mostly be short so I can fit in some training around them!
    Mulberry wrote: »
    To quote my clubmate #1 after the race: "I DETEST XC and I don't intend on doing another one anytime"

Clubmate #2: "After today I felt like giving up running. Was absolutely fecked after the race."

To quote Bungygirl: "This was just fab. Loved every mucky minute."

Hilarious! You are unique!

Well done BG, delighted it all came together for you in the end and brilliantly well done on passing those girls who'd beaten you in Dublin. Fantastic. :)

Ha ha that's so funny. What can I say ? I don't really see the point of XC unless it promotes serious suffering ;)
    Neady83 wrote: »
    That says it all :) Unreal BG, well done and a fantastic way to close out the XC season. Well done on putting in the hard work, it's more than paid off.

Thanks, Neady. Took me long enough to get it right :rolleyes:. I'll definitely approach XC differently next season as a result. And have a word with the weather gods while I'm at it :pac::pac::pac:
    Ososlo wrote: »
    Well done at the weekend! That's a super result and great to be making gains like that in such a field of runners. Delighted to hear Dubgal did so well also!!!

Cheers, A. Dubgal was at the pointy end of things and I was fortunate not to get lapped :o. That's the beauty of the masters events though - loads of individual battles going on throughout the field.
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Excellent stuff, G, you timed your season well to peak at the end.

Quite accidentally I have to say, but nice to end on a high.
    laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Nice to finish off with a good performance and claiming back some spots from previous competitors.

Yeah, possibly more to do with having an appalling race in January rather than an amazing one on Sunday, but hey I'll take it :D
    denis b wrote: »
    Well done G. The race and season came right for you in the end. Very nice work.

Thanks, D. Just what I needed to get my mojo back anyway.
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    You totally rock! It was a hardcore day alright. Well done on the end of season high and see you fri :)

Straight back at ya! Huge congrats on the well-deserved bling ; that medal holder must be creaking from the weight at this stage ?
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    Just catching up now. Well done at the weekend. Glad you enjoyed it !

I did ENJOY!!!!!! (Thanks)

20 weeks to the Nats! And another phase of training begins with some shorter, faster training on the horizon. Woo hoo!

Monday – Easy

Lovely out and back run along of Griffith Ave. Thought it was going to be freezing so layered up and put on double gloves but I was overdressed as it happened. Even the wind on the return leg wasn’t cold. Very enjoyable run.
    • 5.0 miles @ 9:15 (path)

Tuesday - Club Session

Coach had taken pity on those of us who had raced on Sunday and said we didn’t have to do the full session if the legs weren’t up to it. Very pleased with myself that I didn’t wuss out after two sets despite having been given an out. Completed the 3 sets of 4 x 400m. Last set was tough but manageable. Splits range 1:33 – 1:38 and average pace was 6:21 min/mile. Faster on average than previous sessions in Sept, Nov and Jan. Have awrarded myself a halo.

3 x 4 x 400m (45/30/15 rec) 90 between sets

Set 1 Set 2 Set 3
    06:17 06:19 06:16
    06:11 06:16 06:18
    06:13 06:22 06:33
    06:24 06:33 06:33
    Average: 06:16 06:22 06:25

• 5.2 miles total (track)

Wednesday – S&C, Recovery, Cheerleading

Ran to Pilates, did Pilates, ran to Raheny, cheerleaded (or cheerled ?) at the winter league 2 miler, ran home.
    • 6.2 miles total (path)

Thursday – REST

Legs feeling a bit weary after all that so a well-timed rest day.

Is that the same as 3x1600 or am I missing something? Either way your mile PB is looking soft already! Great session.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Is that the same as 3x1600 or am I missing something? Either way your mile PB is looking soft already! Great session.

I presume it's more like 12 x 400m but with a longer recovery after every 4 reps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

45 second recovery
    30 second recovery
    15 second recovery
    90 second recovery
    45 second recovery
    30 second recovery
    15 second recovery
    90 second recovery
    45 second recovery
    30 second recovery
    15 second recovery

D'oh! I see it now, it was all in BG's post. #blind

What they said /\/\/\/\/\

Although it may as well be 3 x 1600 as the recoveries are so short :eek:.Which can be good because you don't have time to think about it. Was happy with the session all right compared to earlier attempts. Progress :D.

How's the recovery going ?

Friday – Speed Session (Indoors)

Headed to the new National Indoor Arena for this. What a great set up! All very flash, shiny and new. First time to run on ‘the boards’ and it’s very different from the outdoor track – no wind for a start :D. But the air is very dry, and you get very hot (and sweaty, ugh!) very quickly. I had the place to myself, but was advised RTE were on their way to set up for the Senior Nats and once they did I’d be thrown out, but thankfully there was no sign of them and I got the full session done.

Coach had suggested : 4 x 400m @ 1500m pace (90 secs rec) followed by 4 x 200m @ 800m (2 mins rec). I cheated ever so slightly and took an extra minute between the last 400m and the first 200m. Target splits were <1:30 and < 0:41 so well under target and happy with the consistency.

Indoors 4 x 400m (90 secs), 4 x 200m (2 mins). 2.5 mins between sets

400m 01:29 01:26 01:26 01:24
    200m 00:38 00:38 00:38 00:38

Stopped off on the way back to do an extended cool down in the Phoenix Park.
    • 7.0 miles total (track, path, trail)

Saturday – Easy

Legs in a heap after the track so canned the planned hills session, then canned the Plan B which was an easy parkrun and had a lie on instead :rolleyes:. Just went for an uneventful, easy plod up to St.Anne’s, half the trail loop then back home.
    • 8.0 miles @ 9:28 (path, trail)

Sunday – LSR

Junior parkrun with a very reluctant BG Jr., followed by some bowling and gambling on the slots in Leisureplex which cheered her up no end :rolleyes:. Eventually got out for my run and headed out towards the promenade. Met Murph coming the opposite way, moving well for someone who raced an Ultra last week. Continued up to the Bull Wall, rang along the beach, into St.Anne’s at Watermill Road and ran clockwise to the main gate and back home via Killester and Griffith Ave. Longest run in a while and also a fairly heavy week in terms of mileage. Tired now.
    • 11.0 miles @ 9:15 (path, trail, beach)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 42.4

Monday – REST

Scheduled. Too much to do.

Tuesday – REST

Unscheduled. Coming down with a cold .

Wednesday – S&C, Easy

Felt much better after a good sleep. Pilates class followed by a loop around the neighbourhood.
    • 6.0 miles @ 9:01 min/mile (path)

Thursday – REST

Flight delays and a longer than expected day of travelling meant another unscheduled rest day. This week is not working out well :(.

Friday – Easy

In Seville for the weekend so headed out in the morning for some tourism on the run. Ran along the Guadalquivir on a traffic-free path, encountering a mix of surfaces. It was chilly enough to start but warmed up soon enough, even if the sun didn’t break through. All the locals were wrapped up in their winter woollies while I was down to t-shirt and shorts after the first mile :rolleyes:.
    • 6.3 miles @ 9:12 (path, trail, cobbles)

Saturday – Easy

Ran in the opposite direction this time, along the river and into Maria Luisa park. The surface in the park was compact sand – nice underfoot, and the park itself was beautiful. The main hazard was squashed oranges everywhere :D. Did a few loops then returned the same way. Would have liked to have done a race but there was nothing locally. Really made me appreciate how lucky we are with parkrun, and the whole racing scene in Ireland.
    • 6.2 miles @ 9:06 (path, trail, sand, cobbles)

Sunday – REST

More delays on the return trip home thanks to a backlog caused by the latest whatsitsname storm. I had secured a pass to get my LSR done in the late afternoon and was looking forward to it when plans were scuppered by a gang of yoofs throwing a rock through my window :mad:. By the time I’d called the guards, located an emergency glazier and dealt with all the fallout the opportunity and the will had passed.

Not a good week :(.

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES : 18.5 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Jazus that shocking, truly shocking.........only 18 miles for the week ;)

Terrible about your window too!

TbL

Sorry to read about your window G.

That's like my weekly mileage these days...at least you managed to get away for the weekend.

Jazus that shocking, truly shocking.........only 18 miles for the week ;)

I know! So ashamed :o.
    Sorry to read about your window G.

That's like my weekly mileage these days...at least you managed to get away for the weekend.

That is true, shouldn't be complaining really. It was a nice break and it's always nice to explore a new city on the run.

Monday – Easy

Enjoyable run up to the Wooden Bridge and back. Lovely clear night with minimal wind.
    • 6.0 miles @ 8:48 (path, grass)

Tuesday – Club Session

Ugh such weather. Was going to run over to the club but took a lift with Murph instead – a good decision given the downpour! Coach gave me my own speedy session to do in advance of the Indoors on Sunday: 4 x 400m (90 secs) and 4 x 200m (2 mins). I did this session about 10 days ago in Abbottstown. So much easier when there’s no wind blowing you sideways and no bucketing rain obscuring your view :rolleyes:. Was in a heap after this, wobbly legs and all. Coach happy with my effort :D.
    Targets were 6 min/mile pace for the 400s and 5:20 min/mile pace for the 200s so not bad on average. Only did a bit of a warm up including some drills and strides and a lap cool down.

400s 06:01 05:58 05:50 06:04 05:58 Avg.
    200s 05:00 05:16 05:07 05:28 05:12 Avg.

• 3.5 miles total (track)

STATS FOR THE MONTH

MILES: 127. Not great, but it was a short month.

S&C: 4 Pilates, 1 Gym. Need to get my act together!

DAYS RUNNING: 21 out of 28

RACES: 2 . Most unlike me

Month 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013
    January 154 141 101 86 0
    February 127 134 109 75 0
    March 114 124 109 0
    April 127 129 101 24
    May 127 133 95 81
    June 110 110 86 72
    July 139 181 2 101
    August 91 208 31 37
    September 136 133 83 43
    October 144 155 93 64
    November 147 170 107 69
    December 105 113 119 94
    281 1515 1666 987 585

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

What are those session paces in terms of race paces?

RayCun wrote: »
    What are those session paces in terms of race paces?

Goal was 1500m pace for the 400s and 800m pace for the 200s. Ended up slightly faster on average, although the recoveries *may* have been on the generous side as I could barely see the watch through the rain :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Goal was 1500m pace for the 400s and 800m pace for the 200s. Ended up slightly faster on average, although the recoveries *may* have been on the generous side as I could barely see the watch through the rain :rolleyes:.

Did similar but shorter session myself this week in prep for 1500 on Sunday, is that your event?

dna_leri wrote: »
    Did similar but shorter session myself this week in prep for 1500 on Sunday, is that your event?

Hi, yeah, planning 1500 plus 800 on Sunday. There's a 4 hour gap scheduled in between those events so should be recovered hopefully! Best of luck to you - the start lists are up on Athletics Ireland website in case you hadn't seen them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

dna_leri wrote: »
    Me too: 2x400 and 4x200 by any chance?
    Hi, yeah, planning 1500 plus 800 on Sunday. There's a 4 hour gap scheduled in between those events so should be recovered hopefully! Best of luck to you - the start lists are up on Athletics Ireland website in case you hadn't seen them.

Waah you said the rude word again start list Best of everything Sunday and see you there :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Me too: 2x400 and 4x200 by any chance?

Waah you said the rude word again start list Best of everything Sunday and see you there :)

To both of you! Battle Of The Mentors!!! :D

I won't be there myself; indoor Nats are way too rich for my blood. Hope there's room for both of ye to add to your medal collections ;)