Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration of step children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Emme wrote: »
    As your husband he is entitled to 50% of your home even if you bought it and if he contributed nothing towards the cost of it.

It doesn't matter where your husband comes from or what his background is. If he was the boy next door I would be saying exactly the same thing. Your relationship is not one of equals. He is making all the decisions. I don't know what would happen if he were to leave and make himself voluntarily homeless (highly unlikely) but would you be any worse off if you were on your own?

I find it a bit strange that he only met one of his children for the first time when that child was 10.

Is he so determined that they come over now before they finish school because they might not qualify for a join family visa when they have finished school? It would make far more sense for them to come over after they have finished school.

I think you should get legal advice about the situation with his children and more importantly, your own position in all of this. You could lose everything you have, if not half.

This isn't true. If op owned the home before they married the most he's entitled to is any contribution he has made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Op where are the two teenage kids going to live if they move over? In the one bedroom apartment with you, your husband and two small children? If you are barely getting by as it is financially adding two teenagers almost adults to the mix is a recipe for disaster especially if your husband is not contributing as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

groovyg wrote: »
    Op where are the two teenage kids going to live if they move over? In the one bedroom apartment with you, your husband and two small children? If you are barely getting by as it is financially adding two teenagers almost adults to the mix is a recipe for disaster especially if your husband is not contributing as it is.

I think that's why she is posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

This isn't true. If op owned the home before they married the most he's entitled to is any contribution he has made.

I'm not a lawyer so I could be wrong. I think the OP should check this out with the solicitor. She is in a very vulnerable position.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/separation_and_divorce/family_home.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Emme wrote: »
    I'm not a lawyer so I could be wrong. I think the OP should check this out with the solicitor. She is in a very vulnerable position.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/separation_and_divorce/family_home.html

Neither am I but my ex was in the same situation as ops husband (in terms of being married to someone after they had bought a house) and wasn't entitled to anything after they split up.
    It's in the second paragraph of this link-

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/problems_in_marriages_and_other_relationships/property_rights_and_the_breakdown_of_a_cohabiting_relationship.html

Edit- the link you quoted is about homes bought by both spouses together which isn't the situation.

Neither am I but my ex was in the same situation as ops husband (in terms of being married to someone after they had bought a house) and wasn't entitled to anything after they split up.
    It's in the second paragraph of this link-

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/problems_in_marriages_and_other_relationships/property_rights_and_the_breakdown_of_a_cohabiting_relationship.html

Edit- the link you quoted is about homes bought by both spouses together which isn't the situation.

I'm glad for the OP's sake but it doesn't change the fact that her husband is ignoring her feelings and is forcing her to accommodate two teenagers in a space that is already overcrowded. There's also the question of who will be supporting them all financially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,006 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi op.

Others have rightly advised seeing a legal professional.
    I would also suggest talking to his family representatives back home. These would be the aunts and uncles if you met them before marriage. I don't like to generalise but marriage customs are quite similar across the continent. When you're having issues you would talk to his "eldets" and they would provide the voice of reason. He is more likely to listen to these people than you. It's a way of letting a spouse complain without the other person blanking them due to irritation.

Without knowing which country he's from all I can say is yes, some guys from home canbe real misogynistic around domestic work and that too is culture at work.. But there are also great guys. So it's not how he's raised but how open minded he is. I'm sorry you found one of the traditional ones. They can drive you mad. Because gender roles extend to finances and the kitchen is the womans responsibility mostly including providing food (it's actually complicated and for the sake of your little ones I would say to read up in depth on cultural practices involving marriage and gender roles or talk to people from his tribe because there are differences between tribes, if only so you andthey understand the culture and your husband better and most important DISCARD the more backwards traditions).

Re his children. Children "belong" to the man in the sense that it is his role to provide. He's probably realised his children don't know him and is desperately trying to remedy that by getting them here so he can say he opened the door to Europe and also have them develop a proper relationship. It would be a mistake to bring them here inthe circumstances you describe but I also understand his motivation. Ultimately you need either counselling because this will end your marriage as it's bringing up hidden or long held resentments that haven't been addressed or you need to separate and he brings his children over himself and is responsible himself.

Culturally you are not responsible for them as they were not raised in your home but you do need to get proper legal advise about it.

Wish you all the best. You must be so stressed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Awful situation to find yourself in op, while culturally it might be ok for him not to help and contribute to the house he's in a new culture now. Do you want your children growing up thinking it's ok to be treated or to act like this?
    While he may want to get his other children into Ireland while he can they cannot stay with you in a one bedroom flat. The situation is already too crowded. The fact he won't discuss it with you either is shocking.
    I really think you need to readdress your relationship, I'd be asking him to leave and set himself up elsewhere until he realises you are a couple not in a dictatorship. I think it's unacceptable for him to expect you just accept this situation. What does he do with the other 60% of his money?

beanbag68 wrote: »
    I have got an Appt with an immigration solicitor next Friday so I will be able to get some questions answered

Why do YOU have an appointment with an immigration solicitor? If he wants to do this, let him do it himself.
    Yes too true..all this has made me realise how little he loves me..I don't want to sacrifice my life anymore. I am disabled and on a small pension. This is why he doesn't give much to the house Aswell...he pays the very least he has to. All my money goes towards household bills etc I buy all the children's clothes second hand. I could go on and on about the hardships but I am in this place because I've allowed it. I have to stop it.

We're getting into "tough love" territory here but yes, you DO have to stop it.

You're disabled and on a pension. You've sacrificed a lot to send money to his children in Africa to give them a good education which he wants to completely waste now by dragging them out of school.

Meanwhile he does the bare minimum to maintain his children in Ireland and you're living hand-to-mouth in a one bedroom apartment (which you provided) with two small children.

He only went to visit them because you persuaded him (and presumably funded it) but he still thinks he can be the "big man" back in Africa, even though he has to borrow money from a family member to bring them here!

Honestly, you're better off on your own and I suspect his kids are better off in Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

You've sacrificed a lot to send money to his children in Africa to give them a good education which he wants to completely waste now by dragging them out of school.

Unless the plan is to get them over here and onto the welfare system eventually. Something I'd not rule out seeing as their father isn't exactly industrious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭MissShihTzu

Unless the plan is to get them over here and onto the welfare system eventually. Something I'd not rule out seeing as their father isn't exactly industrious.

What a ridiculous assertion. Exactly how did you come to this conclusion? You forget something - the father works. He doesn't hand up much money (which is wrong) but he works. The children will be coming over for school. He has to pay for that. The only welfare the kids might be entitled to at the moment is Child Benefit.

The OP is doing the right thing. She needs to see the Immigration solicitor to find out where she stands and to cover herself and her kids.

What a ridiculous assertion. Exactly how did you come to this conclusion? You forget something - the father works. He doesn't hand up much money (which is wrong) but he works. The children will be coming over for school. He has to pay for that. The only welfare the kids might be entitled to at the moment is Child Benefit.

The OP is doing the right thing. She needs to see the Immigration solicitor to find out where she stands and to cover herself and her kids.

Fair enough the children's father works. However:

1) He keeps 60% of the money for himself and his wife owns the apartment they live in.
    2) He also lets her spend all her disability allowance on their household expenses and she has to buy secondhand clothes for her two children.
    3) Despite keeping 60% of his earnings for himself he has to get a loan from his family in Africa to pay for the cost of sending his two older children over to Ireland. So how is he spending the money he keeps for himself while his wife struggles from month to month on her disability allowance and has to buy secondhand clothes for the two younger children?
    4) Even though he is working he is not contributing fairly to the upkeep of his older or younger children and is keeping the majority of his earnings for himself.
    5) He also seems to be happy for his wife and children to live in cramped stressful conditions inconsistent with the European lifestyle he wants for his two older children.

Following this pattern he may be happy for his two older children to claim social welfare, hand some of it up to him and supplement the money he isn't spending on supporting his family.

I think the two older children would be better off finishing their secondary education in Africa. I don't know what opportunities they would have in Ireland if they were to cut off their education and come over a few months before they were supposed to take their final exams. The benefits of life in Europe might be outweighed by them having to cut short their education if they come over now.

I wanted to ask OP. Why does your husband pay only 40% of his salary into the house? Is he the only one paying his children's school fees or is it a joint expense? What happens to the remaining 60%?

Yes, I know Emme. I pointed that out already. There's a lot of assumptions and supposition going on which I don't think is helpful to the OP. We don't know if the children will even be allowed to settle here, but posters are already talking about getting welfare and children being made to give the father money -Please!! As for the OP? She needs to get informed and get smart. I think the lady already said she was getting legal advice which is the best advice I've seen here. She also needs to tell her husband he needs to start upping his contribution. It's not enough.

One more thing I've thought of OP: Doesn't the father have to show proof to Immigration that he has the means to support all the children? That might mean accommodation as well. I'd ask the solicitor when you see him. There's more than one way to skin a cat if you follow me...

Meanwhile, I'd tell him this idea of bringing his older kids over to live in already cramped accommodation isn't even a starter for 10 as things stand. Instead of borrowing money he's going to struggle to pay back, he might like to think about getting a better-paid or second job and finding somewhere more suitable to live. That MIGHT put a stop to his gallop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭shel64

i have read this all through, and to me the question is ,,, if the children arent allowed to enter, will this marriage survive after all this, will OP still be happy with her lot? will her husband be happy that his kids arent here? will all be resentful? and then theres the little ones in the middle of this turmoil, this sounds like the straw that broke the camels back ,,,,sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

shel64 wrote: »
    i have read this all through, and to me the question is ,,, if the children arent allowed to enter, will this marriage survive after all this, will OP still be happy with her lot? will her husband be happy that his kids arent here? will all be resentful? and then theres the little ones in the middle of this turmoil, this sounds like the straw that broke the camels back ,,,,sadly
    I would be concerned that, in the event that the children do come here, the OP will be left having to look after all the children. Given his lack of any responsibility, he could feck off at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

Where are the mothers of these children? Do they even want to come? They will not have done Leaving Cert syllabus. 6 people in a one bedroom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

The whole thing is a mess and I sympathise with you OP.
    While I can understand a parent wanting to see their children your husband is simply being selfish.

He is selfish by wanting to pull his children out of their education to bring them to a foreign country where they will have limited opportunities due to their lack of education. It will be impossible for his children to pick up the Irish curriculum at their age. There`s also the fact they may not be able to work under the conditions of their visa.

He is also being selfish with his money as 40% of his wage is simply not good enough to support a 2 children family.

I'm afraid you need to be stern here. Lay your cards on the table. Tell him you understand his desire to have his children near him but he needs to be realistic.
    He must think of his 2 children here already. Their lives are going to be severely impacted by 6 people living in a one bed flat.
    I feel bullied into accepting a situation I don't want to be part of in order to save my marriage.

Completely the wrong way to view it OP. If your marriage ends as a result of his stubbornness the blame is firmly at his feet.
    You need to think of you and your children.
    Tell him for that reason you will not be allowing any more people to live in your home and there is no negation about it.
    Its his move then.

amtc wrote: »
    Where are the mothers of these children? Do they even want to come? They will not have done Leaving Cert syllabus. 6 people in a one bedroom?

One mother is dead and the other ran away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

Sorry, I should've picked that up.

Anyway point remains they will not have done Leaving Cert syllabus. Hence how will they quality for CAO or pay overseas university fees. Probably wouldn't qualify for habitual residency for social welfare. Plus the two little ones probably don't know them. Plus the housing situation and if I'm frank the relationship situation.

It is a hard one.

Have to jump in here and say that I really cannot see immigration allowing them to come here. If he has no means to support them, no adequate space/room for them to stay and taking them out of education early - Immigration would be mad to allow them entry into the country. Apologies if I cause offence to anyone, but it's just not a logical thing to be doing.

There are so many requirements in order to be eligible for a visa. I just cant see this being allowed. I have no real advice for your relationship OP, but just that your eyes have been opened now, it's up to you what you do from here on in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 beanbag68

Thank you all for your input..it's so good to read all the views...I will see a solicitor on Friday who will advise me on the best route forward. I am looking for a job at the moment and going after my own goals..trying to be mindful of my children.. The funds are still going across to Africa so his children will be ok and well educated..my husbands dream is not my dream we both have to accept we're going different ways..I can't be forced to compromise my living space...as a disabled person I need a certain amount of privacy. Fingers crossed my small children will not notice this bump I'm the road...I can't stop my husband following his dream I just don't have to be part of it.

I hope you have support from friends and family at this time. Breakups can be hard but it's good you recognised that each of you wants a different life. The younger children should be fine in time, living in a cramped stressful environment would have been far harder on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Just when they are almost adults he decides he cannot live without them? Sounds like a
    Last ditch easy visa ride for them,
    Whoever they are. to be awfully honest it seems like you have been his cash cow. He has had two 'wives' already, abandoned two different women and two different sets of children & come
    For his easy ride with you . Now he is utterly disregarding you & your childrens needs & is going his own way again - regardless of the cost to you. Do
    You even know where this
    Money he has been sending has actually
    Gone, or who these 17 & 18 y olds are? Have they medical problems? hIV? Do
    You speak the same language - and properly? Are they men? Will they expect you to wash & clean & put food on the table For Them too? Will you be expected to buy a bigger car tomdrive them around in? Who will buy the beds and matresses? Where will these beds go - will you shove them up against the walls during the day? Will you like yhese strangers? When they tefuse to go back next year what will you do - let them live with you forever, or until they are 24, or 28 - or until they get pregnant? What if they have other half siblings or God forbid Children? And hiw will all this mess affect your children. Don't they have any rights in all this mess too?
    I would change bank account and put all
    Your money into an account he cannot reach immediately and start thinking of the long run. And most of all I would write registered letters to immigration stating you are being forced aginst your will to bring two almost adult strangers here against your will, that you do not agree to it, have no means of supporting or providing for them and are disabled and in a vulnerable position. That should position things clearly . If You have his fill name/names and passport number / new citizen GNIB card details include them too. It sounds like a horrendous situation to be forced against your will into and emotional blackmail over these strangers is no excuse. They are strangers to him too - he abandoned them years ago - two wives and two sets of children. Was he ever married or cluld these even be his sisters children? For all you know they are. Or he is taking payment to bring them over - another common practice. If the expextation is that the taxpayer will
    Foot the bill for them and their education and the rest of their adult lives ( lets face it, they will hardly be going back) you might consider this too - this is also not fair on the irish taxpayer.

You might also find iy of use to
    Get in contact with womens aid - tell them exactly what you said here - you are vulnerable and possibly being exploited, he is leaning on you financially already - you have children and do not want to be finamcially or itherwise reaponsible for these near adults who he has abandoned over 7 or more years ago for the rest of your life. And ask them to help you stop it. You have rights in this too even if you are eztremely subdued in insisting on them. :( what an awful situation to be in.

If I were honest the words golddigger would spring to mind - normally I would only use it for certain women - in this case it also sadly would seem to strongly apply :( Perhaps a proposed separation might focus his attention.

Definately empty your joint bank account of all YOUR savings ( leave his) & remove them from his control. I think this will not end happily for you or your children unless to take strong steps now and most of all a tegistered letter to GNIB and immigration.

Just wSounds like a
    Last ditch easy visa ride .. Have they medical problems? hIV? Do
    You speak the same language and properly?..... Was he ever married or cluld these even be his sisters children? For all you know they are. Or he is taking payment to bring them over - another common practice

That was a strong post with a lot of good advice but the above jumped out at me. HIV? Common practice to pay for transportation of children that may actually be extended relatives?

Wow! Would you say the same if the children were from south America or Asia? Or is HIV only a consideration for African children? You do realise there are many people without the disease who happen to be in the majority? Just like in the rest of the world.vFurthermore this is her husband and she's lived in his country. She can easily find out if the children are his it's not like the entire continent doesn't have internet or indeed registries of birth where one phone call will sort it out. OR his own relatives or the Irish embassy for information.

The husband sounds like a piece of work and it's best to probably leave him and focus on her children but introducing fears that are based on extremely negative stereotypes based on his being African is wrong. Can't even believe HIV is getting mentioned. Because I doubt it would otherwise if the husband was from anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

That was a strong post with a lot of good advice but the above jumped out at me. HIV? Common practice to pay for transportation of children that may actually be extended relatives?

Wow! Would you say the same if the children were from south America or Asia? Or is HIV only a consideration for African children? You do realise there are many people without the disease who happen to be in the majority? Just like in the rest of the world.vFurthermore this is her husband and she's lived in his country. She can easily find out if the children are his it's not like the entire continent doesn't have internet or indeed registries of birth where one phone call will sort it out. OR his own relatives or the Irish embassy for information.

The husband sounds like a piece of work and it's best to probably leave him and focus on her children but introducing fears that are based on extremely negative stereotypes based on his being African is wrong. Can't even believe HIV is getting mentioned. Because I doubt it would otherwise if the husband was from anywhere else.

Epidemic amongst children (& adults many of whom die of its consequences & leave the children orphaned) on the continent of Africa so yes a valid question and concern - particularly if she is going to be responsible for their health, costs & medical bills or welfare for the rest of her life.

Whatever about the children's health the OP is definitely being exploited by this man. The last time she posted on this thread she said she was going for legal advice so hopefully the solicitor pointed her in the right direction.

It's also a serious epidemic in Russia, India and SE Asia. Yet I doubt anyone would be specifying HIV testing for children from there! Why not just write medical conditions? Because even diabetes can be just as stressful to manage. Or any other chronic illness.

You are so wrong for even bringing it up. Stigma is a real issue for positive patients and you're combining that with stereotyping Africans. This lady has known her husband years before marriage and lived in his country. I'm sure she'd know what the situation on the ground is. Anyone bringing in children from any country would sensibly have medical checks. Since I doubt the children will be coming here to live with her it's a moot point anyway.

Your post is full of negative stereotyping based on nothing more than his place of origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

It's also a serious epidemic in Russia, India and SE Asia. Yet I doubt anyone would be specifying HIV testing for children from there! Why not just write medical conditions? Because even diabetes can be just as stressful to manage. Or any other chronic illness.

You are so wrong for even bringing it up. Stigma is a real issue for positive patients and you're combining that with stereotyping Africans. This lady has known her husband years before marriage and lived in his country. I'm sure she'd know what the situation on the ground is. Anyone bringing in children from any country would sensibly have medical checks. Since I doubt the children will be coming here to live with her it's a moot point anyway.

Your post is full of negative stereotyping based on nothing more than his place of origin.

Its not just sterotyping, its a a fact, HIV is vastly more prevalent in Africa than any of the places you mentioned - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HIV/AIDS_in_Africa

This guy abandoned his children years ago..if he really gave a damn about them he wouldn't have left them on continent thousands of miles away. His idea of bringing to Ireland is only because it will entail next to no effort or fronting up of cash on his part. The OP or the Irish taxpayer will end up footing the bill.

They are already in a cramped living situation with 2 adults and 2 kids in a one bedroom apartment, its utter madness to move two essentially complete strangers in. Talk about terrible living conditions.

If the OP's husband wasn't from Africa but the situation was exactly the same would you still accuse people of negative stereotyping? Whatever about the children's health and no matter where this man comes from he seems to be exploiting the OP. If he grew up next door to her I'd be giving her exactly the same advice.