Miserable Irish weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Andrewf20 wrote: »

I love a good run in crap weather once layered up. It really does blow out the cobwebs to go out on a miserable dark evening to do a 5km run. You come home to a warm shower and pjs feeling a little bit like bear grylls.

I absolutely love running in the rain. It's one of my favourite things. Coming in soaked to the bone and having a hot shower and cup of tea...bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Have to agree with you OP. Would love a bit more sun and it definitely puts a pep in the step (as we see during the annual two days of summer). Yeah, it could be worse...but I wouldn't mind a bit more sunshine and warmth!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It's been a rainy week alright but one week is not the end of the world. It's nice today. We don't get rain every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

it's amazing how many complain about our weather. We're actually incredibly lucky to live in such a mild country, we don't get cold or heat extremes. Our 'storms' at their most extreme knock out power in homes.

You should try going to California in the Summer and see how you like that, L.A. in particular. They're also currently going through a severe drought and have to import all their water from other states. That wouldn't happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

It's been a rainy week alright but one week is not the end of the world. It's nice today. We don't get rain every day.

Blowing a wet loud gale here; that is another facet of Irish weather; the range across the country in any given day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,227 ✭✭✭gifted

Real men don't use umbrellas

You would if it was a James Bond umbrella lol lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Every country has weather they don't like dealing with . Be in typhoons, draught, humidity, extreme cold and snow..Ireland's problem is just that its dull. hardly that bad in the grand scheme of things. California and Mediterranean places like Italy are really the only places on earth with the ideal weather, and they still deal with earthquakes, forest fires and draught which we do not really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭9or10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

wakka12 wrote: »
    Every country has weather they don't like dealing with . Be in typhoons, draught, humidity, extreme cold and snow..Ireland's problem is just that its dull. hardly that bad in the grand scheme of things. California and Mediterranean places like Italy are really the only places on earth with the ideal weather, and they still deal with earthquakes, forest fires and draught which we do not really.

Personally I would take fires, typhoons and earthquakes over 3 months of drizzle. That was always the hardest thing to take. The weather was a factor in me leaving the country, but admittedly not the largest. It is nice to live somewhere (Bavaria) that has seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

The weather was actually one of the main reasons I came here, I can't abide hot temperatures. I remember 30 summers in Germany as utter torture - constant heat, no escape, sweating and itching, getting sunburned, not being able to sleep for 3 months straight, it was a nightmare.

I admit I miss winter a bit, as it rarely gets cold here, but I'm so glad I escaped those ridiculous summers.

You can always layer up against cold, but society has some odd ideas about how much you can take off to try and escape the heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I was up in the Comeragh Mountains between Christmas and the new year, nice cool day, blustery with some rain showers. Hiked with my 10 year old son for about 6 hours. Stopped midday and had a flask of vegetable soup and a few ham blaas, looking down over Mahon Falls and the weather rolling in off the Atlantic Ocean, all nice and toasty in our hiking gear. One of those days where you're glad to be alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I know a Spanish person here for the last year, from the south of Spain, and they just can't get used to the weather.

seachto7 wrote: »
    I know a Spanish person here for the last year, from the south of Spain, and they just can't get used to the weather.

yeah, worked with a girl from Spain a while back - weather was probably the main reason she moved back. Couldn't get used to it at all - she used to run her hands under the hot tap in the morning to try and revive herself before work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,637 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Let's all pool together and buy a decent summer so. Can you buy that on Amazon?

We'll get the same result and it'll be cheaper if we just keep destroying the Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I don't like very hot or cold weather, so it suits me here. Also around the east coast it doesn't rain that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Shenshen wrote: »
    The weather was actually one of the main reasons I came here, I can't abide hot temperatures. I remember 30 summers in Germany as utter torture - constant heat, no escape, sweating and itching, getting sunburned, not being able to sleep for 3 months straight, it was a nightmare.

I admit I miss winter a bit, as it rarely gets cold here, but I'm so glad I escaped those ridiculous summers.

You can always layer up against cold, but society has some odd ideas about how much you can take off to try and escape the heat.
    They don't have air conditioning in Germany?

Aussies also seem to not be able to get used to the weather here, and go back, though they do get extremes as well, which wouldn't appeal to me at all.

Used to live in Rome and it was pretty good.

Wouldn't be standard. I worked a few Summers in Karlsruhe and did an Erasmus year there. Mid-30's wouldn't be unusual, getting down to high 20's / low 30's at night. Pretty sticky when you've no air conditioning.

It was 36 degrees when I was in Munich in July 2015. We had to take shelter in the Hoffbrauhaus. Nice and cool in there. :pac:

Not in people's houses, no. Only in some office buildings, and supermarkets.

Most people would think they're a waste of energy and not very ecological.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Grand and soft - sure the farmers are delighted.

Not in people's houses, no. Only in some office buildings, and supermarkets.

Most people would think they're a waste of energy and not very ecological.

Tight feckers!

Not exactly, tbh. Germans are just - on the whole - much more worried about environmental impact than people here.

I remember when I was working for the local library and the topic of installing air con was brought up by the head librarian in a staff meeting. None of those present would have had to pay a cent for running it, yet the idea was voted down unanimously due to concerns about environmental impact of the increased energy consumption.
    Even I voted against it, for that very reason ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cina wrote: »
    You should try going to California in the Summer and see how you like that, L.A. in particular.

Worked there and I loved it, but then again everywhere is air conditioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Tight feckers!

More evolved society more like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    My respiratory system goes to ****e and I get really unwell every time the temp drops below 2/3 degrees. Doctors cannot figure it out and I've no confidence in them to do so at this point.
    Might be mould on the bedroom walls,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I was up in the Comeragh Mountains between Christmas and the new year, nice cool day, blustery with some rain showers. Hiked with my 10 year old son for about 6 hours. Stopped midday and had a flask of vegetable soup and a few ham blaas, looking down over Mahon Falls and the weather rolling in off the Atlantic Ocean, all nice and toasty in our hiking gear. One of those days where you're glad to be alive.

It does have it's moments. Would go canoeing and camping with a friend of mine round Lough Derg and it was spectacular some of the days. Other times we got rained on pretty much 48 hours straight. :D
    Again, I do prefer the alpine climate to the Irish one and the scenery ain't bad either. But in the end it wasn't the weather that prompted my flight from Ireland, but on the whole I'm happy with the change of climate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Not exactly, tbh. Germans are just - on the whole - much more worried about environmental impact than people here.

I remember when I was working for the local library and the topic of installing air con was brought up by the head librarian in a staff meeting. None of those present would have had to pay a cent for running it, yet the idea was voted down unanimously due to concerns about environmental impact of the increased energy consumption.
    Even I voted against it, for that very reason ;)

While the chinese and yanks are merrily blowing the arse out of the planet. Germans not very good at percentages it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

fiachr_a wrote: »
    Might be mould on the bedroom walls,

This. Poorly-insulated, inadequately heated accommodation with little or no ventilation causes a lot of ill-health in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,637 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Bambi wrote: »
    While the chinese and yanks are merrily blowing the arse out of the planet. Germans not very good at percentages it seems

Tis the guilt... still haven't quite shaken it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

http://www.oliverstravels.com/blog/guarantee-perfect-wedding-weather-olivers-travels/?olv=9qf1h3

Perfect weather for sale from one small independent company. Imagine what governments/massive corporations with billions can do!.