Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Why I did not report my rapist"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

But she did do something.. She said no several times. The guy still insisted. What more does she have to do? Nothing from what she wrote suggests that her actions would leave him to believe she wanted it. Though I'm aware there is probably two sides of this story, based on this article alone...she said no several times, he kept going. He was in the wrong here.

She should not be blamed because she was forceful enough. Her no should have been enough for him to step back at the very least and reconsider the situation.

As i have said before the danger of this scenario is 1. We change the meaning of rape and also we dont play the importance of the act because if you can just awkwardly walk yourself into a rape then it musnt be a big deal. right? and 2. We accept that woman are the weaker sex and need to be protected.

What form of laws should we have in place to make sure we address the latter? Do we bring back segregation? Do we even trust women with simple things like holding down a job or voting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

givyjoe wrote: »
    Does it really matter who the words came from?

Not really. But he and RMC are industry friends, hence my curiosity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

anna080 wrote: »
    Not really. But he and RMC are industry friends, hence my curiosity.

Ah sure we all know you just have it in for her, you're just trying to stir the pot :pac:
    Nah but fair point, it's not like Twitter where you know it is them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Reads more like something John Kavanagh would write.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

It doesn't matter who wrote it really.  The points are clear and what I couldn't say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Reads more like something John Kavanagh would write.

He's James' brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

James Kavanagh left this very valid comment on Rosemary's blog about Conor McGregor.  I admire what he says and find I agree 100%. 

“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”
    Your post contained no ideas, just tenuous inferences from quotes which do refer to a sport in which unshakeable confidence and a domination mindset are assets.
    But note that you’ve done something much worse than reduce a person to an object. You’ve reduced him to a parody of his gender. Deliberately taking quotes that refer to combat sports and imposing them into a conversation about the treatment of women. You’ve imposed your own domination mindset, using terminology like “rape culture” and “rape” where they don’t belong, hoping to recruit our social disdain for these ideas (a disdain that wouldn’t exist if our culture really did venerate rape) to your ad hoc interpretations of this guy’s words.
    Conor uses the threat of physical violence to dominate. You use the threat of social outrage. But you are trying, JUST as hard to dominate, but while Connor is dominating in consensual competition, you’re doing it to harm him, intentionally, by attempting to soil his reputation by associating him with rape.
    This is not feminism. This is using the ground earned by feminism, and the social abhorrence of things like rape and violence against women, to bully people and advance your own journalistic career. You aught to think very deeply about the harm you do to equality with these things. Your ideas are a product of social progress, not a cause of them. If you want to exaggerate the problem for your own narrow self interest, just know that you’re impelling young, impressionable women towards a hysterical fear of men and how they’ll be treated.
    By telling women society hates them, you stunt their potential. You lower their expectations. They stay out of male dominated fields, even though almost every male I know would love to work around more women. You do this in the interest only of exaggerating the problem, and barely mentioning a solution. Please, please, consider being a voice of inspiration and reason, and stop with the narrow, utterly baseless, identity politics.

There is an irony that she posted a photo of them being best friends last night on social media.

Surprised if James wrote that as him and Rosemary are friendly. His brother is Conor's coach though so fair play to him for saying it if it is him.

Surprised that James wrote that as him and Rosemary are friendly. His brother is Conor's coach so fair play to him for saying it.

I'm so out of the loop with all these people, who am I supposed to be influenced by?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I don't know them either, but the contrast between their latest tweets is interesting :

James :
    Wanted: someone to de-shell my pistachios. #JobFairy

John :
    imagine if kids were taught the difference between anecdotal evidence and trends in large numbers? cons like homeopathy would disappear.

Now I'm sure James is just selling his brand, what with being a social media guy and all that, but it brought a smile to my face :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

Aye, but RmacC sees the two as being totally different and not just the type of assault were a woman is isolated (which I think most people understand is more worrisome for women) but also assaults which take place in crowded bars, work places etc, were isolation is not a factor. Specifically the Q Bar in Rmac's case, where she says she was groped and when two men shared their similar experiences in bars, Rmac mocked them:

https://twitter.com/rosemarymaccabe/status/740183666597466112

https://twitter.com/Max_The_Serpent/status/740249229528948736

The saying 'Misery loves company but hates competition' is never more apt than with dealing with these people. They claim they want equality but yet try and discuss almost any topic they raise from an all inclusive perspective, with regards to gender, and they won't have a bar of it. But I guess when you are convinced that men are a privileged class, and woman in western society are an oppressed second class, then it's going to anger you when you hear them complain about things they deal with. The following kind of nonsense shows how out of touch she is:

https://twitter.com/RosemaryMacCabe/status/741148892968914944

Eh, me for one, Rosemary.

Men are far more likely (particularly young men) to attack other men. This kind of thing for example is all too common these days. Whenever I am walking through back streets in Dublin the past couple of years the actions of this chap come to mind and so of course I have been fearful walking home alone. In fact I would say most guys will have experiences where they have had to pass a group of lads in the small hours (in an isolated area perhaps) and I doubt many of them haven't felt at least somewhat apprehensive about doing so, and pondered the chances that there might be some sort of confrontation about to take place and given some thought to maybe how the should react if it does. Lost count of how many times I have changed route on seeing a gang of lads in the distance. For me it's almost automatic at this stage given that I have had numerous encounters with such idiots over the years.

So anyway, I find it damn foolish that anyone would think that women are the only ones who fear walking alone after dark.
    These tweets are unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Is this to do with the one off comments he made about one of the kardashians?

Yeah it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

James Kavanagh left this very valid comment on Rosemary's blog about Conor McGregor.  I admire what he says and find I agree 100%. 

“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”
    Your post contained no ideas, just tenuous inferences from quotes which do refer to a sport in which unshakeable confidence and a domination mindset are assets.
    But note that you’ve done something much worse than reduce a person to an object. You’ve reduced him to a parody of his gender. Deliberately taking quotes that refer to combat sports and imposing them into a conversation about the treatment of women. You’ve imposed your own domination mindset, using terminology like “rape culture” and “rape” where they don’t belong, hoping to recruit our social disdain for these ideas (a disdain that wouldn’t exist if our culture really did venerate rape) to your ad hoc interpretations of this guy’s words.
    Conor uses the threat of physical violence to dominate. You use the threat of social outrage. But you are trying, JUST as hard to dominate, but while Connor is dominating in consensual competition, you’re doing it to harm him, intentionally, by attempting to soil his reputation by associating him with rape.
    This is not feminism. This is using the ground earned by feminism, and the social abhorrence of things like rape and violence against women, to bully people and advance your own journalistic career. You aught to think very deeply about the harm you do to equality with these things. Your ideas are a product of social progress, not a cause of them. If you want to exaggerate the problem for your own narrow self interest, just know that you’re impelling young, impressionable women towards a hysterical fear of men and how they’ll be treated.
    By telling women society hates them, you stunt their potential. You lower their expectations. They stay out of male dominated fields, even though almost every male I know would love to work around more women. You do this in the interest only of exaggerating the problem, and barely mentioning a solution. Please, please, consider being a voice of inspiration and reason, and stop with the narrow, utterly baseless, identity politics.

There is an irony that she posted a photo of them being best friends last night on social media.

Did he just mansplain feminism to her? * runs away*

Seriously though brilliant post on her blog.

Not trying to stop somebody does not equal consent. This is not complicated. Consent does not mean the absence of refusal, it means the active giving of permission.
    Why not just ask them if they want to have sex?

Remind me to have my solicitor present If I ever end up in bed with either of you two. We could have the documents drawn up as we're having a kiss and then we'll sign them after your verbal consent, every single time we meet up. Probably be good to have a witness from each party present also. Now where's my fancy quill pen...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It's very hard to have a conversation or discussion with you when you refuse to address posts already trying to enter into a discussion with you, instead choosing to post the same hysterical posts over and over.

Totally agree midlandsmissus, you're not entering into any conversation, simply posting the same thing over and over again in the hope that someone will agree with you.

Sorry but the majority don't.

People in the heat of a moment don't stop and say "do you want to have sex and are you sure?". It just doesn't happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

It's very hard to have a conversation or discussion with you when you refuse to address posts already trying to enter into a discussion with you, instead choosing to post the same hysterical posts over and over.
    can you define how asking someone to have sex with you is in your terms, 'hysterical?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

pilly wrote: »
    Totally agree midlandsmissus, you're not entering into any conversation, simply posting the same thing over and over again in the hope that someone will agree with you.

Sorry but the majority don't.

People in the heat of a moment don't stop and say "do you want to have sex and are you sure?". It just doesn't happen.

Could have sworn I read something similar in another thread from the same poster :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

can you define how asking someone to have sex with you is in your terms, 'hysterical?'
    Accusing another woman as being harsh for showing no empathy towards a woman trying to define rape as a feeling, refusing to enter discussion and continually posting the same thing over and over again declining to actually discuss your reasoning is hysterical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Not in relation to this case, but do you honestly believe that any time two people engage in sex, clear vocal consent needs to be sought beforehand?

Your posts can be very hysterical to be honest, not just on this thread but any thread to do with even a hint of feminism. The Trump thread in particular was way OTT. Anyone saying anything positive about him (or negative about Hillary) was supporting sexual attackers. That was hysteria. Your posts in a snapshot have a tendency to generalise and go something like "All young men in Ireland need to realise..." That right off the bat is divisive, confrontational and frankly insulting and ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

But why cant she just tell him? Why does she have to lie there waiting for him to ask her a question, and if he doesn't then just goes along with it? Is she completely oblivious to what is going on or something that it has to be formalised for her? If she has something to say, there is nobody stopping her saying it except herself... Why does she need to be prompted?

Does she need to be asked if she is hungry too? Or thirsty? Or if she wants to go to the bathroom?
    I think this idea is quite insulting to women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

I would suggest that it would be best just to keep out of conversations on topics about which you know nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

But why cant she just tell him? Why does she have to lie there waiting for him to ask her a question, and if he doesn't then just goes along with it? Is she completely oblivious to what is going on or something that it has to be formalised for her? If she has something to say, there is nobody stopping her saying it except herself... Why does she need to be prompted?

Does she need to be asked if she is hungry too? Or thirsty? Or if she wants to go to the bathroom?

Even if she says "yes" if it is not enthusiastic enough of a "yes" it may mean "no"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Accusing another woman as being harsh for showing no empathy towards a woman trying to define rape as a feeling, refusing to enter discussion and continually posting the same thing over and over again declining to actually discuss your reasoning is hysterical.
    How exactly am I refusing to discussion? Didn't I reply to you? What are you talking about?
    Is it just that I am not agreeing with you, that I am 'not entering discussion'? Please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

As interesting as this thread has been, it's literally going around in circles. The only thing RMC cam be proud of is that she inspired an important conversation on consent.

Unless she's willing to come on and address some of the concerns raised here all we're doing is fuelling her 'boards is bullying me ' mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Even if she says "yes" if it is not enthusiastic enough of a "yes" it may mean "no"

The first yes could have been a cough.
    It is just a shame that this grown woman can only speak in one word sentences that consist of either yes or no...

How exactly am I refusing to discussion? Didn't I reply to you? What are you talking about?
    Is it just that I am not agreeing with you, that I am 'not entering discussion'? Please

Last night you posted a couple of interesting posts, ignored all the replies and came back this afternoon with just statements, no discussion.

No no, it is the man who must adapt and ensure he asks the woman properly. We should not be encouraging a mutual effort, where both the man and woman ensure consent is established- either through expressing vocally, through body language or by asking explicitly if required - nope it should always be only the man changing his behaviour. Nothing at all wrong with women not communicating when they are uncomfortable. Sure it's all the man's responsibility, that way he is to blame if the woman decides she wants him to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

As interesting as this thread has been, it's literally going around in circles. The only thing RMC cam be proud of is that she inspired an important conversation on consent.

Unless she's willing to come on and address some of the concerns raised here all we're doing is fuelling her 'boards is bullying me ' mentality.
    I have no pity for her, tbh.

She was delighted when her blog was referenced on Boards and now complains when it doesn't follow her designated pathway by us unintelligent posters.

And she feels no iota of regret after trashing the reputation of an ex intimate partner of hers online without giving him an option to present his side of the occurance and now complains about bullying.

Oh, the irony:rolleyes:

I have no pity for her, tbh.

She was delighted when her blog was referenced on Boards and now complains when it doesn't follow her designated pathway by us unintelligent posters.

And she feels no iota of regret after trashing the reputation of an ex intimate partner of hers online without giving him an option to present his side of the occurance and now complains about bullying.

Oh, the irony:rolleyes:
    Along with cherry picking some boards posters to feed to her echo chamber, long before this thread. I have little sympathy for someone getting bitten by the same dirty play they themselves instigate.