Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England vs Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,235 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Of interest to us though is that it shows Jones is genuinely rattled that the points difference is now probably out of his reach compared to ours, and that he is concerned about the game against us, and the unexpected possibility that he could lose the championship to us due to their failure to rack up a big differential today. It is one of the potential scenarios that swung in our favour today rather than England's.
    England need to focus on their next match against Scotland.

They're inviting a lot of negative attention based on their reaction to todays game. Scotland have proven themselves to be worthy opponents this year and if Jones is focused on a grand slam decider against Ireland, he's running the risk of humiliation in Twickenham next week.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Just shows how one dimensional the english players are. Off the cuff rugby is well and truly dead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Do you even lift Bro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Of interest to us though is that it shows Jones is genuinely rattled that the points difference is now probably out of his reach compared to ours, and that he is concerned about the game against us, and the unexpected possibility that he could lose the championship to us due to their failure to rack up a big differential today. It is one of the potential scenarios that swung in our favour today rather than England's.

They are playing poorly but getting the necessary results. They'll beat Scotland, and probably beat us too, even though we are at home and probably have the better players. Jones is the key.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

the dropped bonus point v France will hurt us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 DrDario

Don't quite understand how points difference can become a factor. It's all about the bonus points surely.

Conor O'Shea interview was classy. Fellah has cojones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

DrDario wrote: »
    Don't quite understand how points difference can become a factor. It's all about the bonus points surely.

If we beat Eng, there's a good chance both teams will be on exact same points, then that's where the point difference comes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

DrDario wrote: »

They beat Scotland, we beat Wales, both without bonus points. Then we beat England, but by less than 7 giving the Albions a bonus point. All tied on 18. We win championship on points difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    robots playing rugby

You're right.
    This is their day job. These men are professional rugby players. They haven't turned up for a run around of tag rugby on a weekend with some mates. They are supposed to know these rules back to front, not be asking the referee how to play the game when it happens.
    Their reaction, collectively, has made them look stupid and arrogant.
    I'm actually heartened by the English rugby fans who are telling Matt Dawson to cop himself in. The hurt pridevand belligerence reflects worse on them than their inability to think outside the box when they were on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

They beat Scotland, we beat Wales, both without bonus points. Then we beat England, but by less than 7 giving the Albions a bonus point. All tied on 18. We win championship on points difference.

Is it on points or number of trys scored?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Call me Al wrote: »
    Is it on points or number of trys scored?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    the dropped bonus point v France will hurt us
    Nobody's gonna get a TBP against france.

In our history I don't think we've ever scored 4 tries against france in a 6 nations game.

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,812 ✭✭✭fitz

Tbh, based on today's performance, I can't see why the Scots wouldn't be thinking they've got a good shot at a win in two weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

fitz wrote: »
    Tbh, based on today's performance, I can't see why the Scots wouldn't be thinking they've got a good shot at a win in two weeks time.
    Absolutely. They can go all the way if they can get past England. That will be the first championship decider imo. Scotland could well turn out to be the toughest opposition England have met.

After today, they might not have any fear of England. But England will possibly have learned that complacency and hubris have no place in this tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Hard to guess how Jones will react to this.

Hughes was abysmal but England basically have no one else to play 8. Maybe Harrison or Ben Morgan could be called up? Jones must be praying on Big Billy being fit for Dublin.

Hartley was anonymous and completely failed to lead the team at all in the first half. It'd be a ballsy move even by Eddie's standards to drop his captain. Also maybe an admittence that Hartley was a poor choice.

Farrell had probably his worst ever outing in an English jersey. On the plus side, he's unlikely to play that badly again. On the negative side, if he does, England will lose to Scotland.

Cole was at his penalty machine worst. Didn't lock the scrum either. He's been a bit cack for a while now but Eddie always seemed to like him. That goodwill might be used up.

Haskell was probably England's most experienced player, and the only one with Super Rugby experience. All the same he seemed absolutely baffled, and utterly anonymous. Undroppable right now because of the relative inexperience of the backrow but surely he must be on thin ice.

Ford wasn't great, didn't get many chances to attack. Campagnaro used him as a doormat.

Care was a mess in the first half but got hooked just as he was starting to play well and run the show. England then proceeded to struggle for 20 minutes as they adapted to Youngs. Bizarre.

May, Marler, Brown, Lawes, Te'o, and Watson might as well have not been on the pitch for all they offered.

Only Daly, Itoje, Launchbury and Nowell came out of today with any credit. Even the usual infallible Itoje gave away some very stupid penalties in the first half. Eddie has his work cut out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Akrasia wrote: »
    Nobody's gonna get a TBP against france.

In our history I don't think we've ever scored 4 tries against france in a 6 nations game.

Indeed we have! Of course, we conceded six, but still...

What year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

What year?

Ah here, don't be calling me out on my "facts".

<frantic googling>

Ah here, don't be calling me out on my "facts".

<frantic googling>

Did we not score four the year BOD got his hat trick?

Edit: Nope, just the hat trick :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭jacothelad

What year?
    2006. 43 - 31. Also had a 'legit' Darcy try ruled out by an awful Scottish t.j. Ireland shot themselves in both feet by throwing intercepts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Nift

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I'd say even Ireland would have looked a bit silly today against Italy's tactics. At least until the coaches could redirect them at half time. Such is the risk when teams are so regimentally coached.

No Ireland do three pick and go's to stop it if it occurs. You really think Joe doesn't know about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Nift wrote: »
    No Ireland do three pick and go's to stop it if it occurs. You really think Joe doesn't know about it?

It's very hard to know how we would have dealt with it. But it is notable that our strongest cluster of leadership is around that zone. Murray, Sexton, Heaslip. Now to be fair, Murray and Sexton have been known to get grumpy (Murray when the Scots targeted him, Sexton when the ads are louder than TV, when he misses a red light, when he ties the wrong angle knot in his lace, when he plays well, when he plays badly, when everyone plays well etc etc), but I'd still back them to sort it.

errlloyd wrote: »
    It's very hard to know how we would have dealt with it. But it is notable that our strongest cluster of leadership is around that zone. Murray, Sexton, Heaslip. Now to be fair, Murray and Sexton have been known to get grumpy (Murray when the Scots targeted him, Sexton when the ads are louder than TV, when he misses a red light, when he ties the wrong angle knot in his lace, when he plays well, when he plays badly, when everyone plays well etc etc), but I'd still back them to sort it.
    Well Murray certainly did against Aus in November. First time they did it, he got caught out; passed to Pocock trying to buy a penalty and that backfired. Next time he just picked and went himself and the third time he gave it to a forward to rumble up.

Just beggars belief that the English couldn't wrap their heads around it. There was a shot (when Poite was explaining that he wasn't their coach) of Venter absolutely breaking his hole at it all.

Well Murray certainly did against Aus in November. First time they did it, he got caught out; passed to Pocock trying to buy a penalty and that backfired. Next time he just picked and went himself and the third time he gave it to a forward to rumble up.

That time he passed to Pocock was extra bad because that wasn't even a no ruck situation. There was no tackle at all. IIRC a player had just fallen on the ground, and two had bound on like pillars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Just beggars belief that the English couldn't wrap their heads around it. There was a shot (when Poite was explaining that he wasn't their coach) of Venter absolutely breaking his hole at it all.

It was Mike Catt but the lols were still real.
    Haskell trying to play it off that he asked Poite "what he wanted to see from them" rather than "what do we do?" which everyone else heard.

Monye was saying that England had finally got their heads around this (they hadn't) just before Nathan Hughes got in the way of a Nowell pick and go. In fairness to Nowell he got it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Surely yesterday puts any doubt whether Nowell or May should start. Will be interesting what happens when Watson is fit. Daly to 13 Maybe? Or even 15?

There are a lot of people giving Jones stick for not knowing about it because the chiefs and others had done it. But Italy had two major differences.

1: They did it literally all the time. The chiefs did it three times per game, Italy did it about 20 - 25 times.
    2: They didn't actually swing that many players around the ruck, in fact, it was mostly just Gori. His job wasn't to try and intercept the ball, it was to distract Care into making a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

razorblunt wrote: »
    It was Mike Catt but the lols were still real.
    Haskell trying to play it off that he asked Poite "what he wanted to see from them" rather than "what do we do?" which everyone else heard.

Monye was saying that England had finally got their heads around this (they hadn't) just before Nathan Hughes got in the way of a Nowell pick and go. In fairness to Nowell he got it though.

exactly, Hartley, the England captain had asked a question of Poite earlier don't forget had been told exactly what was happening and how the law was being interpreted, he couldn't wrap his head around it and so Haskell to his credit approached Poite. He themn asked a badly worded question which got the answer it deserved

"Sir - this ruck thing, what can we do?"

Its not Poites job to advise them, they have a coaching team for that.
    That between a pack of highly paid professionals none of them could come up with an answer to it until 35 minutes into the match was shameful. they deserve to be ridiculed for such ineptitude and Eddie Jones should shut up, show some class and respectfully hold his hands up to be being out thought. Long term Connor has done him a massive favour, he has shown him a glaring lack of nouse amongst his team. Get your lads out of the gym and studying the laws instead Eddie