Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scabs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

the luas operator didn't cave to it's staff's demands. both sides negotiated and eventually came to a deal. the Tesco workers never spat their dummy, they stood up and are fighting to keep their jobs and contracts. they must continue fighting regardless of begrudgers.

Spin it whatever way you want but it's still the same old yarn.

.....and the Tesco workers, quite frankly, are bonkers. It's an industry that relies on throughput and turnover - mucking with either is just cutting your own throat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

ThisRegard wrote: »
    They are? Have you not read any of the posts from people contradicting this?

Using your own logic, you'll be ok if it's proven that they're struggling in the market, that employees should also take a cut or amend practises to reflect this? Or is it all just one way?

If the difference between tesco going bust or surviving is changing the terms and conditions of these employees then it's fair enough to change it. But that's not the case here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Have to lol a bit at people trotting out the gotta feed the family line. As if your shopping boils down to a stark choice between strolling to Tesco or an week long trek across the Gobi desert to find a trading outpost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Havockk

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

What is your solution? Bearing in mind of course that low skilled jobs are ever more prevalent, the middle class is shrinking and being subsumed into the poorer classes. Who will buy the goods the machines produce?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

€14 per hour is huge money for what's basically unskilled work. And it's more than their post 96 colleagues - doing the same job - are on.

Yes retail wages are low: thats why most people pull finger, study and get into either management or another industry. Starter jobs should not be seen as jobs for life.

Is their a sneary smilie I could use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Havockk wrote: »
    What is your solution? Bearing in mind of course that low skilled jobs are ever more prevalent, the middle class is shrinking and being subsumed into the poorer classes. Who will buy the goods the machines produce?

Really? I don't think that's true given that more people are in employment than ever. I can't find any link post 2010 that makes that claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

eeguy wrote: »

Yes the middle class is indeed shrinking.

Ahh it's all the governments fault. Why am I not surprised at that answer from yourself?
    Let me guess, we need less regulation and a privatised education? I wonder how the plebs will pay for that with no education? They should borrow I bet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,039 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

€14 per hour is huge money for what's basically unskilled work. And it's more than their post 96 colleagues - doing the same job - are on.

Yes retail wages are low: thats why most people pull finger, study and get into either management or another industry. Starter jobs should not be seen as jobs for life.

Jaysus some post above.

Nothing worse than a person who has a degree - thinks they can be a manager just because they drank fat frogs for 4 years in a pumped up IT or poorly ranked Irish university.

Doing a retail job correctly is skilled - staff with experience and the right skill set make shopping far more enjoyable for the customer. What is wrong with people dedicated and invested in a big successful company like Tesco.

You see young people in "starter jobs" in retail all they time - many / most - are useless - ignore you, are on their phone and can hardly make eye contact - they will be the great managers of the future when they get their exams {after the few repeats} - if you do not have the skill set and personality in a "starter job" - you will be feck all use as a manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Anyone who spends 40 hours of their time working deserves a living wage.

Yes the middle class is indeed shrinking.

Guess I'll just have to take your word for it so. Despite everything else pointing to the contrary:rolleyes:
    red ears wrote: »

Don't know how relevant that is considering they're earning more than the living wage.
    Jaysus some post above.

Nothing worse than a person who has a degree - thinks they can be a manager just because they drank fat frogs for 4 years in a pumped up IT or poorly ranked Irish university.

Doing a retail job correctly is skilled - staff with experience and the right skill set make shopping far more enjoyable for the customer. What is wrong with people dedicated and invested in a big successful company like Tesco.

You see young people in "starter jobs" in retail all they time - many / most - are useless - ignore you, are on their phone and can hardly make eye contact - they will be the great managers of the future when they get their exams {after the few repeats} - if you do not have the skill set and personality in a "starter job" - you will be feck all use as a manager.
    Wow, I can't even begin to remove the huge chip on your shoulder.
    People who have degrees are useless, young people are useless? Considering Tescos have the lowest customer satisfaction in the UK, I doubt these gleaming paragons of customer service you idealise are actually working for Tesco.

Oh, of course not. However that's far from an argument for privatised education isn't it :D Just you hang on in there and watch in amazement what DeVos does to education in the US.

I love the one Mark Blyth tells his Hedge fund friends, "The Hamptons is not a defensible position, eventually people will come for you."

Guess I'll just have to take your word for it so. Despite everything else pointing to the contrary:rolleyes:

Not keeping you in the dark intentionally friend. This trend has been apparent and it's been reported widely for many years.

http://oecdobserver.org/news/fullstory.php/aid/3660/A_hollowing_middle_class.html

If it comes to that you'd be as well to keep toilet paper under the mattress and use the fiat currency to wipe your arse :D

Solidarity comrade.

Viva la revolution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Have to lol a bit at people trotting out the gotta feed the family line. As if your shopping boils down to a stark choice between strolling to Tesco or an week long trek across the Gobi desert to find a trading outpost.

I think it's a logical argument, not everyone in the country has to agree with every strike, if people want to do their shopping they are entitled to do so wherever they like even if that is Tesco.

Solidarity comrade.

Viva la revolution!

The point is that if inequality is not addressed, and there is no signs that the notion is even being taken seriously, (beyond lip service) then history shows us what the response is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

red ears wrote: »

Who claimed the contrary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

This idea that everyone can upskill is magical thinking. Also, it's not just low-skilled 'mechanical' jobs that are for the machines/bots.
    A computer that dispenses expert radiology advice is just one example of how jobs currently done by highly trained white-collar workers can be automated, thanks to the advance of deep learning and other forms of artificial intelligence.

The Economist: Jun 25th 2016

The most important issues in the future will be how aggregate demand will be generated and who controls the machines/bots. The latter becomes a deadly serious matter if the former isn't taken care of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,334 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

To be honest when I was referring to a "long fight" earlier I wasn't humming The Internationale or thinking in generalities about the future potential war between the proletariat and the capitalist classes. I was using metaphor to illustrate how the current pay and conditions dispute at Tesco specifically has been rumbling for a while and will in all likelihood continue to rumble on for a bit yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Glenster wrote: »
    I walked past the line in bray.

If you went in there you saw that all the people working were the young lads and lasses who do the actual work in the shop anyway.

I didn't see any of the 'legacy' staff going on strike when they brought in young lads on lower pay.

As someone under 30 I feel as though the unions would never go on strike to improve my conditions, only to protect the conditions of lazier and more entitled older staff, that is why I don't have a problem crossing the picket line.

And the reason the Bray car park was empty is because some slimy prick dressed up as a lollipop man was walking out in front of cars trying to get in and not letting them in.

This is it in a nutshell for me. The older generation would (and have) throw you under the bus without a heartbeat's consideration. They do tap all in work, leaving you to pick up their slack. Remind me again why we should go out of our way to help them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Delacent wrote: »
    "Win" - It was negotiated for over 2 years. It went to Labour Court. Labour court made a recomendation. Tesco accepted it. 700 out of just over 1000 took the redundancy.

Now that there are just 300 left, the union puts the package to the member affected - but excluded those who took redundancy.

Same way ASTI allow retired teachers vote on anything happenign to current teachers (that's why asti always vote against everything)

As for those sayign Tesco are making a fortune - last year they made a profit of 0.71% of their sales value (yep, less than 1% of your shopping bill is their net profit)

Naw... retired teachers only get to vote if it impacts on them... such as the pension paycut under Haddington Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

P_1 wrote: »
    This is it in a nutshell for me. The older generation would (and have) throw you under the bus without a heartbeat's consideration. They do tap all in work, leaving you to pick up their slack. Remind me again why we should go out of our way to help them?

none of the older staff are lazier then the younger staff. some lazy staff do exist of course, they do in every job. but they are across the spectrum.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

none of the older staff are lazier then the younger staff. some lazy staff do exist of course, they do in every job. but they are across the spectrum.

Still doing nothing to address the fact that unions do nothing for the younger generation and the older generation will continue throwing the younger generation under the bus and demand their support while they do so. Not that I expected you to mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

P_1 wrote: »
    Still doing nothing to address the fact that unions do nothing for the younger generation and the older generation will continue throwing the younger generation under the bus and demand their support while they do so. Not that I expected you to mind...

the union's job is to stand up for all members and it's the job of members who feel they aren't been stood up for to demand that they do. however, in this case the union can only do something for workers who are been effected by changes to their contract, other workers in the company aren't facing changes to their terms from the best of my knowledge.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

the union's job is to stand up for all members and it's the job of members who feel they aren't been stood up for to demand that they do. however, in this case the union can only do something for workers who are been effected by changes to their contract, other workers in the company aren't facing changes to their terms from the best of my knowledge.

If it's such an important issue then why aren't the rest of the staff out in solidarity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Who claimed the contrary?

There are some on the libertarian side who don't believe in a min wage so they could end up working for an absolute pittance to compete with automation.