Whats the most idiotic thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Using idiotic, when it should be idiotically, ranks among the top three.

Me speak English gud. "What's the most idiotically thing" just not sound proper.

Some lad on his way home had to answer the call of nature so went over and relieved himself between the bins. He threw his still lit cigarette but into the bins. Bins went up. Intake vent had been left on and literally sucked the fire into the pub.

It was all on CCTV.

Very similar thing caused a huge tunnel tunnel fire in the alps about 20 years ago, driver threw a cigarette butt out the window that got sucked into a vent of some sort and started a fire which only properly took hold in the middle of the tunnel, truck was carrying a load of butter or margarine and went up like a furnace - killed dozens of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

In the factory I work in, one area uses ethanol. One of the lads once noticed a loose thread on his shirt, he got out his lighter to burn it off. WHOOSH!! The goon didn't realise there was ethanol vapour all around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

In the factory I work in, one area uses ethanol. One of the lads once noticed a loose thread on his shirt, he got out his lighter to burn it off. WHOOSH!! The goon didn't realise there was ethanol vapour all around him.

and... ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

During my time working in a petrol station, i had a night off but was calling in to collect my wages. When I got there the whole place was sealed off by fire brigade and gardi. It turns out some goon had filled his diesel jeep with petrol, came in giving out to staff cos of course they should have known not to turn on the pump. When the manager explained that there was no way they were paying for the jeep to be pumped out and refilled etc the goon then went out and used a small hose to syphon the petrol directly into a drain on the forecourt.
    You should have seen his face when gardi informed him that he had to pay for the petrol, plus the brigade call out charge, plus face a fine for polluting the drain. Expensive lesson in how not to be a gob****e.

Also a "friend" used to work in a factory where they used isopropyl alcohol to clean things. Co-worker told him if you boil it for ten mins it makes great vodka. Being a dumb ass 17 year old he tried it and set the kitchen on fire when the fumes caught light from the gas cooker. Lucky it was not an electric cooker or it would have heated up till it exploded lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

soups05 wrote: »
    Also a "friend" used to work in a factory where they used isopropyl alcohol to clean things. Co-worker told him if you boil it for ten mins it makes great vodka. Being a dumb ass 17 year old he tried it and set the kitchen on fire when the fumes caught light from the gas cooker. Lucky it was not an electric cooker or it would have heated up till it exploded lol.

I just bought 250 litres of this for work, tell me more:D

We actually had a polish lad working here who every day religiously would steal a little bottle of it, I was always puzzled as to what he actually done with it. I'm presuming if he was actually drinking it, it would have killed him, or made him sick at the very least.

We've on occasion had to use ethanol, which isn't much dearer than IPA, but by law it has to have an additive that makes you sick if you drink it, otherwise it's classed as a spirit and would be taxed accordingly, but I'd imagine any half decent chemist could extract it if they really wanted - 25L of pure drinking alcohol for €50...???...profit:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

When you pass your driving test you can go on the motorways without any previous experience.

Right lad, see that road there , that is the m50 and if you manage to get onto it without writing off your micra you can do 140 on it now like everybody else but be careful, nobody was ever thought how to drive on it so here's a free padre pio sticker .

How to drive on the motorway.

1)Point car in direction of everybody else.
    2)Apply accelerator.
    3)Do not hit other cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Only matched in idiocy by a workplace that does not seem to have or properly implement effective safety and training measures regarding the storage, handling, use and access to areas containing highly flammable volatile chemicals.

A guy I worked with was staying the weekend in a caravan, and the site was about five miles outside the next village. He goes in to town for a few drinks, and leaves at closing time (country closing time that is, about 3AM) absolutely pickled. Up to his eyeballs in pints, he realises his chances of a cab are slim to none.

So, he tells himself a five mile walk in the country air is exactly what he needs anyway, so without much choice in the matter sets off about his way. He gets three miles out the road and stops to light a fag. The wind is really strong and blowing into his face, so he turns his back to shield his lighter and sparks up the fag. Takes a good long draw, and continues on walking.

Except he's so totally jarred he forgets he turned his back on the wind, and is now walking back in the direction he came from. He doesn't realise this until he ends up back in the same village again. So he's now walked six miles, ended up in the same spot he started from, and still has a five mile walk to go where he was going in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

I was an army recruit in basic training.
    Several ncos went on the piss one night, came back to barracks and decided to have a sing song.
    One of them dragged me out of my bunk and told me to go get turf from the yard and build a fire.
    This was about 3.30 am and we were up for a run next morning. A red mist descended as I gathered the turf in the freezing yard.

I found an empty T.K bottle in the yard and half filled it with water and put the cap back on. I put it in the fireplace and put turf around it . We used to use floor polish as a firelighter and poured a load in and lit it. Went back to bed as the boys got to it with the bag pipes.

3 minutes or so went by and there is a tremendous bang.
    It dawns on me I may have murdered someone so I sprint back to the billet where the fire is. The very drunk piper is standing with his arse towards the fire and a stunned look on his face and there is smoke coming from his kilt. Worse, the empty bunks in the billet all have burning pieces of turf smouldering on the mattresses. I run around like a madman gathering these into an ash bin ignoring the burns to my hands.

Several minutes later and the situation is under control as the barrack fire piquet arrives.

I believed my army career is over before it has begun. Next morning on parade the C.O congratulates me on keeping calm and taking decisive action and saving barracks. No one ever figured out what had happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,138 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Speaking of idiotic. This popped up on my FB today. I couldn't watch more than 5 secs of the video.

https://petapixel.com/2017/02/16/model-dangled-off-1000ft-skyscraper-reckless-photo-shoot/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

It's the first quote above that's grammatical incorrect.

But, I suspect you really knew that.

To me it's just missing a comma.

Grammatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

I once saw a few fellas arguing over grammar on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Wang Kerr

Surely it's "in" and not "on" the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Wang Kerr wrote: »

I had to ninja edit a full stop in before they got me, what would I know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Modern cars without dipsticks or spare wheels. And what's the story with electric handbrakes?

Nikes self lacing runners. Ridiculous. Elastic laces do the trick.

And curved flat screen TVs. Cost a fortune and I honestly cannot see the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Wang Kerr wrote: »

Is it not Shirley ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Someone I know manages student accommodation. One of the students had no chipper so he decided to be creative by putting cooking oil in a pot and using that.

Cue the fire brigade and over €15k worth of damage. Needless to say he was sent packing afterwards. The gas part was his mam rang up a few days later wondering if he'd get his deposit back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Ineedaname wrote: »
    Someone I know manages student accommodation. One of the students had no chipper so he decided to be creative by putting cooking oil in a pot and using that.

Cue the fire brigade and over €15k worth of damage. Needless to say he was sent packing afterwards. The gas part was his mam rang up a few days later wondering if he'd get his deposit back.

Can't with hold a deposit though. Wonder he didn't claim it back.

Stupidest things I see are fools texting, social mediaing, iPad using and eating a bowl of cereal while driving.

People that step off the path then look in shock as you are right up against them and you see the same fool do exactly the same thing again.

People putting diesel in a petrol or other way round.

The guy that shot friend while messing with a gun.

The guy that shot himself while posting it live on Facebook. Shot himself dead that is.

People that don't show their hands or stop for the police in the US, you would think now after all the shootings 1st thing one would do is stop drop and keep your hands where they can see them.

Fools and dressing up their pets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Can't with hold a deposit though. Wonder he didn't claim it back.

Stupidest things I see are fools texting, social mediaing, iPad using and eating a bowl of cereal while driving.

People that step off the path then look in shock as you are right up against them and you see the same fool do exactly the same thing again.

People putting diesel in a petrol or other way round.

The guy that shot friend while messing with a gun.

The guy that shot himself while posting it live on Facebook. Shot himself dead that is.

People that don't show their hands or stop for the police in the US, you would think now after all the shootings 1st thing one would do is stop drop and keep your hands where they can see them.

Fools and dressing up their pets.

Claim back the deposit after nearly burning down the house?

Sounds stupid but.... Oh sh1t me pan of chips is on ffffffffffff

Fools driving or walking out on piers in the middle of a sh1t storm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭arkrow

You must have missed the vids where they still shoot them even while on the ground with their hands in the air. More so if they are black.

And they ask the cops afterwards why they shot and they're like "I don't know"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭madmaggie

A man climbing a tree while holding a chainsaw which was running. Same man also put his hand into a lawnmower while it was running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Do dope f#ck hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

A guy I worked with was staying the weekend in a caravan, and the site was about five miles outside the next village. He goes in to town for a few drinks, and leaves at closing time (country closing time that is, about 3AM) absolutely pickled. Up to his eyeballs in pints, he realises his chances of a cab are slim to none.

So, he tells himself a five mile walk in the country air is exactly what he needs anyway, so without much choice in the matter sets off about his way. He gets three miles out the road and stops to light a fag. The wind is really strong and blowing into his face, so he turns his back to shield his lighter and sparks up the fag. Takes a good long draw, and continues on walking.

Except he's so totally jarred he forgets he turned his back on the wind, and is now walking back in the direction he came from. He doesn't realise this until he ends up back in the same village again. So he's now walked six miles, ended up in the same spot he started from, and still has a five mile walk to go where he was going in the first place.
    I've done that... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

:confused: WHy was that bad? Cooking oil in a pot is how I make chips all the time. Never a fire in seventy years and more.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Graces7 wrote: »
    :confused: WHy was that bad? Cooking oil in a pot is how I make chips all the time. Never a fire in seventy years and more.. ;)

Because you're not a student who may be making chips after having a drink.
    Chip pans have no temperature control and can over heat easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Dad drove my boy around to the house in the back seat of his car. No booster and he didn't even seat belt him.

I felt like chinning him. Nobody takes liberties with my child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Dad drove my boy around to the house in the back seat of his car. No booster and he didn't even seat belt him.

I felt like chinning him. Nobody takes liberties with my child.

I'd be fit to be tied! :-o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Some guy in Citywest deciding to walk along the N7 thinking it would be the quickest way to get a taxi to Liffy valley for his date...almost killed walking across the motorway, takes a turnoff hoping to get back to a normal road and with no sign of a taxi walks back the same way onto the N7 again and almost a fatal slip crossing the N7 this time...and after 20 minutes realises he's walking towards Naas rather than correct way...oh actually yeah this was me and my date didn't believe my "excuse" for having to cancel :(