Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

KFC wheres the flavour gone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

g2020 wrote: »
    That's harsh.

Did the Colonel finger your sister or something?

It's finger lic....

No. I'm not doing that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Phoebas wrote: »
    It's finger lic....

No. I'm not doing that.

In China when the KFC brand translated their slogan "Finger licking good " it was directly translated to "finger eating good".

Silly Yanks!

In America KFC is known as Kids fattening Corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

KFC has always varied because the franchises aren't strictly monitored like McDonalds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Delacent

It had flavour when it was Kentucky Fried Chicken.

Naw - you need to go back to when it was Pat Grace's Famous Fried Chicken - Pat claimed he had the original recipe directly from colonel sanders.

The history is here

http://gracesperfectblend.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I prefer the KGB to the KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,654 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

the-deal-of-the-day.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Delacent wrote: »
    Naw - you need to go back to when it was Pat Grace's Famous Fried Chicken - Pat claimed he had the original recipe directly from colonel sanders.

The history is here

http://gracesperfectblend.com/

Haven't had Pat Graces in well over 20 years - but I can still remember how delicious it was. I never realised it was a chain, I thought it was just 1 stand alone shop. Are they still going anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

Cina wrote: »
    KFC used to have flavour?
    Glenster wrote: »
    KFC is the food of the poor.

Anyone in the thread who has ever eaten it is poor. Fact.

A few edgy lads. I bet on RIP threads ye reply with "Who?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Why_oh_why

Lusocu wrote: »
    I've visited KFC in Mahon Point in Cork 3 times in 2016. Each time the chicken pieces were very dry and the chicken burger and chips were stone cold. It's a disgrace. When I was a kid in the 80s and teen in the 90s I remember looking forward to this treat after a day out and the chicken was always delicious and juicy everytime with flavoursome crispy coating and nothing was ever stone cold. Are there no standards anymore?

I had the exact same experience the last few times.

Gave up now, even filled in their customer satisfaction thingy online, got an email back that the Area Manager would bring up the next time he met the staff. That's great mate but never again for me.

When I brought back the cold chips they just dipped them in the oil and gave me more of them back. Hard and burnt then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Haven't had Pat Graces in well over 20 years - but I can still remember how delicious it was. I never realised it was a chain, I thought it was just 1 stand alone shop. Are they still going anywhere?

There's one in Rathmines, it's unbelievably good. The gravy is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,829 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Shelflife wrote: »
    Stopped off recently at a KFC, hadnt had one in ages and was looking forward to it.

The chicken itself was fine but the fabled coating has lost all of its flavour.

When did this happen ?

When did it have flavour beyond that of salt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭Riddle101

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I prefer the KGB to the KFC.

They lost their flavour around 1991.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

No way. I'll make it my business to road test this!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

I like the idea of a bucket of chicken, but I've never been impressed with kfc's offerings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Only ate there once under duress, as there was feck all else around.

Never again, pathetic overpriced minature chicken burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,701 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The one here in Limerick is grand. No complaints. Their new curry sauce, while very watery, is quite nice, like a chinese curry.

But, none of ye know what nice gravy is unless ye have been to The Chicken Hut. Scumbag central, but sweet baby Jesus is the gravy amazing!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Cina wrote: »
    KFC used to have flavour?

It has flavour alright. Salt and grease are flavours. Just not pleasant flavours.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,948 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Duff wrote: »
    Their chicken isn't the greatest, but fúck me pink, I'd drink a pint of their gravy.
    You know it's made from the dregs of the coating from the bottom of the fryer don't you?!
    It had flavour when it was Kentucky Fried Chicken.
    gramar wrote: »
    Chicken? There's a reason why it changed the name to KFC.

It's still called Kentucky Fried Chicken :rolleyes:
    Dia1988 wrote: »
    In 2016, the importer for meat/poultry in China were found to be supplying the Yum group, the franchise holder for KFC and McDonalds in China with out of date meat and poultry. Funny thing was that McDonalds were still allowed to sell their current stock of chicken nuggets because they contained virtually no chicken.
    That wasn't the importer, it was the processor, OSI, who are one of the biggest meat processors in the world. They lost the contract in China and had managers/executives jailed over the scandal, but still have the contract pretty much everywhere else.

And saying there's virtually no chicken in McD's nuggets is just ill-informed nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Grace's in Rathmines closed suddenly just over two weeks ago. All the fixtures and fittings still seem to be there but the shop hasn't opened since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Yeah the gravy is all the scrapings from the bottom of the fryer..saw a clip of it online.

The KFC in The Square in Tallaght is disgraceful.
    Chicken is dripping in grease and the restaurant itself is a kip; dirty tables and floors and overflowing bins.

Oh and the chips are the worst. Floppy undercooked tasteless chips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

No interest in KFC in Ireland but when I go out fordin and can get spicy recipe on everything then gimme that bucket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Do you know how awful the KFC chickens are treated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Strangely enough had it in Thailand and it was great. (KFC I mean).

Better just to get a chpiper over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Hmm i didnt like kfc at all last time I was there. It was ridiculously expensive the chicken was poor quality and the breading on it honestly tasted ****. I didnt even finish, it was just significantly worse quality than what any other fast food restaurant serves which isn't a title you want to hold to your name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

One of the better DIY recipes I've tried:

http://www.thereciperebel.com/the-best-oven-fried-chicken/

'Oven Fried' so not as decadent as KFC but the butter (partially) adds some guilt. I challenge you to find a child who won't eat this....and it's simple to prepare.

You can get Panko in the Asian section of most supermarkets. Though 'Paxo' breadcrumbs are an acceptable (just about) substitute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

The exact same as all Battery chickens in Ireland...

Unless you only buy free range (in which case fair fcuks).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

What about the battery chickens the Chinese use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

fussyonion wrote: »
    What about the battery chickens the Chinese use?
    Battery chickens that anyone uses.
    But specifically breeding chickens to have no beaks or feathers and multiple legs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

But specifically breeding chickens to have no beaks or feathers and multiple legs?

Ah here. Nothing is bred to have extra legs, and the loss of feathers is down to the cramped conditions, same as most battery farms. This is too serious for AH...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Delacent

I suggest you stop reading the Enquirer.

Please please say you are just joking and are not that gullible?