Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

KFC wheres the flavour gone ?

• 06-02-2017 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭

Stopped off recently at a KFC, hadnt had one in ages and was looking forward to it.

The chicken itself was fine but the fabled coating has lost all of its flavour.

When did this happen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's hit and miss.
    I love kfc but it's a gamble, sometimes it's tasteless shíte, other times....delicious shíte.
    At least it's consistently shíte I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

It really depends where you go.

The one out in Blanchardstown is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Their chicken isn't the greatest, but fúck me pink, I'd drink a pint of their gravy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

KFC used to have flavour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Cina wrote: »

It had flavour when it was Kentucky Fried Chicken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 g2020

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

The gravy has gone seriously downhill in recent times, far runnier now and tastes completely different , tragic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's hit and miss.
    I love kfc but it's a gamble, sometimes it's tasteless shíte, other times....delicious shíte.
    At least it's consistently shíte I suppose.

The missing variables here are possibly alcohol and/or nostalgia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Duff wrote: »
    Their chicken isn't the greatest, but fúck me pink, I'd drink a pint of their gravy.

Chicken? There's a reason why it changed the name to KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

gramar wrote: »

I thought everyone just ate the coating and threw away the rest :pac:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Yes, because it was shorter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Did you know that in China, Yum who have the KFC franchise for China are opening 6 NEW stores a day!

The last time I had KFC must have been about 10 years ago. It was the slobberiest, greasist excuse for chicken I ever had and I haven't gone back since and I won't.

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Did you know that in China, Yum who have the KFC franchise for China are opening 6 stores a day!

Are they leaving the rest of them closed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

A fine pint of gravy would be exiting the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

you dont get enough chips in KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

They reduced the salt content by 25% or so, a few years back. Plus I imagine some of the other ingredients got the heave-ho, such as MSG, trans fats etc.

Many things have gotten less tasty over the years - crisps/corn snacks for example, for the same reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

The new drive thru in Northside and the food was edible - just. Chicken dry and skin dripping in grease. Chips were freezing from the 5 min drive home. Gravy was alright though, I'd rather a chipper snack box or Hillbillys (cheaper and more of a feed too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Because people don't like Kentucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Lusocu

I've visited KFC in Mahon Point in Cork 3 times in 2016. Each time the chicken pieces were very dry and the chicken burger and chips were stone cold. It's a disgrace. When I was a kid in the 80s and teen in the 90s I remember looking forward to this treat after a day out and the chicken was always delicious and juicy everytime with flavoursome crispy coating and nothing was ever stone cold. Are there no standards anymore?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

macroman wrote: »
    The new drive thru in Northside and the food was edible - just. Chicken dry and skin dripping in grease. Chips were freezing from the 5 min drive home. Gravy was alright though, I'd rather a chipper snack box or Hillbillys (cheaper and more of a feed too)

There is eating in Hillbillys. Far ahead of KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Have ye tried Hillybilly's fried chicken and their excellent gravy ?
    Grace family involved who's grandfather had personal connection with colonel sanders , so maybe they're recipe is actually more authentic.

When you think about it all these fast food places are simply heating up food that come into them deep frozen and laced with artificial flavours.
    The likes of McDonalds in my opinion just sell glorified food with no nutritional value.

You'd be before off getting pub grub for similar money but far greater taste and nutritional value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,217 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I knew a manger who worked in KFC she said the chicken on the bone came in fresh and wash Irish and the boneless chicken was from Thailand(I think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

KFC is the food of the poor.

Anyone in the thread who has ever eaten it is poor. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,217 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Glenster wrote: »

Poor but happy, fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'd rather eat it than raw fish eggs.

In 2016, the importer for meat/poultry in China were found to be supplying the Yum group, the franchise holder for KFC and McDonalds in China with out of date meat and poultry. Funny thing was that McDonalds were still allowed to sell their current stock of chicken nuggets because they contained virtually no chicken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I think the introduction of hygiene hasn't helped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 g2020

That's harsh.

Did the Colonel finger your sister or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

g2020 wrote: »
    That's harsh.

Did the Colonel finger your sister or something?

It's finger lic....

No. I'm not doing that.

Phoebas wrote: »
    It's finger lic....

No. I'm not doing that.

In China when the KFC brand translated their slogan "Finger licking good " it was directly translated to "finger eating good".

Silly Yanks!

In America KFC is known as Kids fattening Corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

KFC has always varied because the franchises aren't strictly monitored like McDonalds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Delacent

Naw - you need to go back to when it was Pat Grace's Famous Fried Chicken - Pat claimed he had the original recipe directly from colonel sanders.

The history is here

http://gracesperfectblend.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I prefer the KGB to the KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

the-deal-of-the-day.jpg

Delacent wrote: »
    Naw - you need to go back to when it was Pat Grace's Famous Fried Chicken - Pat claimed he had the original recipe directly from colonel sanders.

The history is here

http://gracesperfectblend.com/

Haven't had Pat Graces in well over 20 years - but I can still remember how delicious it was. I never realised it was a chain, I thought it was just 1 stand alone shop. Are they still going anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

A few edgy lads. I bet on RIP threads ye reply with "Who?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Why_oh_why

Lusocu wrote: »
    I've visited KFC in Mahon Point in Cork 3 times in 2016. Each time the chicken pieces were very dry and the chicken burger and chips were stone cold. It's a disgrace. When I was a kid in the 80s and teen in the 90s I remember looking forward to this treat after a day out and the chicken was always delicious and juicy everytime with flavoursome crispy coating and nothing was ever stone cold. Are there no standards anymore?

I had the exact same experience the last few times.

Gave up now, even filled in their customer satisfaction thingy online, got an email back that the Area Manager would bring up the next time he met the staff. That's great mate but never again for me.

When I brought back the cold chips they just dipped them in the oil and gave me more of them back. Hard and burnt then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Haven't had Pat Graces in well over 20 years - but I can still remember how delicious it was. I never realised it was a chain, I thought it was just 1 stand alone shop. Are they still going anywhere?

There's one in Rathmines, it's unbelievably good. The gravy is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Shelflife wrote: »
    Stopped off recently at a KFC, hadnt had one in ages and was looking forward to it.

The chicken itself was fine but the fabled coating has lost all of its flavour.

When did this happen ?

When did it have flavour beyond that of salt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I prefer the KGB to the KFC.

They lost their flavour around 1991.

No way. I'll make it my business to road test this!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

I like the idea of a bucket of chicken, but I've never been impressed with kfc's offerings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Only ate there once under duress, as there was feck all else around.

Never again, pathetic overpriced minature chicken burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The one here in Limerick is grand. No complaints. Their new curry sauce, while very watery, is quite nice, like a chinese curry.

But, none of ye know what nice gravy is unless ye have been to The Chicken Hut. Scumbag central, but sweet baby Jesus is the gravy amazing!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It has flavour alright. Salt and grease are flavours. Just not pleasant flavours.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

You know it's made from the dregs of the coating from the bottom of the fryer don't you?!

It's still called Kentucky Fried Chicken :rolleyes:
    Dia1988 wrote: »
    In 2016, the importer for meat/poultry in China were found to be supplying the Yum group, the franchise holder for KFC and McDonalds in China with out of date meat and poultry. Funny thing was that McDonalds were still allowed to sell their current stock of chicken nuggets because they contained virtually no chicken.
    That wasn't the importer, it was the processor, OSI, who are one of the biggest meat processors in the world. They lost the contract in China and had managers/executives jailed over the scandal, but still have the contract pretty much everywhere else.

And saying there's virtually no chicken in McD's nuggets is just ill-informed nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Grace's in Rathmines closed suddenly just over two weeks ago. All the fixtures and fittings still seem to be there but the shop hasn't opened since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Yeah the gravy is all the scrapings from the bottom of the fryer..saw a clip of it online.

The KFC in The Square in Tallaght is disgraceful.
    Chicken is dripping in grease and the restaurant itself is a kip; dirty tables and floors and overflowing bins.

Oh and the chips are the worst. Floppy undercooked tasteless chips.